DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS documents submitted 9/30/2026 and 10/2/2026 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings submitted 1/10/2025 are acknowledged and acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/5/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The subject matter of claims 1-18 does not appear to be supported in the original specification (specification from US Patent 9,317,036, Application No. 14/262563).
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the movable object" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation " the first response measure" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
With respect to claim 15, the relationship between the aircraft and the movable object is unclear. Examiner assumes they are meant to be the same thing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Goossen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0018979).
In regard to claim 1, Goossen et al (henceforth referred to as Goossen) disclose an aircraft, comprising:
one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
determine a current location of the movable object. Goossen teaches a UAV including a processor that monitors the aircraft’s location (processor on board UAV, par. 115);
determine whether the aircraft is at a first region or a second region based on the
current location of the aircraft, the first region and the second region being within different jurisdictions. Goossen discloses indicating where the UAV is in relation to a restricted boundary or zone indicating a non-restricted area and a restricted area; and
control the aircraft to follow a first flight rule in response to the aircraft being at the
first region and follow a second flight rule in response to the aircraft being at the second region, the first flight rule being different from the second flight rule. Goossen describes taking action if the UAV is close to or within a restricted area including reassessing the flight plan to avoid the area.
In regard to claim 6, Goossen discloses that a first distance threshold of a first proximity zone of the first region is different from a second distance threshold of a second proximity zone of the second region. Goossen teaches establishment of multiple proximity zones for a UAV flight including different threshold distances (par. 99).
In regard to claim 7, Goossen discloses that each of the first region and the second region is capable of being selected from one or more of a continent, a union, a country, a state, a province, a county, a city, a town, a private property, and a land.
In regard to claim 8, Goossen discloses that the first flight rule or the second flight rule includes at least one of a flight altitude limitation for the aircraft, a proximity limitation of the aircraft relative to the first region or the second region, or a flight boundary limitation of the first region or the second region. Goossen teaches programming a altitude restriction based implemented at or near the restricted area.
In regard to claim 9, Goossen discloses that the first flight rule or the second flight rule includes a limitation of a space and a limitation of a time for the aircraft to fly in the first region or the second region. When the UAV of Goossen approaches or enters a restricted zone, the system limits the area or space for the UAV.
In regard to claim 10, Goossen discloses that the first flight rule and the second flight rule are stored in a memory of the aircraft, and the first flight rule or the second flight rule are updated in response to the memory being communicated with an external device. The system of Goossen includes memory and processor in/on the UAV and in/on a user control unit with communication between the two and updating possible restricted areas and actions to be taken.
In regard to claim 11, Goossen discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to: determine the current location of the aircraft with aid of a GPS module of the aircraft (par. 75); and in response to the GPS module of the aircraft being abnormal or being unable to receive a GPS signal, is capable of controlling the aircraft to lower a maximum flight altitude of the aircraft, enforce a flight ceiling, reduce a size of a flight region of the aircraft, land, or refuse to take off. Note that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In regard to claim 12, Goossen discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to control the aircraft to take a first response measure corresponding to the first flight rule in response to the aircraft being at the first region and take a second response measure corresponding to the second flight rule in response to the aircraft being at the second region, the first response measure being different from the second response measure. Note that assuming that a proximity to a restricted area constitutes a first region and a location away from a restricted area constitutes a second region and a first rule corresponds to a measure taken in response to being at some proximity to or in a restricted area and a second rule corresponds to the aircraft being away from this area, Goossen discloses the equivalent.
In regard to claim 13, Goossen discloses that the first response measure is related to a current movement status of the aircraft. The response described in Goossen involves moving the aircraft in a specific manner in response to being in or near a restricted area.
In regard to claim 14, Goossen discloses that the second response measure includes providing an operator of the aircraft with a time period to move the aircraft, and the time period being a grace period after which the aircraft is controlled without taking input from the operator of the aircraft into account. Goossen teaches that the system has a time period to includes the time prior to the aircraft reaching a specified distance from the restricted area after which control of the aircraft is transferred from a pilot to the autonomous avionics (see par. 127).
In regards to claim 15, Goossen discloses that the first response measure includes:
preventing the aircraft from taking off when the status of the aircraft is staying on a surface; or causing the aircraft to descend or hover over a location when the moveable object is moving, wherein a rate at which the aircraft descends is determined based on the location of the aircraft. Note that Goossen established response measures and is capable of making the first response measure as claimed.
In regard to claim 16, Goossen discloses that the second response measure includes providing an alert or a warning to the operator of the aircraft (par. 127).
In regard to claim 17, Goossen discloses that the first response measure includes taking control of the aircraft away from the operator of the aircraft; or the first response measure permits less control by the operator for the aircraft than the second flight response measure. At par. 127, Goossen describes a system that automatically takes control away from a pilot and autonomously avoids a restricted area.
In regard to claim 18, Goossen discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to limit the aircraft's movement within a predetermined movement limitation region, the movement limitation region being defined by a user using a graphical user interface or a user interface. Goossen teaches that the user of the system may establish boundaries that define the limits of the aircraft’s flight (par. 124).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art fails to teach or make obvious, including all the limitations of claim 2 and the base claim, that the one or more processors are configured to control the aircraft to follow the second flight rule in response to the aircraft being at a second location on a side of the boundary closer to the second region than the first region.
Summary/Conclusion
Claims 1-18 are rejected and claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Troy Chambers can be reached on 571-272-6874. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/BENJAMIN P LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641