Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US20230218090A1) in view of Matheus (US20060000020A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Lin teaches An inflatable cot, comprising: a main body (Lin: FIG. 3 [0069] air mattress 10), wherein a top of the main body is provided with a cot surface, the main body is internally provided with an inflation cavity (Lin: FIG. 3 [0069] air mattress 10),the inflation cavity is internally provided with a plurality of fabric strands (Lin: FIG. 1 [0081] collection of strand 32), two ends of each of the plurality of fabric strands are respectively connected to a top and a bottom of the inflation cavity (Lin: FIG. 1 [0086] weld strips 31).
Lin does not teach and a bottom of the main body is provided with connection portions; and a support frame, wherein the support frame comprises connection rods and support legs, the connection rods are detachably inserted into the connection portions.
Matheus teaches and a bottom of the main body is provided with connection portions (Matheus: FIG. 1 [0028] corner clips 38 are attached to the rounded corners of the frame 50); and a support frame (Matheus: FIG. 5 [0023] frame 250), wherein the support frame comprises connection rods and support legs (Matheus: FIG. 5 [0023] separate legs 248), the connection rods are detachably inserted into the connection portions (Matheus: FIG. 1 [0022] having a canvas covering 154 extending thereover. openings 156 are provided at the attachment of the Scissor legs 148 to the frame 150.), and the support legs are detachably connected to the connection rods (Matheus: FIG. 5 [0023] separate legs 248 attached to a frame 250).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin in view of Matheus directed to including an air mattress with an attachable frame. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to make an easily storable and convenient air bed (Matheus: [0002]).
Regarding claim 2,
Lin, as modified, teaches The inflatable cot according to claim 1, wherein the main body comprises an upper film layer (Lin: FIG. 1 [0081] upper material 1), an upper base fabric (Lin: FIG. 1 [0079] weld strips 31), a lower film layer (Lin: FIG. 1 [0081] lower materials 2), and a lower base fabric (Lin: FIG. 1 [0079] weld strips 31), wherein the upper film layer is connected to the upper base fabric in a first adhesive manner (Lin: FIG. 1 [0087] use adhesive to join strands 32 to weld strips 31), the lower film layer is connected to the lower base fabric in a second adhesive manner (Lin: FIG. 1 [0087] use adhesive to join strands 32 to weld strips 31), and the two ends of each of the plurality of fabric strands are respectively connected to the upper base fabric and the lower base fabric (Lin: FIG. 1 [0087] “weld strip” as used herein refers to any strip of material suitable for affixation to another material of adhesive).
Regarding claim 3,
Lin, as modified, teaches The inflatable cot according to claim 2, wherein the main body further comprises a side wall (Lin: FIG. 3 [0091] band 4), wherein an upper edge of the side wall is connected to the upper film layer in a first hot melting or adhesive manner (Lin: FIG. 3 [0070] Annular side band 4 is fixedly connected or welded to the peripheries of the upper material 1 and the lower material 2), a lower edge of the side wall is fixedly connected to the lower film layer in a second hot melting or adhesive manner (Lin: FIG. 3 [0070] Annular side band 4 is fixedly connected or welded to the peripheries of the upper material 1 and the lower material 2), and the upper film layer (Lin: FIG. 3 [0071] 1), the side wall, and the lower film layer are mated to form the inflation cavity (Lin: FIG. 3 [0070] to form an inflatable chamber).
Regarding claim 4,
Lin, as modified, teaches The inflatable cot according to claim 1, further comprising an inflatable mattress (Lin: FIG. 3 [0070] air mattress 10), wherein the inflatable mattress comprises an inflation/deflation valve (Lin: FIG. 3 [0070] valve 6), the inflation/deflation valve is disposed on the main body (Lin: FIG. 3 [0070] valve 6 may be provided to facilitate inflation and deflation of the mattress 10), and the inflation/deflation valve is in communication with the inflation cavity (Lin: FIG. 3 [0070] valve 6 may be provided to facilitate inflation and deflation of the mattress 10).
Regarding claim 5,
Lin, as modified, teaches The inflatable cot according to claim 1.
Lin, as modified, does not teach wherein the connection portions are flexible connection sleeves, and the connection rods are inserted into the flexible connection sleeves.
Matheus teaches wherein the connection portions are flexible connection sleeves, and the connection rods are inserted into the flexible connection sleeves (Matheus: FIG. 1 [0021] canvas covering 54 includes openings 56 at the attachment of each of the U-shaped legs 48 to the frame 50).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin in view of Matheus directed to including a plurality of legs attached to the cot frame. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to support a cot frame (Matheus: [0002]).
Regarding claim 6,
Lin, as modified, teaches The inflatable cot according to claim 5.
Lin, as modified, does not teach wherein the flexible connection sleeves are evenly distributed on both sides of the bottom of the main body.
Matheus teaches wherein the flexible connection sleeves are evenly distributed on both sides of the bottom of the main body (Matheus: FIG. 1 [0028] corner clips 38 are attached to the rounded corners of the frame 50).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin in view of Matheus directed to including a fastening element to fix the airbed to the cot frame. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to secure the airbed to the cot frame (Matheus: [0028]).
Regarding claim 7,
Lin, as modified, teaches The inflatable cot according to claim 6.
Lin, as modified, does not teach wherein the connection rods comprise two connection rods, and the support legs comprise three support legs, wherein each of the three support legs is detachably connected to the two connection rods.
Matheus teaches wherein the connection rods comprise two connection rods (Matheus: FIG. 5 [0023] separate legs 248 attached to a frame 250), and the support legs comprise three support legs (Matheus: FIG. 5 [0023] separate legs 248), wherein each of the three support legs is detachably connected to the two connection rods (Matheus: FIG. 5 [0023] separate legs 248 attached to a frame 250).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin in view of Matheus directed to including a plurality of legs attached to the cot frame. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to support a cot frame (Matheus: [0002]).
Regarding claim 8,
Lin, as modified, teaches The inflatable cot according to claim 7.
Lin, as modified, does not teach wherein the three support legs are evenly distributed on the two connection rods.
Matheus teaches wherein the three support legs are evenly distributed on the two connection rods (Matheus: FIG. 5 [0023] separate legs 248 attached to a frame 250).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin in view of Matheus directed to including a plurality of legs attached to the cot frame. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to support a cot frame (Matheus: [0002]).
Regarding claim 10,
Lin, as modified, teaches The inflatable cot according to claim 1.
Lin, as modified, does not teach wherein the bottom of the main body is provided with a storage bag.
Matheus teaches wherein the bottom of the main body is provided with a storage bag (Matheus: FIG. 1 [0041] storage space is available under the airbed and cot combination).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin in view of Matheus directed to including a storage bag under the cot and airbed. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide easy means of storing of an airbed cot device (Matheus: [0041]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US20230218090A1) in view of Matheus (US20060000020A1) in further view of Zhu (US20220248869A1).
Regarding claim 9,
Lin, as modified, teaches The inflatable cot according to claim 8.
Lin, as modified, does not teach wherein each of the three support legs is provided with two snap-fit portions, and the two connection rods are respectively detachably snapped into the two snap-fit portions.
Zhu teaches wherein each of the three support legs is provided with two snap-fit portions (Zhu: FIG. 1 [0039] cot legs detachably connected to the supporting legs and extend downward), and the two connection rods are respectively detachably snapped into the two snap-fit portions (Zhu: FIG. 1 [0039] cot legs detachably connected to the supporting legs and extend downward).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin in view of Matheus in further view of Zhu directed to including cot legs that are detachably connected to a frame. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide ease of storing for a cot frame (Zhu: [0042]).
Conclusion
/DAVID R HARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673 3/7/2026
JOSEANE E. TEJADA
Examiner
Art Unit 3673