Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on August 24th 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 14 and 27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Applications 13/791395, 13/230652, 61/701920, PCT/US2013/060167, 61/495441, 61/473219, 61/384423 or 61/381787 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The above priority applications fail to disclose the limitations of claim 2 lines 11-13 in combination with the step of retracting a suture into the hollow tube so that a loop is formed as recited in claim 2, lines 8-10. The above priority applications also fail to disclose the limitations of claim 15, lines 11-15. Accordingly, November 3ʳᵈ 2014 (the filing date of Application 14/531531) is the earliest date to which the pending claims are being given priority.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 2, 3, 6-8 and 10-13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Auerbach et al. (US 2013/0218175).
Regarding claim 2, Auerbach et al. disclose a method for retaining a suture comprising: extending a distal end of a suture manipulator (144/104; Figure 4) of a suture passer (100; Figure 1) from a hollow tube (102) of the suture passer (¶[0084],[0085]; Figures 9D-9E), the hollow tube comprising a distal end, a proximal end, and a lumen (forming opening 108; ¶[0068]; Figure 2) extending to the distal end, the suture manipulator comprising a distal portion having a catching surface (proximal side of 138; Figures 3 and 11) for catching a portion of a suture; locating a portion of a suture adjacent to the catching surface of the distal portion of the suture manipulator; and retracting the distal portion of the suture manipulator into a distal portion of the hollow tube (¶[0084], [0085]) and pulling the portion of the suture into the hollow tube so that a loop of the suture is located in the lumen (Figure 11; see looped portion of suture within the lumen), wherein a width of a gap between an inner surface of the distal portion of the hollow tube and a side surface of the distal portion of the suture manipulator is less than a width of the distal portion of the suture manipulator (¶[0071]).
Regarding claim 3, the method further comprises passing the suture passer with the portion of the suture through tissue (¶[0085], [0086]).
Regarding claim 6, the distal portion of the hollow tube is curved (it is curved about the longitudinal axis of the hollow tube).
Regarding claim 7, the distal end of the hollow tube tapers to a pointed tip (at “112” - Figure 11).
Regarding claim 8, the distal portion of the hollow tube has a longitudinal axis and at least a portion of the suture manipulator extends laterally away from the longitudinal axis (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 10, the distal portion of the suture manipulator is bifurcated into a first arm (116) and a second arm (114; Figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, the first arm comprises the catching surface (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, the first arm extends distally of the second arm (Figure 7).
Regarding claim 13, the distal end of the suture manipulator comprises a distally facing surface (at “138” - Figure 6), and wherein the catching surface extends parallel relative to the distally facing surface (evident from Figures 6 and 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 9 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Auerbach et al. (US 2013/0218175).
Regarding claim 9, Auerbach et al. fail to disclose that the suture is a #2 suture. However, Auerbach et al. disclose that the gap which securely holds the suture should be about 0.5mm (the diameter of some #2 sutures; ¶[0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a #2 suture with the suture passer as claimed as an appropriately sized suture that would be securely held within the gap of Auerbach et al. Any #2 suture could be used in at least some orthopedic procedures and can therefore be considered as an orthopedic suture as claimed.
Claims 15, 16 and 19-26 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Auerbach et al. (US 2013/0218175) in view of Riza (US 5,817,111).
Regarding claim 15, Auerbach et al. disclose a method for retaining a suture comprising: extending a distal end of a suture manipulator (144/104; Figure 4) of a suture passer (100; Figure 1) from a hollow tube (102) of the suture passer (¶[0084],[0085]; Figures 9D-9E), the hollow tube comprising a distal end and a lumen (forming opening 108; ¶[0068]; Figure 2) extending to the distal end, the suture manipulator comprising a distal portion having a catching surface (proximal side of 138; Figures 3 and 11) for catching a portion of a suture; locating a portion of a suture adjacent to the catching surface of the distal portion of the suture manipulator; and repositioning the suture manipulator and the hollow tube relative to one another such that the distal portion of the suture manipulator is located within a distal portion of the hollow tube (¶[0084], [0085]), thereby locating a loop of the suture in the lumen (Figure 11; see looped portion of suture within the lumen), wherein a width of a gap between an inner surface of the distal portion of the hollow tube and a side surface of the distal portion of the suture manipulator is less than a width of the distal portion of the suture manipulator (¶[0071]).
Auerbach et al. fail to disclose that the portion of the suture is compressed in the gap between the inner surface of the hollow tube and the side surface of the distal portion of the suture manipulator when the portion of the suture is pulled into the lumen. Auerbach et al. intend for a suture to be securely held in the gap between the inner surface of the hollow tube and the side surface of the distal portion of the suture manipulator (¶[0071]).
Riza teaches that a suture should be compressed in a similar gap between the inner surface of a hollow tube and the side surface of the distal portion of a suture manipulator in order to more securely hold the suture (col. 7, lines 51-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention and in view of Riza to have sized the hollow tube, suture manipulator and suture of Auerbach et al. so that the portion of the suture is compressed as claimed in order to more securely hold the suture when passing it through tissue.
Regarding claim 16, the method further comprises passing the suture passer with the portion of the suture through tissue (¶[0085], [0086]).
Regarding claim 19, the distal portion of the hollow tube is curved (it is curved about the longitudinal axis of the hollow tube).
Regarding claim 20, the distal end of the hollow tube tapers to a pointed tip (at “112” - Figure 11).
Regarding claim 21, the distal portion of the hollow tube has a longitudinal axis and at least a portion of the suture manipulator extends laterally away from the longitudinal axis (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 22, Auerbach et al. fail to disclose that the suture is a #2 suture. However, Auerbach et al. disclose that the gap which securely holds the suture should be about 0.5mm (the diameter of some #2 sutures; ¶[0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a #2 suture with the suture passer as claimed as an appropriately sized suture that would be securely held within the gap of Auerbach et al. Any #2 suture could be used in at least some orthopedic procedures and can therefore be considered as an orthopedic suture as claimed.
Regarding claim 23, Auerbach et al. disclose that the distal portion of the suture manipulator is bifurcated into a first arm (116) and a second arm (114; Figure 3).
Regarding claim 24, the first arm comprises the catching surface (Figure 3 of Auerbach et al.).
Regarding claim 25, the first arm extends distally of the second arm (Figure 7 of Auerbach et al.).
Regarding claim 26, Auerbach et al. disclose that the distal end of the suture manipulator comprises a distally facing surface (at “138’ - Figure 6), and wherein the catching surface extends parallel relative to the distally facing surface (evident from Figures 6 and 7).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Auerbach et al. (US 2013/0218175) in view of Norton et al. (US 2015/0094739).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Auerbach et al. disclose that the tissue is a labrum or a joint capsule or located in a hip. Auerbach et al. disclose that their invention prevents coring and/or infection when repairing a puncture wound (¶[0049])
Norton et al. teach that a similar suture passer can be used to repair a puncture wound in the labrum of a hip capsule (¶[0038] - “acetabulum”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention and in view of Norton et al. to have used the suture passer of Auerbach et al. to pass a suture through the labrum of the hip to repair a puncture wound therein in order to prevent coring and/or infection.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Auerbach et al. (US 2013/0218175) in view of Riza (US 5,817,111), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Norton et al. (US 2015/0094739).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Auerbach et al. disclose that the tissue is a labrum or a joint capsule or located in a hip. Auerbach et al. disclose that their invention prevents coring and/or infection when repairing a puncture wound (¶[0049])
Norton et al. teach that a similar suture passer can be used to repair a puncture wound in the labrum of a hip capsule (¶[0038] - “acetabulum”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention and in view of Norton et al. to have used the suture passer of Auerbach et al. to pass a suture through the labrum of the hip to repair a puncture wound therein in order to prevent coring and/or infection.
Conclusion
/THOMAS MCEVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771