Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on IDS - 01/10/2025 is being
considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 21 is cancelled. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/09/2026 and 04/14/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites “the first magnetic layer”, “the second magnetic layer”, “the third magnetic layer”, “the fourth magnetic layer”, “the first magnetic shield”, and “the second magnetic shield”. It is unclear what these limitations represent and therefore renders the claim as indefinite.
For examination purposes, claim 22 is interpreted as “the first shield”, “the second shield”, “the third shield”, “the fourth shield”, “the first shield”, and “the second shield”.
Claim 24 recites “the third magnetic shield”. It is unclear what these limitations represent and therefore renders the claim as indefinite.
For examination purposes, claim 24 is interpreted as “the third shield”.
Claims 24 and 26 are indefinite by virtue of their respective dependency on claims 22.
Claim 23 recites “the first magnetic layer”, “the second magnetic layer”, “the third magnetic layer”, and “the fourth magnetic layer”. It is unclear what these limitations represent and therefore renders the claim as indefinite.
For examination purposes, claim 23 is interpreted as “the first shield”, “the second shield”, “the third shield”, and “the fourth shield”.
Claim 25 recites “the third magnetic shield”. It is unclear what these limitations represent and therefore renders the claim as indefinite.
For examination purposes, claim 25 is interpreted as “the third shield”.
Claims 25 and 27 are indefinite by virtue of their respective dependency on claims 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20040156148A1(hereinafter Chang) in view of Shirotori et al. U. S. Patent Publication Number US20240371400(hereinafter Shirotori) and Yamane et al. U.S. Patent Number 8913349 B2(hereinafter Yamane).
Regarding claim 22, Chang discloses a magnetic head, comprising: a reproducing section (Fig. 7, i.e., 720; paragraph [0034], i.e., head 700) including a medium facing face (para. [0028] i.e., the shields … arranged normal to the ABS with a thickness providing the shielding of the read sensor … from adjacent tracks.), the reproducing section including: a first shield (Fig. 7, i.e., 704; paragraph [0034], i.e., bottom … (or first …) magnetic shield layers 704 ); a second shield ( Fig. 7 i.e., 707; paragraph [0034], i.e., "top (… second) magnetic shield layers … 707" ), a direction from the first shield to the second shield being along a first direction along the medium facing face ( Fig. 7 i.e., 707; paragraph [0034], i.e., bottom and top (or first and second) magnetic shield layers 704, 707"); a third shield (see Fig. 7, i.e., 708; paragraph [0034], i.e., side shields 708); a fourth shield, a second direction from the third shield to the fourth shield being along the medium facing face and crossing the first direction (Fig. 7, i.e., 709; paragraph [0034], i.e., "side shields … 709" and "formed separately from the shield 707"; The side shields are arranged laterally, while the first and top shields are positioned on the top and bottom vertically); a first magnetic member (see Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034], i.e., free layer 728) provided between the first shield and the second shield (Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034]; The first magnetic member is sandwiched between the first shield 704 and the second shield 707), and between the third shield and the fourth shield (Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034]; The first magnetic member is sandwiched between the third shield 708 and the fourth shield 709); a first terminal (see annotated Fig. 7, i.e., 710; paragraph [0034] i.e., electrical contacts 710) electrically connected to the first shield (see annotated Fig. 7, i.e., 710; paragraph [0034] i.e., electrical contacts 710; The first terminal is an electrical contact and it touches the first shield 704 as shown in Fig. 7); and a second terminal (see annotated Fig. 7, i.e., 712; upper most portion of 712 ; paragraph [0034] i.e., electrical contacts…712) electrically connected to the second shield (see annotated Fig. 7, i.e., 712; paragraph [0034] i.e., electrical contacts…712; The second terminal is an electrical contact and it touches the second shield 707 as shown in annotated Fig. 7) but Chang remains silent as to a third terminal electrically connected to the first magnetic member, wherein the first shield includes a first region facing the first magnetic member, the second shield includes a second region facing the first magnetic member, a first region magnetization of the first region includes a component along a third direction crossing the medium facing face, and a second region magnetization of the second region includes the component along a fourth direction opposite to the third direction.
In an analogous art, Shirotori teaches a third terminal electrically connected to the first magnetic member (Fig. 1 i.e., "side shield terminal" and "side shield 41 r"; para. [0042] i.e., The common side shield terminal 20T is electrically connected to the first opposing side shield 41 r …; para. [0048] i.e., The first magnetic member 11 is electrically connected …via the first conductive member 11 c. The first magnetic member 11 is electrically connected to … first opposing side shield 41 r via the first conductive member 11 c.).
Shirotori teaches placing one or more non-magnetic, highly thermally conductive members adjacent to the reproducing section so they function as heat sinks. A conductive member is connected to the third shield, and another to the fourth shield, to draw heat away from the magnetic member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the terminal configuration as taught by Shirotori into a magnetic head in order to enable effective heat dissipation (Shirotori , para. 36).
Chang further disclose the first magnetic member (Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034], i.e., free layer 728) being provided between the first magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer in the first direction (Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034]; The first magnetic member is sandwiched between the first shield 704 and the second shield 707) and between the third magnetic layer and the fourth magnetic layer in the second direction (Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034]; The first magnetic member is sandwiched between the third shield 708 and the fourth shield 709).
In analogous art, Yamane teaches a first magnetization of the first magnetic shield including a component along a third direction crossing the medium facing face (FIG. 13D i.e., 4a; Col. 17 lines 6-10 i.e., the lower shield layer 4 where their magnetizations …4a are substantially orthogonalized…), and a second magnetization of the second magnetic shield including a component along a fourth direction opposite to the third direction (FIG. 13D i.e., 3a; Col. 17 lines 6-10 i.e., the lower shield layer 4 where their magnetizations 3a… are substantially orthogonalized…).
Yamane describes that a high-density hard disk recording requires narrower shield gaps and narrower tracks, but conventional structures suffer from reduced heat dissipation and current limitations. Yamane solves these issues by combining a Current-Perpendicular-to-Plane (CPP) MR part with side shield layers and specially biased shield layers so the two ferromagnetic layers become substantially orthogonal without requiring a backside permanent magnet.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the magnetization of the lower shield layer and upper shield layer as taught by Yamane into a magnetic head in order to improve read density and sensitivity while avoiding leakage-related quality problems (Yamane, Col. 5 lines 63-67 and Col. 6 lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 24, Chang as modified by Shirotori and Yamane teaches the magnetic head according to claim 22 as discussed above but fails to explicitly teach the third terminal is electrically connected to the first magnetic member through the third magnetic shield.
In an analogous art, Shirotori teaches the third terminal is electrically connected to the first magnetic member through the third magnetic shield (para. [0048] i.e., The first magnetic member 11 is electrically connected …via the first conductive member 11 c. The first magnetic member 11 is electrically connected to … first opposing side shield 41 r via the first conductive member 11 c.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the terminal configuration as taught by Shirotori into a magnetic head in order to enable effective heat dissipation (Shirotori , para. 36).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as modified by Shirotori and Yamane as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Kikitsu et al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20250174247A1(hereinafter Kikitsu).
Regarding claim 26, Chang as modified by Shirotori and Yamane teaches the magnetic head according to claim 22 as discussed above but fails to explicitly teach a magnetic recording device, comprising: the magnetic head ; a magnetic recording medium facing the magnetic head; a first circuit; and a second circuit, the first circuit being configured to supply a current between the first terminal and the second terminal, the second circuit being configured to detect a voltage between the third terminal and one of the first terminal and the second terminal, and the voltage being configured to change depending on a magnetization state recorded on the magnetic recording medium.
In an analogous art, Kikitsu teaches a magnetic recording device, comprising: the magnetic head; a magnetic recording medium facing the magnetic head (Fig. 12, i.e., 70; para. [0204] i.e., a magnetic recording medium facing the magnetic head); a first circuit (Fig. 1 i.e., first circuit 52 ); and a second circuit (Fig. 1 i.e., second circuit 51), the first circuit being configured to supply a current between the first terminal and the second terminal, the second circuit being configured to detect a voltage between the third terminal and one of the first terminal and the second terminal, and the voltage being configured to change depending on a magnetization state recorded on the magnetic recording medium (para. [0037] i.e., first circuit 51 and a second circuit 52…configured to supply current…voltage…depending on the magnetization).
Kikitsu teaches the head uses a magnetic member positioned between crossed shield pairs, with shield geometries that bias magnetic components in different directions. This arrangement allows the sensed resistance or voltage to vary with the medium’s magnetization while keeping the sensing structure more thermally stable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the circuit configuration as taught by Kikitsu into a magnetic head in order to promote efficient heat dissipation (Kikitsu, para. 39).
Claim(s) 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Shirotori and Yamane.
Regarding claim 23, Chang discloses a magnetic head, comprising: a reproducing section (Fig. 7, i.e., 720; paragraph [0034], i.e., head 700) including a medium facing face (para. [0028] i.e., the shields … arranged normal to the ABS with a thickness providing the shielding of the read sensor … from adjacent tracks.), the reproducing section including: a first shield (Fig. 7, i.e., 704; paragraph [0034], i.e., bottom … (or first …) magnetic shield layers 704 ); a second shield ( Fig. 7 i.e., 707; paragraph [0034], i.e., "top (… second) magnetic shield layers … 707" ), a direction from the first shield to the second shield being along a first direction along the medium facing face ( Fig. 7 i.e., 707; paragraph [0034], i.e., bottom and top (or first and second) magnetic shield layers 704, 707"); a third shield (see Fig. 7, i.e., 708; paragraph [0034], i.e., side shields 708); a fourth shield, a second direction from the third shield to the fourth shield being along the medium facing face and crossing the first direction (Fig. 7, i.e., 709; paragraph [0034], i.e., "side shields … 709" and "formed separately from the shield 707"; The side shields are arranged laterally, while the first and top shields are positioned on the top and bottom vertically); a first magnetic member (see Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034], i.e., free layer 728) provided between the first shield and the second shield (Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034]; The first magnetic member is sandwiched between the first shield 704 and the second shield 707), and between the third shield and the fourth shield (Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034]; The first magnetic member is sandwiched between the third shield 708 and the fourth shield 709) ; a first terminal (see annotated Fig. 7, i.e., 710; paragraph [0034] i.e., electrical contacts 710) electrically connected to the first shield (see annotated Fig. 7, i.e., 710; paragraph [0034] i.e., electrical contacts 710; The first terminal is an electrical contact and it touches the first shield 704 as shown in Fig. 7); and a second terminal (see annotated Fig. 7, i.e., 712; upper most portion of 712 ; paragraph [0034] i.e., electrical contacts…712) electrically connected to the second shield (see annotated Fig. 7, i.e., 712; paragraph [0034] i.e., electrical contacts…712; The second terminal is an electrical contact and it touches the second shield 707 as shown in annotated Fig. 7) but Chang remains silent as to a third terminal electrically connected to the first magnetic member, wherein the first shield includes a first region facing the first magnetic member, the second shield includes a second region facing the first magnetic member, a first region magnetization of the first region includes a component along a third direction crossing the medium facing face, and a second region magnetization of the second region includes the component along a fourth direction opposite to the third direction.
In an analogous art, Shirotori teaches a third terminal electrically connected to the first magnetic member (Fig. 1 i.e., "side shield terminal" and "side shield 41 r"; para. [0042] i.e., The common side shield terminal 20T is electrically connected to the first opposing side shield 41 r …; para. [0048] i.e., The first magnetic member 11 is electrically connected …via the first conductive member 11 c. The first magnetic member 11 is electrically connected to … first opposing side shield 41 r via the first conductive member 11 c.).
Shirotori teaches placing one or more non-magnetic, highly thermally conductive members adjacent to the reproducing section so they function as heat sinks. A conductive member is connected to the third shield, and another to the fourth shield, to draw heat away from the magnetic member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the terminal configuration as taught by Shirotori into a magnetic head in order to enable effective heat dissipation (Shirotori , para. 36).
Chang further disclose the first magnetic member (Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034], i.e., free layer 728) being provided between the first magnetic layer and the second magnetic layer in the first direction (Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034]; The first magnetic member is sandwiched between the first shield 704 and the second shield 707) and between the third magnetic layer and the fourth magnetic layer in the second direction (Fig. 7, i.e., 728; paragraph [0034]; The first magnetic member is sandwiched between the third shield 708 and the fourth shield 709).
In an analogous art, Yamane teaches the first shield includes a first region facing the first magnetic member (FIG. 13D i.e., lower shield layer 4; Col. 9 lines 21-25 i.e., lower shield layer 4), the second shield includes a second region facing the first magnetic member (FIG. 13D i.e., upper shield layer3; Col. 9 lines 21-25 i.e., upper shield layer 3), a first region magnetization of the first region includes a component along a third direction crossing the medium facing face (FIG. 13D i.e., 4a; Col. 17 lines 6-10 i.e., the lower shield layer 4 where their magnetizations …4a are substantially orthogonalized…), and a second region magnetization of the second region includes the component along a fourth direction opposite to the third direction (FIG. 13D i.e., 3a; Col. 17 lines 6-10 i.e., the lower shield layer 4 where their magnetizations 3a… are substantially orthogonalized…).
Yamane describes that a high-density hard disk recording requires narrower shield gaps and narrower tracks, but conventional structures suffer from reduced heat dissipation and current limitations. Yamane solves these issues by combining a Current-Perpendicular-to-Plane (CPP) MR part with side shield layers and specially biased shield layers so the two ferromagnetic layers become substantially orthogonal without requiring a backside permanent magnet.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the magnetization of the lower shield layer and upper shield layer as taught by Yamane into a magnetic head in order to improve read density and sensitivity while avoiding leakage-related quality problems (Yamane, Col. 5 lines 63-67 and Col. 6 lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 25, Chang as modified by Shirotori and Yamane teaches the magnetic head according to claim 23 as discussed above but fails to explicitly teach the third terminal is electrically connected to the first magnetic member through the third magnetic shield.
In an analogous art, Shirotori teaches the third terminal is electrically connected to the first magnetic member through the third magnetic shield (para. [0048] i.e., The first magnetic member 11 is electrically connected …via the first conductive member 11 c. The first magnetic member 11 is electrically connected to … first opposing side shield 41 r via the first conductive member 11 c.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the terminal configuration as taught by Shirotori into a magnetic head in order to enable effective heat dissipation (Shirotori , para. 36).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as modified by Shirotori and Yamane as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Kikitsu.
Regarding claim 27, Chang as modified by Shirotori and Yamane teaches the magnetic head according to claim 23 as discussed above but fails to explicitly teach a magnetic recording device, comprising: the magnetic head ; a magnetic recording medium facing the magnetic head; a first circuit; and a second circuit, the first circuit being configured to supply a current between the first terminal and the second terminal, the second circuit being configured to detect a voltage between the third terminal and one of the first terminal and the second terminal, and the voltage being configured to change depending on a magnetization state recorded on the magnetic recording medium.
In an analogous art, Kikitsu teaches a magnetic recording device, comprising: the magnetic head; a magnetic recording medium facing the magnetic head (Fig. 12, i.e., 70; para. [0204] i.e., a magnetic recording medium facing the magnetic head); a first circuit (Fig. 1 i.e., first circuit 52 ); and a second circuit (Fig. 1 i.e., second circuit 51), the first circuit being configured to supply a current between the first terminal and the second terminal, the second circuit being configured to detect a voltage between the third terminal and one of the first terminal and the second terminal, and the voltage being configured to change depending on a magnetization state recorded on the magnetic recording medium (para. [0037] i.e., first circuit 51 and a second circuit 52…configured to supply current…voltage…depending on the magnetization).
Kikitsu teaches the head uses a magnetic member positioned between crossed shield pairs, with shield geometries that bias magnetic components in different directions. This arrangement allows the sensed resistance or voltage to vary with the medium’s magnetization while keeping the sensing structure more thermally stable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the circuit configuration as taught by Kikitsu into a magnetic head in order to promote efficient heat dissipation (Kikitsu, para. 39).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688