DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 7, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “… a holder received in the holder ...” is assumed to be a typographical error. Examiner assumes that the phrase should have been written “… a holder received in the frame ...”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,754,390 in view of US 2021/0271049.
Instant Application 19/016,642
US 12,754,390 in view of US 2021/0271049
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element comprising:
a fixed part;
a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element; and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
that has an optical axis,
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element, comprising:
a fixed part;
a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element; and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part;
US 12,754,390 does not specifically disclose an optical element that has an optical axis.
However, US 2021/0271049, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an optical element that has an optical axis (Paragraph 0055), for the purpose of focusing an optical device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the optical element that has an optical axis for the purpose of focusing an optical device.
and a substrate and a circuit board, wherein the fixed part includes a base and a housing connected to each other, the substrate is affixed to the base, the circuit board is affixed in a cavity of the substrate, and the driving assembly includes a first magnetic element disposed on the movable part and a first coil disposed on the substrate, wherein the circuit board and the first coil are disposed on opposite sides of the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al. (US 2021/0271049).
Regarding Claim 1, Seo discloses a driving mechanism for moving an optical element that has an optical axis (Fig. 2, lens barrel 200, optical axis Z, Paragraphs 0069-0071), comprising:
a fixed part (Fig. 2, coil 330a and carrier 310 are fixed to the housing 120, Paragraphs 0073-0074);
a movable part (Fig. 2, lens barrel 200, lens holder 420, and carrier 310, Paragraphs 0069-0071), movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element (Paragraphs 0048-0050, the lens barrel 200 accommodates a lens); and
a driving assembly (Fig. 2, driving device 500 and focus adjustment driving unit, Paragraphs 0067-0071), configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 2021/0271049) in view of Wang et al. (US 2025/0110389).
Regarding Claim 2, Seo discloses as is set forth above and further discloses further comprising a piece (Fig. 2, Frame 410, Paragraphs 0098-0100) and a plurality of ball elements affixed to the piece (Fig. 2, ball members 800, Paragraphs 0118-0121), wherein the piece has a C-shaped structure (Fig. 2, Frame 410 is “C-shaped” as shown), and the movable part includes a frame (Fig. 2, carrier 310, Paragraphs 0070-0071) and a holder (Fig. 2, lens barrel 200) received in the frame, wherein the optical element is disposed on the holder (Paragraphs 0048-0050, the lens barrel 200 accommodates a lens), and the ball elements are in contact between the frame and the holder (Fig. 2, carrier 310, lens barrel 200, and balls 800, as shown).
Seo does not specifically disclose a metal piece.
However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a metal piece (Paragraph 0047, lines 16-22, the carrier can be made of a metal such as aluminum), for the purpose of enhancing stability of the unit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the driving mechanism of Seo with a metal piece, of Wang, for the purpose of enhancing stability of the unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 7-10, and 11-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 3, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a driving mechanism including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the frame forms a first recess, a second recess and a third recess, the holder forms a first cavity, a second cavity and a third cavity, and the ball elements includes a first ball element, a second ball element and a third ball element, wherein the first ball element is movably received in the first recess and the first cavity, the second ball element is movably received in the second recess and the second cavity, and the third ball element is movably received in the third recess and the third cavity.
Specifically, with respect to claim 7, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a driving mechanism including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the fixed part includes a housing and a base mounted to each other, and the movable part includes a frame and a holder received in the frame, wherein the optical element is disposed on the holder, and the driving assembly includes a first coil, a second coil, a first magnet, and a second magnet, wherein the first and second coils are disposed on different sides of the base, the first magnet is disposed on the frame and located corresponding to the first coil, and the second magnet is disposed on the holder and located corresponding to the second coil.
Specifically, with respect to claim 11, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a driving mechanism including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the fixed part includes a housing and a base mounted to each other, and the movable part includes a frame and a holder received in the frame, wherein the optical element is disposed on the holder, and the driving assembly includes a first coil, a second coil, a first magnet, and a second magnet, wherein the first coil is disposed on the base, the second coil is disposed on the frame, the first magnet is disposed on the frame and located corresponding to the first coil, and the second magnet is disposed on the holder and located corresponding to the second coil.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chiu (US 2022/0229266), Suzuka (US 2012/0219275), Hong et al. (US 2025/0264778), and Hsu et al. (US 2022/0103728) are cited to show similar driving mechanisms for moving an optical element but do not disclose the allowable subject matter as detailed above.
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872