DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eccles (US 5,938,341).
Regarding claim 1, Eccles discloses a plate spring (28, 30) comprising: a disc member (28); and a plurality of claws (30) provided on the disc member (see FIGS. 2, 3), positioned between an outer peripheral end of the disc member and an inner peripheral end of the disc member (see FIG. 2), and arranged along a circumferential direction of the disc member (see FIG. 2), wherein each of the plurality of claws extends along a radial direction of the disc member (see FIG. 2, each of the plurality of claws extend at least partially along a radial direction) and warps in a thickness-wise direction of the disc member (see FIGS. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Eccles discloses that the disc member has a first surface facing a first direction (see FIG. 3, downward facing surface) of the thickness-wise direction and a second surface facing a second direction opposite to the first direction (see FIG. 3, upward facing surface), and each of the plurality of claws warps in the first direction (see FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Eccles discloses that each of the plurality of claws includes a base end portion which is an end portion connected to the disc member in the radial direction (see FIGS. 2, 3), and a tip end portion which is an end portion in the radial direction and is different from the base end portion (see FIGS. 2, 3), the plurality of claws include outward claws each of which has the tip end portion positioned outward in the radial direction of the disc member with respect to the base end portion (see FIGS. 2, 3), and inward claws each of which has the tip end portion positioned inward in the radial direction of the disc member with respect to the base end portion (see FIGS. 2, 3), and the outward claws and the inward claws are alternately arranged along the circumferential direction (see FIGS. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 8, Eccles discloses an inner claw group including some of the plurality of claws arranged annularly along the circumferential direction (see FIG. 2), and an outer claw group disposed outward of the inner claw group in the radial direction of the disc member and including some of the plurality of claws arranged annularly along the circumferential direction (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Eccles discloses that at least one of the claws belonging to the inner claw group is adjacent to at least one of the claws belonging to the outer claw group along the radial direction (see FIG. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eccles (US 5,938,341), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Hodson et al. (US 5,730,430).
Regarding claim 3, Eccles does not disclose an annular portion extending from the outer peripheral end of the disc member along the second direction and surrounding the plurality of claws along the circumferential direction.
Hodson teaches a plate spring (see Abstract, FIG. 2) comprising a disc member (62) and an annular portion (64) extending from the outer peripheral end of the disc member in a second direction (see FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to combine the annular portion of Hodson with the plate spring of Eccles, such that the annular portion surrounds the plurality of claws along the circumferential direction, to provide means for centering the plate spring and aligning it relative to other components in the assembled device (see e.g. Hodson, col. 2, lines 41-54).
Regarding claim 5, Hodson teaches that the annular portion is formed by an annular member which is separate from the disc member and which abuts against the outer peripheral end of the disc member (see FIGS. 2, 5).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eccles (US 5,938,341) in view of Swanson et al. (US 9,222,509).
Regarding claim 7, Eccles does not disclose that each of the plurality of claws has a shape tapered from the base end portion toward the tip end portion.
Swanson teaches a plate spring (see e.g. FIG. 12, (1202)) comprising a plurality of claws (1712) that have a shape (1712) tapered from the base end portion toward the tip end portion (see col. 18, lines 34-49).
It would have been obvious to configure the claws of Eccles to be tapered to tune the load deflection characteristics of the claws (see e.g. col. 18, lines 34-49), thereby allowing the plate spring to be adapted for different uses.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
October 6, 2026