DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 10-12, 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The cited prior arts do not disclose the limitations taught by these dependent claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 13 of copending Application No. 18782482 (reference application) and claims 1, 7, 13 of copending Application No. 19016349 (reference application Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Claim 1 of instant application
Claim 1 of Application 18782482
A method comprising:
provisioning access object (AOB) and deduplication object (DOB) services of a deduplication filesystem across a cluster of nodes;
receiving, at a client-side library, a request to restore a file, the file being divided into chunks and the chunks being assigned to similarity groups;
creating a first table mapping offset ranges in the file to the AOB services;
issuing prefetch requests to the AOB services, according to the first table, for chunks of the file corresponding to the offset ranges;
upon the AOB services receiving the prefetch requests, consulting a second table mapping the similarity groups to the Dob services, each DOB service being responsible for reading a chunk of an assigned similarity group from a storage layer of the filesystem;
opening multiple internal read-ahead streams from the AOB services to the DOB services according to the second table, wherein the internal read-ahead streams prefetch the chunks read by the DOB services to populate read-ahead caches maintained at the AOB services, servicing the request using the read-ahead caches.
A method comprising:
receiving, at an access object (AOB) service, a restore stream from a client for a file managed by a deduplication filesystem, the file being represented by a segment tree comprising segments in an upper level referencing chunks of the file, the upper level segments being grouped into similarity groups, and the similarity groups being assigned to deduplication object (DOB) services;
iterating over the upper level segments to open multiple internal read-ahead streams from the AOB service to the DOB services to populate a read-ahead cache maintained at the AOB service, the iterating comprising:
loading an upper level segment of the file;
identifying a similarity group into which the upper level segment has been grouped;
identifying a DOB service having responsibility for the similarity group; and
issuing a prefetch request from the AOB service to the DOB service for the DOB service to retrieve chunks of the file referenced by the upper level segment and populate the read-ahead cache with the retrieved chunks; and
servicing the restore stream using the read-ahead cache.
Claim 1 of instant application
Claim 1 of Application 19016349
A method comprising:
provisioning access object (AOB) and deduplication object (DOB) services of a deduplication filesystem across a cluster of nodes;
receiving, at a client-side library, a request to restore a file, the file being divided into chunks and the chunks being assigned to similarity groups;
creating a first table mapping offset ranges in the file to the AOB services;
issuing prefetch requests to the AOB services, according to the first table, for chunks of the file corresponding to the offset ranges;
upon the AOB services receiving the prefetch requests, consulting a second table mapping the similarity groups to the Dob services, each DOB service being responsible for reading a chunk of an assigned similarity group from a storage layer of the filesystem;
opening multiple internal read-ahead streams from the AOB services to the DOB services according to the second table, wherein the internal read-ahead streams prefetch the chunks read by the DOB services to populate read-ahead caches maintained at the AOB services, servicing the request using the read-ahead caches.
A method comprising:
provisioning access object (AOB) and deduplication object (DOB) services of a deduplication filesystem across a cluster of nodes;
receiving, at a client-side library, a request to restore a file, the file being divided into chunks, the chunks being grouped into similarity groups, and the DOB services owning subsets of the similarity groups;
assigning, by the client-side library, offset ranges of the file to the AOB services such that each offset range assigned to an AOB service hosted on a node corresponds to chunks of a similarity group owned by a DOB service that is also hosted on the node;
issuing prefetch requests to the AOB services according to the assigned offset ranges;
opening multiple internal read-ahead streams from the AOB services to the DOB services, wherein the internal read-ahead streams prefetch the chunks read by the DOB services to populate read-ahead caches maintained at the AOB services, each prefetch from a particular AOB service to a particular DOB service thereby being a local operation because of the offset range assignments; and
servicing the request using the read-ahead caches.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shilane (U.S Pub # 20230133361) in view of Madan (U.S Pub # 20230133530).
With regards to claim 1, Shilane discloses a method comprising:
provisioning access object (AOB) and deduplication object (DOB) services of a deduplication filesystem across a cluster of nodes ([0023] access object service and deduplication service. [0059] across a cluster of nodes);
receiving, at a client-side library, a request to restore a file ([0034] restore backup data), the file being divided into chunks and the chunks being assigned to similarity groups ([0048] file’s data segments used to form similarity groups. [0065] distributed to deduplication services);
upon the AOB services receiving the prefetch requests, consulting a second table mapping the similarity groups to the DOB services, each DOB service being responsible for reading a chunk of an assigned similarity group from a storage layer of the filesystem ([0023] uses the similarity group identifier of 483 to route the group of fingerprints numbered 1 to 509 to be deduplicated by the deduplication and compression service which deduplicates groups of fingerprints with similarity group identifiers in the range of 0 to 500. The deduplication and compression service identifies fingerprints numbered 2-7, 11-13, and 17-19, from the group of fingerprints numbered 1 to 509 for the file named Green, as fingerprints which are missing from a local fingerprint index).
Shilane does not disclose however Madan discloses:
creating a first table mapping offset ranges in the file to the AOB services (Madan 20230133530 [0026] To provide faster offset to fingerprint lookup the mapping is stored in a Merkle tree format where the leaf nodes represent data segments and their fingerprints are stored in the parent nodes which are metadata segments. In a Merkle tree, every non-leaf node is labeled with the hash of the labels of its children nodes to allow efficient and secure verification of the contents of large data structures);
issuing prefetch requests to the AOB services, according to the first table, for chunks of the file corresponding to the offset ranges ((0029] A prefetch request issues at a point after an application's read request as defined by a read offset 204 and a prefetch horizon);
opening multiple internal read-ahead streams from the AOB services to the DOB services according to the second table, wherein the internal read-ahead streams prefetch the chunks read by the DOB services to populate read-ahead caches maintained at the AOB services (Madan [0031] prefetching operation 200 can be for any file or data restore process that comprises an application issuing a file open request followed by a plurality of read and write requests and a file close. In this context, the prefetch 200 moves data from a prefetched file into a read-ahead cache to be sent to a read request consumer of the file system. [0059] In general, the sub-batches are all of equal size to facilitate the parallel processing of index lookups for each sub-batch. In addition, the slice size is determined by the locality and certain system parameters such as system load, which may comprise number of streams.); and
servicing the request using the read-ahead caches ([0050] data streams being restored).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Shilane by Madan to open read-ahead streams to prefetch items for a data stream.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to aid restore operations by a read-ahead mechanism (Madan [0003]).
Claims 7 and 13 correspond to claim 1 and are rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 2, Shilane further discloses:
identifying, at a first AOB service hosted on a first node, a first chunk in a first offset range as belonging to a first similarity group assigned to a first DOB service, the first DOB service being hosted on the first node; opening a first internal read-ahead stream from the first AOB service to the first DOB service ([0077] The fingerprint index 420 maps from <fp, simgroup>-><location where the segment is stored>. The location where the segment is stored consists of several numbers such as object ID, compression region offset, and compression reg); identifying, at the first AOB service, a second chunk in the first offset range as belonging to a second similarity group assigned to a second DOB service, the second DOB service being hosted on a second node; and opening a second internal read-ahead stream from the first AOB service to the second DOB service ([0137] If the generation identifier associated with the first time differs from the generation identifier associated with the second time, the namespace service, the access object service, or the deduplication service optionally restarts at least one communication, block 630. The system can restart at least part of the file copying process for service instances which changed their generation identifier during the process of copying a file).
Claims 8 and 14 correspond to claim 2 and are rejected accordingly.
Claims 3, 9, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shilane (U.S Pub # 20230133361) in view of Madan (U.S Pub # 20230133530) and in further view of Vasudevan (U.S Pub # 20140075034).
With regards to claim 2, Shilane does not disclose however Vasudevan discloses:
limiting a number of AOB services allowed to participate in the restoration of the file to a threshold number ([0189] throttling controller 920 can control the flow or orders being provisioned. For example, once the threshold limits are set, then the remaining orders can go through the overflow control module).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Shilane and Madan by Vasudevan to control computing resources dedicated towards certain operations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provision resources to enable orders (Vasudevan [0010]).
Claims 9 and 15 correspond to claim 3 and are rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/TONY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166