DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 5,284,621 to Kaufman (Kaufman).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kaufman discloses a pharmaceutical waste disposal assembly and method for disposing of raw pharmaceutical waste (title/abstract), the pharmaceutical waste disposal assembly comprising: a receiver body (10) that is configured to receive the pharmaceutical waste (waste is added to chamber 10), the receiver body including a body interior wall (wall(s) that form chamber 21) that defines a body interior (chamber 21 is placed inside chamber 10, forming a body interior); and a first reaction agent (xerogel composition) that is positioned within the body interior (the xerogel composition is stored inside chamber 21) so that the first reaction agent contacts the body interior wall prior to receiving the pharmaceutical waste (the xerogel composition is in contact with the body interior wall prior to receiving pharmaceutical waste; see Figs. 4, 5 and 7); wherein the first reaction agent chemically reacts with the pharmaceutical waste so that the pharmaceutical waste is rendered unrecoverable (col. 12, lines 1-4).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kaufman discloses the receiver body receives one or more of fluid pharmaceutical waste (abstract) and solid pharmaceutical waste.
Regarding claim 13, Kaufman further discloses adding a fluid into the body interior (fluid binders added to chamber 21; see col. 7, lines 65-66), the fluid mixing with the first reaction agent so that the first reaction agent chemically reacts with the pharmaceutical waste so that the pharmaceutical waste is rendered unrecoverable (col. 8, lines 4-9 and col. 12, lines 1-4).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Kaufman discloses the first reaction agent includes at least one of a denaturant (the xerogel serves to solidify the waste and is therefore a denaturant) and a deterrent.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Kaufman further discloses further comprising a second reaction agent (in addition to the xerogel, binders and disinfectant are added) positioned within the body interior (these are also within chamber 21), the pharmaceutical waste reacting with the second reaction agent to change the pharmaceutical waste in one of a chemical and physical manner so that the pharmaceutical waste is rendered unrecoverable, the second reaction agent being different than the first reaction agent (both the xerogel and the binder/disinfectant react with the pharmaceutical waste to render it unrecoverable).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Kaufman discloses one of the reaction agents is adapted to solidify following contact with a liquid (col. 4, lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Kaufman discloses the first reaction agent is adapted to solidify following contact with a liquid (col. 4, lines 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 9-10, 15-16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman in view of US Patent Application Publication 2012/0088951 to Deryck et al. (Deryck).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Kaufman discloses the pharmaceutical waste disposal assembly and method of claims 1 and 11, and further discloses the first reaction agent includes a denaturant (the xerogel serves to solidify the waste and is therefore a denaturant), but does not disclose a deterrent. Deryck teaches a drug disposal kit which includes a reaction agent having both a denaturant and a deterrent (see abstract and [0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a deterrent in the reaction agent of Kaufman to further aid is safe disposal of the pharmaceutical waste as taught by Deryck.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Kaufman discloses the pharmaceutical waste disposal assembly and method of claims 1 and 11, but does not disclose the first reaction agent includes activated charcoal. Deryck teaches a drug disposal kit which includes a reaction agent having activated charcoal ([0027] and [0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included activated charcoal in the reaction agent of Kaufman to further aid is safe disposal of the pharmaceutical waste as taught by Deryck.
Regarding claims 9-10 and 20-21, Kaufman discloses the pharmaceutical waste disposal assembly and method of claims 1 and 11, but does not disclose a fluid absorber positioned within the body interior, the fluid absorber absorbing and retaining the pharmaceutical waste; and wherein the pharmaceutical waste reacts with the first reaction agent prior to being absorbed and retained by the fluid absorber, wherein the fluid absorber converts the pharmaceutical waste to one of a gelatinous material and a solid material. Deryck teaches a drug disposal kit which includes a fluid absorber (58) positioned within the body interior, the fluid absorber absorbing and retaining the pharmaceutical waste; and wherein the pharmaceutical waste reacts with the first reaction agent prior to being absorbed and retained by the fluid absorber, wherein the fluid absorber converts the pharmaceutical waste to one of a gelatinous material and a solid material (see [0030]-[0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a fluid absorber in the body interior of Kaufman to further aid is safe disposal of the pharmaceutical waste as taught by Deryck.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 March 6, 2026