DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims filed 3/10/2026 were received and have been entered. Claims 1-9 and 12-15 have been amended. Claims 10-11 have been canceled. Therefore, claims 1-9 and 12-15 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 12-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. US 2011/0283334.
As to independent claim 1, Figures 3, 26 and 27 of Choi teach a system having a terminal operation management apparatus comprising: a processor (180, see ¶76) that is communicably connected to a plurality of displays (two displays 200-1 and 200-2), and a communication terminal (electronic device 100, ¶34-¶37), wherein the processor (processor or controller 180):
recognizes a position (position, see ¶135) of a communication terminal (100) relative (relative, see ¶119) to each of the plurality of displays, the communication terminal (100) existing around the plurality of display (Fig 26 and at least ¶164-¶169)
individually determines whether or not the position of the communication terminal relative to each of the plurality of displays is a predetermined position (Fig 27 and ¶170-¶171 explained determine whether or not the reference distance Rd of the communication terminal 100 moves relative to each of the plurality of displays 200-1 and 200-2 by a predetermined distance d1 or d6);
enables operation of a display among the plurality of displays through the communication terminal when the position of the communication terminal relative to the display determined to be the predetermined position (See at least [0167] When the second external electronic device 200-2 that is located within the reference distance with respect to the electronic device 100 is searched, the controller 180 controls the second external electronic device 200-2 so that the second external electronic device 200-2 displays the shared content (S1408).);
excludes a display that is not displaying a screen from the plurality of displays for which it is determined whether or not to enable the operation through the communication terminal (See at least [0167] Further, the controller 180 controls the first external electronic device 200-1 so that the first external electronic device 200-1 does not display the shared content anymore.).
As to claim 2, Choi teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation of the display through the communication terminal includes operation for using content displayed on the display. (See Choi ¶ 80).
As to claim 3, Choi teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 1, the processor recognizes the position of the communication terminal relative to the display, based on measurement information on a distance and an angle, the distance being a distance between the display and the communication terminal, the angle being an angle of a direction from the display toward the communication terminal with respect to a predetermined reference direction. (See Choi ¶ 112, and See also at least ¶135).
As to claim 4, Choi teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined position is a position within an area of use set around the display. (See Choi ¶170-¶171).
As to claim 5, Choi teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the area of use is set on a side in a display direction of the display. (See Choi ¶170-¶171).
As to claim 7, Choi teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 4, wherein when a plurality of the communication terminals exists within the area of use, the processor enables the operation of the display through all of the communication terminals existing within the area of use. (See Choi ¶34-¶37).
As to claim 8, Choi teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 4, wherein when a plurality of the communication terminals exists within the area of use, the processor enables the operation of the display through only any one communication terminal existing within the area of use (See ¶167, ¶171-¶171).
As to claim 9, Choi teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 4, wherein when a plurality of the communication terminals exists within the area of use, the processor determines, for each of the communication terminals individually, whether or not to enable the operation of the display through the communication terminal, based on functionality that the communication terminal has. (See Choi ¶170-¶171).
As to claim 12, Choi teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim1, wherein the predetermined position is a position within an area of use set around the display apparatus, the area of use being set with respect to each of the plurality of displays, and the processor further changes the area of use, according to a number of the plurality of displays that are displaying a screen, or a position where the display that is displaying a screen is disposed. (See Choi ¶167, ¶171-¶171).
As to claim 13, Choi teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined position is a position within an area of use set around the display, the area of use being set with respect to each of the plurality of displays, and with regard to a first display and a second display included in the plurality of displays, in a state where the communication terminal is in a first area of use that is the area of use set with respect to the first display and operation of the first display through the communication terminal is enabled, when a change in position of the communication terminal causes the position of the communication terminal to be displaced into a second area of use that is the area of use set with respect to the second display, the processor disables the operation of the first display through the communication terminal and enables operation of the second display through the communication terminal, and also switches an output destination of content displayed on the first display from the first display to the second display (See Choi Fig. 27, and ¶170-¶171).
As to claim 14, Choi teaches a terminal operation management method executed by a computer, comprising: a communication terminal position recognition step of recognizing a position of a communication terminal relative to each of a plurality of displays, the communication terminal existing around the plurality of displays; a terminal operation permission determination step of individually determining whether or not the position of the communication terminal relative to each of the plurality of displays is a predetermined position, and enabling operation of a display among the plurality of displays through the communication terminal when the position of the communication terminal relative to the display is a is determined to be the predetermined position; and
a step of excluding the display that is not displaying a screen from the plurality of displays for which it is determined whether or not to enable the operation through the communication terminal. ( In regards to claim 14, it has similar limitations to claim 1, and is rejected on the same grounds presented above ).
As to claim 15, Choi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a terminal operation management program that causes a computer to function as: a communication terminal position recognition section that recognizes a position of a communication terminal relative to each of a plurality of displays, the communication terminal existing around the plurality of displays; and a terminal operation permission determination section that individually determines whether or not the position of the communication terminal relative to each of the plurality of displays is a predetermined position, that enables operation of a display among the plurality of displays through the communication terminal when the position of the communication terminal relative to the display is a is determined to be the predetermined position, and that excludes a display that is not displaying a screen from the plurality of displays for which it is determined whether or not to enable the operation through the communication terminal. (¶76-¶77 of Choi teaches the software codes can be stored in the memory 160 and executed by the processor 180. In regards to claim 15, it has similar limitations to claim 1, and is rejected on the same grounds presented above. )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasaki et al. US 2006/0252548.
As to claim 6, Choi does not teach the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 4, wherein in a state where the communication terminal is in the area of use and the operation of the display apparatus through the communication terminal is enabled, when the position of the communication terminal goes out of the area of use, the processor maintains the state where the operation of the display through the communication terminal is enabled until a predetermined time period passes from a time point when the position of the communication terminal goes out of the area of use, or until a predetermined release operation is performed by a user of the communication terminal.
Sasaki teaches in a state where the communication terminal is in the area of use and the operation of the display apparatus through the communication terminal is enabled, when the position of the communication terminal goes out of the area of use, the processor maintains the state where the operation of the display through the communication terminal is enabled until a predetermined time period passes from a time point when the position of the communication terminal goes out of the area of use, or until a predetermined release operation is performed by a user of the communication terminal. See Sasaki at least ¶158-¶159.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to implement the teaching of Sasaki, to modify the system of Choi. The motivation for doing so would make a communication by the short distance wireless communication with a friend, and then is parted from the friend, the user can communicate with the friend across the network. See Sasaki ¶ 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. US 2024/0069846.
As to independent claim 1, Figures 1, and 12-13 of Lee teach a system having a terminal operation management apparatus comprising: a processor (120, see ¶7-¶8) that is communicably connected to a plurality of displays (two displays 101, 104), and a communication terminal (102), wherein the processor (processor 120):
recognizes a position (position, ¶ 88) of a communication terminal (102) relative (relative, see ¶95) to each of the plurality of displays (101, 104), the communication terminal (102) existing around the plurality of display (See Lee at least ¶7).
individually determines whether or not the position of the communication terminal relative to each of the plurality of displays is a predetermined position (See at least Lee ¶172-¶178);
enables operation of a display among the plurality of displays through the communication terminal when the position of the communication terminal relative to the display determined to be the predetermined position (See at least ¶172-¶178),
excludes a display that is not displaying a screen from the plurality of displays for which it is determined whether or not to enable the operation through the communication terminal (See Lee at least ¶176).
As to claim 2, Lee teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation of the display through the communication terminal includes operation for using content displayed on the display. (See at least Lee ¶172-¶178).
As to claim 3, Lee teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 1, the processor recognizes the position of the communication terminal relative to the display, based on measurement information on a distance and an angle, the distance being a distance between the display and the communication terminal, the angle being an angle of a direction from the display toward the communication terminal with respect to a predetermined reference direction. (See at least Lee ¶172-¶178).
As to claim 4, Lee teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined position is a position within an area of use set around the display. (See at least Lee ¶172-¶178).
As to claim 5, Lee teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the area of use is set on a side in a display direction of the display. (See Lee Fig. 6B).
As to claim 7, Lee teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 4, wherein when a plurality of the communication terminals exists within the area of use, the processor enables the operation of the display through all of the communication terminals existing within the area of use. (See at least Lee ¶172-¶178).
As to claim 8, Lee teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 4, wherein when a plurality of the communication terminals exists within the area of use, the processor enables the operation of the display through only any one communication terminal existing within the area of use. (See at least Lee ¶172-¶178).
As to claim 9, Lee teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 4, wherein when a plurality of the communication terminals exists within the area of use, the processor determines, for each of the communication terminals individually, whether or not to enable the operation of the display through the communication terminal, based on functionality that the communication terminal has. (See at least Lee ¶172-¶178).
As to claim 12, Lee teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim1, wherein the predetermined position is a position within an area of use set around the display apparatus, the area of use being set with respect to each of the plurality of displays, and the processor further changes the area of use, according to a number of the plurality of displays that are displaying a screen, or a position where the display that is displaying a screen is disposed. (See at least Lee ¶172-¶178).
As to claim 13, Lee teaches the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim1,wherein the predetermined position is a position within an area of use set around the display, the area of use being set with respect to each of the plurality of displays, and with regard to a first display and a second display included in the plurality of displays, in a state where the communication terminal is in a first area of use that is the area of use set with respect to the first display and operation of the first display through the communication terminal is enabled, when a change in position of the communication terminal causes the position of the communication terminal to be displaced into a second area of use that is the area of use set with respect to the second display, the processor disables the operation of the first display through the communication terminal and enables operation of the second display through the communication terminal, and also switches an output destination of content displayed on the first display from the first display to the second display. (See at least Lee ¶172-¶178).
As to claim 14, Lee teaches a terminal operation management method executed by a computer, comprising: a communication terminal position recognition step of recognizing a position of a communication terminal relative to each of a plurality of displays, the communication terminal existing around the plurality of displays; a terminal operation permission determination step of individually determining whether or not the position of the communication terminal relative to each of the plurality of displays is a predetermined position, and enabling operation of a display among the plurality of displays through the communication terminal when the position of the communication terminal relative to the display is a is determined to be the predetermined position; and
a step of excluding the display that is not displaying a screen from the plurality of displays for which it is determined whether or not to enable the operation through the communication terminal. ( In regards to claim 14, it has similar limitations to claim 1, and is rejected on the same grounds presented above ).
As to claim 15, Lee teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a terminal operation management program that causes a computer to function as: a communication terminal position recognition section that recognizes a position of a communication terminal relative to each of a plurality of displays, the communication terminal existing around the plurality of displays; and a terminal operation permission determination section that individually determines whether or not the position of the communication terminal relative to each of the plurality of displays is a predetermined position, that enables operation of a display among the plurality of displays through the communication terminal when the position of the communication terminal relative to the display is a is determined to be the predetermined position, and that excludes a display that is not displaying a screen from the plurality of displays for which it is determined whether or not to enable the operation through the communication terminal. ( In regards to claim 15, it has similar limitations to claim 1, and is rejected on the same grounds presented above. )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasaki et al. US 2006/0252548.
As to claim 6, Lee does not teach the terminal operation management apparatus according to claim 4, wherein in a state where the communication terminal is in the area of use and the operation of the display apparatus through the communication terminal is enabled, when the position of the communication terminal goes out of the area of use, the processor maintains the state where the operation of the display through the communication terminal is enabled until a predetermined time period passes from a time point when the position of the communication terminal goes out of the area of use, or until a predetermined release operation is performed by a user of the communication terminal.
Sasaki teaches in a state where the communication terminal is in the area of use and the operation of the display apparatus through the communication terminal is enabled, when the position of the communication terminal goes out of the area of use, the processor maintains the state where the operation of the display through the communication terminal is enabled until a predetermined time period passes from a time point when the position of the communication terminal goes out of the area of use, or until a predetermined release operation is performed by a user of the communication terminal. See Sasaki at least ¶158-¶159.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to implement the teaching of Sasaki, to modify the system of Lee. The motivation for doing so would make a communication by the short distance wireless communication with a friend, and then is parted from the friend, the user can communicate with the friend across the network. See Sasaki ¶ 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEVIN M NGUYEN
Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/Kevin M Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628