DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-30 are under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lidgate et al. (US Pat 5,688,529) hereinafter Lidgate in view of Kumar et al. (US20160228379A1) hereinafter Kumar.
Regarding claims 1-26 and 29-30, Lidgate is drawn to dry granulations or powder blends and aqueous oral suspensions of mycophenolate mofetil (abstract and claim 6).
Lidgate discloses a pharmaceutical formulation comprising: mycophenolate mofetil 200 mg/mL, xanthan gum 0.5-1.5 mg/mL, flavor 0.1-3 mg/mL, as a dry granulation or powder blend suitable, when constituted with water, for forming a suspension for oral administration, where mg/mL represents concentration after constitution with water (claim 6). Lidgate discloses a method wherein the mycophenolate mofetil suspension is administered orally (col. 7, ln 62-63).
Lidgate does not explicitly disclose the presence of glycerin in the formulation.
However, Kumar is drawn to extended release suspension compositions of an active ingredient (abstract). Kumar discloses the composition is a suspension or a reconstituted powder for suspension [0058]. Kumar discloses the suspension base comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle, one or more osmogents, and pharmaceutically acceptable excipients [0074]. Kumar discloses the pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle as used herein means an aqueous vehicle [0075].
Kumar discloses mycophenolate mofetil as active ingredient [0077]. Kumar discloses the suspension base comprises an osmogent [0057]. Kumar discloses the term “osmogent,” as used herein, refers to glycerin [0086].
Kumar discloses preservatives are selected from sodium benzoate [0093]. Kumar discloses simethicone [0077]. Kumar discloses glucose [0086]. Kumar discloses xanthan gum as suspending agent [0090]. Kumar discloses sodium phosphate as buffer [0094].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the formulation of Lidgate to comprise glycerin in the formulation, as previously disclosed by Kumar, and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Lidgate and Kumar are both in the field of mycophenolate mofetil suspension formulations and one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results to make the composition as claimed.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lidgate et al. (US Pat 5,688,529) hereinafter Lidgate in view of Kumar et al. (US20160228379A1) hereinafter Kumar as applied to claims 1-26 and 29-30 above and further in view of Buehler (EP1809250B1).
Regarding claims 27-28, Buehler discloses an oral suspension wherein the pharmaceutical suspension may employ a surfactant for use as a wetting agent to aid in the dispersion of certain hydrophobic active agents. In embodiments employing a surfactant, one useful surfactant is a sorbitan oleate ester, particularly, polyoxyethylene sorbitan monooleate also known as polysorbate 80 [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wetting agent in the formulation of Lidgate in view of Kumar to comprise polysorbate 80 in the formulation, as previously disclosed by Buehler, and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Lidgate, Kumar, and Buehler are all in the field of liquid oral suspensions and Buehler discloses oral suspension wherein the pharmaceutical suspension may employ a surfactant for use as a wetting agent, wherein one useful surfactant is a sorbitan oleate ester, particularly, polyoxyethylene sorbitan monooleate also known as polysorbate 80 [0050], thus one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results to make the composition as claimed.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,931,455.
The instant claims differ from the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,931,455 because claim 1 of the ‘455 patent recites a pharmaceutical oral suspension, “consisting of”, which instant claim 1 does not require.
However, instant claim 1 recites “comprising”. Both the instant claims and claims of the ‘455 patent require and share the common feature of mycophenolate mofetil in an amount of about 200 mg/mL; glycerin; one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients; and a vehicle comprising water.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant would be prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application in the other copending application. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose a pharmaceutical oral suspension with mycophenolate mofetil in an amount of about 200 mg/mL; glycerin; one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients; and a vehicle comprising water.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,097,285.
The instant claims differ from the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,097,285 because claim 1 of the ‘285 patent recites glycerin in an amount of 100 mg/mL and xanthan gum, which instant claim 1 does not require.
However, instant claim 1 recites “glycerin in an amount of about 25 mg/mL to about 900 mg/mL”. Both the instant claims and claims of the ‘285 patent require and share the common feature of mycophenolate mofetil in an amount of about 200 mg/mL; glycerin; one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients; and a vehicle comprising water. Instant claim 25 recites xanthan gum.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant would be prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application in the other copending application. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose a pharmaceutical oral suspension with mycophenolate mofetil in an amount of about 200 mg/mL; glycerin; one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients; and a vehicle comprising water. Instant claim 25 recites xanthan gum.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,097,284 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose pharmaceutical oral suspension, comprising:
mycophenolate mofetil in an amount of about 200 mg/ml; a mycophenolate glycerol ester; one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients; and a vehicle comprising water.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,226,526 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose pharmaceutical oral suspension, comprising:
mycophenolate mofetil in an amount of about 200 mg/ml; glycerin in an amount of about 25 mg/mL to about 900 mg/ml; one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients; and water.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,194,143 B2.
The instant claims differ from the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,194,143 because claim 1 of the ‘143 patent recites “wherein the pharmaceutical oral suspension has a pH of from about 3 to about 8”, which instant claim 1 does not require.
However, instant claim 14 recites “pH of from about 3.5 to about 7.2”. Both the instant claims and claims of the ‘143 patent have overlapping pH ranges and and share the common feature of mycophenolate mofetil in an amount of about 200 mg/mL; mycophenolate glycerol ester; glycerin; one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients; and a vehicle comprising water.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant would be prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application in the other copending application. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose a pharmaceutical oral suspension with mycophenolate mofetil in an amount of about 200 mg/mL; glycerin; one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients; mycophenolate glycerol ester; and a vehicle comprising water.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615