DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 21, 22, 24, 31, 32, and 34 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Palti (US 2005/0209642 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Palti discloses a method of treating a target region of a prostate tissue, the method comprising: placing a plurality of electrodes near the target region (par 0106-0107); and activating a generator to deliver electrical pulses to the prostate tissue via the plurality of electrodes (par 0101-0102, 0106-0107, 0155), wherein: a first set of electrical pulses is delivered to the prostate tissue via a first pair of electrodes, wherein the first set of pulses is less than a total number of desired pulses to be applied by the first pair of electrodes (par 0101-0102, 0106-0107, 0155); a second set of electrical pulses is delivered to the prostate tissue via a second pair of electrodes, wherein the second set of pulses is less than a total number of desired pulses to be applied by the second pair of electrodes (par 0101-0102, 0106-0107, 0155); and additional sets of electrical pulses are delivered via the first and second pairs of electrodes until the total number of desired pulses for each pair is delivered (par 0107).
Regarding claim 22, Palti discloses the total number of desired electrical pulses are sufficient to irreversibly electroporate the prostate tissue in the target region (par 0101-0102, 0106-0107, 0155).
Regarding claim 24, Palti discloses the plurality of electrodes comprises three or more electrodes (par 0107).
Regarding claim 31, Palti discloses a method of treating a target region of a tissue, the method comprising: placing a plurality of electrodes near the target region (par 0106-0107); and activating a generator to deliver electrical pulses to the target region via the plurality of electrodes (par 0101-0102, 0106-0107, 0155), wherein: a total number of electrical pulses to be applied between the plurality of electrodes is divided into subsets of electrical pulses (par 0101-0102, 0106-0107, 0155), each subset is sequentially applied between the plurality of electrodes until all of the electrodes have been activated to define a pulse cycle (par 0101-0102, 0106-0107, 0155), and the pulse cycles are repeated until the total number of electrical pulses are applied (par 0101-0102, 0106-0107, 0155).
Regarding claim 32, Palti discloses the tissue comprises prostate tissue (par 0101-0102, 0106-0107, 0155).
Regarding claim 34, Palti discloses the plurality of electrodes comprises three or more electrodes (par 0107).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23, 25-30, 33, and 35-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chornenky (US6994706B2); Imran (US5520684A); Chornenky (US7130697B2) which all disclose known methods and structures for treating prostate tissue.
Lindsey G Wehrheim
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/LINDSEY G WEHRHEIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799