DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first office action non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-18 as originally filed are currently pending and are considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification (See ¶34) is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Three of the four information disclosure statements filed 01/10/25 fail to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because they both (1) contain duplicate information and (2) they are copies of the List of References Cited by the Examiner for the parent application (16/643,287) and therefore do not constitute an information disclosure statement in accordance which 37 C.F.R. 1.98. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character 14’ has been used to designate both a depending blanket section (See ¶34 and ¶39) and the top portion of the lower blanket section (See also ¶34). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶31 and ¶32, the limitation “heating blanket 13” is unclear. Does the limitation refer to the “top heating section or heatable blanket section 13” or to the “blanket 12”?
In ¶32, the limitation “switching circuit 24” should read “switch 24” to keep the limitation consistent throughout the Specification.
In ¶32, the phrase “RF frequency” should read “radio frequency (RF)”.
In ¶34, the limitation “heatable blanket 13” is unclear. Does the limitation refer to the “top heating section or heatable blanket section 13” or to the “blanket 12”?
In ¶34, the limitation “lower edge 16” should read “marginal lower side free end edge band region 16” to keep the limitation consistent throughout the Specification.
In ¶34, the limitation “heatable top blanket portion 14” should read “heatable top blanket portion 13”.
In ¶35, the phrase “Such plug-in connector would be advantageous to feed power to heated articles of apparel worn by a rider person sitting on the saddle or to portable communication devices carried by the rider person” should read “Such plug-in connector would be advantageous to feed power to heated articles of apparel worn by a rider person sitting on the saddle or to portable communication devices carried by the rider person.” so that the sentence ends with a period.
In ¶36, the phrase “single horse heating blanket section 14” should read “a single horse depending blanket section 14” to keep the limitation consistent throughout the Specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the terms “Velcro” (see ¶25 and ¶34), “Thinsulate” (See ¶29), “Bluetooth” (See ¶32), and “iPhone” (See ¶32), which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1 Line 13, the phrase “one or more dc batteries” should read “one or more direct current (dc) batteries” to expand the acronym on first usage.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is further objected because where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear how many depending blanket sections there are and if the depending blanket sections are positively recited or not. Line 5 of the claim states that the marginal lower side free end edge region is “adapted for the securement of a depending blanket section”. This is a functional limitation. However, Lines 5-6 of the claim positively recite the depending blanket section, stating “each said depending blanket section”. Therefore, it is unclear whether the claim requires a kit with multiple lower blanket sections or one blanket with a removable lower section.
In addition, Claim 1 is indefinite because the phrase “a like or a different appearance blanket” in Line 11 of the claim is unclear. In other words, what does “the like” refer to? Examiner recommends amending Line 11 of the claim to read “another blanket section” for better clarity.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 contains the trademark/trade name Velcro. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe hook and loop fasteners and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 contains the trademark/trade name Thinsulate. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a waterproof and breathable fiber sheet and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 is indefinite because the preamble states that Claim 9 depends upon itself. For the purposes of examination, Claim 9 will be interpreted as being dependent upon claim 8.
Claims 2, 4-6, 8, 10-18 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eager (US 0102381 A) in view of Shaw (GB 2447839 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Eager teaches a composite animal blanket (shown in Figs. 1-2) comprising
An upper blanket section (B) dimensioned and shaped to overlap an upper section of a domesticated quadruped animal's body to cover a back spinal regions and upper regions of a rib cage of the animal on opposite sides of said back spinal regions and terminating with a marginal lower side free end edge region on opposed sides of said upper section and adapted for the securement of a depending blanket section (A: Figs. 1-2 show that upper blanket section B dimensioned and shaped to overlap an upper section of a domesticated quadruped animal's body to cover a back spinal regions and upper regions of a rib cage of the animal on opposite sides of said back spinal regions and terminating with a marginal lower side free end edge region [where claps G are located] on opposed sides of said upper section and adapted for the securement of a depending blanket section A.),
Each said depending blanket section (A) being an interchangeable depending blanket section which is detachably secured entirely along said marginal lower side free end edge region by detachable attachments (H) to provide cover below said upper regions of said rib cage on opposite sides of said animal's body (Column 2 states that depending blanket sections A may be separated from the upper top section B. Therefore, depending blanket sections A are interchangeable and detachably secured entirely along said marginal lower side free end edge region [where claps G are located] by detachable attachments H to provide cover below said upper regions of said rib cage on opposite sides of said animal's body, see Figs. 1-2.), and
Said interchangeable depending blanket section providing for replacement by a like or a different appearance blanket section and further being a non-electrically heated blanket section (Column 2 states that depending blanket sections A may be separated from the upper top section B. Therefore, depending blanket sections A are interchangeable and capable of providing for replacement by a like or a different appearance blanket section. Figs. 1-2 further show that the depending blanket sections A are non-electrically heated blanket sections.),
However, the system of Eager fails to explicitly state that the upper blanket section is an upper electrically heatable blanket section, wherein said upper electrically heatable blanket section having electrical heating elements immovably retained therein at predetermined locations, a battery support for the removable containment of one or more dc batteries, electrical connections to provide electrical power from said one or more dc batteries to said electrical heating elements, and a switch to control said electrical power from said one or more batteries to said electrical heating elements.
Shaw teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract states that the invention is drawn to a heated horse blanket.), the system of Shaw teaches a composite horse blanket (heated horse blanket 12) comprising an upper electrically heatable blanket section (Fig. 1 shows that heated horse blanket comprises an upper electrically heatable section which contains heating circuits 14a-d.), wherein said upper electrically heatable blanket section having electrical heating elements immovably retained therein at predetermined locations (Fig. 1 shows that the heating circuits 14a-d are immovably retained at predetermined locations.), a battery support for the removable containment of one or more dc batteries (Pg. 5 ¶2 states that the battery [power supply 16] is placed on a front skirt portion of the blanket.), electrical connections to provide electrical power from said one or more direct current (dc) batteries to electrical heating elements (Pg. 7 ¶4 states that heating circuits 14a-d can comprise the simple circuit arrangement 30 shown in Fig. 3. Pg. 7 ¶4 further state that heater elements 36 and 38 receive input power [from power source 16] via leads 32 and 34.), and a switch (controller 17) to control said electrical power from said one or more batteries to said electrical heating elements (Pg. 9 ¶2 states that the controller has pre-set operating conditions for providing five heating levels and easily regulate output power.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eager to have the upper blanket section be an upper electrically heatable blanket section, said upper electrically heatable blanket section having electrical heating elements immovably retained therein at predetermined locations, a battery support for the removable containment of one or more dc batteries, electrical connections to provide electrical power from said one or more dc batteries to said electrical heating elements, and a switch to control said electrical power from said one or more batteries to said electrical heating elements as taught by Shaw with reasonable expectation of success to provide the horse with heat in cold conditions (Shaw, Pg. 5).
Regarding Claim 2, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as show above teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Eager teaches that domesticated quadruped animal is a horse (shown in Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 3, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as show above teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
Eager teaches that said detachable attachments comprise one of zipper fasteners, magnetic coupling strips fasteners, “VELCRO” (Registered Trademark) hook and loop fasteners, loop and button fasteners, and other detachable fastening means permitting attachment and detachment (H; Column 2 states that depending blanket sections A may be separated from the upper top section B via claps H. Claps H constitute fastening means permitting attachment and detachment.).
Regarding Claim 4, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as show above teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
Shaw further teaches that said upper electrically heatable blanket section is comprised of a lining fabric sheet (lining layer 45) adapted for contact with said horse’s body (Pg. 9 ¶1 states that lining layer 45 is in contact with horse hair 46 [shown in Fig. 4].), an outer fabric material sheet (outer layer 42), and a plurality of heating panels (heater element/panel layer 44) constituting said electrically heated elements secured at said predetermined locations and immovably retained between said outer fabric material sheet and said lining fabric sheet (Fig. 4 shows that the heating panel layer is retained between the outer layer 42 and the lining layer 45.).
Regarding Claim 10, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 1.
However, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw fails to explicitly state that said switch is a multi-function press-button switch assembly including a printed circuit board on which is mounted electronic circuits and secured to a support material patch attached to said upper electrically heatable blanket section in close proximity to said battery support, said press-button switch assembly providing signals to a microcontroller to perform functions selected by depressions of said press-button switch assembly, and a visual display device to display a selected switch function.
Shaw further teaches that said switch is a multi-function press-button switch assembly including a printed circuit board (simple circuit 30) on which is mounted electronic circuits (shown in Fig. 3) and secured to a support material patch attached to said upper electrically heatable blanket section in close proximity to said battery support (Fig. 1 shows that switch 17 is secured via a support material patch to the upper electrically heatable blanket section in close proximity to power supply 16.), said press-button switch assembly providing signals to a microcontroller to perform functions selected by depressions of said press-button switch (Pg. 9 ¶2 states that the controller has pre-set operating conditions at 25%, 45%, 65%, 80%, and 100% power outputs and also has five thermostatically controlled power settings. This means that the controller performs functions selected by the depressions of said switch 17.), and a visual display device to display a selected switch function (Pg. 5 ¶3 states that the controller comprises a simple-to-read LCD display capable of displaying a selected switch function.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eager as modified by Shaw to have said switch be a multi-function press-button switch assembly including a printed circuit board on which is mounted electronic circuits and secured to a support material patch attached to said upper electrically heatable blanket section in close proximity to said battery support, said press-button switch assembly providing signals to a microcontroller to perform functions selected by depressions of said press-button switch assembly, and a visual display device to display a selected switch function as taught by Shaw with reasonable expectation of success to allow the user to direct extra heat to specific body areas (Shaw, Pg. 4).
Regarding Claim 11, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 10.
Shaw further teaches that one of said switch depressions causes said switch to connect said electrical power from said one or more dc batteries to said electrical conductive heating elements, another switch depression disconnects said electrical power from said electrically conductive heating elements, and further switch depressions cause a selection of different power intensities to said electrically conductive heating elements by predetermined incremental power values (Pg. 9 ¶2 states that the controller has pre-set operating conditions at 25%, 45%, 65%, 80%, and 100% power outputs and also has five thermostatically controlled power settings. This means that the controller performs functions selected by the depressions of said switch 17. To do so, one of the depressions of switch 17 would have to connect electrical power from said one or more dc batteries to said electrically conductive heating elements [to turn the heating elements on], another switch depression would have to disconnect said electrical power from said electrically conductive heating elements [to turn the heating elements off], and further switch depressions cause a selection of different power intensities to said electrically conductive heating elements by predetermined incremental power values [to select the desired power output].).
Regarding Claim 12, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 11.
Shaw further teaches that said display means is provided by a plurality of light modules secured to said support material patch and providing an indication of a selected switch function (Pg. 10 ¶1 states that the display of switch 17 [Fig. 1 shows that switch 17 is secured via a support material patch] will indicate the status of the controller via the use of LED lights.).
Regarding Claim 17, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 2.
The system of Eager as modified by Shaw further teaches (references to Eager) that said upper electrically heatable blanket section is dimensioned and shaped for use as a saddle pad without said dependent and detachable blanket sections secured to said marginal lower side free end edge (Column 2 teaches that depending blanket sections A may be separated from the upper top section B [modified by Shaw to be electrically heatable]. Therefore, upper top section B is dimensioned and shaped for use as a saddle pad without said dependent and detachable blanket sections A secured to said marginal lower side free end edge.).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eager (US 0102381 A) as modified by Shaw (GB 2447839 A) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Burwell et al. (CN 208791533 U).
Regarding Claim 5, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 4.
However, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw fails to explicitly state that there is further provided a heat conductive woven textile fabric sheet held captive under said plurality of heating panels, said heat conductive woven textile fabric sheet being fabricated of woven threads and wherein some of said woven threads are thermally conductive fiber threads for absorbing heat from said plurality of heating panels and conducting said absorbed heat throughout said upper electrically heatable blanket section to distribute heat to the horse’s body thereunder.
Burwell teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract states that the invention is drawn to a composite article of clothing for use as a heat spreader. Pg. 7 states that the clothing can be used by animals.), the system of Burwell teaches an article of clothing (jacket 1) comprising a heat conductive woven textile fabric sheet (Graphite sheet 96a and 96b which are made of carbon fibers woven together and according to Pg. 12 form a heat spreader layer.) held captive under a plurality of heating elements (Fig. 10c shows that graphite sheet 96a and 96b are held captive under heating elements 64.). The system of Burwell further teaches that some of said woven threads are thermally conductive fiber threads (Graphite is a material with high thermal conductivity. Therefore, the woven carbon threads are thermally conductive fiber threads.) for absorbing heat from said electrically heated panels and conducting said absorbed heat throughout the article of clothing (Pg. 12 states that graphite sheet 96a and 96b is a heat spreader layer capable of conducting absorbed heat throughout the article of clothing to distribute heat to the animal/person that wears it.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eager as modified by Shaw to include a heat conductive woven textile fabric sheet held captive under said plurality of heating panels, said heat conductive textile fabric being fabricated of woven threads and wherein some of said woven threads are thermally conductive fiber threads for absorbing heat from said electrically heated panels and conducting said absorbed heat throughout said upper electrically heatable blanket section to distribute heat to the horses body thereunder as taught by Burwell with reasonable expectation of success to provide a heat spreader layer (Burwell, Pg. 12).
Regarding Claim 6, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw and Burwell, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 5.
However, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw and Burwell fails to explicitly state that said heat conductive woven textile fabric sheet also constitutes said lining fabric sheet.
Burwell teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract states that the invention is drawn to a composite article of clothing for use as a heat spreader. Pg. 7 states that the clothing can be used by animals.), the system of Burwell teaches an article of clothing (jacket 1) wherein a heat conductive woven textile fabric sheet (graphite sheet 96a, 96b) also constitutes said lining fabric material sheet (Fig. 10c shows that the heat conductive woven textile fabric sheet 96a-96b constitutes a lining fabric material sheet between exterior fabric layers 68.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eager as modified by Shaw and Burwell to have said heat conductive woven textile fabric sheet also constitutes said lining fabric sheet as taught by Burwell with reasonable expectation of success to provide better spread heat through the blanket (Burwell, Pg. 12).
Regarding Claim 7, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw and Burwell, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 5.
Shaw further teaches that said outer fabric material sheet (outer layer 42) is comprised by an inner thin insulating synthetic fiber sheet [layer 43] (Fig. 4 shows a layer 43 that lies between outer layer 42 and heating panel layer 44. Pg. 9 ¶1 further states that layer 43 comprises a thin, insulating material such as polyester or Thinsulate) which is waterproof and breathable, herein “THINSULATE” (Registered Trademark), which is a thin insulating synthetic fiber sheet which is water proof and breathable or similar sheet materials (Pg. 9 ¶1 states that layer 43 can comprise Thinsulate, a waterproof and breathable material.).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eager (US 0102381 A) as modified by Shaw (GB 2447839 A) and Burwell et al. (CN 208791533 U) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Type G Original; 70-0717-0838-5 [Online]; 3M: St. Paul, MN, August 2016, https://multimedia.3m.com/mws/media/745360O/3m-thinsulate-insulation-type-g-technical-data-sheet.pdf?fn=THN_TDS_Type-G_05_keyline.pdf, hereinafter referred to as Type G, and Dreykom-Lindner (DE 202011002622 U1).
Regarding Claim 8, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw and Burwell, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 7.
However, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw and Burwell fails to explicitly state that said inner thin insulating synthetic fiber sheet has a weight of about 100 grams per square meter.
Type G teaches that Thinsulate weighs about 100 grams per square meter (The table in Pg. 1 shows that Thinsulate G100 has a basis weight of 100 grams per square meter.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eager as modified by Shaw and Burwell to have said inner thin insulating synthetic fiber sheet have a weight of about 100 grams per square meter as taught by Type G with reasonable expectation of success as Thinsulate G100 goes up to -20 degrees Celsius for medium warm coats to prevent excessive heat.
The system of Eager as modified by Shaw, Burwell and Type G fails to explicitly state that a thin film thermo-reflective textile sheet is secured over said inner thin insulating synthetic fiber sheet to reflect heat.
Dreykom-Lindner teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract states that the invention is drawn to a horse’s ceiling for rain and flies protection.), the system of Dreykom-Lindner teaches a horse blanket covering (main part H) comprising a thin film thermo-reflective textile sheet (Pg. 6 states that first part h1 of horse blanket covering H comprises a layer of fabric with heat reflecting material placed under an outer fabric material sheet.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, Burwell and Type G to include a thin film thermo-reflective textile sheet secured over said inner thin insulating synthetic fiber sheet to reflect heat as taught by Dreykom-Lindner with reasonable expectation of success to provide a heat reflecting property to the blanket which can help keep the horse cool.
Regarding Claim 9, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, Burwell, Type G, and Dreykom-Lindner, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 9.
The system of Eager as modified by Shaw, Burwell, Type G, and Dreykom-Lindner further teaches (reference to Dreykom-Lindner) that thin film thermo-reflective textile sheet is a thin sheet containing fiber threads of reflective metal (Pg. 6 states that it is possible for horse blanket covering H to be provided with reflective metal threads as described in EP2210511 which is incorporated by reference.).
Claims 13-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eager (US 0102381 A) as modified by Shaw (GB 2447839 A) as applied to claims 10 and 17 above, and further in view of Demers et al. (WO 2017221204 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 10.
The system of Eager as modified by Shaw, however, fails to explicitly state that said microcontroller is further provided with a logic communication circuit for wireless communication with a remote wireless control device for remote operation of said switch functions.
Demers teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract states that the invention is drawn to a garment with electrical components. ¶59 states that the technology could also be applied to blankets.), the system of Demers teaches a garment with electrical components (jacket 100 which could be a blanket [¶59]) comprising a microcontroller (280) is provided with a logic communication circuit for wireless communication with a remote wireless control device for remote operation of said switch functions (¶70 states that control interface 280 can be implemented on a mobile device, such as a cellphone, via a wireless connection, such as a Bluetooth connection. ¶69 states that using control interface 280, the user selects the settings using four buttons 282, specifically having three discrete power level setting buttons 282: “low”, “medium” and “high”, as well as an “on/off” button 282.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eager as modified by Shaw to have said microcontroller is further provided with a logic communication circuit for wireless communication with a remote wireless control device for remote operation of said switch functions as taught by Demers with reasonable expectation of success to reduce the need for cables and provide the horse rider with a more comfortable user experience.
Regarding Claim 14, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw and Demers, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 13.
The system of Eager as modified by Shaw and Demers further teaches (references to Demers) that said remote wireless control device is one of a close-proximity wireless control mobile device suitable for remote control through a WiFi wireless network or a smart wireless control mobile device interfaced with internet conductivity through a router (¶70 states that control interface 280 can be implemented on a mobile device, such as a cellphone, which is capable of being interfaced with internet conductivity through a router.).
Regarding Claim 18, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 17.
The system of Eager as modified by Shaw, however, fails to explicitly state that there is further provided a plug-in power outlet connector secured to said upper electrically heatable blanket section and to said one or more dc batteries to provide power to other electrically powered articles associated with a rider person sitting on a saddle secured over said saddle pad, and a feed wire provided with a quick-disconnect connector secured in said plug-in outlet to provide power to said other electrically powered articles and to permit disconnection of said quick-disconnect connector by a pulling force acting on said feed wire.
Demers teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract states that the invention is drawn to a garment with electrical components. ¶59 states that the technology could also be applied to blankets.), the system of Demers teaches a garment with electrical components (jacket 100 which could be a blanket [¶59]) which is provided with a plug-in power outlet connector (outlet 240) secured to the main portion (121) of the jacket and to one or more batteries [220] (¶66 states that battery 220 is connected to a power management unit [PMU 225] which manages distribution of power throughout the system according to ¶62. ¶68 states that electrical outlet 240 is connected to PMU 225.) to provide power to other electrically powered articles associated with a rider person sitting on a saddle secured over said saddle pad (¶68 states that outlet 240 serves to provide power to external electronic devices. This power outlet is capable of being used to power electrically powered articles associated with a rider person sitting on a saddle secured over said saddle pad, such as a smartphone.) and that a feed wire (connection 210) provided with a quick-disconnect connector secured in said plug-in outlet to provide power to said other electrically powered articles and to permit disconnection of said quick-disconnect connector by a pulling force acting on said feed wire (Figs. 3-4 shows that connection 210 comprises a quick-disconnect connector secured in said plug-in outlet 240. ¶88 states that connection 210 distributes power from the battery 220 to the heating elements 230, 352, 312, and 322. Looking at Figs. 3-4: connection 210 would permit disconnection by a pulling force acting on said feed wire.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eager as modified by Shaw to provide a plug-in power outlet connector secured to said upper electrically heatable blanket section and to said one or more dc batteries to provide power to other electrically powered articles associated with a rider person sitting on a saddle secured over said saddle pad and to provide a feed wire provided with a quick-disconnect connector secured in said plug-in power outlet connector to provide power to said other electrically powered articles and to permit disconnection of said quick-disconnect connector by a pulling force acting on said feed wire as taught by Demers with reasonable expectation of success to allow the user to charge their cellphone (Demers, ¶68).
Claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eager (US 0102381 A) as modified by Shaw (GB 2447839 A) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Arnold (US 20080202434 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 12.
The system of Eager as modified by Shaw, however, fails to explicitly state that said interchangeable depending blanket section contains decorative and/or customized identifications representative of a particular stable and/or events.
Arnold teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract states that the invention is drawn to a pet comfort composite material for use in animal blankets. Fig. 4 shows the invention used as horse blanket.), the system of Arnold teaches a horse blanket (shown in Fig. 4) wherein the blanket contains decorative and/or customized identifications representative of a particular stable and/or event (Fig. 4 shows that the horse blanket shown comprises comfort composite material 100. ¶18 states that material 100 can further include decorations or adornments.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Shaw as modified by Klose and Mills to add decorative and/or customized identifications representative of a particular stable and/or event to the interchangeable depending blanket sections as taught by Arnold with reasonable expectation of success to allow the user to customize the horse blanket for their horse.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eager (US 0102381 A) as modified by Shaw (GB 2447839 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klose (DE 102018110590 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw, as shown above, teaches all the limitations of Claim 1.
However, the system of Eager as modified by Shaw fails to explicitly state that said upper electrically heatable blanket section and/or said interchangeable depending blanket section are provided with detachable attachment for securing said composite animal blanket to said body of said domesticated quadruped animal.
Klose teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Fig. 1 shows a horse blanket.), the system of Klose teaches a composite animal blanket (horse blanket 1) wherein a depending blanket section (1) provided with detachable attachment (4,5) for securing said composite animal blanket to said body of said domesticated quadruped animal (shown in Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eager as modified by Shaw to said depending blanket section be provided with detachable attachment for securing said composite animal blanket to said body of said domesticated quadruped animal as taught by Klose with reasonable expectation of success to prevent the blanket from slipping (Klose, Pg. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Busse (DE 202005012350 U1) teaches a horse blanket.
Morgan (GB 2066636 A) teaches a horse rug or blanket.
/A.A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3643 /MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642