Detailed Action
The office action sent in response to Applicant’s communication received on 1/10/2025 for the application number 19016494. The office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following placed of record in the file: Specification, Abstract, Oath/Declaration and claims.
Priority
The present application claims benefit of and priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application Serial No. 63/6 19,668 filed January 10, 2024.
Examiner’s Note – Claims 1 and 10 includes the concept which was not present in the provisional application and hence all the claims are given a priority date of January 10, 2025
Status of the claims
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
The claims 10-20 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Turning to the written description in the specification, the corresponding structure for the information determination unit, an auxiliary information acquisition unit, data extraction subunit, a keyword extraction subunit, a response generation unit, has is specifically a cpu as disclosed in Fig 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 recites
A system for confirming content in a form comprises: a. a control module implementing a platform configured to receive recorded conversation infornation, completed application information and form policy information; b. a first machine learning module operatively connected to the control module and configured to receive the recorded conversation information and provide text information associated with the recorded conversation information, wherein the text information is provided to the control module; c. a second machine learning module configured to implement a second machine learning algorithm, wherein the text information, completed application information and form policy information are provided as inputs to the second machine learning algorithm and the second machine learning algorithm is trained using prior text including tags related to content and provides, as an output, text excerpts from the text information and the completed application information including tags associated with contend of the transcription information and the completed application information, wherein the text excerpts and tags are processed by the control module and the control module is configured to provide confirmation information indicating presence of required text in the text information and the completed application information; and d. a display associated with the control unit and operably connected thereto, wherein the conformation information is displayed on the display using an interactive user interface and feedback information is provided associated with the confirmation information.
Claim Interpretation: Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the terms of the claim are
presumed to have their plain meaning consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by
one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.
A person can receive a conversation, along with the completed document and the compliance rules
A person can transcribe the conversation
A person can tag important pieces of information from the text corresponding to the form and the compliance rules which can represent mandatory field in the form etc.
A person can take another person feedback whether to submit the form based on the tagged information and the completed form.
Additional elements are determination unit, auxiliary information acquisition unit and information processing apparatus.
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03. The claim recites at least system. Thus, the claim recites an apparatus, hence a machine , which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A, Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a
judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception
when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
As discussed above, the broadest reasonable interpretation of limitations (a)-(c) that those
elements fall within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas because they cover concepts
performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion . See MPE 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. Limitations (a)-(d) recited mental steps since a person can receive a conversation, along with the completed document and the compliance rules, then transcribe the conversation and important pieces of information from the text corresponding to the form and the compliance rules which can represent mandatory field in the form etc. Finally, a person can take another person feedback whether to submit the form based on the tagged information and the completed form. Hence, these steps can be performed by a human, using “observation, evaluation, judgment, [and] opinion,” because they involve making determinations and identifications, which are mental tasks humans routinely do, and thus can practically be performed in the human mind, In re Killian, 45 F.4th 1373, 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2022). Therefore, these limitations are considered together as an abstract idea for further analysis. (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
Step 2A, Prong Two: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole
integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception or whether the
claim is “directed to” the judicial exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether
there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating
those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole
integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d). The additional elements recited are control module and machine learning model. These additional elements provide nothing more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). MPEP2106.05(f) provides the following considerations for determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer: (1) whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished; (2) whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process; and (3) the particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong Two: NO), and the claim is directed to the judicial exception. (Step 2A: YES).
Step 2B. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. The claim is ineligible.
Regarding claims 2-9 and 11-20, the claims are an additional mental process of verifying information. Same reasoning as above claim 10 are applicable. In addition, claim recites third party server. These are additional elements of data gathering and outputting information, however, does not amount significantly more than an abstract idea itself.
Regarding claim 1, analysis analogous to claim 10, are applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
And
KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
See MPEP § 2143 for a discussion of the rationales listed above along with examples illustrating how the cited rationales may be used to support a finding of obviousness. See also MPEP § 2144 - § 2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determination.
Claims 1-4, 7, 10-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nahum (US 20240403545) and further in view of Vepa (US 20250045527)
Regarding claim 1, Nahum teach a method for confirming information in a form comprises: a. receiving conversation information, form policy information and completed application information (receive user input and the mandatory field and the application information, Fig 2), ; c. receiving the text information ( text information 220c) , form policy information ( mandatory rules, Para 0115-0117) and completed application information as inputs to a second machine learning algorithm trained ( mini form, Fig 1c) using a second training set including prior text information including tags associated with its content ( trained LLM, Fig 1c, Para 0112-0120; fig 2, element 270; element 210d, third party system which includes LLM model, Para 0155)) ; d. outputting by the second machine learning algorithm tagged text excerpts based on the text information, completed application information and the form policy information (tagged excerpts – form 270, Para 0120-0122) ; e. confirming accuracy of the text information and completed application information based on the text excerpts and tags (generated form is based on the text (hence confirmed by the system) , Fig 2) ; f. generating confirmation information associated with the text excerpts and tags confirming presence of required information and accuracy of the text information and the completed application information (fig 2 – the system may then prompt the user to approve the submission of the form, providing a final validation step to ensure accuracy before the automation completes the form submission, such as via Submit Button 280, Para 0120-0122 and (mandatory field are filled, Para 0118, Fig 3c, Para 0145-0149)) ; g. providing the confirmation information to an interactive user interface (submit button, Fig 2, Fig 3c for e.g. ) ; and h. receiving input from a user via the interactive user interface associated with the confirmation information ( user can submit the feedback for e.g. in 3c before final submission, Para 0145-0149)
Nahum does not explicitly teach a. receiving recorded conversation information, form policy information and completed application information, wherein the recorded conversation information includes at least one of audio information and video information; b. generating text information associated with the recorded conversation information using a first machine learning algorithm using the recorded conversation information as an input and trained using a fist training set including prior text information
However Vepa teaches receiving recorded conversation information, ( recorded interaction, Fig 6) , wherein the recorded conversation information includes at least one of audio information and video information ( audio) ; b. generating text information associated with the recorded conversation information using a first machine learning algorithm using the recorded conversation information as an input and trained using a fist training set including prior text information ( transcribing the audio, Fig 6)
It would have been obvious to POSITA having the teachings of Nahum to further include the concept of Vepa before effective filing date so to process the text to determine text content ( Para 0032, Vepa)
Regarding claim 2, Vepa as above in claim 1, teach wherein the recorded conversation information comprises audio information associated with a phone call (phone call, Para 0025)
Regarding claim 3, Vepa as above in claim 1, teach wherein the recorded conversation information comprises video information associated with a video call (video, Para 0025)
Regarding claim 4, Vepa as above in claim 1, teach wherein the recorded conversation information comprises audio information and video information associated with a video call ( video and audio, Para 0025)
Regarding claim 7, Nahum as above in claim 1, teach, wherein the recorded conversation information is provided by a third party ( third party digital system, Fig 1c)
Regarding claim 10, Nahum teach a system for confirming content in a form comprises: a. a control module implementing a platform configured to a. receive conversation information, completed application information and form policy information (receive mini form, text and mandatory field, element 210, Fig 2, 1a-c, Para 0112-0120); c. a second machine learning module configured to implement a second machine learning algorithm, wherein the text information, completed application information and form policy information are provided as inputs to the second machine learning algorithm ( element 210d, third party system which includes LLM model, Para 0155) and the second machine learning algorithms trained using prior text including tags related to content and provides, as an output, text excerpts from the text information and the completed application information including tags associated with contend of the transcription information and the completed application information ( filled from at the element 210d, Fig 2, Para 0112-0120) , wherein the text excerpts and tags are processed by the control module and the control module is configured to provide confirmation information indicating presence of required text in the text information and the completed application information (mandatory field are filled, Para 0118, Fig 3c, Para 0145-0149) and d. a display associated with the control unit and operably connected thereto, wherein the conformation information is displayed on the display using an interactive user interface and feedback information is provided associated with the confirmation information ( user can submit the feedback for e.g. in 3c before final submission, Para 0145-0149)
Nahum does not explicitly teach. receive recorded conversation information, completed application information and form policy information(recorded interaction, Fig 6) ;b. a first machine learning module operatively connected to the control module and configured to receive the recorded conversation information and provide text information associated with the recorded conversation information, wherein the text information is provided to the control module
However, Vepa teach receives recorded conversation information ( ;b. a first machine learning module operatively connected to the control module and configured to receive the recorded conversation information and provide text information associated with the recorded conversation information, wherein the text information is provided to the control module( transcribing the audio, Fig 6)
It would have been obvious to POSITA having the teachings of Nahum to further include the concept of Vepa before effective filing date so to process the text to determine text content ( Para 0032, Vepa)
Regarding claim 11, Vepa as above in claim 10 teaches, wherein the recorded conversation information is provided from a third party device associated with a third party (recorded source interaction, Fig 1)
Regarding claim 12, Vepa as above in claim 10 teaches, wherein the recorded conversation information includes audio information associated with a phone call related to the completed form (phone call, Para 0025)
Regarding claim 13, Nahum modified by Vepa as above in claim 10, teaches , wherein the recorded conversation information includes video information associated with a video phone call related to the completed form ( conversation related to the completed document, Fig 2, Nahum; video and audio, Para 0025, Vepa)
Regarding claim 14, Nahum modified by Vepa as above in claim 10, teaches wherein the recorded conversation information includes audio information and video information associated with a video phone call related to the completed form (conversation related to the completed document, Fig 2, Nahum; video and audio, Para 0025, Vepa)
Regarding claim 15, Nahum modified by Vepa as above in claim 10, teach wherein the recorded conversation information is associated with one of a sales call, a call between a customer and an insurance agent, and a call between a customer and a representative of a financial entity ( customer service agent, Para 0020, Vepa; customer service, includes finance, sales etc., Para 0071, 0079, Nahum)
Regarding claim 16, Vepa as above in claim 10, teaches wherein the first machine learning algorithm receives the recorded conversation information as an input and provides sentiment information indicating a demeaner of the speaker as an output with the text information (audio to text using machine learning model, fig 2, Para 0025-0026)
Regarding claim 18, Nahum modified by Vepa as above in claim 10, teach wherein the control unit is operably connected to an external third party device and receives the recorded conversation information, completer application information and form policy information from the external third party device ( third party connection, Fig 2-3, Nahum)
Regarding claim 19, Nahum as above in claim 10, teaches wherein the display is associated with an input configured to provide the feedback information (feedback, Fig 1-3)
Regarding claim 20, Nahum as above in claim 10, teaches, wherein the feedback information includes correction information where the confirmation information indicates discrepancies between the text information, completed application information and form policy information ( feedback for e.g. if the field is missing ( correction) Fig 2-3)
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nahum (US 20240403545) and further in view of Vepa (US 20250045527) and further in view of Bodapati (US 20240062263)
Regarding claim 5, Nahum as above in claim 1, mentions form related to sale ( salesforce ) however does not explicitly teach ,wherein the form is associated with a sale of goods
However, Bodapati teach wherein the form is associated with a sale of goods ( application include sales, Para 0023)
It would have been obvious having the teachings of Nahum and Vepa to further include Bodapati before effective filing date so that the sales forms can be uploaded and verified in the 3rd party system
Regarding claim 6, Nahum modified by Vepa as above in claim 1, wherein the form is related to an insurance policy
However, Bodapati teach wherein the form is related to an insurance policy( application include insurance, Para 0023)
It would have been obvious having the teachings of Nahum and Vepa to further include Bodapati before effective filing date so that the insurance policy forms can be uploaded and verified in the 3rd party system
Claims 8-9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nahum (US 20240403545) and further in view of Vepa (US 20250045527) and further in view of Erasmus (US 20230091949 )
Regarding claim 8, Nahum modified by Vepa does not explicitly teach wherein sentiment information associated with a demeaner of a speaker is provided by the second machine learning algorithm based on audio information and video information included in the recorded conversation information
However, Erasmus teach wherein sentiment information associated with a demeaner of a speaker is provided by the second machine learning algorithm based on audio information and video information included in the recorded conversation information ( User sentiment can be tracked to confirm and deny certain data entries and their arrangement along a particular collaboration space, Para 0043)
It would have been obvious having the teachings of Nahum and Vepa to further include the concept of Erasmus before effective filing date so to confirm the submission of form based on user utterance.
Regarding claim 9, Erasmus as above in claim 8, teaches wherein the confirmation information includes the sentiment information ( confirmation, Para 0043)
Regarding claim 17, rejections analogous to claim 8, are applicable.
Conclusion
/Richa Sonifrank/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654