Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-20 are pending and claims 5-18 and 20 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-18 and 20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/17/2026. Applicant indicated that claims 15-18 are withdrawn as being a non-elected invention, but noted that claims 1-14 and 19-20 were readable on the elected species or generic thereto. Examiner respectfully disagrees, claims 5-14 and 20 are not found I the elected species A (figures 1a-1b). Such elements as the cleaning module, specialized nozzle, expelling microbubbles upon receiving a user input, a dispenser, lighting device, ultrasound device, dryer, and delivering steam are all found in unelected species.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Actuating mechanism in claim 3.
Rotary mechanism in claims 4 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “high pressure” in claim 2 has been rendered indefinite by use of the term “high” as it is unclear what the pressure must be for it to be “high pressure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dunn (U.S. 2011/0084151).
With respect to claim 1, Dunn discloses a faucet (faucet as defined by Merriam-Webster dictionary is a fixture for drawing or regulating the flow of liquid especially from a pipe, shown in figure 1assembly with a spray head (figure 1, 12) configured to receive and dispense a liquid (liquid coming from 18), comprising:
a rotary sprayer (24/26) coupled to the spray head comprising at least one nozzle (24) on a spray body (body having 24, being at the top of 12) configured to rotate along an axis (being the axis centered about 30/12) to dispense the liquid in a circular manner (paragraph 0018).
With respect to claim 2, Dunn discloses the at least one nozzle (24) is a spray jet nozzle configured to dispense the liquid under high pressure (being configured to dispense liquid under pressure).
With respect to claim 3, Dunn discloses an actuating mechanism (being the bottom face of 12) coupled to the faucet assembly that (see figure 1), when in a first position, maintains a position of the rotary sprayer within a housing of the spray head (being the position shown in figure 2) and, in a second position, displaces the rotary sprayer out of an outlet of the spray head (as fluid applied from 18 pushed the body of 12 upwards, paragraph 0017).
With respect to claim 4, Dunn discloses the nozzle is driven by a rotary mechanism comprising either an electrical power source or water pressure (being water pressure against 98, paragraph 0023) to rotate along the axis to dispense the liquid in the circular manner (see figures 1-3).
With respect to claim 19, Dunn discloses a rotary sprayer (figures 1-3) configured to dispense a liquid (abstract, water), comprising:
a rotary body (10/12) configured to receive the liquid from a liquid source (at 18);
a spraying portion fixedly coupled to the rotary body to receive the liquid (being the spray head having 24/26, being the top shown in figure 3), the spraying portion comprising a plurality of nozzles (as there are multiple nozzles formed by 24, each one having its own 26) that, in operation, are configured to rotate along a central axis (being the central axis in figure 3) through a rotary mechanism (98) to dispense the liquid in a circular manner (paragraph 0023), the rotary mechanism comprising an electrical or water pressure source (being water pressure, figure 3 and paragraph 0023).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752