DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the actuation lever includes a plurality of pressing protrusions, wherein the plurality of pressing protrusions are disposed spaced apart at preset intervals”; Claim 8 depends from claim 7 which introduces “wherein the actuation lever includes a pressing protrusion”; it is unclear if the “a plurality of pressing protrusions” (of claim 8) include the “a pressing protrusion” (of claim 7) or if the “a plurality of pressing protrusions” (of claim 8) are different/additional to the “a pressing protrusion” (of claim 7), which renders the claim indefinite. For examination purposes the examiner is considering there to be one or more pressing protrusions in claim 7, and the one or more pressing protrusions comprising a plurality of pressing protrusions of claim 8.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “wherein the actuation lever includes a plurality of pressing protrusions, wherein the plurality of pressing protrusions are disposed spaced apart at preset intervals.”; Claim 19 depends from claim 18 which introduces “wherein the actuation lever includes a pressing protrusion”; it is unclear if the “a plurality of pressing protrusions” (of claim 19) include the “a pressing protrusion” (of claim 18) or if the “a plurality of pressing protrusions” (of claim 19) are different/additional to the “a pressing protrusion” (of claim 18), which renders the claim indefinite. For examination purposes the examiner is considering there to be one or more pressing protrusions in claim 18, and the one or more pressing protrusions comprising a plurality of pressing protrusions of claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (US 20240358432 A1; effectively filed 04/26/2023), hereinafter “Johnson”, in view of Bare (US 20070144280 A1), hereinafter “Bare”.
Regarding claim 1, Johnson discloses an operation part of a surgical instrument equipped with an end tool, the operation part comprising: a handle ([0027]; Figures 1 & 3—element 112); and an actuation operation part disposed on one side of the handle and configured to control an actuation motion of the end tool ([0028] & [0041]), wherein the actuation operation part includes: an actuation lever rotatable around an actuation rotation shaft ([0027], [0028] & [0040]; Figures 1 & 3—element 116; lever 116 is rotatable/pivotable the examiner is considering the actuation rotation shaft to be the pivot or rotation connection of the lever 116); an actuation pulley having one or more wires positioned thereon coupled to the actuation lever ([0041]; Figure 3—element 140; pull wires 142 & 144 are coupled to an extend distally from pulley 140), and rotatable in response to a rotation of the actuation lever ([0041]).
Johnson does not disclose an elastic member elastically deformably disposed between the actuation lever and the actuation pulley, and configured to transmit at least a portion of a rotational force of the actuation lever to the actuation pulley.
Bare teaches a coupling between two rotatable elements comprising an actuation lever rotatable ([0011] & [0035]; Figure 1—element 12) and an actuation pulley rotatable in response to a rotation of the actuation lever (([0011] & [0035]; Figure 1—element 14), and an elastic member elastically deformably disposed between the actuation lever and the actuation pulley ([0039]; Figure 1—element 28), and configured to transmit at least a portion of a rotational force of the actuation lever to the actuation pulley ([0011], [0039], & [0051]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including an elastic member elastically deformably disposed between two rotatable components and configured to transmit at least a portion of a rotational force of one rotatable component to the other rotatable component, as taught by Bare, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward devices with drive couplings that transit drive from one component to another component. As disclosed by Johnson, the lever is coupled to the pulley such that rotation of the lever causes rotation of the pulley ([0041]). As disclosed by Bare, the drive coupling may comprise elastic members that are positioned between respective projections of a first rotatable element and a second rotatable element, such that rotation of the first rotatable element causes compression of the elastic members and the compression of the elastic members cause a reaction force to be imparted from the elastic members to the projections of the second rotatable element and when this reaction force equals the resistance to rotations the second rotatable element will start to rotate as well, this drive coupling provides for continual rated working load of a machine to be transmitted by the elastic members, and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allow for a predetermined amount of relief rotation ([0039] & [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including an elastic member elastically deformably disposed between two rotatable components and configured to transmit at least a portion of a rotational force of one rotatable component to the other rotatable component, as taught by Bare, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable mechanical connection between two rotatable components that produces the predictable result of transferring a rotation force from one component to another component and would provide for a connection that allows continual rated working loads to be transmitted by the elastic members and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allows for a predetermined amount of relief rotation.
Regarding claims 2-6, Johnson in view of Bare disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Johnson does not disclose wherein the elastic member is supported at one end by a pressing protrusion of the actuation lever and at another end by a support protrusion of the actuation pulley, and disposed with a predetermined restoring force between the pressing protrusion and the support protrusion (claim 2); wherein the elastic member is configured to rotate in correspondence with the actuation lever and transmit the rotational force to the actuation pulley (claim 3); wherein the elastic member is configured to elastically compress by a portion of a rotational force applied by the pressing protrusion and transmit a remaining portion of the rotational force to the actuation pulley when the rotational force is greater than a threshold value (claim 4); wherein the elastic member is configured to adjust, based on the predetermined restoring force, a rotational force received from the pressing protrusion when the actuation lever rotates (claim 5); wherein the elastic member is configured to elastically deform when the rotational force applied by the pressing protrusion when the actuation lever rotates is greater than the predetermined restoring force (claim 6).
Bare further teaches wherein the elastic member is supported at one end by a pressing protrusion of the actuation lever and at another end by a support protrusion of the actuation pulley, and disposed with a predetermined restoring force between the pressing protrusion and the support protrusion ([0016], [0036], [0037], [0039], & [0051]; Figure 1—elements 16, 26, & 28) (claim 2); wherein the elastic member is configured to rotate in correspondence with the actuation lever and transmit the rotational force to the actuation pulley ([0011]-[0017], & [0051]; Figure 1—elements 16, 26, & 28) (claim 3); wherein the elastic member is configured to elastically compress by a portion of a rotational force applied by the pressing protrusion and transmit a remaining portion of the rotational force to the actuation pulley when the rotational force is greater than a threshold value ([0015]-[0017] & [0051]; Figure 1—elements 16, 26, & 28; compression of compression springs 28 causes a reaction force to be imparted from the compression springs onto the second rotatable element, when the reaction force equals the resistance to rotation that is felt by the second rotatable element 14 the second rotatable element 14 starts to rotate as well) (claim 4); wherein the elastic member is configured to adjust, based on the predetermined restoring force, a rotational force received from the pressing protrusion when the actuation lever rotates ([0051]-[0054]) (claim 5); wherein the elastic member is configured to elastically deform when the rotational force applied by the pressing protrusion when the actuation lever rotates is greater than the predetermined restoring force (claim 6) ([0015]-[0017] & [0051]-[0054]; Figure 1—elements 16, 26, & 28; compression of compression springs 28 causes a reaction force to be imparted from the compression springs onto the second rotatable element, when the reaction force equals the resistance to rotation that is felt by the second rotatable element 14 the second rotatable element 14 starts to rotate as well).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including the elastic member supported at one end by a pressing protrusion of the actuation lever and at another end by a support protrusion of the actuation pulley, as further taught by Bare, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward devices with drive couplings that transit drive from one component to another component. As disclosed by Johnson, the lever is coupled to the pulley such that rotation of the lever causes rotation of the pulley ([0041]). As disclosed by Bare, the drive coupling may comprise elastic members that are positioned between respective projections of a first rotatable element and a second rotatable element, such that rotation of the first rotatable element causes compression of the elastic members and the compression of the elastic members cause a reaction force to be imparted from the elastic members to the projections of the second rotatable element and when this reaction force equals the resistance to rotations the second rotatable element will start to rotate as well, this drive coupling provides for continual rated working load of a machine to be transmitted by the elastic members, and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allow for a predetermined amount of relief rotation ([0039] & [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including the elastic member supported at one end by a pressing protrusion of the actuation lever and at another end by a support protrusion of the actuation pulley, as further taught by Bare, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable mechanical connection between two rotatable components that produces the predictable result of transferring a rotation force from one component to another component and would provide for a connection that allows continual rated working loads to be transmitted by the elastic members and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allows for a predetermined amount of relief rotation.
Regarding claims 7-8, as best understood in view of the 112(b) rejection (for claim 8) Johnson in view of Bare disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Johnson does not disclose wherein the actuation lever includes a pressing protrusion protruding toward the actuation pulley, the actuation pulley includes a support protrusion protruding toward the actuation lever, and the elastic member is disposed between the pressing protrusion and the support protrusion (claim 7); wherein the actuation lever includes a plurality of pressing protrusions, wherein the plurality of pressing protrusions are disposed spaced apart at preset intervals (claim 8).
Bare further teaches wherein the actuation lever includes a pressing protrusion protruding toward the actuation pulley, the actuation pulley includes a support protrusion protruding toward the actuation lever, and the elastic member is disposed between the pressing protrusion and the support protrusion (claim 7); wherein the actuation lever includes a plurality of pressing protrusions, wherein the plurality of pressing protrusions are disposed spaced apart at preset intervals (claim 8) ([0036]-[0039]; Figure 1—elements 18, 24/26, & 28).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including pressing protrusions, support protrusions, and the elastic members disposed between the pressing protrusions and the support protrusions, as further taught by Bare, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward devices with drive couplings that transmit drive from one component to another component. As disclosed by Johnson, the lever is coupled to the pulley such that rotation of the lever causes rotation of the pulley ([0041]). As disclosed by Bare, the drive coupling may comprise elastic members that are positioned between respective projections of a first rotatable element and a second rotatable element, such that rotation of the first rotatable element causes compression of the elastic members and the compression of the elastic members cause a reaction force to be imparted from the elastic members to the projections of the second rotatable element and when this reaction force equals the resistance to rotations the second rotatable element will start to rotate as well, this drive coupling provides for continual rated working load of a machine to be transmitted by the elastic members, and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allow for a predetermined amount of relief rotation ([0039] & [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including pressing protrusions, support protrusions, and the elastic members disposed between the pressing protrusions and the support protrusions, as further taught by Bare, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable mechanical connection between two rotatable components that produces the predictable result of transferring a rotation force from one component to another component and would provide for a connection that allows continual rated working loads to be transmitted by the elastic members and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allows for a predetermined amount of relief rotation.
Regarding claims 9-10, Johnson in view of Bare disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above.
Johnson further discloses wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive at least a portion of the rotational force of the actuation lever and transmit the at least a portion of the rotational force to the one or more wires when the actuation lever rotates (claim 9) ([0041]; Figure 3—elements 116, 140, 142, & 144; rotation of the lever 116 causes rotation of the pulley 140 such that the pulley urges the one or more wires 142 & 144 proximally); wherein the actuation pulley is configured to rotate in correspondence with the actuation lever and transmit the rotational force to the one or more wires (claim 10) ([0041]; Figure 3—elements 116, 140, 142, & 144; rotation of the lever 116 causes rotation of the pulley 140 such that the pulley urges the one or more wires 142 & 144 proximally); wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive a portion of the rotational force and transmit the portion of the rotational force to the one or more wires (claim 11) ([0041]; Figure 3—elements 116, 140, 142, & 144; rotation of the lever 116 causes rotation of the pulley 140 such that the pulley urges the one or more wires 142 & 144 proximally).
Johnson does not disclose wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive at least a portion of the rotational force of the actuation lever from the elastic member (claim 9); wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive and transmit the portion of the rotational force when the rotational force of the actuation lever is greater than a threshold value (claim 11).
Bare further teaches wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive at least a portion of the rotational force of the actuation lever from the elastic member (claim 9); wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive and transmit the portion of the rotational force when the rotational force of the actuation lever is greater than a threshold value (claim 11) ([0015]-[0017] & [0051]; rotation of the first rotatable element causes a reaction force in the elastic members, when the reaction force equals the resistance to rotation that is felt by the second rotatable element the second rotatable element starts to rotate as well).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive at least a portion of the rotational force of the actuation lever from the elastic member and wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive and transmit the portion of the rotational force when the rotational force of the actuation lever is greater than a threshold value, as further taught by Bare, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward devices with drive couplings that transmit drive from one component to another component. As disclosed by Johnson, the lever is coupled to the pulley such that rotation of the lever causes rotation of the pulley ([0041]). As disclosed by Bare, the drive coupling may comprise elastic members that are positioned between respective projections of a first rotatable element and a second rotatable element, such that rotation of the first rotatable element causes compression of the elastic members and the compression of the elastic members cause a reaction force to be imparted from the elastic members to the projections of the second rotatable element and when this reaction force equals the resistance to rotations the second rotatable element will start to rotate as well, this drive coupling provides for continual rated working load of a machine to be transmitted by the elastic members, and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allow for a predetermined amount of relief rotation ([0039] & [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive at least a portion of the rotational force of the actuation lever from the elastic member and wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive and transmit the portion of the rotational force when the rotational force of the actuation lever is greater than a threshold value, as further taught by Bare, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable mechanical connection between two rotatable components that produces the predictable result of transferring a rotation force from one component to another component and would provide for a connection that allows continual rated working loads to be transmitted by the elastic members and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allows for a predetermined amount of relief rotation.
Regarding claim 12, Johnson discloses an electrocautery surgical instrument comprising: an end tool rotatable in at least one direction ([0026]-[0027]; Figure 3—elements 106 & 108; distal end 106 includes an electrode 108 configured to cauterize tissue; the distal end 106 is deflectable or articulatable; the examiner is considering the deflection/articulation to be a rotation); an operation part including a handle ([0027]; Figures 1 & 3—element 112) and an actuation operation part disposed on one side of the handle and configured to control an actuation motion of the end tool ([0028] & [0041]); and a power transmission part including an actuation wire connecting the end tool to the actuation operation part, and configured to transmit power from the actuation operation part to the end tool ([0041]; Figure 3—elements 142/144), wherein the actuation operation part includes: an actuation lever rotatable around an actuation rotation shaft ([0027], [0028] & [0040]; Figures 1 & 3—element 116; lever 116 is rotatable/pivotable the examiner is considering the actuation rotation shaft to be the pivot or rotation connection of the lever 116); an actuation pulley having the actuation wire positioned thereon coupled to the actuation lever, and rotatable in response to a rotation of the actuation lever ([0041]; Figure 3—element 140; pull wires 142 & 144 are coupled to an extend distally from pulley 140).
Johnson does not disclose an elastic member elastically deformably disposed between the actuation lever and the actuation pulley, and configured to transmit at least a portion of a rotational force of the actuation lever to the actuation pulley.
Bare teaches a coupling between two rotatable elements comprising an actuation lever rotatable ([0011] & [0035]; Figure 1—element 12) and an actuation pulley rotatable in response to a rotation of the actuation lever (([0011] & [0035]; Figure 1—element 14), an elastic member elastically deformably disposed between the actuation lever and the actuation pulley ([0039]; Figure 1—element 28), and configured to transmit at least a portion of a rotational force of the actuation lever to the actuation pulley ([0011], [0039], & [0051]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including an elastic member elastically deformably disposed between two rotatable components and configured to transmit at least a portion of a rotational force of one rotatable component to the other rotatable component, as taught by Bare, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward devices with drive couplings that transit drive from one component to another component. As disclosed by Johnson, the lever is coupled to the pulley such that rotation of the lever causes rotation of the pulley ([0041]). As disclosed by Bare, the drive coupling may comprise elastic members that are positioned between respective projections of a first rotatable element and a second rotatable element, such that rotation of the first rotatable element causes compression of the elastic members and the compression of the elastic members cause a reaction force to be imparted from the elastic members to the projections of the second rotatable element and when this reaction force equals the resistance to rotations the second rotatable element will start to rotate as well, this drive coupling provides for continual rated working load of a machine to be transmitted by the elastic members, and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allow for a predetermined amount of relief rotation ([0039] & [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including an elastic member elastically deformably disposed between two rotatable components and configured to transmit at least a portion of a rotational force of one rotatable component to the other rotatable component, as taught by Bare, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable mechanical connection between two rotatable components that produces the predictable result of transferring a rotation force from one component to another component and would provide for a connection that allows continual rated working loads to be transmitted by the elastic members and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allows for a predetermined amount of relief rotation.
Regarding claims 13-17, Johnson in view of Bare disclose all of the limitations of claim 12, as described above.
Johnson does not disclose wherein the elastic member is supported at one end by a pressing protrusion of the actuation lever and at another end by a support protrusion of the actuation pulley, and disposed with a predetermined restoring force between the pressing protrusion and the support protrusion (claim 13); wherein the elastic member is configured to rotate in correspondence with the actuation lever and transmit the rotational force to the actuation pulley (claim 14); wherein the elastic member is configured to elastically compress by a portion of a rotational force applied by the pressing protrusion and transmit a remaining portion of the rotational force to the actuation pulley when the rotational force is greater than a threshold value (claim 15); wherein the elastic member is configured to adjust, based on the predetermined restoring force, a rotational force received from the pressing protrusion when the actuation lever rotates (claim 16); wherein the elastic member is configured to elastically deform when the rotational force applied by the pressing protrusion when the actuation lever rotates is greater than the predetermined restoring force (claim 17).
Bare further teaches wherein the elastic member is supported at one end by a pressing protrusion of the actuation lever and at another end by a support protrusion of the actuation pulley, and disposed with a predetermined restoring force between the pressing protrusion and the support protrusion ([0016], [0036], [0037], [0039], & [0051]; Figure 1—elements 16, 26, & 28) (claim 13); wherein the elastic member is configured to rotate in correspondence with the actuation lever and transmit the rotational force to the actuation pulley ([0011]-[0017], & [0051]; Figure 1—elements 16, 26, & 28) (claim 14); wherein the elastic member is configured to elastically compress by a portion of a rotational force applied by the pressing protrusion and transmit a remaining portion of the rotational force to the actuation pulley when the rotational force is greater than a threshold value ([0015]-[0017] & [0051]; Figure 1—elements 16, 26, & 28; compression of compression springs 28 causes a reaction force to be imparted from the compression springs onto the second rotatable element, when the reaction force equals the resistance to rotation that is felt by the second rotatable element 14 the second rotatable element 14 starts to rotate as well) (claim 15); wherein the elastic member is configured to adjust, based on the predetermined restoring force, a rotational force received from the pressing protrusion when the actuation lever rotates ([0051]-[0054]) (claim 16); wherein the elastic member is configured to elastically deform when the rotational force applied by the pressing protrusion when the actuation lever rotates is greater than the predetermined restoring force ([0015]-[0017] & [0051]-[0054]; Figure 1—elements 16, 26, & 28; compression of compression springs 28 causes a reaction force to be imparted from the compression springs onto the second rotatable element, when the reaction force equals the resistance to rotation that is felt by the second rotatable element 14 the second rotatable element 14 starts to rotate as well) (claim 17).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including the elastic member supported at one end by a pressing protrusion of the actuation lever and at another end by a support protrusion of the actuation pulley, as further taught by Bare, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward devices with drive couplings that transit drive from one component to another component. As disclosed by Johnson, the lever is coupled to the pulley such that rotation of the lever causes rotation of the pulley ([0041]). As disclosed by Bare, the drive coupling may comprise elastic members that are positioned between respective projections of a first rotatable element and a second rotatable element, such that rotation of the first rotatable element causes compression of the elastic members and the compression of the elastic members cause a reaction force to be imparted from the elastic members to the projections of the second rotatable element and when this reaction force equals the resistance to rotations the second rotatable element will start to rotate as well, this drive coupling provides for continual rated working load of a machine to be transmitted by the elastic members, and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allow for a predetermined amount of relief rotation ([0039] & [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including the elastic member supported at one end by a pressing protrusion of the actuation lever and at another end by a support protrusion of the actuation pulley, as further taught by Bare, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable mechanical connection between two rotatable components that produces the predictable result of transferring a rotation force from one component to another component and would provide for a connection that allows continual rated working loads to be transmitted by the elastic members and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allows for a predetermined amount of relief rotation.
Regarding claims 18-19, as best understood in view of the 112(b) rejection (for claim 19), Johnson in view of Bare disclose all of the limitations of claim 12, as described above.
Johnson does not disclose wherein the actuation lever includes a pressing protrusion protruding toward the actuation pulley, the actuation pulley includes a support protrusion protruding toward the actuation lever, and the elastic member is disposed between the pressing protrusion and the support protrusion (claim 18); wherein the actuation lever includes a plurality of pressing protrusions, wherein the plurality of pressing protrusions are disposed spaced apart at preset intervals (claim 19).
Bare further teaches wherein the actuation lever includes a pressing protrusion protruding toward the actuation pulley, the actuation pulley includes a support protrusion protruding toward the actuation lever, and the elastic member is disposed between the pressing protrusion and the support protrusion (claim 18); wherein the actuation lever includes a plurality of pressing protrusions, wherein the plurality of pressing protrusions are disposed spaced apart at preset intervals (claim 19) ([0036]-[0039]; Figure 1—elements 18, 24/26, & 28).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including pressing protrusions, support protrusions, and the elastic members disposed between the pressing protrusions and the support protrusions, as further taught by Bare, as both references and the claimed invention are directed toward devices with drive couplings that transmit drive from one component to another component. As disclosed by Johnson, the lever is coupled to the pulley such that rotation of the lever causes rotation of the pulley ([0041]). As disclosed by Bare, the drive coupling may comprise elastic members that are positioned between respective projections of a first rotatable element and a second rotatable element, such that rotation of the first rotatable element causes compression of the elastic members and the compression of the elastic members cause a reaction force to be imparted from the elastic members to the projections of the second rotatable element and when this reaction force equals the resistance to rotations the second rotatable element will start to rotate as well, this drive coupling provides for continual rated working load of a machine to be transmitted by the elastic members, and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allow for a predetermined amount of relief rotation ([0039] & [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the lever and pulley, as disclosed by Johnson, to include the rotatable connection including pressing protrusions, support protrusions, and the elastic members disposed between the pressing protrusions and the support protrusions, as further taught by Bare, as such a modification would provide for a known and suitable mechanical connection between two rotatable components that produces the predictable result of transferring a rotation force from one component to another component and would provide for a connection that allows continual rated working loads to be transmitted by the elastic members and any sudden shock loads to be absorbed by the elastic members which allows for a predetermined amount of relief rotation.
Regarding claim 20, as best understood in view of the 112(b) rejection, Johnson in view of Bare disclose all of the limitations of claim 12, as described above.
Johnson further discloses wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive the at least a portion of the rotational force of the actuation lever and transmit the at least a portion of the rotational force to the actuation wire when the actuation lever rotates ([0041]).
Johnson does not disclose wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive the at least a portion of the rotational force from the elastic member.
Bare further teaches wherein the actuation pulley is configured to receive the at least a portion of the rotational force from the elastic member (see above rejection of claim 12).
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hamamoto (US 20220364608 A1) teaches a coupling between two rotatable elements comprising an input rotatable body ([0093]-[0094]; Figures 1A, 2A, & 5A—element 14) and an output rotatable body rotatable in response to a rotation of the input rotatable body ([0092]-[0093]; Figures 1A, 2A, & 5A—element 13), and an elastic member elastically deformably disposed between the input rotatable body and the output rotatable body ([0094]; Figures 2A & 5A—element 22), and configured to transmit at least a portion of a rotational force of the input rotatable body to the output rotatable body ([0094], [0095], & [0098]; Figures 2A & 5A—element 22).
/M.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794