DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a lens system having a power arrangement of +, -, +, +, - as disclosed in the first and second embodiments, does not reasonably provide enablement for any other power arrangement including -, -, -, +, - or +, +, +, +, - or other various power combinations. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The factors considered when determining if the disclosure satisfies the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is undue include, but are not limited to: 1) nature of the invention, 2) state of the prior art, 3) relative skill of those in the art, 4) level of predictability, 5) existence of working samples, 6) breadth of claims, 7) amount of direction or guidance by the inventor, and 8) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
The claims recite a five-lens system comprising a positive fourth lens and a negative fifth lens.
The nature of the invention is drawn to a five-lens optical system.
The state of the art discloses the majority of the power arrangement of an optical system.
The level of skill in the art is related to the areas of optical engineering. The skill level is high due to the large number of variables one must consider when inserting even a single lens into an existing system.
The Applicant has disclosed two working models using the power arrangement of +, -, +, +, -.
Applicants’ claims are excessively broad due, in part, to the complex and diverse nature of optical engineering.
Therefore, based on the discussions above concerning the art’s recognition that the process of lens design is complex, the specification fails to teach the skilled artisan how to put into practice optical systems within the scope of the claims without resorting to undue experimentation to determine a functional lens power arrangement.
Due to the large quantity of undue experimentation necessary to determine the proper lens powers, the lack of direction/guidance presented in the specification regarding same, the absence of sufficient working examples directed to same, the complex nature of the invention, the state of the prior art establishing that the lens powers are critical, and the breadth of the claims which fail to recite a working lens system, undue experimentation would be required of the skilled artisan to make and/or use the claimed invention in its full scope.
The process of lens design requires some minimum number of variables to be disclosed in order to be within the capability of one having ordinary skill to build. The scope of applicant’s claims have overestimated the capability of one having ordinary skill. For example, if one could design a lens system based on the applicant’s claim using the applicant’s specification and the ordinary skill in the art, then that individual could also easily modify lens powers, shapes and other lens variables of the prior art to satisfy any similar optical invention. It is not reasonable that the applicant’s disclosure of just one power arrangement of a five-lens system is enabling for the creation of every other power arrangement within the scope of their claims unless the applicant has assumed one having ordinary skill in the art is capable of such designs from such a minimum amount of information (See MPEP 2141.03). The Office does not agree with this assessment of the level of ordinary skill in the art. Such a level of ordinary skill would lead to 103 rejections that would ordinarily not be considered proper. Changing the power of lenses in a known optical system may no longer break the system due to the level of ordinary skill being able to recreate entire systems based on the power of one or two lenses and/or shape of a single lens. Modifying the applicant’s first lens to be negative, for example, would lead to a significant change in the overall focal length of the system, the introduction of various image aberrations that would be difficult or impossible to correct and a loss of image quality that would render the system unusable. However, applicant’s claim, if we consider it enabled, would make such a modification possible for one having ordinary skill. Such an interpretation would also apply to all of the prior art so long as there was reasonable motivation (a biconcave lens typically has a smaller thickness than a biconvex lens for example). The office does not agree that the level of ordinary skill in the art makes such things possible.
For further guidance regarding this rejection please see MPEP 2164.08:
All questions of enablement are evaluated against the claimed subject matter. The focus of the examination inquiry is whether everything within the scope of the claim is enabled. Accordingly, the first analytical step requires that the examiner determine exactly what subject matter is encompassed by the claims. See, e.g., AK Steel Corp. v. Sollac, 344 F.3d 1234, 1244, 68 USPQ2d 1280, 1287 (Fed. Cir. 2003)
The Federal Circuit has repeatedly held that "the specification must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without ‘undue experimentation’." In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With respect to the breadth of a claim, the relevant concern is whether the scope of enablement provided to one skilled in the art by the disclosure is commensurate with the scope of protection sought by the claims. AK Steel Corp. v. Sollac, 344 F.3d 1234, 1244, 68 USPQ2d 1280, 1287 (Fed. Cir. 2003);In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1236, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971).
The propriety of a rejection based upon the scope of a claim relative to the scope of the enablement concerns (1) how broad the claim is with respect to the disclosure and (2) whether one skilled in the art could make and use the entire scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation.
The breadth of the claims was a factor considered in Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharm. Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 18 USPQ2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 856 (1991). In Amgen, the patent claims were directed to a purified DNA sequence encoding polypeptide analogs of the protein erythropoietin (EPO). The court stated that:
Amgen has not enabled preparation of DNA sequences sufficient to support its all-encompassing claims. . . . [D]espite extensive statements in the specification concerning all the analogs of the EPO gene that can be made, there is little enabling disclosure of particular analogs and how to make them. Details for preparing only a few EPO analog genes are disclosed. . . . This disclosure might well justify a generic claim encompassing these and similar analogs, but it represents inadequate support for Amgen’s desire to claim all EPO gene analogs. There may be many other genetic sequences that code for EPO-type products. Amgen has told how to make and use only a few of them and is therefore not entitled to claim all of them.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noda et al. (PGPUB 20150260964).
Regarding claim 7, Noda discloses an optical imaging system comprising:
a first lens having a refractive power (L1);
a second lens having a refractive power (L2);
a third lens having a convex image-side surface (L3, Tables 1-2 and 7-8);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (L4); and
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (L5);
wherein the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane,
wherein a distance from the image-side surface of the third lens to the object-side surface of the fourth lens is greater than a thickness of fourth lens (Tables 1 and 7),
wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the first lens (Tables 1 and 7), and
wherein, a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fifth lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fourth lens (Tables 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 8, Noda discloses wherein the first lens has a convex object- side surface (Tables 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 9, Noda discloses wherein the second lens has a concave image-side surface (Tables 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 10, Noda discloses wherein the fourth lens has a concave object-side surface (Tables 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 11, Noda discloses wherein the fourth lens has a convex image- side surface (Tables 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 12, Noda discloses wherein the fifth lens has a concave object-side surface (Tables 1 and 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (PGPUB 20160161722) in view of Ogino et al. (PGPUB 20140293453).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses an optical imaging system comprising:
a first lens having a refractive power (L1);
a second lens having a refractive power (L2);
a third lens having a convex image-side surface (L3);
a fourth lens having positive refractive power (L4); and
a fifth lens having negative refractive power (L5),
wherein the first to fifth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane, and
wherein a distance from the image-side surface of the third lens to the object-side surface of the fourth lens is greater than a thickness of fourth lens (Tables 1, 3 and 4).
Hsu does not disclose wherein a refractive index of the fourth lens is 1.60 or more.
However, Ogino teaches a similar five lens system arranged as +, -, +, +, - ([0066]-[0071]) wherein the fourth lens has a refractive index of 1.60 or more (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine Hsu and Ogino so that the fourth lens had a refractive index of 1.6 or higher motivated by improving image quality ([0069]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Hsu discloses wherein the first lens has a convex object- side surface (Tables 1, 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hsu discloses wherein the second lens has a concave image-side surface (Tables 1, 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 4, modified Hsu discloses wherein the fourth lens has a concave object-side surface (Tables 1, 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hsu discloses wherein the fourth lens has a convex image- side surface (Tables 1, 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hsu discloses wherein the fifth lens has a concave object- side surface (Tables 1, 3 and 4).
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S FISSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872