DETAILED ACTION
In Applicant’s Response filed 4/10/26, Applicant has cancelled claims 1-19 and added new claims 20-30. Currently, claims 20-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Propp (US 7294752) in view of Dicosmo (US 2016/0317699).
With respect to claim 20, Propp discloses a medical dressing (dressing 10; fig 1) comprising:
a backing layer (fabric layer 12; fig 1-3) comprising a first major surface (side 18; fig 3), a second major surface (side 20; fig 3), and a perimeter (outer perimeter of layer 12 shown in fig 1) defining a backing area on each of the first and second major surfaces (as shown in figs 2-3)
adhesive on at least a portion of the first major surface of the backing layer (side 18 includes adhesive – col 3 lines 62-64); and
a stiffening system (reinforcing structure 30; col 4 lines 5-67) fixedly attached to the backing layer (col 4 lines 5-10), and contained within a selected region of the backing layer wherein the selected region defines a region perimeter (as shown in fig 1);
wherein the stiffening system (30) comprises an array of a plurality of stiffening elements (ribs 38; figs 1-2) contained within the region perimeter of the selected region (as shown in fig 1) wherein each stiffening element (38) of the plurality of stiffening elements extends along a length from a first end to a second end (as shown in fig 1; one end is closer to opening 40 as shown in fig 1-2 and the other end is a terminal end 44) wherein the first end of each stiffening element is located closer to a center of the selected region than the second end (one end is closer to opening 40 as shown in fig 1-2), and wherein the second end (terminal end 44) is located closer to the region perimeter than the first end (as shown in figs 1-2 the terminal end 44 of each rib 38 is closer to the perimeter edge of the layer 12).
Propp does not, however, explicitly disclose that the backing layer and the adhesive form a substantially contact transparent adhesive composite.
Dicosmo, however, teaches use of “thin transparent polymer material such as a film backing material, woven or knitted fabric, a nonwoven fabric or a plastic or polymeric material such as cotton” for making IV dressings (para [0016]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed the woven or nonwoven fabric layer 12 of Propp from a transparent material since Dicosmo teaches that such materials are routinely used for forming IV dressings such as the one disclosed in Propp. Furthermore, one would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a user with the ability to view the condition of an infusion site through the dressing and, also, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
With respect to claim 25, Propp in view of Dicosmo discloses the dressing substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 20) and Propp also discloses that at least a portion if the region perimeter is spaced inward from the perimeter of the backing layer (as shown in fig 2, at least a portion of backing 12 is configured as a frame where a portion of the region perimeter is spaced inward from the outer peripheral edge of layer 12 to define opening 22 at the center).
With respect to claim 26, Propp in view of Dicosmo discloses the dressing substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 20) and Propp also discloses that the medical dressing comprises support material (member 48; figs 1-2) having an inner perimeter defining the selected region (as shown in figs 1-2), the support material attached to the backing layer outside of the selected region (as shown in fig 1).
With respect to claim 27, Propp in view of Dicosmo discloses the dressing substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 20) and Propp also discloses that the stiffening system (30) further defines a gap occupying an arc about the center of the stiffening system that is free of stiffening elements (gap at the center of element 40 as shown in figs 1-2).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Propp (US 7294752) in view of Dicosmo (US 2016/0317699) and further in view of Fabo et al (US 2011/0098621).
With respect to claim 21, Propp in view of Dicosmo discloses the dressing substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 20) but is silent with respect to whether one or more of the stiffening elements of the stiffening system comprise transparent stiffening elements.
Fabo, however, teaches a transparent dressing wherein all layers of the dressing, including the stiffening layer 4, are transparent (see claim 11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed stiffening elements on the device of Propp in view of Dicosmo from a transparent material as taught by Fabo in order to provide a user with the ability to view the condition of an infusion site through the dressing and, also, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Propp (US 7294752) in view of Dicosmo (US 2016/0317699) and further in view of Elsamahy et al (US 2014/0005607).
With respect to claim 22, Propp in view of Dicosmo discloses the dressing substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 20) but is silent with respect to whether the stiffening elements comprise a colorant such that the transparent stiffening elements exhibit a color when exposed to white light.
Elsamahy, however, teaches an analogous dressing wherein the color of the reinforcing structure 34 may be provided with a distinctive color to be visible through the first layer 16 to aid in proper placement (para [0027]). Sunlight, incandescent bulbs and fluorescent lamps are all customarily used and known to be sources of white light – thus, the color visible to the user with customary light sources is interpreted as being provided by a colorant that exhibits the color when exposed to white light.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed the stiffening elements on the device of Propp in view of Dicosmo to comprise a colorant such that the transparent stiffening elements exhibit a color when exposed to white light, as taught by Elsamahy, in order to assist with placement of the dressing with the reinforcement in the appropriate location with respect to a catheter.
With respect to claim 23, Propp in view of Dicosmo discloses the dressing substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 20) but is silent with respect to whether the one or more of the stiffening elements of the stiffening system comprise opaque stiffening elements.
Elsamahy, however, teaches an analogous dressing wherein the color of the reinforcing structure 34 may be provided with a distinctive color to be visible through the first layer 16 to aid in proper placement (para [0027]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed the stiffening elements on the device of Propp in view of Dicosmo to be opaque (have color) as taught by Elsamahy in order to assist with placement of the dressing with the reinforcement in the appropriate location with respect to a catheter.
With respect to claim 24, Propp in view of Dicosmo discloses the dressing substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 23) but is silent with respect to whether the stiffening elements comprise a colorant such that the opaque stiffening elements exhibit a color when exposed to white light.
Elsamahy, however, teaches an analogous dressing wherein the color of the reinforcing structure 34 may be provided with a distinctive color to be visible through the first layer 16 to aid in proper placement (para [0027]). Sunlight, incandescent bulbs and fluorescent lamps are all customarily used and known to be sources of white light – thus, the color visible to the user with customary light sources is interpreted as being provided by a colorant that exhibits the color when exposed to white light.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed the stiffening elements on the device of Propp in view of Dicosmo to comprise a colorant such that the stiffening elements exhibit a color when exposed to white light, as taught by Elsamahy, in order to assist with placement of the dressing with the reinforcement in the appropriate location with respect to a catheter.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Propp (US 7294752) in view of Dicosmo (US 2016/0317699) with extrinsic evidence from “Polypropylene Properties & Polypropylene Characteristics Explained” (www.palmetto-industries.com).
With respect to claim 30, Propp in view of Dicosmo discloses the dressing substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 20) but does not explicitly disclose that the stiffening system has an elongation at break of between 200-800%. Propp, however, discloses that the stiffening system is made from polypropylene (col 4 lines 10-14) which, inherently, has an elongation at break of between 200-700% (as taught by “Polypropylene Properties & Polypropylene Characteristics Explained”; see page 3). Thus, the stiffening system (30) of Propp, which is formed from polypropylene, is interpreted as having an elongation at break of between 200-800%.
Double Patenting
NON-STATUTORY DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 20-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12201501.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are a broader recitation of the invention than that of the patented application.
Specifically, claim 20 of the present application and claim 1 of US Patent No. 12202501 (the ‘501 patent) differ in that the patented claims include more elements than the claims in the present application and, therefore, are more narrow and specific. Thus, claim 1 of the ‘501 Patent is in effect a “species” of the broader, “generic” invention recited in claim 20 of the present application. It has been held that a generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus, claim 20 of the present application is anticipated by claim 1 of the ‘501 patent and, therefore, are not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the ‘501 patent.
All of the limitations of claims 21 and 22 can be found in claim 2 of the ‘501 Patent; All of the limitations of claim 23 and 24 can be found in claim 3 of the ‘501 Patent; All of the limitations of claim 25 can be found in claim 4 of the ‘501 Patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The subject matter of claims 28 and 29 could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record.
With respect to claim 28, the subject matter not found was a medical dressing comprising a stiffening system which defines a gap occupying an arc about the center of the stiffening system that is free of stiffening elements, wherein the stiffening system further comprises a central support proximate the center of the stiffening system and a perimeter support extending between second ends of adjacent stiffening elements, and wherein the gap is formed in both the central support and the perimeter support, in combination with the other elements in the claims.
The closest prior art of record is Propp which discloses the medical dressing substantially as claimed and, also, discloses a stiffening system (30) that defines a gap occupying an arc about the center of the stiffening system that is free of stiffening elements (gap at the center of element 40 as shown in figs 1-2) and wherein the stiffening system comprises a central support (reinforcing structure at opening 40) proximate the center (as shown in fig 1). Propp does not, however, further disclose a perimeter support extending between second ends of adjacent stiffening elements, and wherein the gap is formed in both the central support and the perimeter support as recited in claim 28. For at least this reason, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the subject matter of claim 28.
With respect to claim 29, the subject matter not found was a medical dressing comprising a stiffening system which has a flexural rigidity of 5 or more, in combination with the other elements in the claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 4/10/26 have been fully considered as follows:
Regarding the objections to the claims: Applicant has cancelled claims 1-19 thereby obviating the basis for the objections. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: Applicant has cancelled claims 1-19 thereby obviating the basis for the rejections. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. New rejections have been given for new claims 20-30, however, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Regarding the Double Patenting Rejections: Applicant has cancelled claims 1-19 thereby obviating the basis for the rejections. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. New rejections have been given, however, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAITLIN A CARREIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786