DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements submitted are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The following claim limitations are generic placeholders that are not preceded with sufficient structure:
“an aggregator unit”
Since these limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 14 and 16-20 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function and equivalents thereof.
For the 35 U.S.C 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations, a review of the specification shows the aggregator unit is 104 from Figure 1. The specification further states some or all components of the conferencing system 100 may be implemented using discrete circuitry devices and/or using one or more processors (e.g., audio processor and/or digital signal processor) executing program code stored in a memory (not shown), the program code being configured to carry out one or more processes or operations described herein
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-4, 6, 9-12, 14, 15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feng, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0285807 (hereinafter Feng).
Regarding claim 1, Feng discloses a method, comprising:
receiving sensor data associated with one or more talkers located in an environment (from paragraph 0045, see To control the views captured by the two cameras 50A-B, the endpoint 10 uses an audio based locator 42 and a video-based locator 44 to determine locations of participants and frame views of the environment and participants);
comparing the sensor data to a plurality of environment configuration templates, wherein each of the plurality of environment configuration templates is associated with a particular physical configuration of the environment (from abstract, see A videoconferencing apparatus automatically tracks speakers in a room and dynamically switches between a controlled, people-view camera and a fixed, room-view camera); and
when the sensor data matches one of the plurality of environment configuration templates (from paragraph 0078, see the endpoint 10 uses various decisions and rules to govern the behavior of the endpoint 10):
selecting a matching environment configuration template (from paragraph 0078, see determine which camera 50A-B to output for conference video); and
configuring one or more cameras located in the environment, based on the matching environment configuration template (from paragraph 0045, see For the people-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented by an actuator or local control unit 52 having motors, servos, and the like that steer the camera 50B mechanically. For the room-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented as electronic signals to be handled by the camera 50B).
Regarding claim 2, Feng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sensor data comprises locations of the one or more talkers in the environment (from paragraph 0045, see To control the views captured by the two cameras 50A-B, the endpoint 10 uses an audio based locator 42 and a video-based locator 44 to determine locations of participants and frame views of the environment and participants).
Regarding claim 3, Feng discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the locations of the one or more talkers in the environment are determined using a microphone and based on audio associated with the one or more talkers (from paragraph 0046, see For example and as described in more detail below, the control module 40 uses audio information processed by the audio based locator 42 from the horizontally and vertically arranged microphone arrays 60A-60B. The audio based locator 42 uses a speech detector 43 to detect speech in captured audio from the arrays 60A-60B and then determines a location of a current speaker).
Regarding claim 4, Feng discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the locations of the one or more talkers in the environment are determined using the one or more cameras (from paragraph 0046, see the control module 40 uses video information processed by the video-based location 44 from the cameras 50A-B to determine the locations of participants).
Regarding claim 6, Feng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sensor data is further associated with one or more objects in the environment, and the sensor data comprises locations of the one or more objects in the environment (from paragraph 0045, see To control the views captured by the two cameras 50A-B, the endpoint 10 uses an audio based locator 42 and a video-based locator 44 to determine locations of participants and frame views of the environment and participants).
Regarding claim 9, Feng discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising when the sensor data matches one of the plurality of environment configuration templates, retrieving the matching environment configuration template from a database (from abstract, see A videoconferencing apparatus automatically tracks speakers in a room and dynamically switches between a controlled, people-view camera and a fixed, room-view camera).
Regarding claim 10, Feng discloses The method of claim 1, wherein configuring the one or more cameras comprises setting one or more presets for the one or more cameras, based on the matching environment configuration template (from paragraph 0045, see For the people-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented by an actuator or local control unit 52 having motors, servos, and the like that steer the camera 50B mechanically. For the room-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented as electronic signals to be handled by the camera 50B).
Regarding claim 11, Feng discloses The method of claim 1, wherein configuring the one or more cameras comprises selecting at least one of the one or more cameras for capturing images of the one or more talkers, based on the matching environment configuration template (from paragraph 0078, see determine which camera 50A-B to output for conference video).
Regarding claim 12, Feng discloses the method of claim 2, wherein configuring the one or more cameras comprises transmitting the locations of the one or more talkers to the one or more cameras to cause the one or more cameras to point towards the locations of the one or more talkers, based on the matching environment configuration template (from paragraph 0045, see For the people-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented by an actuator or local control unit 52 having motors, servos, and the like that steer the camera 50B mechanically. For the room-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented as electronic signals to be handled by the camera 50B).
Regarding claim 14, Feng discloses a system, comprising:
a microphone configured to determine locations of one or more talkers in an environment, based on audio sensed by the microphone and associated with the one or more talkers (from paragraph 0046, see For example and as described in more detail below, the control module 40 uses audio information processed by the audio based locator 42 from the horizontally and vertically arranged microphone arrays 60A-60B. The audio based locator 42 uses a speech detector 43 to detect speech in captured audio from the arrays 60A-60B and then determines a location of a current speaker); and
an aggregator unit in communication with the microphone and one or more cameras, the aggregator unit configured to (from paragraph 0045, see To control the views captured by the two cameras 50A-B, the endpoint 10 uses an audio based locator 42 and a video-based locator 44 to determine locations of participants and frame views of the environment and participants):
determine a physical configuration of the environment, based on the locations of the one or more talkers (from abstract, see A videoconferencing apparatus automatically tracks speakers in a room and dynamically switches between a controlled, people-view camera and a fixed, room-view camera); and
configure the one or more cameras in the environment to capture images of the one or more talkers, based on the determined physical configuration (from paragraph 0045, see For the people-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented by an actuator or local control unit 52 having motors, servos, and the like that steer the camera 50B mechanically. For the room-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented as electronic signals to be handled by the camera 50B).
Regarding claim 15, Feng discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the one or more cameras are configured to determine the locations of the one or more talkers (from paragraph 0046, see the control module 40 uses video information processed by the video-based location 44 from the cameras 50A-B to determine the locations of participants).
Regarding claim 18, Feng discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the aggregator unit is configured to configure the one or more cameras by setting one or more presets for the one or more cameras (from paragraph 0045, see For the people-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented by an actuator or local control unit 52 having motors, servos, and the like that steer the camera 50B mechanically. For the room-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented as electronic signals to be handled by the camera 50B).
Regarding claim 19, Feng discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the aggregator unit is configured to configure the one or more cameras by transmitting the locations of the one or more talkers to the one or more cameras to cause the one or more cameras to point towards the locations of the one or more talkers (from paragraph 0045, see For the people-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented by an actuator or local control unit 52 having motors, servos, and the like that steer the camera 50B mechanically. For the room-view camera 50B, these camera commands can be implemented as electronic signals to be handled by the camera 50B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of McCaskill, U.S. Patent No. 6,980,485 (hereinafter McCaskil).
Regarding claim 13, although Feng discloses when the sensor data matches one of the plurality of environment configuration templates, configuring a coverage area of a device located in the environment, based on the matching environment configuration template (from abstract, see A videoconferencing apparatus automatically tracks speakers in a room and dynamically switches between a controlled, people-view camera and a fixed, room-view camera), Feng does not explicitly teach that the device is a microphone. All the same, McCaskill discloses that the device is a microphone (from abstract, see microphone). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Feng wherein the device is a microphone as taught by McCaskill. This modification would have improved the listening experience by reducing noise as suggested by McCaskill.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 13.
7. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Bran, U.S. Patent No. 10,992,907 (hereinafter Bran).
Regarding claim 8, although Feng discloses the environment is physically divisible (from abstract, see room), Feng does not explicitly teach the sensor data is further associated with a state of the physically divisible environment. All the same, Bran discloses the sensor data is further associated with a state of the physically divisible environment (from abstract, see The processing circuitry is configured to determine if a change in the layout of the meeting room has occurred, using at least one of the camera and the microphone). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Feng wherein the sensor data is further associated with a state of the physically divisible environment as taught by Bran. This modification would have improved the system’s flexibility by optimizing room utilization as suggested by Bran.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 5, 7, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2600.
/OLISA ANWAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
Olisa Anwah
Patent Examiner
July 17, 2026