CTNF 19/015,976 CTNF 86666 DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to the application 19/015976, filed on 01/10/2025. 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. As per the Preliminary Amendment filed on 10/09/2025, claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent. Priority/Continuity This application is a continuation of Application No. 18/333941, filed on 06/13/2023, currently US Patent No. 12,200,135. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 11/20/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner. However, the IDS lists over 160 US Patents and Patent Applications documents, and over 30 Foreign References and Non-Patent Literature documents, totaling thousands of pages, and therefore, only a cursory review has been made for each cited reference, which has been indicated been reviewed. MPEP 2004-Aids to Compliance With Duty to Discloser, section 13 , provide guidance on this matter of long list, by stating, “ If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant's attention and/or are known to be of most significance . ” Based on the above cited MPEP guidance, the Examiner respectfully requests further information form the Applicant; if possible by the Applicant, to provide identification of most significant documents and sections of the documents, in assisting the Examiner in proper prosecution process. Claim Objections Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: As to claim 1, claim 1 cites the limitations, in line 6-7 “ detecting, by the computing device, an extension of the web browser to perform the authentication ,” whereas in the following lines, in line 8-9, the limitation cites, “ receiving, by the computing device, a second request to confirm that an extension of the web browser is installed on the computing device .” The Examiner assumes that citation of “ an extension ” in line 8, was a typographical error; the claim meant to cites, “ the extension ” for properly referring to the “extension” that is cited in line 6. As to claim 15, claim 15 cites the limitations, in line 10 “ perform the function with he online portal , as indicated by the request .” The Examiner assumes that citation of “ he online portal, ” was a typographical error; the claim meant to cites, “ the online portal. ” Appropriate correction(s) is required. Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp. 08-34 AIA Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,200,135 . Although, the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the reference claims . The following claims are presented side by side for comparison. The comparison shows how the broader scoped independent claims 1, 8, and 15 of the instant application are anticipated by the narrower scoped independent claims 1, 10, and 19 of the reference patent. While the limitation phrase “ a result of the authentication ” is not captured in the claims of the independent claims of the reference patent, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that “ in response to determining that the first request is authentic, ” as cited in the claims of the reference patent, is an equivalent narrower scope of the process, and a choice of linguistic expression. In addition, the narrower limitation of the reference independent claims, capturing the scopes of, “ short-range wireless communication ” and “ server ” are captured in the scope of dependent claims 6, 7, 11, 12, 18, and 19 of the instant application, respectively. The other broader dependent claims 2-5, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 20, of the instant application, are also anticipated, respectively. Instant Application 19/015,976 Reference Patent US 12,200,135 1. A method comprising: receiving, at a computing device, a request to perform a function with an online portal via a web browser; determining, by the computing device, that authentication is to be performed to permit the function to be performed; detecting, by the computing device, an extension of the web browser to perform the authentication; receiving, by the computing device, a second request to confirm that an extension of the web browser is installed on the computing device; responsive to the computing device confirming that the extension is installed on the computing device, causing, by the computing device, the extension of the web browser to perform initiate the authentication; receiving, by the computing device, a result of the authentication, the result indicating that the request to perform the function is authenticated; and performing, by the computing device, the function indicated by the request. 6. The method of claim 5, wherein performing the authentication includes receiving data from the contactless card based on a near-field communications (NFC) exchange between the contactless card and the computing device and sending the data to an authentication server for validation. 7. The method of claim 6, wherein the result of the authentication by the authentication server is received by the extension and passed to the online portal, thereby instructing the online portal to perform the function with the computing device. 1. A computer-implemented method to enable short-range wireless communication via a webpage on a computing device, the computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, via a web-browser executing on the computing device, from the webpage, a first request to execute a computer-executable instruction, the computer-executable instruction including a request for data from an enterprise server; receiving, from the enterprise server, a second request to authenticate the first request from the webpage; triggering, in response to the second request from the enterprise server , the web-browser to execute a predetermined computer program, the predetermined computer program being a browser extension of the web-browser; scanning, by the predetermined computer program, using a short-range wireless communication module of the computing device, encrypted data from a contactless card; in response to determining that the first request is authentic based on the encrypted data, transmitting, by the predetermined computer program, a response to the enterprise server causing the enterprise server to send the data; and executing, via the web-browser, the computer-executable instruction from the first request in response to receiving the data sent by the enterprise server. 8. A computing device comprising: a processing circuit; and memory having executable instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the processing circuit, causes the processing circuit to: receive a request to perform a function with a website via a web browser; determine that authentication is to be performed to permit the function to be performed; detect an extension of the web browser to perform the authentication; cause the extension of the web browser to perform the authentication; receive a result of the authentication, the result indicating that the request to perform the function is authenticated; and perform the function indicated by the request. 11. The computing device of claim 10, wherein performing the authentication includes the computing device being caused to receive data from the contactless card based on a near-field communications (NFC) exchange between the contactless card and the computing device and sending the data to an authentication server for validation. 12. The computing device of claim 11, wherein the result of the authentication by the authentication server is received by the extension and passed to the website, thereby instructing the website to perform the function with the computing device. 10. A computing device comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the computing device to: receive, via a web-browser executing on the computing device, from a webpage, a first request to execute a computer-executable instruction, the computer-executable instruction requests data from an enterprise server ; receive, from the enterprise server, a second request to authenticate the first request from the webpage; trigger, in response to the second request from the enterprise server, the web-browser to execute a predetermined computer program, the predetermined computer program being a browser extension of the web-browser; read, by the predetermined computer program, using a short-range wireless communication module of the computing device, encrypted data from a contactless card; in response to determining that the first request is authentic based on the encrypted data, transmit, by the predetermined computer program, a response to the enterprise server causing the enterprise server to send the data; and execute, via the web-browser, the computer-executable instruction from the first request in response to receiving the data sent by the enterprise server. 15. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions stored thereon, which when executed by a processing circuit, causes the processing circuit to: process a request to perform a function with an online portal via a web browser; determine that authentication is to be performed to permit the function to be performed; cause an extension of the web browser to perform the authentication; receive a result of the authentication, the result indicating that the request to perform the function is authenticated; and perform the function with (t)he online portal, as indicated by the request. 18. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein performing the authentication includes the computing device being caused to receive data from the contactless card based on a near-field communications (NFC) transfer between the contactless card and the computing device and sending the data to an authentication server for validation. 19. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 18, wherein the result of the authentication by the authentication server is received by the extension and passed to the online portal, thereby instructing the online to perform the function with the computing device. 19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to: receive, via a web-browser executing on the computing device, from a webpage, a first request to execute a computer-executable instruction, the computer-executable instruction requests data from an enterprise server ; receive, from the enterprise server, a second request to authenticate the first request from the webpage; trigger, in response to the second request from the enterprise server, the web-browser to execute a predetermined computer program, the predetermined computer program being a browser extension of the web-browser; receive, by the predetermined computer program, using a short-range wireless communication module of the computing device, encrypted data from a contactless card; in response to determining that the first request is authentic based on the encrypted data, transmit, by the predetermined computer program, a response to the enterprise server causing the enterprise server to send the data; and execute, via the web-browser, the computer-executable instruction from the first request in response to receiving the data sent by the enterprise server . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the Examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the Examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rule et al (“Rule-083,” US 2022/0272083, published on 08/25/2022), in view of Rule et al (“Rule-672,” US 2020/0250672, published on 08/06/2020) . As to claim 1, Rule-083 teaches a method (Rule-083: pars 0019, 0036-0038, 0058, a system apparatus/method where a near field communication (NFC) is established between a user apparatus, and a contactless card via an NFC reader, for the verification, authentication, and transaction process of a payment) comprising: receiving, at a computing device, a request to perform a function with an online portal (Rule-083: pars0056-0059, 0079-0080, user login to a transaction App [application] of the user device [i.e. an online portal] and entered information is verified by the backend authentication server associating with the transaction application. Request a payment/transaction request associated with a payment card) ; determining, by the computing device, that authentication is to be performed to permit the function to be performed (Rule-083: pars 0056-0059, a payment transaction request using the payment card is to be verified for performing authentication process and authorizing the requested payment) ; detecting, by the computing device, an extension to perform the authentication; receiving, by the computing device, a second request to confirm that an extension is installed on the computing device (Rule-083: pars 0053, 0056, determine if the application [i.e. an extension] that will perform the transaction verification is installed on the client device. If not, initiates a download of the application, then complete the download and launch the application) ; responsive to the computing device confirming that the extension is installed on the computing device, causing, by the computing device, the extension to perform initiate the authentication (Rule-083: pars 0019, 0036-0044; Fig 1B, 2, using of a reader/application; the system of the user/client device creates a communication interface using a near field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, or Wi-Fi protocol, with a contactless card that generates a message authentication code MAC cryptogram [i.e. cryptogram, and sends the MAC cryptogram to the application of the user/client device. The received MAC cryptogram is verified by the application of the user device or by the server) ; receiving, by the computing device, a result of the authentication, the result indicating that the request to perform the function is authenticated; and performing, by the computing device, the function indicated by the request (Rule-083: pars 0036-0044; 0056-0057, Fig 1B, based on the positive verification [i.e., result of authentication] of the received MAC cryptogram, financial/commercial payment/transaction is processed with the associated server device) . While Rule-083 describes of an application or extension application performing the operations, as addressed above, Rule-083 does not explicitly teach the limitation, via a web browser; and an extension of the web browser. However, in an analogous art, Rule-672 teaches via a web-browser (Rule-672: pars 0017-0019, discloses a web browser that is an application that allows the mobile device to access information from a contactless card, and to communicate with server via the network; and an extension of the web browser (Rule-672: pars 0017-0019, 0030, Using the web browser, a user enters information one or more payment fields for a transaction process [i.e. an example extension] that is required by the server. Encrypted data causes the web browser to open a new tab [i.e. another example of extension] and follow the URL with encrypted data leads to the authentication application). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rule-672 with the method/system of Rule-083 to include the limitation(s), via a web browser; and an extension of the web browser, where one would have been motivated to use a web-browser, an extension of web-browser, as a form of interactive plugin application, for user to enter payment information, and to communicate with the server and completing the payment transaction in connection with the server (Rule-672: pars 0017-0019, 0030) . As to claim 2, the combination of Rule-083 and Rule-672 teaches the method of claim 1, Rule-083 and Rule-672 further teaches wherein the online portal or the web browser determines that the authentication is to be performed (Rule-083: pars 0056-0059, 0079-0080, user login to a transaction App, and entered information is verified by the backend authentication server associating with the transaction application for authenticating the transaction. Request a payment/transaction request associated with a payment card. Rule-672: pars 0017-0019, 0030, the web browser allows the mobile device to access information from a contactless card, and to communicate with server via the network for authentication. Using the web browser, a user enters information one or more payment fields for a transaction process [i.e. extension] that is required by the server. Encrypted data causes the web browser to open a new tab [i.e. extension] and follow the URL with encrypted data leads to the authentication application) . As to claim 3, the combination of Rule-083 and Rule-672 teaches the method of claim 1, Rule-083 teaches of further comprising responsive to the computing device determining that the browser extension is not present on the computing device, ignoring, by the computing device, the request to perform the function (Rule-672: pars 0017-0019, 0030, discloses that using the web browser, a user enters information one or more payment fields for a transaction process [i.e. extension] that is required by the server. Encrypted data causes the web browser to open a new tab [i.e. extension] and follow the URL with encrypted data leads to the authentication application. Therefore, it is implied that if the above condition of browser extension is not fulfilled, the transaction process cannot be completed [i.e., ignored]) . As to claim 4, the combination of Rule-083 and Rule-672 teaches the method of claim 3, Rule-083 and Rule-672 further teaches wherein a notification is displayed on the computing device indicating that the function cannot be performed (Rule-083: par 0071, user is informed if the authenticated. Rule-083: par 0081, discloses of triggering warning for high-risk authentication process. Thus, triggering of warning/notification can be made if the transaction cannot be performed) . As to claim 5, the combination of Rule-083 and Rule-672 teaches the method of claim 1, Rule-083 further teaches wherein the extension initiates the authentication by using an application affiliated with a contactless card associated with a user of the computing device (Rule-083: 0036-0044, using of the application; the system of the user/client device creates a communication, and receiving of the MAC cryptogram from the contactless card) . As to claim 6, the combination of Rule-083 and Rule-672 teaches the method of claim 5, Rule-083 further teaches wherein performing the authentication includes receiving data from the contactless card based on a near-field communications (NFC) exchange between the contactless card and the computing device and sending the data to an authentication server for validation (Rule-083: pars 0019, 0036-0044; Fig 1B, 2, using of a reader/application; the system of the user/client device creates a communication interface [i.e. scanning] using a near field communication (NFC), Bluetooth, or Wi-Fi protocol) . As to claim 7, the combination of Rule-083 and Rule-672 teaches the method of claim 6, Rule-083 further teaches wherein the result of the authentication by the authentication server is received by the extension and passed to the online portal, thereby instructing the online portal to perform the function with the computing device (Rule-083: 0036-0044; 0056-0057, Fig 1B, based on the positive verification of the received encrypted data [i.e. cryptogram in encrypted form], financial/commercial payment/transaction is processed with the associated server device) . As to claim 8, the claim is directed to a device, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the method claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1. As to claims 9-12, the claims are similar to the claims 2 and 5-7, respectively, and rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claims 2 and 5-7. As to claim 13, the combination of Rule-083 and Rule-672 teaches the device of claim 8, Rule-083 further teaches wherein determining that authentication is to be performed includes the processing circuit being configured to determine that the requested function is a predetermined function that requires authentication (Rule-083: par 0081, 0091; user log in to the transaction app, and wants to perform a specific transaction. The system can process triggering warning for high-risk transaction, and process of certain amount) . As to claim 14, the combination of Rule-083 and Rule-672 teaches the device of claim 8, Rule-672 further teaches wherein the extension is a predetermined computer program that the web browser can access and cause to execute (Rule-672: pars 0017-0019, 0030, Using the web browser, a user enters information one or more payment fields for a transaction process that is required by the server. Encrypted data causes the web browser to open a new tab and follow the URL with encrypted data leads to the authentication application) . As to claim 15, the claim is directed to a storage medium, and the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the method claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 1. As to claims 16-19, the claims are similar to the claims 2 and 5-7, respectively, and rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claims 2 and 5-7. As to claim 20, the claims are similar to the claim 13, respectively, and rejected for the same reason set forth above for claim 13. Conclusion 07-101 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Jahangir Kabir whose telephone number is (571) 270-3355. The Examiner can normally be reached on 9:00- 5:00 Mon-Thu. If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Luu Pham can be reached on (571) 270-5002. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center and the Private Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center or Private PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center and Private PAIR for authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form. /JAHANGIR KABIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 2 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 3 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 4 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 5 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 6 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 7 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 8 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 9 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 10 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 11 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 12 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 13 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 14 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 15 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 16 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 17 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 18 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 19 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 20 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 21 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 22 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 23 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 19/015,976 Page 24 Art Unit: 2439