Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 4 and 13 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 5-12 and 14-20 are pending.
Claims 10-12 and 14-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are under examination.
Priority
The translation of the foreign priority document filed 1/9/26 is acknowledged. Accordingly, the effective filing date is 1/12/24.
Withdrawn rejections
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 2/17/26 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn. Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Azushima et al. (WO2023204278) as evidenced by Huang et al. (Nanophotonics 2020; 9(8): 2233–2249); claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (CN112089839 with English translation) as evidenced by Huang et al. (Nanophotonics 2020; 9(8): 2233–2249); and claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (ACS Nano. 2020 September 22; 14(9): 11787–11798). Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments are persuasive. Claims 1-3 and 5-9 were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 16 of copending Application No. 18915818. A solid oral dosage form appears outside the scope of the co-pending application.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites: “wherein the MXene consists of two-dimensional particles having one or more layers”. The transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. Claim 1 also recites wherein at least one of the one or more layers further comprises at least one modification or termination "T,". This appears to add further elements to the MXene that are excluded by the term “consists of”. Dependent claims are rejected as indefinite because they are dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 recites (Examiner added emphasis): “the Mxene comprises two-dimensional particles having one or more layer”. However, claim 1 recites (Examiner added emphasis): “wherein the MXene consists of two-dimensional particles having one or more layers”. Claim 2 broadens the scope of claim 1, which is closed two-dimensional particles having one or more layers. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Dependent claim 3 is also rejected as being indefinite because it is dependent upon an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hou et al. (Theranostics 2022, Vol. 12, Issue 8: 3834-3846) as evidenced by Huang et al. (Nanophotonics 2020; 9(8): 2233–2249).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5, Hou et al. discloses: “The PVP-modified Ti3C2 NSs exhibited excellent dispersity and long-term colloidal stability without significant dimensional change in H2O, phosphate-buffered saline (PBS), and Dulbecco’s Modified Eagle Medium (DMEM) (Figure 1L, Figure S4).” (Page 3836, left column). Solid particles, hence powder, of PVP-modified Ti3C2 NSs are shown in Figures 1A, 1E and 1F. It is the Examiner’s position that Ti3C2 meets the structural limitations of claims 2-3 and since the instant claims allow for at least one modification on a surface of the layer body and PVP is a pharmaceutically acceptable additive, then a pharmaceutical composition comprising MXene and PVP surface layer modification makes a solid particulate oral dosage form where the MXene consists of two-dimensional particles having one or more layers is disclosed by Hou et al. The instant specification teaches that powders are an example of dosage form [0090].
Regarding the limitations of “wherein the MXene is present in an amount effective for improving intestinal bacterial flora in vivo or increasing an amount or concentration of one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo in a human subject” and where the short chain fatty acids comprise butyric acid such is inherent in the pharmaceutical composition of Hou et al. Additionally, since no amount is claimed than any amount can be effective for the claimed intended uses.
Further regarding claim 1, the MXene of Hou et al. also appears to inherently comprises modifications on the surface of the layer body as evidenced by Huang et al. teaching: “the surface of MXenes is occupied by abundant hydrophilic groups such as fluorine (F), hydroxyl (OH), and oxygen (O), which endow MXenes with highly hydrophilic properties.” (Page 2233, Introduction right column).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, the limitation of “wherein the MXene is present in an amount effective to cause an increase in the amount or concentration of the one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo in the human subject” that comprises butyric acid is inherent in the pharmaceutical composition of Hou et al.
Regarding claims 7-8, the identity of the intestinal bacterial flora, which is part of the intended use of the pharmaceutical composition, and the improvement comprises an increase in proliferation of the bacteria has been considered but is immaterial to the examination of a composition of matter claim and given no patentable weight. Any increase in bacterial proliferation is inherent in the composition.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant asserts that: “Hou's MXene compounds are modified with polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) and as such Hou fails to disclose the use of compositions comprising an MXene consisting of two-dimensional particles.” Respectfully, the Examiner has a different perspective. Instant claim 1 allows for at least one modification and PVP represents at least one modification present on the surface of the layer body. Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azushima et al. (WO2023204278 (published October 26, 2023; IDS foreign patent reference #3)).
Applicant claims, for example:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of a pharmaceutical formulation research scientist, as is the case here, then one can assume comfortably that such an educated artisan will draw conventional ideas from conventional pharmaceutical formulation components and dosage forms without being told to do so.
In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5-9, Azushima et al. teach: “A pharmaceutical composition which comprises two-dimensional particles having one or more layers which include a layer body represented by the formula MmXn (in the formula, M is at least one type of metal belonging to group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7, X is a carbon atom, a nitrogen atom, or a combination thereof, n is 1-4, inclusive, and m is greater than n and at most 5), and a modification or terminal T (T is at least one group or atom selected from the group consisting of a hydroxyl group, a fluorine atom, a chlorine atom, an oxygen atom, and a hydrogen atom) present on the surface of the layer body, said pharmaceutical composition being configured so as to be administered orally and as a result, adsorb disease-causing substances inside the organism.” (Abstract; claims 1-6). Titanium is a Group 4 metal. Thus, the MXene of Azushima et al. consists of two-dimensional particles having one or more layers comprising titanium as claimed. Azushima et al. teach that the pharmaceutical composition according to the embodiments can be made into various dosage forms such as tablets, capsules, liquids, injections, etc…with excipients also to be administered orally [0072-0074]. Azushima et al. teach: “When the pharmaceutical composition of the present disclosure is used for treatment, the dosage of the two-dimensional particles, which are its active ingredients, is appropriately determined depending on the age, sex, weight, disease, degree of treatment, etc. of the patient. For example, in the case of oral administration, the effective dose ranges from approximately 100 mg to 10 g/body per day for an adult (assuming a body weight of 60 kg), and may be administered once or in several divided doses as appropriate.” [0075]
Azushima et al. teach that the orally administered pharmaceutical composition absorbs disease-causing substance (Abstract) and methods of treating inflammatory bowel disease are disclosed (Claims 11-12). Additionally, since no amount is claimed than any amount can be effective for the claimed intended uses.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Azushima et al. teach Ti3C2 [0026 produced from “MAX phase”; Example 8, 0097-0100]. The species of MXene Ti3C2 must inherently have the claimed functional properties for improving intestinal bacterial flora in vivo or increasing an amount or concentration of one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo in a human subject.
Regarding claims 6 and 9, the limitation of “wherein the MXene is present in an amount effective to cause an increase in the amount or concentration of the one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo in the human subject” that comprises butyric acid is implicit and flows naturally from administration of the pharmaceutical composition of Azushima et al. that administers the same structural MXenes such as Ti3C2.
Regarding claims 7-8, the identity of the intestinal bacterial flora, which is part of the intended use of the pharmaceutical composition, and the improvement comprises an increase in proliferation of the bacteria has been considered but is immaterial to the examination of a composition of matter claim and given no patentable weight. Any increase in bacterial proliferation is inherent in the composition.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
The difference between the instant application and Azushima et al. is that Azushima et al. do not expressly teach formulation of a solid oral dosage form wherein the MXene is present in an amount effective for improving intestinal bacterial flora in vivo or increasing an amount or concentration of one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo in a human subject. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the pharmaceutical dosage form of Azushima et al. as a solid oral dosage form and administer it to a human subject in an effective amount to improve intestinal bacterial flora in vivo or increasing an amount or concentration of one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo, and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because Azushima et al. teach solid oral dosage forms such as tablets and that in the case of oral administration, the effective dose ranges from approximately 100 mg to 10 g/body per day for an adult (assuming a body weight of 60 kg), and may be administered once or in several divided doses as appropriate [0075] as well as the species of MXene Ti3C2. The instant specification teaches MXene amounts of from 1-100 mg administered 1-5 times daily [0088]. Consequently, the dosage amount overlap and the same active agent administered in the same amounts will implicitly improve intestinal bacterial flora in vivo or increasing an amount or concentration of one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo. The Examiner's finding is based on the principle that products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. This is a well settled principle in patent law. See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381,391 (CCPA 1963) ("From the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing."). Where patentability rests upon a property of the claimed material not disclosed within the art, the USPTO has no reasonable method of determining whether there is, in fact, a patentable difference between the prior art materials and the claimed material. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977). Therefore, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the USPTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Id. It does not matter if Azushima et al. recognized the inherent properties of Ti3C2. See MPEP 2112 II: “II. INHERENT FEATURE NEED NOT BE RECOGNIZED AT THE TIME OF THE INVENTION
There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003).”
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the reference, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments: Applicant asserts that submission of the certified translation of the priority document disqualifies WO2023204278 as prior art. However, in referring back to the Declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(a) filed 8/27/25 that allegedly overcomes the rejection, the Declaration appears deficient because it is missing a statement of what was contributed by the other inventors. See MPEP 717.01(a)(1). This is important because the Examiner has relied upon the claimed subject matter in the rejection. The rejection is maintained.
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN112089839 with English translation) as evidenced by Huang et al. (Nanophotonics 2020; 9(8): 2233–2249).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5, Xu et al. teach a medicine for treating cancer comprising MXene (Claim 1) that is Ti3C2 (Claim 3) and any one or combination of more of pharmaceutically acceptable medical “accessories” (Claim 5). Xu et al. teach that MXene is a typical carbon based two-dimensional material (Page 3, 2nd paragraph; Figure 3).The term “accessories” is interpreted to mean auxiliary materials because Xu et al. disclose the dosage form as a tablet, capsule, suspension, injection and comprises one or more pharmaceutically acceptable auxiliary materials such as excipients (page 3, bottom). A tablet is a solid dosage form. Thus, Xu et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising MXene Ti3C2 and one or more pharmaceutical excipients in the form of a solid oral dosage tablet. It is the Examiner’s position that Ti3C2 meets the structural limitations of claims 2-3.
Regarding the limitations of “wherein the MXene is present in an amount effective for improving intestinal bacterial flora in vivo or increasing an amount or concentration of one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo in a human subject” and where the short chain fatty acids comprise butyric acid such is inherent in the pharmaceutical composition of Xu et al. Additionally, since no amount is claimed than any amount can be effective for the claimed intended uses.
Further regarding claim 1, the MXene of Xu et al. appears to inherently comprises modifications on the surface of the layer body as evidenced by Huang et al. teaching: “the surface of MXenes is occupied by abundant hydrophilic groups such as fluorine (F), hydroxyl (OH), and oxygen (O), which endow MXenes with highly hydrophilic properties.” (Page 2233, Introduction right column).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, the limitation of “wherein the MXene is present in an amount effective to cause an increase in the amount or concentration of the one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo in the human subject” that comprises butyric acid is inherent in the pharmaceutical composition of Xu et al.
Regarding claims 7-8, the identity of the intestinal bacterial flora, which is part of the intended use of the pharmaceutical composition, and the improvement comprises an increase in proliferation of the bacteria has been considered but is immaterial to the examination of a composition of matter claim and given no patentable weight. Any increase in bacterial proliferation is inherent in the composition.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
The difference between the instant application and Xu et al. is that Xu et al. do not expressly teach in one embodiment a pharmaceutical composition formulated as a solid dosage form where the MXene consists of two-dimensional particles having one or more layers wherein the MXene is present in an amount effective for improving intestinal bacterial flora in vivo or increasing an amount or concentration of one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo in a human subject. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the pharmaceutical dosage form of Xu et al. where the MXene consists of two-dimensional particles having one or more layers as a solid oral dosage form and administer it to a human subject in an effective amount to improve intestinal bacterial flora in vivo or increasing an amount or concentration of one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo, and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because of the following rationales. First, the structure of the MXene of Xu et al. does consist of two-dimensional particles having one or more layers with surface modifications. The limitation of “consists of two-dimensional particles having one or more layers” does not appear to exclude components such as Dox-Exjade loaded on the MXene. The limitation appears to exclude particles that are not two-dimensional having one or more layers. Secondly, in an alternative interpretation of the art, the ordinary artisan would formulate the MXene of Xu et al. without drug loading for use in comparative testing with a reasonable expectation of success. Regarding, the functional limitations of the claimed subject matter, such is inherent in the MXene pharmaceutical composition of Xu et al. See the discussion above which is incorporated by reference.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the reference, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the combined references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments: Applicant’s arguments filed 2/17/26 have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
On page 7 of remarks, Applicant asserts that: “Xu's MXene is loaded with dual-drug Dox Exjade and thus necessarily fails to anticipate the claimed pharmaceutical compositions, which include a MXene compound consisting of two-dimensional particles, per the present amendments.” However, the Examiner has a different perspective. As explained above, the claimed limitation does not appear to exclude other components from the MXene but rather excludes other particles and claim 1 requires at least one surface modification. Also, the Examiner provided a sound rationale as to why it would be obvious to formulate the MXene of Xu et al. without the dual drug Dox Exjade for comparative purposes. Respectfully, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18919892. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending is directed to methods of administering an MXene adsorbent material as in claim 1:
The copending does not expressly teach the instantly claimed intended uses but such are inherent in administering an effective amount of the co-pending adsorbent material.
The copending does not expressly teach Ti3C2 or as a solid oral dosage form and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable additives. However, the ordinary artisan can readily derive Ti3C2 from the copending claims 1 and 3 and oral administration of a solid oral dosage form with additives is within the scope of the claimed subject matter. Because the scope of the claimed subject matter includes dosage forms such as tablets [0102] and pharmacologically acceptable additives [0103]. See MPEP 804: “The portion of the specification of the reference that describes subject matter that falls within the scope of a reference claim may be relied upon to properly construe the scope of that claim.”
Regarding claims 6-9, the limitation of “wherein the MXene is present in an amount effective to cause an increase in the amount or concentration of the one or more short-chain fatty acids in vivo in the human subject” and comprise butyric acid and the identity of the intestinal bacterial flora and any improvements are inherent in the copending.
Accordingly, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over the copending subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments: Applicant asserts that the amendments have rendered the claims patentable over the claims of the co-pending applications. Respectfully, the Examiner has a different perspective as discussed in the rejections above. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. The rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ERNST V ARNOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613