DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Application Number 19/015,900 filed on 01/10/2025.
Claims 1-5 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
The examiner would like to note that this application is now being handled by examiner Jeffrey Chalhoub.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 10th, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
“31”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Ganjineh (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0098135 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Ganjineh teaches:
An information processing apparatus comprising a controller, the controller being configured to execute: acquiring first map data including position information of roads; acquiring probe data including a set of position information of a first mobile body positioned on a road;, (See (Ganjineh: Summary of the Invention – 20th-27th, 44th-52nd, and 133rd paragraphs))
training a machine learning model using the probe data as input data and the first map data as ground truth data;, (See (Ganjineh: Summary of the Invention – 58th and 68th paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments – 209th paragraph))
and converting second probe data including a set of position information of a second mobile body, into a road graph including position information of the roads, using the trained machine learning model., (See (Ganjineh: Summary of the Invention – 28th, 67th, and 122nd-127th paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments – 169th-181st and 214th paragraphs))
Regarding Claim 2:
Ganjineh, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ganjineh further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller causes the machine learning model to, (See (Ganjineh: Summary of the Invention – 58th, 68th, and 133rd paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments – 209th paragraph))
[…] learn a relative positional relationship between the set of position information of the first mobile body and an actual road., (See (Ganjineh: Summary of the Invention – 20th-27th and 44th-52nd paragraphs))
Regarding Claim 3:
Ganjineh, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ganjineh further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first map data includes position information of centerline of the roads,, (See (Ganjineh: Summary of the Invention – 45th-47th paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments – 154th paragraph))
[…] and the controller trains the machine learning model using the position information of the centerline of the roads included in the first map data, as the ground truth data., (See (Ganjineh: Summary of the Invention – 26th, 58th, 68th, and 133rd paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments – 209th paragraph))
Regarding Claim 4:
Ganjineh, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 3. Ganjineh further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the controller inputs set of position information included in the second probe data into, (See (Ganjineh: Summary of the Invention – 28th, 67th, 122nd-127th, and 133rd paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments – 169th-181st and 214th paragraphs))
[…] trained machine learning model and obtains a set of position information of the centerline of corresponding road, as an estimation result., (See (Ganjineh: Summary of the Invention – 45th-47th, 58th, and 68th-70th paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments – 154th, 209th, 227th, and 254th paragraphs))
Regarding Claim 5:
Ganjineh, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ganjineh further teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the probe data further includes data regarding position of road boundaries and/or lane boundaries,, (See (Ganjineh: Summary of the Invention – 45th and 98th-115th paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments – 234th-236th paragraphs))
[…] and the controller further includes the data in the input data to train the machine learning model., (See (Ganjineh: Summary of the Invention – 58th, 68th, and 133rd paragraphs and Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiments – 209th paragraph))
Conclusion
/J.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663