DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al (US 2013/0335714; hereinafter referred to as Zhu).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhu teaches a projection system (Figure 1A; Optical Apparatus 1) comprising:
a light source configured to output light (see Paragraph [0015]; wherein a light source is inherently present to emit the at least one light beam);
a light modulator configured to modulate the light output from the light source (see Paragraph [0026]; wherein it is inherent for a light modulator to be present in order for an image to be formed on the screen);
a projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) configured to project the light modulated by the light modulator (see Paragraph [0026]; wherein it is disclosed that the optical engine 121 emits at least one light beam L, which passes through the optical lens unit 122 and then projected to the reflective module 13); and
an adjustment mechanism (Figure 1A; Support Stand 11 and Reflective Module 13) disposed at a side of the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) toward which the light is projected from the projection optical apparatus (see Figure 1A),
wherein the adjustment mechanism (Figure 1A; Support Stand 11 and Reflective Module 13) includes a movable section (Figure 1A; Back Frame 112 and Reflective Module 13) provided to be movable relative to the projection optical apparatus (see Figure 1A and Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the inclination angle between the back frame 112 and the base 111 can be adjusted by adjusting the first adjusting unit 15), and is so configured that a traveling direction of the light (Figure 1A; Light Beam L) projected from the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) is changed by the movable section (Figure 1A; Back Frame 112 and Reflective Module 13) moving relative to the projection optical apparatus (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the first adjusting units 15 are able to adjust the inclination angle according to the image reflected by the reflective mirror 131 of the reflective module 13, and fix the desired reflective angle between the back frame 112 and the base 111).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhu teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Zhu further teaches the movable section (Figure 1A; Back Frame 112 and Reflective Module 13) includes an optical element (Figure 1A; Reflective Module 13) that the light projected from the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) enters (see Figure 1A).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhu teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Zhu further teaches the optical element (Figure 1A; Reflective Module 13) is an optical element (Figure 1A; Reflective Module 13) that widens an angle of view of the light projected from the projection optical apparatus (see Paragraph [0026]; wherein it is disclosed that the reflective module 13 includes a reflective mirror 131 (such as a convex mirror)).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhu teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Zhu further teaches the movable section (Figure 1A; Back Frame 112 and Reflective Module 13) includes a holder (Figures 3A and 3B; Adjusting Unit 16) configured to hold the optical element (see Figures 3A and 3B; Paragraph [0033]),
the holder (Figures 3A and 3B; Adjusting Unit 16) includes a first holding member (Figures 3A and 3B; wherein the protrusions on the side of reflective module 13 constitute the first holding member) and a second holding member (see Figures 3A and 3B; wherein the second holding member is the holes in back frame 112 which screws 161 pass through) configured to sandwich the optical element (Figure 3A; Reflective Module 13) in a direction in which an optical axis of the optical element extends (see Figures 3A and 3B; Paragraph [0033]), and
the first holding member (Figures 3A and 3B; wherein the protrusions on the side of reflective module 13 constitute the first holding member) and the second holding member (see Figures 3A and 3B; wherein the second holding member is the holes in back frame 112 which screws 161 pass through) are fixed to each other (see Figure 3B and Paragraph [0033]).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhu teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Zhu further teaches the second holding member (see Figures 3A and 3B; wherein the second holding member is the holes in back frame 112 which screws 161 pass through) has a first fixing hole formed therein through which a threaded member (Figures 3A and 3B; Screws 161) is passable (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that two screws 161 pass through two sides of the back frame 112), the threaded member (Figures 3A and 3B; Screws 161) configured to fix the second holding member to the first holding member (see Figures 3A and 3B; Paragraph [0033]), and
at least one of two conditions is satisfied: a second fixing hole (Figure 3A; wherein the second fixing hole corresponds to the holes in the protrusions located on the left and right side of the reflective module 13) is formed along with the first fixing hole (see Paragraph [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that two screws 161 pass through two sides of the back frame 112) side by side in the second holding member in a direction in which the optical axis of the optical element extends (see Figures 3A and 3B);
Regarding Claim 6, Zhu teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Zhu further teaches the movable section (Figure 1A; Back Frame 112 and Reflective Module 13) is rotatable with respect to the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) around an axis of rotation extending in a first direction perpendicular to an optical axis of the projection optical apparatus (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the first adjusting units 15 are able to adjust the inclination angle according to the image reflected by the reflective mirror 131 of the reflective module 13, and fix the desired reflective angle between the back frame 112 and the base 111).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhu teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Zhu further teaches the light (Figure 1A; Light Beam L) projected from the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) is projected in a direction offset from the optical axis of the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) toward a first side in a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis of the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) and the first direction (see Figure 1A), and
the movable section (Figure 1A; Back Frame 112 and Reflective Module 13) is rotatable relative to the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) around the axis of rotation toward the first side (see Paragraphs [0031] and [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that the first adjusting units 15 are able to adjust the inclination angle according to the image reflected by the reflective mirror 131 of the reflective module 13, and fix the desired reflective angle between the back frame 112 and the base 111 and that the second adjusting unit 16 can move the reflective module 112 so as to adjust a swing angle .theta. of the reflective module 13).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhu teaches the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Zhu further teaches the light (Figure 1A; Light Beam L) projected from the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) is projected in a direction not offset from the optical axis of the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) in a second direction perpendicular to both the optical axis of the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) and the first direction (see Figure 1), and
the movable section (Figure 1A; Back Frame 112 and Reflective Module 13) is rotatable relative to the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) around the axis of rotation toward each of a first side in the second direction and a second side in the second direction (see Paragraphs [0031] and [0033]; wherein it is disclosed that the first adjusting units 15 are able to adjust the inclination angle according to the image reflected by the reflective mirror 131 of the reflective module 13, and fix the desired reflective angle between the back frame 112 and the base 111 and that the second adjusting unit 16 can move the reflective module 112 so as to adjust a swing angle .theta. of the reflective module 13).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhu teaches an adjustment mechanism (Figure 1A; Support Stand 11 and Reflective Module 13) attached to a projector (Figure 1A; Optical Apparatus 1) including a light source configured to output light (see Paragraph [0015]; wherein a light source is inherently present to emit the at least one light beam), a light modulator configured to modulate the light output from the light source (see Paragraph [0026]; wherein it is inherent for a light modulator to be present in order for an image to be formed on the screen), and a projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) configured to project the light modulated by the light modulator (see Paragraph [0026]; wherein it is disclosed that the optical engine 121 emits at least one light beam L, which passes through the optical lens unit 122 and then projected to the reflective module 13), the adjustment mechanism (Figure 1A; Support Stand 11 and Reflective Module 13) including
a movable section (Figure 1A; Back Frame 112 and Reflective Module 13) provided to be movable relative to the projection optical apparatus (see Figure 1A and Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the inclination angle between the back frame 112 and the base 111 can be adjusted by adjusting the first adjusting unit 15),
wherein the adjustment mechanism (Figure 1A; Support Stand 11 and Reflective Module 13) is disposed at a side of the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) toward which the light (Figure 1A; Light Beam L) is projected from the projection optical apparatus (see Figure 1A), and
the adjustment mechanism (Figure 1A; Support Stand 11 and Reflective Module 13) is so configured that a traveling direction of the light (Figure 1A; Light Beam L) projected from the projection optical apparatus (Figure 1A; Optical Lens Unit 122) is changed by the movable section (Figure 1A; Back Frame 112 and Reflective Module 13) moving relative to the projection optical apparatus (see Paragraph [0031]; wherein it is disclosed that the first adjusting units 15 are able to adjust the inclination angle according to the image reflected by the reflective mirror 131 of the reflective module 13, and fix the desired reflective angle between the back frame 112 and the base 111).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 9, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require an enclosure configured to house the light source and the light modulator, wherein the adjustment mechanism includes a fixed member fixed to the enclosure, the fixed member has two holes formed therein, a support hole through which the axis of rotation passes, and a guide hole disposed away from the support hole in a radial direction from the axis of rotation as a center and extending in a circumferential direction around the axis of rotation, and the movable section is attached to the fixed member with a first threaded member passing through the support hole and a second threaded member passing though the guide hole.
These limitations in combination with the limitations of claims 1 and 6 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882