DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/10/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “… the resonator result …” is assumed to be a typographical error and should have been written “… the resonator results …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowen et al. (US 2018/0224606, of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Bowen discloses a resonator (Fig. 1-Fig. 6, Paragraphs 0041-0051), comprising:
an actuator (Fig. 1, electrodes 11 and 12, Paragraphs 0041 and 0043),
a resonant structure configured to oscillate, deforming periodically at a resonant frequency (Fig. 1, central portion 52, Paragraph 0047), by the actuator,
a peripheral light guide extending around the resonant structure and configured to oscillate, deforming periodically, by being driven by the resonant structure (Fig. 1, outer portion 53, Paragraph 0047), wherein:
the resonant structure is thicker than the peripheral light guide (Fig. 3, Fig. 16, and Fig. 19, outer portion 53, as shown),
the peripheral light guide is held at a distance from the resonant structure by at least one anchor (Fig. 5, anchor 54, Paragraph 0047),
an intermediate space extends between the peripheral light guide and the resonant structure, the intermediate space being filled by a gas or a liquid or a vacuum (Fig. 5, slot 51, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 5, Bowen discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the resonant structure is arranged opposite at least one actuating electrode, the actuating electrode being spaced from the resonant structure by an airgap, the actuating electrode, forming the actuator, being configured to generate oscillation of the resonant structure by capacitive effect (Fig. 1-Fig. 4, Paragraphs 0048-0051, capacitive force is generated).
Regarding Claim 6, Bowen discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the actuating electrode extends in the intermediate space (Fig. 5, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 8, Bowen discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the resonant structure and the peripheral waveguide are formed of the same material (Fig. 5, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 9, Bowen discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the resonant structure has a cylindrical shape, with a circular or polygonal base, or an annular shape (Fig. 5, Paragraph 0047).
Regarding Claim 10, Bowen discloses as is set forth above and further discloses in wherein the resonant frequency is above 1 MHz (Paragraph 0045, 18 MHz).
Regarding Claim 11, Bowen discloses as is set forth above and further discloses an optomechanical oscillator including: a light source (Fig. 6, tunable laser 60, Paragraph 0052) configured to emit a light beam and to propagate the light beam along a resonator, the resonator being configured so that the periodic oscillation of the resonator results in periodic modulation of a light power of the light beam (Fig. 6, tunable laser 60, Paragraph 0052, lines 3-12), wherein the resonator is the resonator according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen et al. (US 2018/0224606, of record) in view of Virot et al. (US 2019/0101488, of record).
Regarding Claim 4, Bowen discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the thickness of the resonant structure is between 1 μm and 50 μm.
However, Virot, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the thickness of the resonant structure is between 1 μm and 50 μm (Paragraph 0048, lines 18-20, the thickness of the movable portion is 5 μm), for the purpose of insuring a particular thickness to width ratio.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the resonator of Bowen with the wherein the thickness of the resonant structure is between 1 μm and 50 μm, of Virot, for the purpose of insuring a particular thickness to width ratio.
Regarding Claim 7, Bowen discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein: the resonant structure includes a piezoelectric material, the resonator comprises two actuating electrodes, on respective opposite sides of the resonant structure, the actuating electrodes forming the actuator.
However, Virot, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein: the resonant structure includes a piezoelectric material (Paragraph 0051, piezoelectric actuation), the resonator comprises two actuating electrodes (Paragraph 0051, electrodes 11 and 12), on respective opposite sides of the resonant structure (Paragraph 0051, resonator), the actuating electrodes forming the actuator (Paragraph 0051, piezoelectric actuation), for the purpose of insuring high precision movements of an actuator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the resonator of Bowen with the wherein: the resonant structure includes a piezoelectric material, the resonator comprises two actuating electrodes, on respective opposite sides of the resonant structure, the actuating electrodes forming the actuator, of Virot, for the purpose of insuring high precision movements of an actuator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 2, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a resonator including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein: the thickness of the peripheral light guide is between 100 nm and 600 nm; the thickness of the resonant structure is at least twice or at least three times greater than the thickness of the peripheral light guide.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou et al. (US 7,542,188), Zhou et al. (US 2005/0156481), White et al. (US 7,589,529), Wine et al. (US 6,256,131), Bhave et al. (US 9,036,951), Bhave et al. (US 2012/0294564), and Baumann et al. (US 2005/0074209) are cited to show similar resonators and actuators but do not disclose the allowable subject matter as detailed above.
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872