DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 9-12, 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The cited prior arts do not disclose the limitations taught by these dependent claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 13 of copending Application No. 18782482 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Claim 1 of instant application
Claim 1 of Application 18782482
A method comprising:
provisioning access object (AOB) and deduplication object (DOB) services of a deduplication filesystem across a cluster of nodes;
receiving, at a client-side library, a request to restore a file, the file being divided into chunks, the chunks being grouped into similarity groups, and the DOB services owning subsets of the similarity groups;
assigning, by the client-side library, offset ranges of the file to the AOB services such that each offset range assigned to an AOB service hosted on a node corresponds to chunks of a similarity group owned by a DOB service that is also hosted on the node;
issuing prefetch requests to the AOB services according to the assigned offset ranges;
opening multiple internal read-ahead streams from the AOB services to the DOB services, wherein the internal read-ahead streams prefetch the chunks read by the DOB services to populate read-ahead caches maintained at the AOB services, each prefetch from a particular AOB service to a particular DOB service thereby being a local operation because of the offset range assignments; and
servicing the request using the read-ahead caches.
A method comprising:
receiving, at an access object (AOB) service, a restore stream from a client for a file managed by a deduplication filesystem, the file being represented by a segment tree comprising segments in an upper level referencing chunks of the file, the upper level segments being grouped into similarity groups, and the similarity groups being assigned to deduplication object (DOB) services;
iterating over the upper level segments to open multiple internal read-ahead streams from the AOB service to the DOB services to populate a read-ahead cache maintained at the AOB service, the iterating comprising:
loading an upper level segment of the file;
identifying a similarity group into which the upper level segment has been grouped;
identifying a DOB service having responsibility for the similarity group; and
issuing a prefetch request from the AOB service to the DOB service for the DOB service to retrieve chunks of the file referenced by the upper level segment and populate the read-ahead cache with the retrieved chunks; and
servicing the restore stream using the read-ahead cache.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shilane (U.S Pub # 20230133361) in view of Madan (U.S Pub # 20230133530).
With regards to claim 1, Shilane discloses a method comprising:
provisioning access object (AOB) and deduplication object (DOB) services of a deduplication filesystem across a cluster of nodes ([0023] access object service and deduplication service. [0059] across a cluster of nodes);
receiving, at a client-side library, a request to restore a file ([0034] restore backup data), the file being divided into chunks, the chunks being grouped into similarity groups, and the DOB services owning subsets of the similarity groups ([0048] file’s data segments used to form similarity groups. [0065] distributed to deduplication services).
Shilane does not disclose however Madan discloses:
assigning, by the client-side library, offset ranges of the file to the AOB services such that each offset range assigned to an AOB service hosted on a node corresponds to chunks of a similarity group owned by a DOB service that is also hosted on the node ([0026] In a deduplicated file-system that forms segments from data, these segments are uniquely identified by their key/label called as fingerprint. Given a file offset and length, the corresponding data segment fingerprints need to be looked up);
issuing prefetch requests to the AOB services according to the assigned offset ranges ((0029] A prefetch request issues at a point after an application's read request as defined by a read offset 204 and a prefetch horizon);
opening multiple internal read-ahead streams from the AOB services to the DOB services, wherein the internal read-ahead streams prefetch the chunks read by the DOB services to populate read-ahead caches maintained at the AOB services, each prefetch from a particular AOB service to a particular DOB service thereby being a local operation because of the offset range assignments ([0029] read-ahead (prefetch) mechanism for each read request. A locality-based prefetch process. A prefetch request issues at a point after an application's read request as defined by a read offset 204 and a prefetch horizon); and
servicing the request using the read-ahead caches ([0050] data streams being restored).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Shilane by Madan to open read-ahead streams to prefetch items for a data stream.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to aid restore operations by a read-ahead mechanism (Madan [0003]).
Claims 7 and 13 correspond to claim 1 and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 2, 8, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shilane (U.S Pub # 20230133361) in view of Madan (U.S Pub # 20230133530) and in further view of Vasudevan (U.S Pub # 20140075034).
With regards to claim 2, Shilane does not disclose however Vasudevan discloses:
limiting a number of AOB services allowed to participate in the restoration of the file to a threshold number ([0189] throttling controller 920 can control the flow or orders being provisioned. For example, once the threshold limits are set, then the remaining orders can go through the overflow control module).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Shilane and Madan by Vasudevan to control computing resources dedicated towards certain operations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provision resources to enable orders (Vasudevan [0010]).
Claims 8 and 14 correspond to claim 2 and are rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/TONY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166