DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-13, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schuttler et al (US Publication 2019/0060641).
Referring to Claim 1, Schuttler et al teaches an implantable neuromodulation device for receiving a nerve, the device comprising: a chamber having a cross-sectional chamber inner dimension (e.g. Figure 2, Element 50); at least one electrode disposed in the chamber (e.g. Figure 2, Element 60); a non-linear channel having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end being open to outside of the device and the distal end terminating at the chamber (e.g. Figure 2, channel between 30 and 83), the non-linear channel fluidly connecting an interior of the chamber with an exterior of the neuromodulation device such that the chamber is fluidly connected to the exterior of the neuromodulation device (e.g. Figure 2, channel between 30 and 83), the non-linear channel having a cross-sectional channel inner dimension at the distal end, wherein the cross-sectional channel inner dimension at the distal end is less than the cross-sectional chamber inner dimension (e.g. Figure 2), the non-linear channel being defined by first and second opposing walls (e.g. Figure 2, elements 30 and 40), the non-linear channel having a centerline positioned equidistant between the first and second opposing walls and extending from the proximal end to the distal end, the centerline changing direction from the proximal end to the distal end (e.g. Figure 2).
Referring to Claims 2 and 11, Schuttler et al teaches the claimed implantable neuromodulation device of claim 1, wherein the cross-sectional channel inner dimension is between 50 to 5000 micrometers (e.g. Figures 1 and 2 and Paragraph [0010] discloses the cuff is suitable for thinner nerves (e.g. smaller than 1000 micrometers)).
Referring to Claims 3 and 12, Schuttler et al teaches the claimed implantable neuromodulation device, wherein the non-linear channel is shaped to require that passing a nerve through the non-linear channel from the proximal end to the chamber requires changing direction (e.g. Figure 2).
Referring to Claims 4 and 13, Schuttler et al teaches the claimed implantable neuromodulation device, wherein the at least one electrode is configured to at least one of record or apply electrical impulses (e.g. Figure 2, Element 60 and Paragraphs [0003] and [0071]).
Referring to Claim 10, Schuttler et al teaches an implantable neuromodulation device for receiving a nerve, the device comprising: a chamber having a cross-sectional chamber inner dimension (e.g. Figure 2, Element 50); at least one electrode disposed in the chamber (e.g. Figure 2, Element 60); a non-linear channel having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end being open to outside of the device and the distal end terminating at the chamber (e.g. Figure 2, channel between 30 and 83), the non-linear channel fluidly connecting an interior of the chamber with an exterior of the neuromodulation device such that the chamber is fluidly connected to the exterior of the neuromodulation device (e.g. Figure 2, channel between 30 and 83), the non-linear channel having a cross-sectional channel inner dimension at the distal end, wherein the cross-sectional channel inner dimension at the distal end is less than the cross-sectional chamber inner dimension (e.g. Figure 2), the non-linear channel being defined by first and second opposing walls (e.g. Figure 2, elements 30 and 40), the non-linear channel having a centerline positioned equidistant between each of the first and second opposing walls and extending from the proximal end to the distal end, the non-linear channel comprising one or more turns, curves, or bends (e.g. Figure 2).
Referring to Claim 21, Schuttler et al teaches the implantable neuromodulation device of claim 10, wherein the non-linear channel comprises an “L” shape (e.g. Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuttler et al (US Publication 2019/0060641) in view of Wei et al (US Publication 2012/0197356).
Referring to Claims 5-9, 14-16 and 18-19, Schuttler et al teaches an implantable neuromodulation device for receiving a nerve (e.g. Figure 2); and discloses the inner side of the nerve cuff are provided with electrical contacts which allow for electrically influencing the natural nerve activity (e.g. Paragraph [0003]). However Schuttler et al does not disclose a stimulation generator configured to provide an electrical pulse to the at least one electrode; wherein the at least one electrode is configured to apply an electrical stimulation having an amplitude between 9.5 microAmps to 20 milliAmps; wherein the at least one electrode is configured to apply an electrical stimulation having a voltage of between 0.1-10 V; wherein the at least one electrode is configured to apply an electrical stimulation having a pulse with a duration between 20-500 microseconds; wherein the at least one electrode is configured to apply an electrical stimulation at a frequency between 0.5 to 50 KHz, wherein the electrical stimulation is received from the stimulation generator.
Wei et al teaches that it is known to use nerve cuffs electrode (e.g. Paragraph [0033]) connected to a stimulation generator (e.g. Paragraph [0030]) for applying a sustained electrical stimulation comprising a frequency of approximately 1-50 kHz and as set forth in Paragraphs [0059] and [0079], an amplitude between about 9.5 microAmps-20 milliAmps and a voltage between about 0.1-10 V as set forth in Paragraph [0084], and a duration of between about 100-500 microseconds as set forth in Paragraph [0085] to provide sufficient electrical stimulation to treat urinary incontinence (Paragraph [0022]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Schuttler et al, with a stimulation generator configured to provide an electrical pulse to the at least one electrode which applies a sustained electrical stimulation comprising a frequency of approximately 1-50 kHz and, an amplitude between about 9.5 microAmps-20 milliAmps and a voltage between about 0.1-10 V, and a duration of between about 100-500 microseconds as taught by Wei et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of sufficient electrical stimulation to treat urinary incontinence.
Referring to Claim 17, Schuttler et al in view of Wei et al teaches the implantable neuromodulation device of claim 14, except wherein the at least one electrode is configured to apply an electrical stimulation having at least one of a square, monopolar, cathodic, or bipolar balanced shape, wherein the electrical stimulation is received from the stimulation generator. Wei et al teaches that it is known to use applying cathodic electrical as set forth in Paragraph [0077] to provide sufficient electrical stimulation to treat urinary incontinence. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Schuttler et al, with applying cathodic electrical as taught by Wei et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of sufficient electrical stimulation to treat urinary incontinence.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuttler et al (US Publication 2019/0060641).
Referring to Claim 20, Schuttler et al teaches the implantable neuromodulation device of claim 10, except wherein the non-linear channel comprises an “S” shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Schuttler et al with the non-linear channel comprises an “S” shape, because Applicant has not disclosed that non-linear channel comprises an “S” shape provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with shape of the non-linear channel as taught by Schuttler et al, because it provides retaining the nerve in the cuff and since it appears to be an arbitrary design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Schuttler et al.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Schuttler et al to obtain the invention as specified in the claim(s).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6-9 and 12-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,226,627. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Coates et al (US Publication 2024/0024668) discloses a nerve cuff with “L” and “S” shaped channels.
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796