Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 9/8/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the non-elected species includes a small number of mechanical retention features which would be found during the search of the elected species. This is not found persuasive because such features would more involve additional search in subclasses within 379, 248, F16M, or H04M for specific support plate details, as well as forward/backward searching of additional relevant art, as well as additional similarity, more like, and text searching. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Theron (US 2023/0404248 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Theron discloses a hand mount for a data capture device having an optical axis (data capture device not currently being claimed in combination), the hand mount comprising: a body (100) configured to rest on a back of a hand of an operator (see Figures); a mounting plate (110) affixed to the body, the mounting plate defining a longitudinal axis (see Figures); a latch assembly (111a, see “latch” in [0039]) coupled to the mounting plate, the latch assembly configured to releasably secure the data capture device (see [0039]) with the optical axis parallel with the longitudinal axis of the mounting plate (see Figures); a proximal wing (proximate 100d) extending from a proximal end of the body, the proximal wing defining a proximal fastener (101 or 102) configured to engage with a wrist of an operator (via 130); a distal wing (proximate 120) extending from a distal end of the body at a nonparallel angle to the longitudinal axis (see Figures), the distal wing configured to engage with a finger of the operator (see Figures); and a trigger (22) disposed on the distal wing.
Regarding claim 2, Theron discloses the hand mount of claim 1, wherein the distal wing (120) comprises: a first edge extending from a first side of the body at the nonparallel angle (see Figure 3); and a second edge extending from a second side of the body at the nonparallel angle (see Figure 3); wherein the trigger is adjacent to the second edge (see Figure 9).
Regarding claim 4, Theron discloses the hand mount of claim 1, wherein the longitudinal axis is configured to align with a middle finger of the operator (see Figure 2, where you can visualize a longitudinal axis extending vertically through 110).
Regarding claim 5, Theron discloses the hand mount of claim 1, further comprising: an electrical contact (111b) configured to engage with the data capture device (see [0041], data capture device still not being claimed in combination).
Regarding claim 14, Theron discloses the hand mount of claim 1, wherein the body, the proximal wing, and the distal wing are formed from a single member of material (see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theron (US 2023/0404248 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Theron discloses the hand mount of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a minimum width of the distal wing is greater than a width of the mounting plate. Theron appears to show the width of the distal wing being the same as the width of the mounting plate (see Figure 2 and compare widths of 120 and 110) though he discloses no criticality to such sizing. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have varied the size of the Theron mounting plate, in this case making it narrower, the motivation being to accommodate a different size data capture device, and also since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
8. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theron (US 2023/0404248 A1) in view of Kochis (US 5,657,201 A).
Regarding claim 6, Theron discloses the hand mount of claim 5, but fails to further disclose a rear wall extending from the mounting plate adjacent to the proximal wing; a front wall extending from the mounting plate adjacent to the distal wing; and a pair of opposing side walls joining the rear wall and the front wall. Theron appears to show the mounting plate (110) without any walls extending therefrom. Kochis teaches that it was also known in the art for a mounting plate (60) like that of Theron to include rear, front, and opposing side walls extending therefrom in order to define a docking space to receive the data capture device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the mounting plate of Theron with four extending walls to define a docking space for the data capture device, where such design was already known to be suitable for such use, as taught by Kochis. The proposed medication is nothing more than a substitution of one known mounting plate design for another in order to achieve predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, Theron as modified above would include the hand mount of claim 6, wherein the electrical contact is disposed on the rear wall (maintaining the original rear position of the electrical contact as taught by Theron).
9. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theron (US 2023/0404248 A1) in view of Kochis (US 5,657,201 A) as applied above, further in view of Niemo et al. (US 5,898,775 A).
Regarding claim 8, Theron as modified above would include the hand mount of claim 6, wherein Theron discloses the latch assembly comprises: a hook (111a, see “hook” in [0039], and rear positioning in Figures) extending from the rear wall and configured to engage with the housing. Theron as modified above so far fails to include wherein the latch assembly comprises a resilient tab on each of the side walls, the resilient tabs configured to engage with a housing of the data capture device. Theron discloses the lone latch/hook (111a) but is clear that this latch design is only exemplary and is primarily concerned with robust coupling of the mobile device to the mounting plate (see [0039]). Niemo teaches a latch assembly comprising resilient tab (12/16) on each of the side walls, the resilient tabs configured to engage with a housing of the data capture device (see col. 2 lines 53-56). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the latch assembly of the modified Theron hand mount with additional latches in the form of resilient side tabs like those of Niemo, the motivation being to provide an even more robust coupling of the data capture device to the mounting plate.
10. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theron (US 2023/0404248 A1) in view of Clark (US 2024/0164459 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Theron discloses the hand mount of claim 14, but fails to disclose wherein the material comprises neoprene. Theron shows what appears to be a plate stitched within fabric or at least one single member of material as claimed, but is silent as to the materials used. Clark teaches that it was already known to use neoprene to construct a hand mount like that of Theron (see [0013]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to used neoprene in the construction of the Theron body, where neoprene was already known in the art to be suitable for such use, as shown by Clark. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 11/6/26