DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pulse-width modulation (PWM) pin must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Notoshi et al. (US 2018/0217447).
In regards to claim 1, Notoshi discloses of a multi-channel lighting control system, comprising: a control module (for example 30) configured to generate a multi-level control signal comprising a plurality of control signal data arranged in a preset sequence (for example see Paragraphs 0053-0054); and a plurality of dimming modules (for example 40, see Figs 2-3) corresponding to the control signal data respectively and arranged in the preset sequence, wherein each of the dimming modules (40), upon receiving the multi-level control signal, is configured to perform a signal extraction to extract a first of the control signal data from the multi-level control signal, convert the control signal data extracted by the dimming module (40) into a dimming signal, and output the dimming signal to a lighting device (for example see 20 in Fig 3) corresponding thereto.
In regards to claim 4, Notoshi discloses of the multi-channel lighting control system as claimed in claim 1, wherein each dimming module (40) comprises a data latch (for example see Fig 3, each dimming module 40 includes a registers 46a-46c responsive to a latch signal), and the dimming module (40) is configured to store the control signal data extracted thereby in the data latch (see Figs 2-3 and Paragraphs 0023-0031).
In regards to claim 5, Notoshi discloses of the multi-channel lighting control system as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the dimming modules (40) comprises a pulse-width modulation pin, and the dimming module (40) is configured to output the dimming signal to the lighting device (20) corresponding thereto via the pulse-width modulation pin (for example see at least Figs 2-3 and Paragraphs 0024, 0030, 0042, 0076).
In regards to claim 6, Notoshi discloses of a multi-channel lighting control method, comprising: generating a multi-level control signal comprising a plurality of control signal data arranged in a preset sequence (for example see Paragraphs 0053-0054) via a control module (for example 30); receiving the multi-level control signal by a plurality of dimming modules (for example 40, see Figs 2-3), wherein the dimming modules (40) are corresponding to the control signal data respectively and arranged in the preset sequence; performing a signal extraction by each of the dimming modules (40) upon receiving the multi-level control signal to extract a first of the plurality of control signal data from the multi-level control signal; and converting the control signal data extracted by each of the dimming modules (40) into a dimming signal, and outputting the dimming signal to the lighting devices (for example 20 in Fig 3) corresponding thereto by each of the dimming modules (40).
In regards to claim 9, Notoshi discloses of the multi-channel lighting control method as claimed in claim 6, wherein each of the dimming modules (40) comprises a pulse-width modulation pin, and the dimming module (40) is configured to output the dimming signal to the lighting device corresponding thereto via the pulse-width modulation pin (for example see at least Figs 2-3 and Paragraphs 0024, 0030, 0042, 0076).
In regards to claim 10, Notoshi discloses of the multi-channel lighting control method according to claim 6, wherein a step of performing the signal extraction by each of the dimming modules (40) upon receiving the multi-level control signal to extract the first of the plurality of control signal data from the multi-level control signal further comprises: storing the control signal data extracted by each of the dimming modules by a data latch (for example see Fig 3, each dimming module 40 includes a registers 46a-46c responsive to a latch signal) of each of the dimming modules (40, see Figs 2-3 and Paragraphs 0023-0031).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 2, the prior art does not disclose of nor render obvious. The multi-channel lighting control system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control module is configured to generate a reset signal after the multi-level control signal is generated and after a preset time period, wherein each of the dimming modules, upon receiving the reset signal, is configured to convert the control signal data extracted by the dimming module into the dimming signal and output the dimming signal to the lighting device corresponding thereto, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so. Claim 3 is also objected to as being dependent on claim 2.
In regards to claim 7, the prior art does not disclose of nor render obvious the multi-channel lighting control method as claimed in claim 6, wherein a step of converting the control signal data extracted by each of the dimming modules into the dimming signal, and outputting the dimming signal to the lighting devices corresponding thereto by each of the dimming modules further comprises: generating a reset signal by the control module after the generation of the multi-level control signal is generated and after a preset time period; and receiving the reset signal by each of the dimming modules, nor would it have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so. Claim 8 is also objected to as being dependent on claim 7.
Conclusion
/JASON M CRAWFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844