DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 1/10/2025:
Claims 1-20 are pending
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12239478 in view of Migeotte et al (EP4254425, hereinafter Migeotte). For example:
Regarding claim 1, 12239478 teaches a wearable heart sound detection device (claim 1, a wearable heart sound detection system), comprising:
an acoustic sensing device for collecting heart sound signals of user's body, and outputting said heart sound signals (claim 1, an acoustic sensing device for collecting heart sound signals of user's body, performing signal amplification, filtering, digitization on said collected heart sound signals, and outputting preprocessed heart sound signals);
a wireless transmission device connected to transmit and receive data (claim 1, an external computing electronic device communicatively coupled to said acoustic sensing device for acquiring said preprocessed heart sound signals; claim 2, wherein said circuit assembly at least includes a wireless transmission device…to send the preprocessed first heart sound signals and the preprocessed second heart sound signals to said external computing electronic device via said wireless transmission device for further analysis);
wherein said acoustic sensing device includes a capacitive sound sensor, a piezoelectric sound sensor or the combination thereof (claim 1, wherein said acoustic device includes a capacitive sound sensor, a piezoelectric sound sensor and a circuit assembly);
a circuit assembly electrically connected with said capacitive sound sensor or said piezoelectric sound sensor (claim 1, said circuit assembly is respectively electrically connected with said capacitive sound sensor and said piezoelectric sound sensor); and
wherein said capacitive sound sensor and said piezoelectric sound sensor are integrated on a flexible substrate (claim 1, wherein said circuit assembly, said capacitive sound sensor and said piezoelectric sound sensor are integrated on a flexible substrate).
12239478 fails to explicitly teach e-SIM embedded in said wearable heart sound detection device;
Migeotte teaches e-SIM embedded in said wearable heart sound detection device (¶43, acoustic device comprising eSIM);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the heart sound detection system (as taught by 12239478) with the capabilities of wireless transmission via SIM or eSIM means (as taught by Migeotte). The rationale to do so is to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of achieving wireless communication means through the use of a telephone network by using the well-known technology of SIM or eSIM (Migeotte, ¶43).
The remaining independent and/or dependent claims are similarly rejected using one or more claims of the patent and Migeotte (whether alone or in combination).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it recites “wherein said acoustic sensing device includes a capacitive sound sensor, a piezoelectric sound sensor or the combination thereof;
a circuit assembly electrically connected with said capacitive sound sensor or said piezoelectric sound sensor; and
wherein said capacitive sound sensor and said piezoelectric sound sensor are integrated on a flexible substrate.”
There appears to be a constant change in scope between a capacitive sound sensor, a piezoelectric sound sensor, or a combination thereof. Applicant is advised to keep/choose a singular scope throughout the claim.
Claims 2-20 are dependent on claim 1 and thus also considered to be indefinite.
Regarding claim 14, it recites “extracting feature points of said heart sound signals by said external computing electronic device.” However, there is no antecedent basis for “said external computing electronic device”.
Claims 15-18 are considered indefinite as they depend upon an indefinite parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Migeotte et al (EP4254425, hereinafter “Migeotte”) in view of Larson et al (US20160296159, hereinafter “Larson”) in further view of Gilland (US20100234706).
Regarding claim 1, Migeotte teaches a wearable heart sound detection device (¶15, an IMU such as a smartphone), comprising:
an acoustic sensing device for collecting heart sound signals of user's body, and outputting said heart sound signals (¶15, device capable of recognizing and collecting data related to the heart);
a wireless transmission device connected to transmit and receive data (¶41, device capable of wireless connection to transmit and receive data);
e-SIM embedded in said wearable heart sound detection device (¶43, device can comprise of a network communication module comprising of a SIM and/or eSIM);
Migeotte fails to explicitly teach wherein said acoustic sensing device includes a capacitive sound sensor, a piezoelectric sound sensor or the combination thereof;
a circuit assembly electrically connected with said capacitive sound sensor or said piezoelectric sound sensor; and
wherein said capacitive sound sensor and said piezoelectric sound sensor are integrated on a flexible substrate.
Larson teaches wherein said acoustic sensing device includes a capacitive sound sensor, a piezoelectric sound sensor or the combination thereof (Fig. 3, ¶176, acoustic sensors can comprise of capacitive and piezoelectric sensors);
a circuit assembly electrically connected with said capacitive sound sensor or said piezoelectric sound sensor (Fig. 3, various electrical components are in electrical connection with a processor on a circuit);
Larson fails to explicitly teach and wherein said capacitive sound sensor and said piezoelectric sound sensor are integrated on a flexible substrate.
Gilland teaches and wherein said capacitive sound sensor and said piezoelectric sound sensor are integrated on a flexible substrate (abstract, the use of flexible circuitry with various sensors attached).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the heart sound detection device (as taught by Migeotte) for the piezoelectric and capacitive sensors (as taught by Larson). The rationale to do so is to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of using known sensors to achieve detection of known parameters using said known sensors (Larson, ¶176). It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the heart sound detection device (as taught by Migeotte in view of Larson) with the flexible circuitry (as taught by Gilland). The rationale to do so is to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of achieving a device that is small and lightweight and easily bendable to improve the comfort of the patient (Gilland, abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches wherein said e-SIM is compatible with a wireless transmission protocol selected from a group of WiFi, 4G, 5G, 6G or any combination thereof (Migeotte, ¶43, device can be a smartphone with 4G wireless communication means as well as Wi-Fi).
Regarding claim 3, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches wherein an external computing electronic device is communicatively coupled to said wearable heart sound detection device (Larson, Fig. 3, heart sensors can be in communication with an external terminal device).
Regarding claim 4, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches wherein a cloud database is communicatively coupled to said external computing electronic device (Migeotte, Fig. 5, cloud database (6) is communicatively coupled to an external computing device (5)).
Regarding claim 5, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches wherein a cloud database is communicatively coupled to said wearable heart sound detection device (Migeotte, Fig. 4, a cloud database (6) is communicatively coupled to said wearable heart detection device (5)).
Regarding claim 6, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches wherein said capacitive sound sensor is disposed on a surface of said circuit assembly (Gilland, Fig. 7, various electrical modules such as a capacitive sound sensor (as taught by Larson) can be disposed on a surface of a circuit assembly).
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected similarly as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches wherein said flexible substrate is made of polyimide (PI), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), or textile (Gilland, ¶22, polyimide can be used to form the flexible substrate).
Regarding claim 13, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches further performing following steps:
establishing attachment confirmation between said user's body and said acoustic sensing device (Larson, ¶59, proper attachment of sensors can be confirmed);
collecting said user's biometric features by said acoustic sensing device (Migeotte, ¶63, collecting cardiac features using acoustic sensing device);
capturing said user's heartbeat signals by said acoustic sensing device (Migeotte, ¶63, capturing at least one heartbeat);
performing heart rhythm analysis on said heart sound signals by said acoustic sensing device (Migeotte, ¶63, detecting cardiac cycles/periods);
checking whether emergency situations existed after said heart rhythm analysis being performed (Migeotte, ¶3, 73, performing analysis of the captured heartbeat signal(s) to determine a health check of the patient and to inform the patient of irregularities).
Regarding claim 14, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches further performing following steps:
sending out an alarm if one of said emergency situations is justified, otherwise sending out said heart sound signals for signal processing and continuously capturing said user's heartbeat signals (Larson, ¶65, sending out an alarm upon detection of abnormal heart pattern);
extracting feature points of said heart sound signals by said external computing electronic device (Migeotte, Fig. 7, collecting heartbeat signals and identifying one or more features).
Regarding claim 15, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches further performing following steps:
performing artificial intelligence (AI) comparison and status classification between said extracted feature points and with previous stored data;
archiving results of said AI comparison and status classification for subsequent comparisons and offering said results to interpret and provide medical-related advices by medical specialists (MIgeotte, ¶72, AI is performed on the captured data and compared against an established model to determine if user’s health is in danger or normal; said captured results can subsequently be used as training data for refining of AI/ML models).
Regarding claim 16, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches wherein said AI comparison and said status classification are performed by an AI algorithm installed on said external computing electronic device to preliminarily classify normal heart sound signals and abnormal heart sound signals (Migeotte, ¶47-48, the AI algorithm can be stored both locally and in the cloud (i.e. on an external computing device)).
Regarding claim 17, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches wherein said AI algorithm includes performing steps of:
pre-filtering and normalizing said heart sound signals been input (Migeotte, ¶58, pre-filtering to remove signal components not related to the heart; Larson, ¶78, normalization can be applied to IMU data);
extracting time-domain and frequency-domain features of said heart sound signals been input (Migeotte, ¶58-59, extracting both time-based and frequency-based features of the collected signals);
outputting classification results by adopting convolutional neural networks (CNN) model (Migeotte, ¶72, AI engine can be a NN-based model).
Regarding claim 19, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches further comprising identifying user's identity by said collected biometric features (Larson, ¶59, detecting a user’s biometric parameters that can include a heart rate).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Migeotte et al (EP4254425, hereinafter “Migeotte”) in view of Larson et al (US20160296159, hereinafter “Larson”) in further view of Gilland (US20100234706) in further view of Sandler et al (US20110295127, hereinafter “Sandler”).
Regarding claim 18, Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland teaches wherein said signal processing includes performing filtering (Migeotte, ¶58, filtering)
Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland fail to explicitly teach wavelet analysis, and Fourier transform over said heart sound signals.
Sandler teaches wavelet analysis, and Fourier transform over said heart sound signals (¶82, performing wavelet analysis and Fourier transforms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply known analysis techniques (as taught by Sandler) on the heart monitoring system (as taught by Migeotte in view of Larson in further view of Gilland). The rationale to do so is to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of determining analysis results related to heartbeats using known techniques to better detect possible heart failure (Sandler, ¶3, 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/QIN ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691