DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Examiner wishes to point out to Applicant that claim(s) 1-7 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under the following conditions. The process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (See MPEP 2114 II and 2115 for further details). For apparatuses, the claim limitations will define structural limitations (See MPEP 2114-2115) or functional limitations properly recited (See MPEP 2173.05 (g)).
For example, the limitation “wherein the three-dimensional variable-size printing head assembly is configured to allow an adjustment of a tip size of the hot extruder” is considered as a manner of using the apparatus and it is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 ends with a semicolon (“;”) instead of a period. “Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period”. (See MPEP 608.01(m)). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 depend from claim 1, but it interduces the term “the spring plunger” without antecedent basis in claim 1. The term “spring plunger” is first recited in claim 3, which is not part of the dependency chain for claim 5. For the purpose of examination claim 5 is considered as it depends from claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page (US 2015/0093465) in view of Mackie (US 2013/0189435).
Regarding claim 1, Page teaches a three-dimensional variable-size printing head assembly(i.e. multi-material extruder with interchangeable nozzles of varying sizes) (Abstract, Fig. 1, Fig. 2B and [0076]) comprising:
a first base (chassis (1018)) (see Fig. 1A);
a second base (1006) connected to the first base.., wherein the second base is movable relative to the first base (see Fig. 1A;[0063]);
a hot extruder assembly (heating nozzle (1016) includes a heater (1028) for heating filaments) connected to the second base (see Fig. 1A and Fig. 1E; [0071]);
a driven gear assembly (3028); a driver gear assembly (a motor and flexible drive shaft) (see Fig. 3A and Fig. 3D; [0079]). However, Page does not explicitly teach that the second base connected to the first base via a vertical alignment rod.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, Mackie teaches a 3-D printer system (Abstract; Fig. 1), comprises a first base (30) and a second base (a support arm (36)) acts as movable platform; a threaded rod (42) connects the tool support arm (36) to the base plate (first base), thus, the threaded rod (42) capable of being a vertical alignment rod connecting the second base to the first base (see Fig. 1; [0046-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Page in view of Mackie with the second base connected to the first base via a vertical alignment rod as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Mackie above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide variable size printing head with vertical adjustability.
Page in view of Mackie further teaches a vertical movement assembly (vertical motion (Z) drive system (1010)) configured to move the second base relative to the first base; wherein the three-dimensional variable-size printing head assembly is configured to allow an adjustment of a tip size of the hot extruder (see Fig. 1A and Fig. 2B;[0063] and [0076] of Page).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page (US 2015/0093465) in view of Mackie (US 2013/0189435) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schmehl (US 2015/0137402).
Regarding claim 2, Page in view of Mackie teaches the three-dimensional variable-size printing head assembly of as discussed in claim 1 above.
Page further teaches, wherein the hot extruder assembly comprises:
a heat sink (1026) having a plurality of cooling fins and air channels (see Fig. 1B and 1E; [0068] and [0071]);
a heating block (1016) having a heating element (1028) and .., the heating block is configured to heat a printing filament (1024) (see Fig. 1E; [0068]);
a nozzle (1016) designed to extrude a heated printing filament through a nozzle tip (1030); an insulation case (insulating volume (1038)) configured to insulate heat generated by the heating block (see Fig. 1E; [0064-0068] and [0071]). Page in view of Mackie does not teach a temperature sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing devices, Schmehl teaches an extruder as tool head of a three-dimensional printer (Abstract), comprises a build platform (102a), an extruder (126) and a temperature sensor positioned to sense a temperature of the surface of the build platform, the extruder, or any other system component (see Fig. 1;[0024-0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Page in view of Schmehl with a temperature sensor as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Schmehl above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would control the temperature of the build platform, the extruder, or any other system component (see [0017] and [0024-0025] of Schmehl).
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page (US 2015/0093465) in view of Mackie (US 2013/0189435) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Urbach (US 2014/0013901).
Regarding claim 3, Page in view of Mackie further teaches the three-dimensional variable-size printing head assembly as discussed in claim 1 above.
Page further teaches the driven gear assembly comprises: a driven gear (3028) with a plurality of teeth configured to engage with the driver gear assembly (see Fig. 3A-3D; [0079]); one or more extrusion heads (multiple nozzles) of varying nozzle sizes (see Figs.1A-1E and Figs. 2A-2E;[0010],[0018-0019] and [0076]).
However, Page in view of Mackie does not explicitly teach that the driven gear assembly comprises a cover; a central bolt and nut; a bearing configured to provide a smooth rotational movement and reduced friction of the driven gear; and a spring plunger.
In analogous art, Gear systems, Urbach teaches a yoke assembly adapted for use in a rack and pinion steering gear assembly (Abstract), comprises a yoke cover secured in the bore, a nut (86) disposed on the externally threaded portion of a first member and an automatic adjusting mechanism secured in the yoke cover, a yoke bearing (158) disposed in the bore; and a spring (160) disposed in the bore between the yoke bearing and the yoke cover, thus, the spring in the assembly which function as a spring plunger (see Fig. 1;[0013], [0037], [0042-0045] and [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Page in view of Urbach with driven gear assembly comprises a cover; a central bolt and nut; a bearing configured to provide a smooth rotational movement and reduced friction of the driven gear; and a spring plunger as such is known in the art of gear assemblies given the discussion of Urbach above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide reduced friction and stability.
Regarding claim 5, Page in view of Mackie and Urbach further teaches the three-dimensional variable-size printing head assembly, wherein the spring plunger supports the driven gear assembly to provide an additional stability (i.e. the spring disposed in the bore between the yoke bearing and the yoke cover so as to maintain the member in constant contact against the yoke bearing as associated components of the rack and pinion steering gear wear) (see Fig. 1; [0014],[0042] and [0044] of Urbach) .
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page (US 2015/0093465) in view of Mackie (US 2013/0189435) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Konstantinos (US 2015/0140147).
Regarding claim 4, Page in view of Mackie teaches the three-dimensional variable-size printing head assembly as discussed in claim 1 above.
Page further teaches the driver gear assembly comprises: a .. motor (3006); a driver gear (3028,3046) with a plurality of teeth configured to engage with the driven gear assembly (see Fig. 3D; [0079], [0082-0083]). However, Page in view of Mackie does not teach that the motor is a stepper motor with a shaft and the driver gear is configured to be mounted onto the stepper motor shaft; one or more stepper motor screw openings for securely mounting the motor; and a bolt and a bolt opening to secure the driver gear onto the stepper motor shaft.
In the same field of endeavor, 3D printing systems, Konstantinos teaches an extrusion assembly 100 comprising a driver gear assembly includes a driving motor (1) which is a dual pole stepper motor with a drive motor pinion gear (2) acts as a shaft and engages to a gear chain (3) and a printhead gears (9) with a plurality of teeth, (see Fig. 1; [0027] and [0029]), wherein the driver gear is mounted is mounted into the stepper motor shaft (see Fig. 1;[0027]); one or more stepper motor screw openings (18) for securely mounting gear train block (17) to the drive the motor (1); and a bolt and a bolt opening to secure the driver gear onto the stepper motor shaft (holes (15,16,18,20)) for screws or bolts to fasten components including the driver gear) (see Fig. 1; [0036] and [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Page in view of Konstantinos with the motor is a stepper motor with a shaft and the driver gear is configured to be mounted onto the stepper motor shaft; one or more stepper motor screw openings for securely mounting the motor; and a bolt and a bolt opening to secure the driver gear onto the stepper motor shaft as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Konstantinos above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so would provide a precise, secure and adjustable mechanism to ensure smooth and reliable engagement between gears.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Page (US 2015/0093465) in view of Mackie (US 2013/0189435) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Susnjara (US 2021/0347118).
Regarding claim 6, Page in view of Mackie teaches the three-dimensional variable-size printing head assembly as discussed in claim 1 above.
Page in view of Mackie doe not teach, wherein the vertical movement assembly comprises:
a second stepper motor having a stepper motor shaft; a lead screw coupler; a lead screw nut; a lead screw; wherein the vertical movement assembly is configured to allow for precise vertical adjustments of the hot extruder assembly relative to the first base.
In the same field of endeavor, additive manufacturing apparatuses, Susnjara teaches an additive manufacturing apparatus includes an extruder, a carrier (25) displaceable along the z-axis by a vertical movement assembly includes servomotor mounted on a carriage (24) and operatively connected to the carrier (25), a stepper motor shaft; a lead screw coupler (86) a lead screw nut (87); a lead screw (85); wherein the vertical movement assembly is capable to be configured to allow for precise vertical adjustments of the extruder assembly (43) relative to a first base (240 (see Figs. 1-2 and Fig. 8A;[0024-0025] and [0032-0036]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the apparatus as taught by Page in view of Susnjara with vertical movement assembly includes a second stepper motor having a stepper motor shaft; a lead screw coupler; a lead screw nut; a lead screw; wherein the vertical movement assembly is configured to allow for precise vertical adjustments of the hot extruder assembly relative to the first base as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Susnjara above; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefits of doing so to facilitate a precise and controlled vertical motion of the three dimensional printer components of.
Regarding claim 7, Page in view of Mackie and Susnjara teaches the three-dimensional variable-size printing head assembly, wherein the lead screw coupler (86) of the vertical movement assembly connects the lead screw (85) to the shaft of the second stepper motor (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 8A; [0032-0036] of Susnjara).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ramia (US 2021/0031436) teaches a variable nozzle extrusion system (100) comprises a variable extruder nozzle head (29), a variable extruder gear system (20), a variable extruder housing (21), (see Fig. 1;[0016] and [0027]).
Beeman (US 4,094,492) teaches a variable orifice forming mechanism utilizing an iris shutter arrangement adapted to control a material flow (Abstract), wherein the shutter arrangement consists of a drive gear (12)moves a drive ring (11) causing the leaves (13) to change an orifice size (see Figs. 1-2; column 3, lines 15-60).
/MOHAMED K AHMED ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 1743