DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’773 (JP 2020-104773) in view of JP’563 (JP 2012-250563).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 6, JP’773 teaches a pneumatic tire comprising belt ply containing steel cords (abstract). The structure of the steel cord 20 includes a core 11 having m = 2-4 filaments and a sheath 12 having n = 5-7 filaments (page 2 of the machine translation). This teaching includes the same structure disclosed by instant application’s Table 1 cord structure of 2+7.
While JP’773 is silent to the claimed “bending stiffness”, the tire of JP’773 including a belt ply having the claimed bending stiffness would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since JP’773 teaches a bending hardness per steel cord is 800 cN or less, preferably 100 to 800 cN, more preferably 100 to 500 cN, and particularly preferably 100 to 200 cN, page 2 of the machine translation (claim 4) and JP’563 teaches a tire comprising a belt layer with steel cords having an end count of 35 cords/50 mm or more, preferably 35-60 cords/50 mm, which is about 18 cords/ 25.4 mm to 30 cords/25.4 mm to obtain the necessary circumferential tensile rigidity and ensure the minimum necessary steel occupation ratio (page 4 of the machine translation) (claim 6).
100 cN x 0.01 N/cN x 20 cords/25.4 mm = 20 N/25.4 mm
While JP’773 is silent to the claimed “circumferential strength”, the tire of JP’773 including a belt having the claimed circumferential strength would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because JP’773 teaches a cord strength is 3600 N/mm2 or more, preferably 3600-4000 N/mm2, more preferably 3800-4000 N/mm2, the cord diameter being preferably 0.90 mm or less and more preferably 0.4 to 0.6 mm, page 2 of the machine translation wherein TABLE 1 teaches exemplary cross sectional areas of the steel cord includes 0.16 and 0.19 mm2, and the belt plies 6A and 6b are formed by inclining the steel cords at an angle of for example, 15 to 35 degrees with respect to the tire circumferential direction (page 2 of the machine translation) and JP’563 teaches a tire comprising a belt layer reinforced with steel cords having an end count of 35 cords/50 mm or more, preferably 35-60 cords/50 mm, which is about 18 cords/ 25.4 mm to 30 cords/25.4 mm to obtain the necessary circumferential tensile rigidity and ensure the minimum necessary steel occupation ratio (page 4 of the machine translation)
4000 N/mm2 x 0.19 mm2 x 20 cords/25.4 x cos (25) ≈ 13775.8 N/25.4 mm ≈ 13.8 kN/25.4 mm
Regarding claim 2, JP’773 teaches
a filament diameter of the core 11 is preferably 0.08-0.13 and a filament diameter of the sheath is preferably 0.13 mm to 0.20 mm (page 2 of the machine translation),
the cord occupancy is preferably 75% or less, more preferably 40 to 75% (page 3 of the machine translation), and
belt plies 6A and 6b are formed by inclining the steel cords at an angle of for example, 15 to 35 degrees with respect to the tire circumferential direction (page 2 of the machine translation).
Regarding claim 3, official notice is taken filaments which constitute the steel cords of a belt ply of a tire having a carbon content within the claimed range is well-known/conventional.
Regarding claim 5, the claimed breaking load per cord would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since JP’773 teaches a cord strength is 3600 N/mm2 or more, preferably 3600-4000 N/mm2, more preferably 3800-4000 N/mm2 and the cord diameter is preferably 0.90 mm or less and more preferably 0.4 to 0.6 mm, page 2 of the machine translation wherein TABLE 1 teaches exemplary cross sectional areas of the steel cord includes 0.16 and 0.19 mm2.
Regarding claim 7, the claimed bending stiffness per cord would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because JP’773 explicitly recites the bending hardness per steel cord is not particularly limited as long as it is 800 cN or less with a preferred range starting at 100 cN (page 2 of the machine translation) rendering obvious a nonpreferred range of less than 100 cN absent conclusive evidence of unexpected results and/or criticality to the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented in this office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENDRA LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749