DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/10/2025 and 2/19/2025 were considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 1/10/25 have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jayasena et al. [US 2014/0181427], Applicant Cited Art.
Claim 1, Jayasena et al. discloses a system comprising: at least one memory unit [Fig 1 and Abstract]; and at least one processor comprising one or more processor cores [par. 0004-0005], wherein the at least one processor is configured to access the at least one memory unit using an instruction set [par. 0007] comprising a tensor of the at least one memory unit to be accessed, the tensor having at least two dimensions [par. 0030].
Claim 2, Jayasena et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instruction set comprises a length associated with the tensor [par. 0030].
Claim 3, Jayasena et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the tensor has at least three dimensions [par. 0030].
Claim 4, Jayasena et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the tensor has at least four dimensions [par. 0030].
Claim 5, Jayasena et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instruction set includes a pointer associated with a memory address [start address and element count, par. 0025].
Claim 6, Jayasena et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory unit comprises random-access memory [par. 0005 and 0081].
Claim 8, Jayasena et al. discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising at least one buffer configured to store data retrieved from the memory unit [par. 0023].
Claim 9, Jayasena et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the instruction set is configured to be executed according to an instruction pipeline [sequence of memory accesses constitutes a pipeline, par. 0023].
Claim 10, Jayasena et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processor cores comprise multiple independent processor cores [multiple processors disclosed, par. 0004-0005].
Claims 11-16 and 18-20 are rejected using the same rationale as claims 1-6 and 8-10 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayasena et al. [US 2014/0181427], Applicant Cited Art, in view of Jewett et al. [US 2002/0049825], Applicant Cited Art.
Claim 7, Jayasena et al. discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising conductive lines coupling the at least one memory unit and the at least one processor [memory bus, par. 0071]. Jayasena et al. does not teach but Jewett et al. discloses the conductive lines provide a sixty four-bit width [par. 0040]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the tensor based memory access system using a 64 bit memory bus since doing so increases bandwidth and reduces latency.
Claim 17 is rejected using the same rationale as claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Luo et al. [US 2020/0034306]; Memory Devices and Methods Which May Facilitate Tensor Memory Access. See par. 0053.
/MIDYS ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133