DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the claims filed on 08/18/2026.
Claims 1, 7, and 13 are amended.
Claims 2, 8, and 14 are cancelled.
Claims 19-21 are newly added.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, and 15-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement received 08/19/2026 has been reviewed and considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an updating component ... for updating list data; a settling component for settling a price; a judging component ... for judging a dish; an introducing component for introducing a dish recited in claims 1-6; an identifying component for identifying; and an acquiring component for acquiring recited in claim 3.
Claim Rejections- 35 U.S.C. § 101
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility (SME) analysis described in MPEP 2106.03, the instant claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention identified by 35 U.S.C. 101. In the instant case, claims 1, 3-6, and 19 are directed to a system, claims 7, 9-12, and 20 are directed to a method, and claims 13, 15-18, and 21 are directed to a manufacture. Claims 1, 7, and 13 are parallel in nature, therefore, the analysis will use claim 1 as the representative claim.
In Step 2A Prong One, it must be considered whether the claims recite a judicial exception. Claim 7, as exemplary, recites abstract concepts including: at each time when a merchandise item is designated through an operation by a customer, updating list data representing a list of transacted merchandise items to contain the merchandise item as a transacted merchandise item; settling a price of the transacted merchandise item contained in the list represented by the list data in response to a designation of a settlement; at each time when the list data is updated by the updating component, judging the dish using a transacted merchandise item contained in a list represented by the updated list data; and introducing the dish judged by the judging component to the customer; and receiving ... a designation of enabling/disabling of a recipe proposal function from the customer and proposing a recipe of the dish if the recipe proposal function is enabled.
These identified limitations recite the abstract idea of “recommending dishes to a customer”, which falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities” grouping of abstract ideas as it relates to commercial interactions of sales activities or behaviors. Accordingly, claims 1, 7, and 13 recite an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04.
In Step 2A Prong Two, examiners evaluate integration into a practical application by: (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s); and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application.
Instant claims 1 and 7 do not recite any additional elements. Instant claim 13 recites additional elements including: a processor; a non-transitory computer storage medium comprising a program. The non-transitory computer storage medium is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic device performing generic computer functions of storing information) such that it amounts to no more than “apply it” or mere instruction to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05. Claims 1, 7, and 13 are thus directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2B of the SME analysis, if it is determined that the claims recite a judicial exception that is not integrated into a practical application of that exception, it is then necessary to evaluate the additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element is merely being used to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer component (a non-transitory computer storage medium). For the same reason, the elements are not sufficient to provide an inventive concept. As explained in MPEP 2106.05(f), implementing an abstract idea with a generic computer does not add significantly more in Step 2B. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in ordered combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus claims 1, 7, and 13 are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim(s) 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 do not aid in the eligibility of the independent claims. These claims merely further define the abstract idea without reciting any further additional elements. Thus, dependent claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 are also ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller et al. (US 12,614,624 B1) in view of Cummins et al. (US 2016/0140526 A1), and further in view of Farr et al. (US 2021/0264347 A1).
Claim 1 – Mueller discloses a transaction processing system (Col 4, ll. 1-10 “system 20”), comprising:
an updating component, at each time when a merchandise item is designated through an operation by a customer, for updating list data representing a list of transacted merchandise items to contain the merchandise item as a transacted merchandise item (Col 5, ll. 50-55 “the product purchase history 22 is updated when products are purchased”); ...
a judging component, at each time when the list data is updated by the updating component, for judging the dish using a transacted merchandise item contained in a list represented by the updated list data (Col 5, ll. 50-60 “As the shopper profile data 21 is updated, the machine learning algorithm 45 is trained. In other words, the machine learning algorithm 45 accepts data on an on-going basis and is updated on an on-going basis.”); and
an introducing component for introducing a dish judged by the judging component to the customer (Col 5, ll. 55-65 “ The machine learning algorithm 45 may output the determined recipe 23a” and “the ingredient substitution server 40 communicates the determined recipe 23a to the shopper device 30 for display thereon.”).
Mueller does not explicitly disclose limitations associated with a settling component. However, Cummins – which is also directed to recommending recipes using a user’s purchase history – teaches:
a settling component for settling a price of the transacted merchandise item contained in the list represented by the list data in response to a designation of a settlement (Cummins ¶ [0104] “ For example, the smart appliance system 140 may learn of such items substantially at the time of purchase, such as when the payment is being processed by the merchant 110, or subsequently”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the settling of price as taught by Cummins in the system of Mueller so that no special or additional actions on the part of the user are required (Cummins ¶ [0104]).
The combination of Mueller in view of Cummins does not teach limitations associated with enabling/disabling of a recipe proposal function. However, Farr – which is also directed to recipe recommendations – further teaches:
a communication component comprising a processor that receives a designation of enabling/disabling of a recipe proposal function from the customer and proposes a recipe of the dish if the recipe proposal function is enabled (Farr ¶ [0013] “causing a processor to carry out aspects of the present invention”; ¶ [0043] “The consumer may interact with the recipe component 260 to receive suggested recipes using the purchased products 248. ... In one embodiment, the suggested recipe may be provided within the consumer application 246 or the consumer may be directed to recipe website from the consumer application 246.”; ¶ [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the communication component of Farr in the system of Muller in view of Cummins in order to provide additional functionalities for consumers (Farr ¶ [0057]).
Claim 3 – The combination of Mueller in view of Cummins, and further in view of Farr teaches the transaction processing system according to claim 1. Mueller further discloses, further comprising:
an identifying component for identifying a customer (Col 4, ll. 59-61 “The ingredient substitution server 40 determines profile nutrition tags ... based upon shopper profile data”; Col 5, ll. 5-6 “shopper credentials provided by the given shopper”); and
an acquiring component for acquiring information on transacted merchandise items in previous transactions relating to the customer identified by the identifying component (Col 5, ll.5-10 “The ingredient substitution server 40 may obtain shopper profile data 21 and thus the product purchase history 22 may be across retailers.”), wherein
the introducing component introduces the information acquired by the acquiring component with the dish judged by the judging component to the customer (Col 5, ll. 55-65 “ The machine learning algorithm 45 may output the determined recipe 23a” and “the ingredient substitution server 40 communicates the determined recipe 23a to the shopper device 30 for display thereon.”).
Claim 4 – The combination of Mueller in view of Cummins, and further in view of Farr teaches the transaction processing system according to claim 1. Mueller does not disclose limitations associated with climate; however, Cummins further teaches:
wherein the judging component judges the dish using the transacted merchandise item contained in the list represented by the updated list data in consideration of a climate (Cummins ¶ [0041] “preferably evaluating comprises correlating the changes to the consumables inventory and/or the orders for consumables to one or more of a user's calendar, a user's diary, weather reports, or weather forecasts for the time period”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the consideration of climate as taught by Cummins in the judging of Mueller in order to provide the user with more targeted alerts and reminders (Cummins ¶ [0043]).
Claim 5 – The combination of Mueller in view of Cummins, and further in view of Farr teaches the transaction processing system according to claim 1. Mueller further discloses, wherein the judging component judges a dish using another merchandise item than the transacted merchandise item in addition to the dish using the transacted merchandise item contained in the list represented by the updated list data (Col 5, ll. 55-65 “The machine learning algorithm 45 may output the determined recipe 23a, for example, as a predicted recipe that the given shopper is likely to purchase based upon historical purchases and profile data (e.g., and accounting for adjustments and changes in purchase patterns and profile changes)”).
Claim 6 – The combination of Mueller in view of Cummins, and further in view of Farr teaches the transaction processing system according to claim 1. Mueller discloses, identifying the customer via “shopper credentials”, but does not explicitly disclose a user code and a password. However, Cummins further teaches:
wherein the identifying component identifies the customer via a user code and a password (Cummins ¶ [0092] “Such an identifier may, for example, take the form of ... a phone number, ID card”; ¶ [0145] “password”; ¶ [0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the user code and password as taught by Cummins in the credentials of Mueller in order to enable the merchant to associate the consumables including in the purchase transaction with the user (Cummins ¶ [0092]).
Claim 19 – The combination of Mueller in view of Cummins, and further in view of Farr teaches the transaction processing system according to claim 1. Mueller in view of Cummins do not disclose limitations associated with a recipe proposal function, however Farr further teaches:
the communication component does not propose the recipe of the dish if the recipe proposal function is disabled (¶ [0043] “The consumer may interact with the recipe component 260 to receive suggested recipes using the purchased products 248. ... In one embodiment, the suggested recipe may be provided within the consumer application 246 or the consumer may be directed to recipe website from the consumer application 246.”; ¶ [0057]; Examiner notes if the recipe component is disabled (not interacted with), suggest recipes will not be provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the communication component of Farr in the system of Muller in view of Cummins in order to provide additional functionalities for consumers (Farr ¶ [0057]).
Claims 7, 9-12, and 20, which are directed to a method, recite limitations that are parallel in nature as those addressed above for method claims 1, 3-6, and 19. Claim(s) 7, 9-12, and 20 are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set forth above for claims 1, 3-6, and 19, respectively.
Claims 13 and 15-18, which are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium, recite limitations that are parallel in nature as those addressed above for method claims 1 and 3-6. Claim(s) 13 and 15-18 are therefore rejected for the same reasons as set forth above for claims 1 and 3-6, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/18/2026 with respect to 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejections of claims 1-14 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 with respect to claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claim amendments still do not provide structure for the means + function limitations noted in the rejection below. The amended “processor” is only tied to the communication component of claim 1, the other limitations (updating component for updating, settling component for settling, etc.) still invoke 112(f) interpretation because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/18/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejections of claims 1-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant argues the amended limitations, “require action by a processor and cannot be practicably applied in the mind”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the mere involvement of a processor does not render an otherwise ineligible claim patent eligible. In response to the “practically applied in the mind” argument, Examiner notes that consideration only applies to the mental processes grouping and the current claims are rejected for being directed to a Certain method of organizing human activity.
For at least these reasons, the Examiner is maintaining the 101 rejections of the pending claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection have been fully considered but are moot under new grounds of rejection relying on Farr to teach the newly amended limitations, as explained in the rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
S. Shinde, M. Khanna, S. Kale and D. Varghese (NPL Reference U) is directed to a recipe recommendation system which will give the user numerous recipe options to select from, based on the food item in the cart.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.G.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3688
/KELLY S. CAMPEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3691