rerwThe present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Fig.3 corresponding to the “flip top” design in the reply filed on 7/23/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant withdrew claim 5 directed to the “sliding design” of non-elected embodiment Fig.4; however, upon further review, claims 10, 11’s “support component” are directed to the “sliding” design of non-elected embodiment Fig.4 (see 430) and claims 19, 20 are directed to the “sliding” design of non-elected embodiment Fig.4. Accordingly, claims 5, 10, 11, 19-20 have been herein withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of mechanical features disposed on an interior surface of the cavity within the charger body…corresponding to the plurality of ring sizes” in claim 12, “plurality of circular features associated with a plurality of circumferences of the plurality of ring sizes” in claim 13, the “first set of mechanical features of the lid component” in claim 14, “a second set of mechanical features of the charger body” in claim 14, the “one or more light-emitting components” to indicate a charge status and relative alignment in claims 15 and 16, respectively, and an “additional charging component” in claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Note: changes in the drawings may necessitate changes in the specification. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English Machine Translation of Jin et al. (CN116998809 A) in view of English Machine Translation of applicant cited Zhan et al. (CN 216961692 U).
Regarding Claim 1,
Jin (figs.1-5, 7) teaches a portable charging device, comprising:
a charger housing (see figs.1, 4, pars [n0031, n0034]; housing of 100), comprising:
a charger body (1001, see figs.1, 4, par [n0037]) comprising an opening (see figs.1, 4; rectangular opening within 1001, which includes the cavity for ring placement) within at least one surface of the charger body (see figs.1, 4), the opening associated with a cavity (see fig.4, par [n0037]; the opening associated with a cavity shown in fig.4 for ring placement) within the charger body (1001); and
a lid component (figs.1, 4, items 3001, 3002, 3003, 3004 of 300, par [n0040]) configured to move relative to the charger body between an open configuration and a closed configuration (par [n0046]; the lid component is “configured to”/capable of being moved relative to the charger body 1001 between the open configuration as shown in figs.1, 4 and a closed configuration to form a “sealed space”), the lid component configured to receive a wearable ring device (200) associated with one of a plurality of ring sizes while in the open configuration (pars [n0040, n0046] and related discussion; the lid component has an arc shaped groove 3004 that is configured/capable to receive the top of one ring 200 size of a plurality of generally well-known ring sizes while in the open configuration. It is further noted that the elasticity of the elastic pad 3002 makes it capable of receiving rings having smaller diameters. Examiner Note: the recitation of the lid component “configured to receive” does not require holding and/or supporting the ring. Additionally, the recitation of “one of a plurality of ring sizes” requires one ring size of known ring sizes to be received), wherein the lid component is configured to at least partially cover the opening of the charger body while in the closed configuration to secure the wearable ring device (figs.1-3, 6, item 200) within the cavity of the charger body (pars [n0046]; lid compartment at least partially covers the opening of the charger body 1001 while in the closed configuration and 3004 of the lid compartment contacts the top of the ring device 200 to secure it within the cavity of the charger body 1001);
a power block (fig.4, 1005, pars [n0037, n0038]) positioned at least partially within the charger body (fig.4, 1001); and
an inductive charging component (fig.4, 1003, par [n0037]) disposed at least partially within the charger body (fig.4, 1001, par [n0037]; 1003 disposed inside of 1001), the lid component, or both, wherein the inductive charging component (1003) is coupled with the power block (1005, par [n0038]; inductive component 1003 is electrically connected to power block 1005) and configured to wirelessly charge the wearable ring device (200) through inductive coupling with an inductive charging component (fig.5, 6004) of the wearable ring device (par [n0046]; wirelessly charge ring 200 through electromagnetic induction between inductive charging component 1003 and inductive charging component 6004 of the ring).
Jin teaches a power block within the charger body. Jin does not explicitly disclose a battery.
Zhan (fig.4), however, teaches it is known in the art to have a battery (203) (pars [n0030, n0031]) positioned within the charger body (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jin to incorporate a battery as discussed within Zhan and/or substitute the power block of Jin with the battery of Zhan. The motivation would have been so that the ring can be charged even when the charging case is not connected to an external power source and it makes it even more portable and convenient to carry (Zhan, par [n0031]).
Examiner Note: Claim 1 recites “…the lid component configured to receive a wearable ring device… while in the open configuration…” The examiner notes Merriam-Webster dictionary defines “lid” as “a movable cover for the opening of a hollow container” and one skilled in the art would not know which particular structure of the lid component would be capable of receiving a ring device while in the open configuration. Applicant is encouraged to further define the structure of the lid component having such capability of receiving the ring device.
Regarding Claim 2,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and further teaches wherein the lid component is configured to seal the cavity when the lid component is in the closed configuration (Jin, figs.1, 4, pars [n0046]; the lid component 3001 of 300 in the closed configuration is moved to cover the charger body 1001 and forms a “sealed space” sealing the cavity).
Regarding Claim 4,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and further teaches wherein the lid compartment is coupled with the charger body via a hinge (Jin, fig.4, pars [n0040, n0046]; Jin teaches the lid compartment is “hinged” to the outer wall of the charger body 1001 as shown in fig.4), and the lid component is configured to transition between the open configuration and the closed configuration by rotating around the hinge (Jin, fig.4, pars [n0040, n0046]; Jin teaches the lid component is hinged to the charger body/box and configured to/capable of transitioning between the open configuration shown in fig.4 to the sealed/closed configuration by moving the lid to form a sealed space between the lid and the charger body/box. Thus, Jin obviously discloses rotating the lid about the hinge from the open position toward the closed/sealed position. See Zhou (2023/0080598) for further support for the disclosure of rotating around the hinge, fig.1, par [27]; lid 108 rotates around hinge 109).
Regarding Claim 17,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and the combination further teaches wherein a width of the opening is larger than a largest ring size of the plurality of ring sizes (Jin, see figs.1 and 4; Jin teaches the width of the opening within the charger body 1001 that stretches from the sidewalls of 1001 and the cavity is larger than a largest ring size of the plurality of ring sizes).
Regarding Claim 18,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and further teaches an additional charging component (Jin, figs.1, 4, item 500, par [n0038] and Zhan, fig.4, 206, par [n0031]) configured to transfer energy from an external power source to the battery of the portable charging device (Jin, figs.1, 4, item 500, par [n0038] and Zhan, fig.4, 206, par [n0031]; Modified Jin teaches the additional charging component transfers energy from an external source to the battery for charging purposes).
Claim(s) 3, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English Machine Translation of Jin et al. (CN116998809 A) in view of English Machine Translation of applicant cited Zhan et al. (CN 216961692 U) in further view of Chappell et al. (11,899,349 B1).
Regarding Claim 3,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1. The combination does not explicitly disclose the lid component is configured to create a water-tight seal against the opening of the cavity when the lid component is in the closed configuration.
Chappell (figs.1, 3), however, teaches it is known in the art for the lid component (136) to be configured to create a water-tight seal against the opening of the cavity when the lid component is in the closed configuration (Col.6, lines 19-29; the lid compartment 136 may include an indented ledge to create a water-tight seal between lid 136 and housing 104 in the closed configuration. Additionally, a waterproof gasket attached to lid 136 creates a water-tight seal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination’s lid compartment so that of Chappell so that it creates a water-tight seal against the opening of the cavity when the lid component is in the closed configuration. The motivation would have been to protect internal components of the charger housing from water, moisture, and humidity/the external environment.
Regarding Claim 14,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1. The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein a first set of mechanical features of the lid component are configured to engage a second set of mechanical features of the charger body to maintain the lid component in the closed configuration.
Chappell (fig.1), however, teaches a first set of mechanical features (fig.1, Col.5, line 62 to Col.6, line 18; fig.1 depicts a plurality of lid latches 132 mechanically attached to lid 136,) of the lid component (136) are configured to engage a second set of mechanical features (fig.1, Col.5, line 62 to Col.6, line 18; fig.1 depicts two mechanical counterparts of the lid latches on housing 104) of the housing body (104) to maintain the lid component (136) in the closed configuration (Col.5, line 62 to Col.6, line 18; maintain the lid component 136 in the closed configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination to that of Chappell. The motivation would have been to firmly hold the lid in place in the closed configuration (Chappell, Col.5, line 62 to Col.6, line 18).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English Machine Translation of Jin et al. (CN116998809 A) in view of English Machine Translation of applicant cited Zhan et al. (CN 216961692 U) in further view of Chuang et al. (2025/0041016 A1).
Regarding Claim 12,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and further teaches the cavity within the charger body (Jin. See fig.4). The combination does not explicitly disclose a plurality of mechanical features disposed on an interior surface of the cavity, the plurality of mechanical features corresponding to the plurality of ring sizes, wherein the plurality of mechanical features are configured to secure wearable ring devices associated with the plurality of ring sizes within the cavity.
Chuang (fig.7), however, teaches a plurality of mechanical features (pars [50-52]; the sidewalls including the concave surface 150 and wedge 146) disposed on an interior surface of the cavity (see fig.7), the plurality of mechanical features corresponding to the plurality of ring sizes (par [52]; dimensions capable of receiving and holding ring device 106 having any of a plurality of different sizes), wherein the plurality of mechanical features are configured to secure wearable ring devices associated with the plurality of ring sizes within the cavity (pars [51-52]; the plurality of mechanical features help retain and secure the position of the ring having any of a plurality of different sizes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination’s interior surface of the cavity for charging to include that of a plurality of mechanical features as discussed within Chuang. The motivation would have been to make the cavity within the charger body more dynamic by not limiting it to a single ring size and instead having it able to retain and secure the position of rings having a plurality of different sizes.
Regarding Claim 13,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 12 and further teaches wherein the plurality of mechanical features comprise a plurality of circular features associated with a plurality of circumferences of the plurality of ring sizes (Jin, figs.1, 4, see rejection of claim 1, Chuang, figs. 5, 7, pars [51-52]; Chuang teaches the sidewalls and the concave surface are circular features associated with the plurality of ring sizes as they are shaped to retain and secure circular rings of a plurality of different sizes).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English Machine Translation of Jin et al. (CN116998809 A) in view of English Machine Translation of applicant cited Zhan et al. (CN 216961692 U) in further view of Yang et al. (2019/0109474 A1).
Regarding Claim 15,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1. The combination does not explicitly disclose one or more light-emitting components configured to indicate a charge status of the wearable ring device when the inductive charging component of the portable charging device is coupled with the inductive charging component of the wearable ring device.
Yang (figs.7A-7C), however, teaches one or more light-emitting components (item 93, par [28]) configured to indicate a charge status of the wearable ring device (par [28]; LEDs/charge status indicators output light to indicate the charging status of smart ring 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of modified Jin to include at least one light emitting component to indicate a charge status of the wearable ring device as taught within Yang when the inductive charging component of the portable charging device is coupled with the inductive charging component of the wearable device in modified Jin. The motivation would have been to visually alert the user that the ring device is charging.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English Machine Translation of Jin et al. (CN116998809 A) in view of English Machine Translation of applicant cited Zhan et al. (CN 216961692 U) in further view of Keeley et al. (2019/0305567 A1).
Regarding Claim 16,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1. The combination does not explicitly disclose one or more light-emitting components configured to indicate a relative alignment between the inductive charging component of the charging device and the inductive charging component of the receiver device.
Keely, however, teaches it is known in the art to have one or more light-emitting components (415, par [33]) configured to indicate a relative alignment between the inductive charging component of the charging device and the inductive charging component of the receiver device (par [33]; The LEDs 415 provide an indication to user whether or not the receiving charging coil is properly aligned with the transmit charging coil).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination to that of Keeley. The motivation would have been to provide an indication to the user whether or not the inductive charging component of the wearable ring device is properly aligned with the transmit inductive charging component of the portable charging device of modified Jin.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, does not teach the limitations of “a charging post extending from a surface of the lid component, wherein the charging post is configured to extend through an opening of the wearable ring device to secure the wearable ring device on or within the portable charging device, and wherein a portion of the inductive charging component is positioned within the charging post.”
Claims 7-9 depend on claim 6 and are therefore indicated as allowable for similar reasons.
Reference of Note
The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Von Badinski (2019/0086951)- Fig.19E, par [237] teaches a charging post (1954e) to extend and secure the ring device.
Conclusion
/RASEM MOURAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836