DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre- AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 15 comprise parenthetical phrases with the claimed Markush grouping. These parenthesis and the component within, are indefinite because it is unclear as to whether the components within the parenthesis are part of the claimed Markush. Specifically, "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. (a1) as being anticipated by Potechin et al (8,877,184).
Potechin et al disclose a personal cleansing formulation comprising decyl glucoside and coco glucoside surfactants in a ratio of 1.5 to 2.5 times by weight of decyl glucoside:coco glucoside; water and where said decyl glucoside is from 10-30% by weight. Additionally, Potechin et al includes at least one thickener such as carrageenan, xanthan and guar gums in amounts from 0.1 to 5%; and prebiotic materials such as radish root ferment filtrate in amounts from 0.1 to 2.0% (see claims and col. 2, lines 28- 46). Specifically, the example of page 5, lines 55-67 exemplifies the claimed invention with the exception of a plurality of natural gums. Potechin et al teaches and claims that more than one natural gum may exist and therefore the claims with the preferred embodiments within the examples anticipates the claimed invention with sufficient specificity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Allef et al (2014/0349902).
Allef et al disclose an aqueous hair and skin cleansing composition comprising at least one biosurfactant and a fatty acid; and surfactants with the sum of fatty acids and surfactants being from 0.1 to 20% by weight (abstract). Specifically, Allef et al teach that at least one surfactant comprises at least one alkyl oligoglucosides (0037) and specifically lauryl glucoside, coco-glucoside, decyl glucoside; caprylyl/capryl glucoside and mixtures (examples 59, 68 and 75); 0.05 to 20% of at least one thickener with a preference of a combination of thickeners including guar, xanthan gum and alginates (0047-0050); and further comprising care additives and other adjunct ingredients such as vitamin E (tocopherol), sunflower oil and niacinamide and (0053, ex. 68, 77 and 78 ). Specifically, Allef et al exemplifies compositions having Inulin, guar and water in a shampoo formulation that exemplifies the claims and therefore anticipates the invention. Allef et al is relied upon as set forth above. Specifically, with respect with the aforementioned claims, Allef et al do no specifically teach with sufficient specificity to anticipate but one skilled in the art would have been able to comprise formulation with at least two alkyl polyglucosides, natural gums a cosmetically expectable carrier and adjunct ingredients such as gums and antioxidants in view of the teachings and working examples of Allef et al, which when taken as a whole effectively presents a prima facie case of each of the ingredients in their requisite proportions to suggest the personal cleansing compositions as claimed, in the absence of a showing to the contrary.
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12226512. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in subject matter.
Conclusion
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761