DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an amendment filed on May 7, 2026 regarding Application No. 19/015,675. Applicants amended claims 1, 3-5, 11, 15, and 17-19. Claims 6-10 and 20 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-10 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 2, 2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). A certified copy of the CN 202410242327.3 application filed in China on March 4, 2024 has been filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments to claims 1, 3-5, 11, 15, and 18-19 and remarks (Remarks/Arguments, p. 8) regarding claim objections are acknowledged. In view of the amendments, except as discussed below, the objections are moot.
Applicants’ amendments to claims 18-19 and arguments regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 (Remarks/Arguments, p. 9) are acknowledged. In view of the amendments, the rejections are moot.
Applicants’ arguments filed on May 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the argument regarding Zheng and “...uniformly turning off some lighting units with potions corresponding to the turn-off ratio of the plurality of lighting units” (Remarks/Arguments, pp. 10-11), the Office respectfully disagrees and/or submits that the argument Is not commensurate with the claim language and rejections. Also, the Office respectfully submits that figures 7-11 and 14 and paragraphs [0053]-[0054], [0056], [0187], [0242], and [0244]-[0245] of Zheng teach: a controller DIC electrically connected to the multiple pixel regions (e.g., R, B, G sub-pixels pixels in rows 1 to 7, columns 1 to 8 region, and in rows 1 to 7, columns 9-16 region) and adapted to change an interval between two adjacent lighting units of the multiple pixel regions in accordance with a turn-off ratio of the plurality of lighting units, as recited in newly amended independent claim 1, and determining an interval between two adjacent lighting units of the plurality of first lighting units and/or the plurality of second lighting units based on a turn-off ratio of the plurality of lighting units, as recited in newly amended independent claim 17.
In response to the argument regarding Broeng and “determining the turn-off ratio nor applying the turn-off ratio to control the distribution and interval of the lightting units” (Remarks/Arguments, p. 11), the Office respectfully submits that the argument is not commensurate with the claim language and rejections and one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Also, the Office respectfully submits that all features of newly amended independent claims 1 and 17 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references and as discussed, as discussed above and in the rejections.
In response to the arguments regarding Zheng, Broeng, “the inventive characteristic recited in the amended claims 1 and 17”, technical difference, claims 1 and 17 and patentable, and claims 2-5, 11-16, and 18-19 and allowable (Remarks/Arguments, p. 11), the Office respectfully disagrees and/or submits that the arguments are not commensurate with the claim language and all features of newly amended independent claims 1 and 17 are taught and/or suggested by the cited references and as discussed, as discussed above and in the rejections. As such, newly amended independent claims 1 and 17 are not allowable. In addition, claims 2-5, 11-16, and 18-19 are not allowable by virtue of their individual dependencies from one of newly amended independent claims 1 and 17, and as discussed in the rejections.
For the reasons discussed above and in the rejections, the pending claims are not allowable.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because “turn-off ratio” should be changed to “the turn-off ratio” since the term was previously recited.
Also, “the at least one lighting units” may need to be changed to “the at least one of the plurality of lighting units” for claim language consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. in US 2025/0140157 A1 (hereinafter Zheng).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng teaches:
A display (in FIG. 14) comprising (Zheng: FIG. 14 and “[0242]… FIG. 14 shows a schematic diagram of a functional structure of the display panel….”)
multiple pixel (corresponding to sub-pixels Pix in FIG. 14, or R, B, G sub-pixels in FIGs. 7-11) regions (e.g., R, B, G sub-pixels in rows 1 to 7, columns 1 to 8 region, and in rows 1 to 7, columns 9-16 region in FIG. 7), each of the multiple pixel regions comprising a plurality of lighting units (of sub-pixels Pix in FIG. 14, or of R, G, and B sub-pixels in FIG. 7) arranged as an array (as shown in FIG. 14) and respectively having a plurality of wavelength parameters (red, blue, and green wavelength parameters), an arrangement rule of the plurality of wavelength parameters of one pixel region (e.g., R, B, G sub-pixels in rows 1 to 7, columns 1 to 8 region in FIG. 7) of the multiple pixel regions being similar to an arrangement rule of the plurality of wavelength parameters of another pixel region (e.g., rows 1 to 7, columns 9-16 region) of the multiple pixel regions (Zheng: see FIGs. 7 and 14, “[0187]… [In FIG. 7,] R denotes a red sub-pixel unit, G denotes a green sub-pixel unit, and B denotes a blue sub-pixel unit….”, and “[0242]… The display panel [in FIG. 14] includes: a plurality of sub-pixel units Pix….”, see also FIGs. 8-11 and “[0163] The display panel typically includes a plurality of sub-pixel units. The sub-pixel units may include a pixel driving circuit and a light emitting unit….”); and
a controller (DIC in FIG. 14) electrically connected to the multiple pixel regions and adapted to change an interval between two adjacent lighting units of the multiple pixel regions in accordance with a turn-off ratio of the plurality of lighting units (Zheng: FIGs. 7-8 and 14, “[0053] In an example embodiment of the present disclosure, turning off at least a portion of non-zero grayscale sub-pixel units in at least a portion of the display sub-regions based on the initial image data includes:”, “[0054] acquiring a current display brightness value of the display panel;”, “[0056] controlling a turn-off ratio of sub-pixel units in the display sub-region based on the current display brightness value and the reference grayscale value, wherein the turn-off ratio is a ratio of a quantity of turned-off sub-pixel units in the display sub-region to a total quantity of sub-pixel units in the display sub-region….”, “[0187]… Compared with FIG. 7, the sub-pixel units not depicted in FIG. 8 denote the turned-off sub-pixel units….”, and “[0242]… [In FIG. 14,] the driving chip DIC can be configured to:”, “[0244] initiate a uniformity adjustment manner, wherein the uniformity adjustment manner includes: turning off at least a portion of non-zero grayscale sub-pixel units in the display panel….”, see also FIGs. 9-11, [0043]-[0045], and [0245]).
However, it is noted that Zheng does not teach:
wherein an average intensity difference between adjacent pixel regions of the multiple pixel regions is smaller than or equal to five percent;
wherein an average chroma difference between the adjacent pixel regions of the multiple pixel regions is smaller than or equal to 0.01,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Zheng as modified teaches: wherein an average intensity difference between adjacent pixel regions of the multiple pixel regions is smaller than or equal to five percent; wherein an average chroma difference between the adjacent pixel regions of the multiple pixel regions is smaller than or equal to 0.01, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use to improve luminance and chromaticity uniformity. (Zheng: FIG. 1 and “[0170] In the driving method of the display panel provided by the present example embodiment, non-zero grayscale sub-pixel units in a portion of the display sub-regions in the display panel are turned off, so that the luminance and chromaticity of the display sub-region can be adjusted, and thus the different display sub-regions of the display panel have better display uniformity.”).
Regarding claim 11, Zheng as modified teaches:
The display of claim 1, wherein a central target wavelength of the plurality of wavelength parameters is defined by a wavelength distribution of the plurality of lighting units and/or chromaticity coordinates of the display (Zheng: “[0069] In an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the first color is green, the second color is red, and the display panel has a color coordinate x of 0.328-0.4 when the display panel is driven by pure image data of the first color”, “[0070] wherein turning off at least a portion of the sub-pixel units of the second color includes: [0071] turning off more than 95% of the sub-pixel units of the second color.”, and “[0231]… [T]he maximum brightness for initiating the uniformity adjustment manner may be obtained through… color coordinates of the R, G, B sub-pixel units, luminous efficiency of the R, G, B sub-pixel units, the white point color coordinates, the white point luminance…. The maximum grayscale value for initiating the uniformity adjustment manner under each display brightness value is acquired according to the maximum brightness.”, see also [0188], [0192], and [0237]. Also, it would have been obvious to include the claimed features since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use for luminance and chromaticity uniformity.).
Regarding claim 12, Zheng as modified teaches:
The display of claim 11, wherein the plurality of wavelength parameters of the plurality of lighting units is divided into multiple wavelength levels (red, blue, and green wavelength levels) based on the central target wavelength in accordance with a preset wavelength range (corresponding to red, blue, and green sub-pixels wavelength range) (Zheng: FIGs. 7-8, “[0187]… R denotes a red sub-pixel unit, G denotes a green sub-pixel unit, and B denotes a blue sub-pixel unit….”, and “[0231]… [T]he maximum brightness for initiating the uniformity adjustment manner may be obtained through… color coordinates of the R, G, B sub-pixel units, luminous efficiency of the R, G, B sub-pixel units, the white point color coordinates, the white point luminance…. The maximum grayscale value for initiating the uniformity adjustment manner under each display brightness value is acquired according to the maximum brightness.”, see also FIGs. 9-11, “[0069] In an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the first color is green, the second color is red, and the display panel has a color coordinate x of 0.328-0.4 when the display panel is driven by pure image data of the first color”, “[0070] wherein turning off at least a portion of the sub-pixel units of the second color includes: [0071] turning off more than 95% of the sub-pixel units of the second color.”, and [0237]. Also, it would have been obvious to include the claimed features since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use for luminance and chromaticity uniformity.).
However, it is noted that Zheng as modified does not teach:
each pixel region comprises the plurality of lighting units that has the plurality of wavelength parameters with two or more than two wavelength levels,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Zheng as modified teaches: and each pixel region comprises the plurality of lighting units that has the plurality of wavelength parameters with two or more than two wavelength levels, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use in selecting red, blue, and green sub-pixels for use in a display.
Regarding claim 13, Zheng as modified teaches:
The display of claim 12, wherein a wavelength level of one lighting unit (e.g., row 1, column 2 red sub-pixel wavelength level; and row 1, column 10 red sub-pixel wavelength level in FIG. 7) is different from a wavelength level of another adjacent lighting unit (e.g., row 2, column 1 green sub-pixel wavelength level; and row 2, column 9 wavelength level) within each pixel region (Zheng: see FIGs. 7-8 and “[0187]… R denotes a red sub-pixel unit, G denotes a green sub-pixel unit, and B denotes a blue sub-pixel unit….”, see also FIGs. 9-11).
Regarding claim 14, Zheng as modified teaches:
The display of claim 12.
However, it is noted that Zheng does not teach:
wherein the preset wavelength range is smaller than or equal to one nanometer when the plurality of lighting units is blue light emitting diodes or red light emitting diodes, and the preset wavelength range is smaller than or equal to two nanometers when the plurality of lighting units is green light emitting diodes,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Zheng as modified teaches: wherein the preset wavelength range is smaller than or equal to one nanometer when the plurality of lighting units is blue light emitting diodes or red light emitting diodes, and the preset wavelength range is smaller than or equal to two nanometers when the plurality of lighting units is green light emitting diodes, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use to improve luminance and chromaticity uniformity by using lighting units with color deviation not easily recognized by a user. (Specification of the instant application: see “[0002]… Human vision is sensitive to color; if the wavelength difference between the adjacent light emitting diodes with the same color reaches 1~2 nanometers, the wavelength difference is easily recognized and the image uniformity is destroyed accordingly….”).
Regarding claim 15, Zheng as modified teaches:
The display of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Zheng as modified does not teach:
wherein a wavelength average difference of all lighting units within a test region of the display that is overlapped with at least two adjacent pixel regions of the multiple pixel regions is smaller than or equal to two nanometers, and a size of the test region is the same as a size of each pixel region,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Zheng as modified teaches: wherein a wavelength average difference of all lighting units within a test region of the display that is overlapped with at least two adjacent pixel regions of the multiple pixel regions is smaller than or equal to two nanometers, and a size of the test region is the same as a size of each pixel region, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use to test luminance and chromaticity of display lighting units and improve luminance and chromaticity uniformity by using light units with color deviation not easily recognized by a user. (Specification of the instant application: see “[0002]… Human vision is sensitive to color; if the wavelength difference between the adjacent light emitting diodes with the same color reaches 1~2 nanometers, the wavelength difference is easily recognized and the image uniformity is destroyed accordingly….”).
Regarding claim 16, Zheng as modified teaches:
The display of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Zheng as modified does not teach:
wherein a wavelength average difference of some lighting units contained by each row of each pixel region is smaller than or equal to two nanometers, and a wavelength average difference of some lighting units contained by each column of each pixel region is smaller than or equal to two nanometers,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Zheng as modified teaches: wherein a wavelength average difference of some lighting units contained by each row of each pixel region is smaller than or equal to two nanometers, and a wavelength average difference of some lighting units contained by each column of each pixel region is smaller than or equal to two nanometers, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use to improve luminance and chromaticity uniformity by using lighting units with color deviation not easily recognized by a user. (Specification of the instant application: see “[0002]… Human vision is sensitive to color; if the wavelength difference between the adjacent light emitting diodes with the same color reaches 1~2 nanometers, the wavelength difference is easily recognized and the image uniformity is destroyed accordingly….”).
Claims 2-5 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Broeng et al. in US 2024/0285968 A1 (hereinafter Broeng).
Regarding claim 2, Zheng as modified teaches:
The display of claim 1.
However, it is noted that Zheng as modified does not teach:
further comprising:
a distance detector electrically connected to the controller and adapted to detect a target object in front of the display, the controller being adapted to further change the interval in accordance with a relative distance between the target object and the display.
Broeng teaches:
a distance detector (distance sensor) electrically connected to a controller (120 in FIG. 1) and adapted to detect a target object (1401 in FIG. 14) in front of a display (corresponding to display area 1402), the controller being adapted to further change an interval in accordance with a relative distance (d) between the target object and the display (Broeng: FIGs. 1 and 14, “[0063] The control unit 120 [in FIG. 1] may be an integrated circuit or other suitable circuitry configured for controlling the display device. To this end, the control unit may implement a display controller.”, and “[0146]… [Referring to FIG. 14,] the apparatus may be configured to selectively control pixels as conventional pixels or as color fusion pixels…. [T]he apparatus may include a distance sensor sensing the distance d between a user [1401] viewing the display and the display. The apparatus may then control the display responsive to the measured distance, e.g. by adjusting the number and/or positions of the pixels to be operated as color fusion pixels.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Broeng, such that Zheng as modified teaches: further comprising: a distance detector electrically connected to the controller and adapted to detect a target object in front of the display, the controller being adapted to further change the interval in accordance with a relative distance between the target object and the display (controller, display, and interval of Zheng as modified combined with the distance detector, controller, target object, display, interval, and relative distance of Broeng; i.e., further change the interval of Zheng in accordance with the relative distance of Broeng), to adjust lighting units according to a distance between a display and a user.
Regarding claim 3, Zheng as modified by Broeng teaches:
The display of claim 2, wherein the controller is adapted to turn off at least one of the plurality of lighting units that has a wavelength parameter (e.g., red wavelength parameter in Zheng) that conforms to a preset condition (e.g., red sub-pixel with a low grayscale) for changing the interval (Zheng: FIGs. 7-8, “[0187]… FIG. 8 shows a structural schematic diagram of turning off a portion of the red sub-pixel units and the green sub-pixels….”, “[0206]… [T]he turned-off sub-pixel unit may be a low grayscale sub-pixel unit…. The low grayscale may be the grayscale with a grayscale value less than a preset value. The preset value may be set according to the actual situation, and the preset value may also be adjusted in real time during the driving process of the display panel….”, “[0242]… [In FIG. 14,] the driving chip DIC can be configured to:”, and “[0244] initiate a uniformity adjustment manner, wherein the uniformity adjustment manner includes: turning off at least a portion of non-zero grayscale sub-pixel units in the display panel….”, see also FIGs. 9-11, [0182], and [0245]).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng as modified by Broeng teaches:
The display of claim 3, wherein the plurality of wavelength parameters of the plurality of lighting units is divided into multiple wavelength levels (red, blue, and green wavelength levels in Zheng) in accordance with a preset wavelength range (corresponding to red, blue, and green sub-pixels wavelength range) (Zheng: FIGs. 7-8 and “[0187]… R denotes a red sub-pixel unit, G denotes a green sub-pixel unit, and B denotes a blue sub-pixel unit….”, see also FIGs. 9-11).
However, it is noted that Zheng as modified by Broeng, as particularly cited, does not teach:
the preset condition is represented as a wavelength level of the at least one of the plurality of lighting units is a highest wavelength level and/or a lowest wavelength level of the multiple wavelength levels,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Zheng as modified teaches: the preset condition is represented as a wavelength level of the at least one of the plurality of lighting units is a highest wavelength level and/or a lowest wavelength level of the multiple wavelength levels, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use to improve luminance and chromaticity uniformity by turning off at least one lighting unit that has “a small effect on the overall brightness of the display sub-region….” (Zheng: see “[0206]… [T]he turned-off sub-pixel unit may be a low grayscale sub-pixel unit…. [T]he low grayscale sub-pixel unit has a small effect on the overall brightness of the display sub-region…. The low grayscale may be the grayscale with a grayscale value less than a preset value. The preset value may be set according to the actual situation, and the preset value may also be adjusted in real time during the driving process of the display panel….”).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng as modified by Broeng teaches:
The display of claim 3, wherein the controller is adapted to compare the relative distance with a preset distance threshold (corresponding to adjusting the pixels in Broeng), and decides turn-off ratio of the at least one lighting units in accordance with a comparison result (corresponding to the relative distance and preset distance threshold comparison in Broeng) (Zheng: FIG. 14, “[0053] In an example embodiment of the present disclosure, turning off at least a portion of non-zero grayscale sub-pixel units in at least a portion of the display sub-regions based on the initial image data includes:”, “[0054] acquiring a current display brightness value of the display panel;”, “[0056] controlling a turn-off ratio of sub-pixel units in the display sub-region based on the current display brightness value and the reference grayscale value, wherein the turn-off ratio is a ratio of a quantity of turned-off sub-pixel units in the display sub-region to a total quantity of sub-pixel units in the display sub-region….”, “[0242]… [In FIG. 14,] the driving chip DIC can be configured to:”, “[0244] initiate a uniformity adjustment manner, wherein the uniformity adjustment manner includes: turning off at least a portion of non-zero grayscale sub-pixel units in the display panel….”, see also [0245]; Broeng: FIGs. 1 and 14, “[0063] The control unit 120 [in FIG. 1] may be an integrated circuit or other suitable circuitry configured for controlling the display device. To this end, the control unit may implement a display controller.”, and “[0146]… [Referring to FIG. 14,] the apparatus may be configured to selectively control pixels as conventional pixels or as color fusion pixels…. [T]he apparatus may include a distance sensor sensing the distance d between a user [1401] viewing the display and the display. The apparatus may then control the display responsive to the measured distance, e.g. by adjusting the number and/or positions of the pixels to be operated as color fusion pixels.”; i.e., decides a turn-off ratio of Zheng as modified in accordance with a comparison result of Broeng).
Regarding claim 17, Zheng teaches:
A display (in FIG. 14) manufacturing method (i.e., corresponding to the display) , comprising (Zheng: see FIG. 14 and “[0242]… FIG. 14 shows a schematic diagram of a functional structure of the display panel….”):
manufacturing a first pixel region (e.g., R, B, G sub-pixels in rows 1 to 7, columns 1 to 8 region in FIG. 7) by a plurality of first lighting units (of sub-pixels Pix in FIG. 14, or of R, G, and B sub-pixels in FIG. 7) in accordance with an arrangement rule (Zheng: see FIGs. 7 and 14, “[0187]… [In FIG. 7,] R denotes a red sub-pixel unit, G denotes a green sub-pixel unit, and B denotes a blue sub-pixel unit….”, and “[0242]… The display panel [in FIG. 14] includes: a plurality of sub-pixel units Pix….”, see also FIGs. 8-11 and “[0163] The display panel typically includes a plurality of sub-pixel units. The sub-pixel units may include a pixel driving circuit and a light emitting unit….”);
manufacturing a second pixel region (e.g., R, B, G sub-pixels in rows 1 to 7, columns 9-16 region in FIG. 7) by a plurality of second lighting units (of sub-pixels Pix in FIG. 14, or of R, G, and B sub-pixels in FIG. 7) in accordance with the arrangement rule (Zheng: see FIGs. 7 and 14, “[0187]… [In FIG. 7,] R denotes a red sub-pixel unit, G denotes a green sub-pixel unit, and B denotes a blue sub-pixel unit….”, and “[0242]… The display panel [in FIG. 14] includes: a plurality of sub-pixel units Pix….”, see also FIGs. 8-11 and “[0163] The display panel typically includes a plurality of sub-pixel units. The sub-pixel units may include a pixel driving circuit and a light emitting unit….”);
disposing the first pixel region adjacent to the second pixel region (Zheng: see FIG. 7, see also FIGs. 8-11);
determining an interval between two adjacent lighting units of the plurality of first lighting units and/or the plurality of second lighting units based on a turn-off ratio of the plurality of lighting units (Zheng: “[0053] In an example embodiment of the present disclosure, turning off at least a portion of non-zero grayscale sub-pixel units in at least a portion of the display sub-regions based on the initial image data includes:”, “[0054] acquiring a current display brightness value of the display panel;”, “[0056] controlling a turn-off ratio of sub-pixel units in the display sub-region based on the current display brightness value and the reference grayscale value, wherein the turn-off ratio is a ratio of a quantity of turned-off sub-pixel units in the display sub-region to a total quantity of sub-pixel units in the display sub-region….”, see also FIGs. 7-11 and “[0187]… Compared with FIG. 7, the sub-pixel units not depicted in FIG. 8 denote the turned-off sub-pixel units….”, see also [0043]-[0045]).
However, it is noted that Zheng does not teach:
wherein an average intensity difference between the first pixel region and the second pixel region is smaller than or equal to five percent;
wherein an average chroma difference between the first pixel region and the second pixel region is smaller than or equal to 0.01,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Zheng as modified teaches: wherein an average intensity difference between the first pixel region and the second pixel region is smaller than or equal to five percent; wherein an average chroma difference between the first pixel region and the second pixel region is smaller than or equal to 0.01, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use to improve luminance and chromaticity uniformity. (Zheng: FIG. 1 and “[0170] In the driving method of the display panel provided by the present example embodiment, non-zero grayscale sub-pixel units in a portion of the display sub-regions in the display panel are turned off, so that the luminance and chromaticity of the display sub-region can be adjusted, and thus the different display sub-regions of the display panel have better display uniformity.”).
However, it is noted that Zheng as modified does not teach:
determining the interval between the two adjacent lighting units of the plurality of first lighting units and/or the plurality of second lighting units based on the turn-off ratio of the plurality of lighting units decided by a comparison result between (i) a relative distance between a target object and a display and (ii) a preset distance threshold, wherein the relative distance is obtained by a distance detector.
Broeng teaches:
a comparison result between (i) a relative distance between a target object (1401 in FIG. 14) and a display (corresponding to display area 1402) and (ii) a preset distance threshold (corresponding to adjusting pixels), wherein the relative distance is obtained by a distance detector (distance sensor) (Broeng: FIG. 14 and [0146] (including: “… [Referring to FIG. 14,] the apparatus may be configured to selectively control pixels as conventional pixels or as color fusion pixels…. [T]he apparatus may include a distance sensor sensing the distance d between a user [1401] viewing the display and the display. The apparatus may then control the display responsive to the measured distance, e.g. by adjusting the number and/or positions of the pixels to be operated as color fusion pixels.”)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Broeng, such that Zheng as modified teaches:
determining an interval between two adjacent lighting units of the plurality of first lighting units and/or the plurality of second lighting units based on a turn-off ratio of the plurality of lighting units decided by a comparison result between (i) a relative distance between a target object and a display and (ii) a preset distance threshold, wherein the relative distance is obtained by a distance detector (determining of Zheng combined with the comparison result of Broeng; i.e., determining of Zheng with the turn-off ratio decided by the comparison result of Broeng; also, it would have been obvious to include the claimed features since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use for light units adjustment corresponding to a user-display distance), to adjust lighting units according to a distance between a display and a user.
However, it is noted that Zheng as modified by Broeng does not teach:
wherein the determined interval is applied during the manufacturing of the first pixel region and the second pixel region,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Zheng as modified teaches: wherein the determined interval is applied during the manufacturing of the first pixel region and the second pixel region, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use for testing during manufacture and/or as part of display manufacture.
Regarding claim 18, Zheng as modified by Broeng teaches:
The display manufacturing method of claim 17, further comprising:
determining at least one of the plurality of first lighting units and/or the plurality of second lighting units that has a wavelength parameter (e.g., red wavelength parameter in Zheng) that conforms to a preset condition (e.g., red sub-pixel with a low grayscale) (Zheng: FIGs. 7-8, “[0187]… FIG. 8 shows a structural schematic diagram of turning off a portion of the red sub-pixel units and the green sub-pixels….”, and “[0206]… [T]he turned-off sub-pixel unit may be a low grayscale sub-pixel unit…. The low grayscale may be the grayscale with a grayscale value less than a preset value. The preset value may be set according to the actual situation, and the preset value may also be adjusted in real time during the driving process of the display panel….”, see also FIGs. 9-11 and [0182]); and
configuring the at least one lighting unit that conforms to the preset condition to be inactive during the manufacturing for adjusting the interval (it would have been obvious to include the claimed features since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use for testing during manufacture and/or as part of display manufacture).
Regarding claim 19, Zheng as modified by Broeng teaches:
The display manufacturing method of claim 18, wherein a plurality of wavelength parameters of the plurality of first lighting units and/or the plurality of second lighting units is divided into multiple wavelength levels (red, blue, and green wavelength levels in Zheng) in accordance with a preset wavelength range (corresponding to red, blue, and green sub-pixels wavelength range) (Zheng: FIGs. 7-8 and “[0187]… R denotes a red sub-pixel unit, G denotes a green sub-pixel unit, and B denotes a blue sub-pixel unit….”, see also FIGs. 9-11).
However, it is noted that Zheng as modified by Broeng, as particularly cited, does not teach:
the preset condition is represented as a wavelength level of the at least one of the plurality of first lighting units and/or the plurality of second lighting units is a highest wavelength level and/or a lowest wavelength level of the multiple wavelength levels,
but which would have been obvious to include, such that Zheng as modified teaches: the preset condition is represented as a wavelength level of the at least one of the plurality of first lighting units and/or the plurality of second lighting units is a highest wavelength level and/or a lowest wavelength level of the multiple wavelength levels, since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use to improve luminance and chromaticity uniformity by turning off at least one lighting unit that has “a small effect on the overall brightness of the display sub-region….” (Zheng: see “[0206]… [T]he turned-off sub-pixel unit may be a low grayscale sub-pixel unit…. [T]he low grayscale sub-pixel unit has a small effect on the overall brightness of the display sub-region…. The low grayscale may be the grayscale with a grayscale value less than a preset value. The preset value may be set according to the actual situation, and the preset value may also be adjusted in real time during the driving process of the display panel….”).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 6/25/26B