DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filed on 1/10/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/10/2025, 2/12/2025, 12/8/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-11, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US20020109403A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto teaches A vehicle comprising:
A first electric motor brake(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 10; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”; Para 57 “Where wheel drive motors are provided for the respective wheels, one and the other of the primary and secondary brake devices for the same wheel may include a regenerative brake and a disc brake, respectively”; Para 88 “the electrically braking system includes four brake devices in the form of electrically operated wheel brakes 10, 12, 14 and 16 provided for a front left wheel 20, a front right wheel 22, a rear left wheel 24 and a rear right wheel 26, respectively. The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31. Each wheel brake 10, 12, 14, 16 is equipped with friction members which are forced against a rotor rotating with the corresponding wheel 20, 22, 24, 26, upon operation of the corresponding electric motor 28-31, for generating a braking force for braking the corresponding wheel 20-26”);
a second electric motor brake, wherein the first electric motor brake and the second electric motor brake are disposed on a first side of the vehicle(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 10; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”; Para 57 “Where wheel drive motors are provided for the respective wheels, one and the other of the primary and secondary brake devices for the same wheel may include a regenerative brake and a disc brake, respectively”; Para 88 “the electrically braking system includes four brake devices in the form of electrically operated wheel brakes 10, 12, 14 and 16 provided for a front left wheel 20, a front right wheel 22, a rear left wheel 24 and a rear right wheel 26, respectively. The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31. Each wheel brake 10, 12, 14, 16 is equipped with friction members which are forced against a rotor rotating with the corresponding wheel 20, 22, 24, 26, upon operation of the corresponding electric motor 28-31, for generating a braking force for braking the corresponding wheel 20-26”);
a drive system with an energy regeneration function, wherein the drive system is disposed on a second side of the vehicle(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 14 and 15; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”; Para 57 “Where wheel drive motors are provided for the respective wheels, one and the other of the primary and secondary brake devices for the same wheel may include a regenerative brake and a disc brake, respectively”; Para 88 “the electrically braking system includes four brake devices in the form of electrically operated wheel brakes 10, 12, 14 and 16 provided for a front left wheel 20, a front right wheel 22, a rear left wheel 24 and a rear right wheel 26, respectively. The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31. Each wheel brake 10, 12, 14, 16 is equipped with friction members which are forced against a rotor rotating with the corresponding wheel 20, 22, 24, 26, upon operation of the corresponding electric motor 28-31, for generating a braking force for braking the corresponding wheel 20-26”); and
a control apparatus(Yamamoto: Para 88 “The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31”) configured to:
control a left wheel of first side wheels of the vehicle to be braked by only the first electric motor brake and a right wheel of the first side wheels of the vehicle to be braked by only the second electric motor brake(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 14 and 15; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”; Para 88 “the electrically braking system includes four brake devices in the form of electrically operated wheel brakes 10, 12, 14 and 16 provided for a front left wheel 20, a front right wheel 22, a rear left wheel 24 and a rear right wheel 26, respectively. The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31. Each wheel brake 10, 12, 14, 16 is equipped with friction members which are forced against a rotor rotating with the corresponding wheel 20, 22, 24, 26, upon operation of the corresponding electric motor 28-31, for generating a braking force for braking the corresponding wheel 20-26”); and
control a left wheel and a right wheel of second side wheels of the vehicle to be braked by only the drive system, wherein the first side and the second side are a front side and a rear side(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 14 and 15; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”; Para 88 “the electrically braking system includes four brake devices in the form of electrically operated wheel brakes 10, 12, 14 and 16 provided for a front left wheel 20, a front right wheel 22, a rear left wheel 24 and a rear right wheel 26, respectively. The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31. Each wheel brake 10, 12, 14, 16 is equipped with friction members which are forced against a rotor rotating with the corresponding wheel 20, 22, 24, 26, upon operation of the corresponding electric motor 28-31, for generating a braking force for braking the corresponding wheel 20-26”).
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to:
in response to a failure of the first electric motor brake, disable the second electric motor brake from braking the right wheel of the first side wheels, and control the drive system to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the second side wheels(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 26 “The controlled braking force may be zeroed as needed. Namely, the operation of at least one of the normal brake devices may be inhibited. The at least one normal brake whose braking force is controlled preferably includes at least one brake device which is located on one side of the vehicle which is opposite to the side on which at least one of the at least one defective brake device is located”; Para 101 “Where the wheel brakes 10, 12 for the front left and right wheels 20, 22 are found defective, the operations of the wheel brakes 14, 16 for the two rear wheels 24, 26 are permitted”; i.e. the figure indicated permitting the operation of both the rear brakes when both the front brake are disabled); and
in response to a failure of the second electric motor brake, disable the first electric motor brake from braking the left wheel of the first side wheels, and control the drive system to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the second side wheels(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 26 “The controlled braking force may be zeroed as needed. Namely, the operation of at least one of the normal brake devices may be inhibited. The at least one normal brake whose braking force is controlled preferably includes at least one brake device which is located on one side of the vehicle which is opposite to the side on which at least one of the at least one defective brake device is located”; Para 101 “Where the wheel brakes 10, 12 for the front left and right wheels 20, 22 are found defective, the operations of the wheel brakes 14, 16 for the two rear wheels 24, 26 are permitted”; i.e. the figure indicated permitting the operation of both the rear brakes when both the front brakes are disabled).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the drive system further comprises:
a first drive motor configured to drive or brake the left wheel of the second side wheels of the vehicle(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 14 and 15; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”; Para 88 “the electrically braking system includes four brake devices in the form of electrically operated wheel brakes 10, 12, 14 and 16 provided for a front left wheel 20, a front right wheel 22, a rear left wheel 24 and a rear right wheel 26, respectively. The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31. Each wheel brake 10, 12, 14, 16 is equipped with friction members which are forced against a rotor rotating with the corresponding wheel 20, 22, 24, 26, upon operation of the corresponding electric motor 28-31, for generating a braking force for braking the corresponding wheel 20-26”); and
a second drive motor configured to drive or brake the right wheel of the second side wheels of the vehicle(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 14 and 15; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”; Para 88 “the electrically braking system includes four brake devices in the form of electrically operated wheel brakes 10, 12, 14 and 16 provided for a front left wheel 20, a front right wheel 22, a rear left wheel 24 and a rear right wheel 26, respectively. The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31. Each wheel brake 10, 12, 14, 16 is equipped with friction members which are forced against a rotor rotating with the corresponding wheel 20, 22, 24, 26, upon operation of the corresponding electric motor 28-31, for generating a braking force for braking the corresponding wheel 20-26”).
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to:
in response to a failure of the first drive motor, disable the second drive motor from braking the right wheel of the second side wheels, and control the first electric motor brake and the second electric motor brake to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the first side wheels respectively(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 26 “The controlled braking force may be zeroed as needed. Namely, the operation of at least one of the normal brake devices may be inhibited. The at least one normal brake whose braking force is controlled preferably includes at least one brake device which is located on one side of the vehicle which is opposite to the side on which at least one of the at least one defective brake device is located”; Para 101 “where the wheel brakes 14, 16 for the rear left and right wheels 24, 26 are found defective, the operations of the wheel brakes 10, 12 for the two front wheels 20, 22 are permitted”; i.e. the figure indicated permitting the operation of both the front brakes when both the rear brakes are disabled); and
in response to a failure of the second drive motor, disable the first drive motor from braking the left wheel of the second side wheels, and control the first electric motor brake and the second electric motor brake to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the first side wheels respectively(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 26 “The controlled braking force may be zeroed as needed. Namely, the operation of at least one of the normal brake devices may be inhibited. The at least one normal brake whose braking force is controlled preferably includes at least one brake device which is located on one side of the vehicle which is opposite to the side on which at least one of the at least one defective brake device is located”; Para 101 “where the wheel brakes 14, 16 for the rear left and right wheels 24, 26 are found defective, the operations of the wheel brakes 10, 12 for the two front wheels 20, 22 are permitted”; i.e. the figure indicated permitting the operation of both the front brakes when both the rear brakes are disabled).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to: in response to a failure of any one of the first electric motor brake, the second electric motor brake, and the drive system, provide a correction angle signal for a steering system, so that the steering system compensates for a steering angle(Yamamoto: Para 118 “Where only the front wheel brake 10 for the front left wheel 20 is found defective, or where the wheel brakes 10, 14 for the front and rear left wheels 20, 24 are found defective, the CPU 42 reads out the vehicle running speed V and steering angle δ in step S8, and determine in step S8 whether the detected vehicle speed V is higher than the threshold value V2(δ) which is determined by the detected steering angle δ (both the absolute value and the sign)”).
Regarding claim 10, Yamamoto teaches An integrated driving and braking control apparatus for a vehicle, wherein the vehicle comprises:
a first electric motor brake configured to brake a left wheel of first side wheels of the vehicle(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 10; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”; Para 57 “Where wheel drive motors are provided for the respective wheels, one and the other of the primary and secondary brake devices for the same wheel may include a regenerative brake and a disc brake, respectively”; Para 88 “the electrically braking system includes four brake devices in the form of electrically operated wheel brakes 10, 12, 14 and 16 provided for a front left wheel 20, a front right wheel 22, a rear left wheel 24 and a rear right wheel 26, respectively. The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31. Each wheel brake 10, 12, 14, 16 is equipped with friction members which are forced against a rotor rotating with the corresponding wheel 20, 22, 24, 26, upon operation of the corresponding electric motor 28-31, for generating a braking force for braking the corresponding wheel 20-26”);
a second electric motor brake configured to brake a right wheel of the first side wheels of the vehicle(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 10; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”; Para 57 “Where wheel drive motors are provided for the respective wheels, one and the other of the primary and secondary brake devices for the same wheel may include a regenerative brake and a disc brake, respectively”; Para 88 “the electrically braking system includes four brake devices in the form of electrically operated wheel brakes 10, 12, 14 and 16 provided for a front left wheel 20, a front right wheel 22, a rear left wheel 24 and a rear right wheel 26, respectively. The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31. Each wheel brake 10, 12, 14, 16 is equipped with friction members which are forced against a rotor rotating with the corresponding wheel 20, 22, 24, 26, upon operation of the corresponding electric motor 28-31, for generating a braking force for braking the corresponding wheel 20-26”); and
a drive system with an energy regeneration function(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 14 and 15; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”), wherein
the drive system comprises:
first drive motor configured to drive or brake a left wheel of second side wheels of the vehicle(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 14 and 15; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”; Para 57 “Where wheel drive motors are provided for the respective wheels, one and the other of the primary and secondary brake devices for the same wheel may include a regenerative brake and a disc brake, respectively”; Para 88 “the electrically braking system includes four brake devices in the form of electrically operated wheel brakes 10, 12, 14 and 16 provided for a front left wheel 20, a front right wheel 22, a rear left wheel 24 and a rear right wheel 26, respectively. The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31. Each wheel brake 10, 12, 14, 16 is equipped with friction members which are forced against a rotor rotating with the corresponding wheel 20, 22, 24, 26, upon operation of the corresponding electric motor 28-31, for generating a braking force for braking the corresponding wheel 20-26”); and
a second drive motor configured to drive or brake a right wheel of the second side wheels of the vehicle, and a first side and a second side are a front side and a rear side(Yamamoto: Fig. 1 Element 14 and 15; Para 40 “a regenerative brake device which utilizes a wheel drive electric motor operable to generate a regenerative braking effect for braking the corresponding wheel. In this case, the electric motor is provided for each of the wheels, for driving the corresponding wheel, and is controllable to control the regenerative braking torque to be applied to the corresponding wheel”; Para 57 “Where wheel drive motors are provided for the respective wheels, one and the other of the primary and secondary brake devices for the same wheel may include a regenerative brake and a disc brake, respectively”; Para 88 “the electrically braking system includes four brake devices in the form of electrically operated wheel brakes 10, 12, 14 and 16 provided for a front left wheel 20, a front right wheel 22, a rear left wheel 24 and a rear right wheel 26, respectively. The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31. Each wheel brake 10, 12, 14, 16 is equipped with friction members which are forced against a rotor rotating with the corresponding wheel 20, 22, 24, 26, upon operation of the corresponding electric motor 28-31, for generating a braking force for braking the corresponding wheel 20-26”); and
the control apparatus(Yamamoto: Para 88 “The wheel brakes 10, 12, 14, 16 include respective electrically operated and controlled actuators in the form of electric motors 28, 29, 30 and 31, respective motor controllers 34, 35, 36, 37 for controlling the respective electric motors 28-31, and at least one motor operation sensor for detecting the operating state of the corresponding electric motor 28, 29, 30, 31”) is configured to:
in response to a failure of the first electric motor brake, disable the second drive motor from braking the right wheel of the second side wheels, and control the first drive motor to brake the left wheel of the second side wheels and the second electric motor brake to brake the right wheel of the first side wheels(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 97 “Where one of the front wheel brakes 10, 12 for the front wheels 20, 22 is found defective, the other normal front brake 10, 12 and one of the rear wheel brakes 14, 16 which is on the same side of the vehicle as the defective front wheel brake 10, 12 are permitted to be operated (in a predetermined restricted manner as described below), and the operation of the other rear wheel 14, 16 on the other side of the vehicle is either permitted (also in the restricted manner) or inhibited depending upon the detected vehicle speed and steering angle. Where the wheel brake 10 for the front left wheel 20 is found defective, for instance, the normal wheel brake 16 for the rear right wheel 26 is permitted to be operated in the restricted manner, when an operation of the normal rear right wheel brake 16 in the present vehicle running condition as represented by the presently detected running speed and steering angle is not likely to deteriorate the running stability of the vehicle. When the operation of the normal rear right wheel brake 16 in the present vehicle running condition is likely to deteriorate the vehicle running stability, the operation of this wheel brake 16 is inhibited”).
As per claim 11, it recites An integrated driving and braking control apparatus for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 14, Yamamoto teaches An integrated driving and braking control method for a vehicle, wherein the vehicle comprises a first electric motor brake, a second electric motor brake, and a drive system with an energy regeneration function, the drive system comprises a first drive motor and a second drive motor, and the method comprises:
in response to a failure of the first electric motor brake, disabling the second drive motor from braking the right wheel of the second side wheels, and controlling the first drive motor to brake the left wheel of the second side wheels and the second electric motor brake to brake the right wheel of the first side wheels(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 97 “Where one of the front wheel brakes 10, 12 for the front wheels 20, 22 is found defective, the other normal front brake 10, 12 and one of the rear wheel brakes 14, 16 which is on the same side of the vehicle as the defective front wheel brake 10, 12 are permitted to be operated (in a predetermined restricted manner as described below), and the operation of the other rear wheel 14, 16 on the other side of the vehicle is either permitted (also in the restricted manner) or inhibited depending upon the detected vehicle speed and steering angle. Where the wheel brake 10 for the front left wheel 20 is found defective, for instance, the normal wheel brake 16 for the rear right wheel 26 is permitted to be operated in the restricted manner, when an operation of the normal rear right wheel brake 16 in the present vehicle running condition as represented by the presently detected running speed and steering angle is not likely to deteriorate the running stability of the vehicle. When the operation of the normal rear right wheel brake 16 in the present vehicle running condition is likely to deteriorate the vehicle running stability, the operation of this wheel brake 16 is inhibited”); and
in response to a failure of the second electric motor brake, disabling the first drive motor from braking the left wheel of the second side wheels, and controlling the second drive motor to brake the right wheel of the second side wheels and the first electric motor brake to brake the left wheel of the first side wheels(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 98 “Where the wheel brake 12 for the front right wheel 22 is found defective, the other normal front left brake 10 and the rear right wheel brake 16 which is on the same side of the vehicle as the defective front right wheel brake 12 are permitted to be operated, and the operation of the other rear wheel 14 on the other side of the vehicle is either permitted or inhibited depending upon the detected vehicle speed and steering angle”); or disabling the first electric motor brake from braking the left wheel of the first side wheels, and controlling the first drive motor and the second drive motor to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the second side wheels respectively, wherein a first side and a second side are a front side and a rear side.
As per claim 15, it recites An integrated driving and braking control method for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 16, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to, in response to a failure of the first electric motor brake: disable the second drive motor from braking the right wheel of the second side wheels; and control the first drive motor to brake the left wheel of the second side wheels and the second electric motor brake to brake the right wheel of the first side wheels(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 97 “Where one of the front wheel brakes 10, 12 for the front wheels 20, 22 is found defective, the other normal front brake 10, 12 and one of the rear wheel brakes 14, 16 which is on the same side of the vehicle as the defective front wheel brake 10, 12 are permitted to be operated (in a predetermined restricted manner as described below), and the operation of the other rear wheel 14, 16 on the other side of the vehicle is either permitted (also in the restricted manner) or inhibited depending upon the detected vehicle speed and steering angle. Where the wheel brake 10 for the front left wheel 20 is found defective, for instance, the normal wheel brake 16 for the rear right wheel 26 is permitted to be operated in the restricted manner, when an operation of the normal rear right wheel brake 16 in the present vehicle running condition as represented by the presently detected running speed and steering angle is not likely to deteriorate the running stability of the vehicle. When the operation of the normal rear right wheel brake 16 in the present vehicle running condition is likely to deteriorate the vehicle running stability, the operation of this wheel brake 16 is inhibited”).
Regarding claim 17, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to, in response to a failure of the first electric motor brake: disable the second electric motor brake from braking the right wheel of the first side wheels, and control the first drive motor and the second drive motor to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the second side wheels respectively(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 26 “The controlled braking force may be zeroed as needed. Namely, the operation of at least one of the normal brake devices may be inhibited. The at least one normal brake whose braking force is controlled preferably includes at least one brake device which is located on one side of the vehicle which is opposite to the side on which at least one of the at least one defective brake device is located”; Para 101 “Where the wheel brakes 10, 12 for the front left and right wheels 20, 22 are found defective, the operations of the wheel brakes 14, 16 for the two rear wheels 24, 26 are permitted”; i.e. the figure indicated permitting the operation of both the rear brakes when both the front brake are disabled).
Regarding claim 18, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to, in response to a failure of the second electric motor brake: disable the first drive motor from braking the left wheel of the second side wheels; and
control the second drive motor to brake the right wheel of the second side wheels and the first electric motor brake to brake the left wheel of the first side wheels(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 98 “Where the wheel brake 12 for the front right wheel 22 is found defective, the other normal front left brake 10 and the rear right wheel brake 16 which is on the same side of the vehicle as the defective front right wheel brake 12 are permitted to be operated, and the operation of the other rear wheel 14 on the other side of the vehicle is either permitted or inhibited depending upon the detected vehicle speed and steering angle”).
Regarding claim 19, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 3, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to, in response to a failure of the second electric motor brake: disable the first electric motor brake from braking the left wheel of the first side wheels; and control the first drive motor and the second drive motor to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the second side wheels respectively(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 26 “The controlled braking force may be zeroed as needed. Namely, the operation of at least one of the normal brake devices may be inhibited. The at least one normal brake whose braking force is controlled preferably includes at least one brake device which is located on one side of the vehicle which is opposite to the side on which at least one of the at least one defective brake device is located”; Para 101 “where the wheel brakes 14, 16 for the rear left and right wheels 24, 26 are found defective, the operations of the wheel brakes 10, 12 for the two front wheels 20, 22 are permitted”; i.e. the figure indicated permitting the operation of both the front brakes when both the rear brakes are disabled).
Regarding claim 20, Yamamoto teaches The integrated driving and braking control apparatus for a vehicle according to claim 10, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to, in response to a failure of the second electric motor brake: disable the first drive motor from braking the left wheel of the second side wheels; and control the second drive motor to brake the right wheel of the second side wheels and the first electric motor brake to brake the left wheel of the first side wheel(Yamamoto: Fig. 2; Para 98 “Where the wheel brake 12 for the front right wheel 22 is found defective, the other normal front left brake 10 and the rear right wheel brake 16 which is on the same side of the vehicle as the defective front right wheel brake 12 are permitted to be operated, and the operation of the other rear wheel 14 on the other side of the vehicle is either permitted or inhibited depending upon the detected vehicle speed and steering angle”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6-9, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US20020109403A1) in view of SHIN (JPH11168802A).
In regards to claim 6, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 1.
Yet Yamamoto do not explicitly teach wherein the control apparatus is further configured to: in response to a brake force requirement indicated by a brake signal being less than a first threshold, control the drive system to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the second side wheels.
However, in the same field of endeavor, SHIN teaches wherein the control apparatus is further configured to: in response to a brake force requirement indicated by a brake signal being less than a first threshold, control the drive system to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the second side wheels(SHIN: Para 13 “In the braking control device of the invention described in claim 2, first a determination is made regarding the value corresponding to the required braking force for the vehicle based on a plurality of predetermined values. If the value corresponding to the required braking force is less than or equal to the first predetermined value, regenerative braking is performed on all drive wheels”; Para 23 “the value of G1 should be the maximum deceleration achievable through braking using the four-wheel regenerative braking system. If it is determined in step 140 that the value is less than or equal to a first predetermined value, the process proceeds to step 141, where the variable C indicating the braking method is set to C0, which represents the four-wheel regenerative braking method, and in step 142, a predetermined torque command value T is determined appropriately based on the required deceleration G. The braking method variable C and torque command value T are control information for the drive motor 1 that is sent to the motor driver”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The vehicle of Yamamoto with the feature of wherein the control apparatus is further configured to: in response to a brake force requirement indicated by a brake signal being less than a first threshold, control the drive system to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the second side wheels disclosed by SHIN. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “increasing the amount of regenerative braking, even slightly, in order to increase the driving distance per battery charge” (SHIN: Para 4).
In regards to claim 7, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 1, and SHIN further teaches wherein the control apparatus is further configured to: in response to a brake force requirement indicated by a brake signal being greater than a first threshold and less than a second threshold, control the first electric motor brake and the second electric motor brake to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the first side wheels(SHIN: Para 13 “In the braking control device of the invention described in claim 2, first a determination is made regarding the value corresponding to the required braking force for the vehicle based on a plurality of predetermined values … If it is greater than the first predetermined value but less than or equal to the second predetermined value, regenerative braking is performed on one of the front drive wheels and the other on the other drive wheel”; Para 32 “when there is no abnormality in the power supply state to the motor driver, if the required deceleration G is greater than G1 and less than or equal to G2, torque commands are issued using the regenerative braking method for the front wheels and the reverse braking method for the rear wheels”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Yamamoto and SHIN as in Claim 6 above.
In regards to claim 8, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 1, and SHIN further teaches wherein the control apparatus is further configured to: in response to a brake force requirement indicated by a brake signal being greater than a second threshold, control the first electric motor brake and the second electric motor brake to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the first side wheels, and control the drive system to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the second side wheels(SHIN: Para 34 “if the driver's braking is large and the required deceleration G is greater than G2, but the battery voltage E is greater than the first predetermined value E1 but less than or equal to the second predetermined value E2, indicating an incomplete power supply state, regenerative braking will be applied to the front wheels and reverse braking to the rear wheels”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Yamamoto and SHIN as in Claim 6 above.
In regards to claim 9, Yamamoto teaches The vehicle according to claim 1, and SHIN further teaches wherein the control apparatus is further configured to:
in response to a brake force requirement indicated by a brake signal being greater than a second threshold and less than a third threshold, control the first electric motor brake and the second electric motor brake to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the first side wheels, and control the drive system to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the second side wheels by using the energy regeneration function(SHIN: Para 13 “In the braking control device of the invention described in claim 2, first a determination is made regarding the value corresponding to the required braking force for the vehicle based on a plurality of predetermined values … If it is greater than the first predetermined value but less than or equal to the second predetermined value, regenerative braking is performed on one of the front drive wheels and the other on the other drive wheel”; Para 32 “if the required deceleration G is greater than G1 and less than or equal to G2, torque commands are issued using the regenerative braking method for the front wheels and the reverse braking method for the rear wheels”; i.e. the regenerative braking can be designed to apply to any of the front or rear wheels with a motor under different predetermined values); and
in response to the brake force requirement indicated by the brake signal being is greater than the third threshold, control the first electric motor brake and the second electric motor brake to brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the first side wheels, and control the drive system to reversely brake the left wheel and the right wheel of the second side wheels(SHIN: Para 13 “In the braking control device of the invention described in claim 2, first a determination is made regarding the value corresponding to the required braking force for the vehicle based on a plurality of predetermined values … If it is greater than the second predetermined value, reversal braking is performed on all drive wheels” i.e. the reversal braking can be designed to apply to any of the front or rear wheels under different predetermined values). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Yamamoto and SHIN as in Claim 6 above.
As per claim 12, it recites An integrated driving and braking control apparatus for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 8 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 13, it recites An integrated driving and braking control apparatus for a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 9 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doi (US20160264111A1) disclosed a braking force control system for rear wheels of a vehicle that include: a regenerative braking force controller that controls a regenerative braking force for the rear wheels, which is generated by a first motor-generator for driving the rear wheels; a frictional braking force controller that controls a frictional braking force to be generated by the rear wheels of the vehicle; and a braking force determiner that determines the frictional braking force and the regenerative braking force inclusive of a braking force equivalent to an engine brake, so that a total braking force to be applied to the rear wheels does not exceed a preset value.
/W.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
3/30/26