DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3, 8, 14, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0205619 (hereinafter Ding) combined with Fedrick, U.S. Patent No. 3,493,695 (hereinafter Fedrick) in further view of Higgins, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0386498 (hereinafter Higgins).
Regarding claim 1, Ding discloses a charger arrangement for charging a hearing aid by means of a charger (from paragraph 0002, see The invention relates to a charging contact connection for a charger of an electrical device, in particular a hearing aid. The invention further relates to a charging contact system and to an electrical device), comprising:
a first charging interface and a second charging interface which are designed for releasable mutual coupling in a plurality of coupling position (from paragraph 0027, see The first counter-contact is preferably formed at least in sections to be dome-like (i.e. in the form of a preferably spherical recess), so that a direct-contact surface between the free end of the contact pin and the first counter-contact is dimensioned to be as large as possible. Preferably, the second counter-contact is disposed similar to the contact element concentric to the first counter-contact and surrounds it, for example, closed in the shape of a ring. This advantageously allows even in the (contact) state coupled to the charging contact connection a relative rotation of the two connections with respect to each other (i.e. in particular about the rotation axis of the charging contact connection which coincides with the contact pin); and
wherein the first charging interface includes a plurality of charging contacts which comprise an at least single-break contact ring which forms one or more outer charging contacts, and which have a central charging contact which is arranged in a central region of the contact ring (from paragraph 0041, see The charging connection 8 has two concentrically disposed contact elements, specifically a central, first contact piece 12 and a second contact piece 14 surrounding the former in the manner of a ring (FIG. 2). The contact piece 12 is constructed at least in sections to be dome-like. The first and the second contact piece 12, 14 each form in this case a counter-contact for corresponding contact elements 16, 18 of the charging contact connection 10);
wherein the second charging interface includes contact elements which comprises a central contact pin and at least two outer contact elements arranged at the same distance from the central contact pin, the contact elements being arranged in relation to one another in such a way that, in each coupling position, the central contract pin is in electrical contact with the central charging contact of the first charging interface, while at the same time at least one of the two outer contact elements of the second charging interface is in electrical contact with at least one of the further charging contacts of the first charging interface (from paragraph 0043, see the contact elements 16, 18 of the charging contact connection 10, which is also referred to below in short as the charging plug, are also disposed concentrically to each other. The central contact element 16 is constructed as a contact pin, in particular as a spring contact pin or pogo pin, wherein the contact element 18 encloses the contact pin 16 circumferentially like a sleeve. The contact element 18 has a front-face, ring-shaped contact surface 20, wherein a free end of the contact pin 16 axially projects up or protrudes above the contact surface 20. The contact surface 20 is disposed in this case in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (axial direction) of the contact pin 16. The contact pin 16 is kept insulated from the contact element 18 by an electrically non-conductive insulating sleeve 22).
Still on the issue of claim 1, Ding does not clearly teach that all the contact elements are pins. All the same, Fedrick discloses this feature (from column 1, see three equi-spaced male prongs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ding wherein all the contact elements are pins as taught by Fedrick. This modification would have improved reliability by preventing fracturing of the plugs and/or sockets as suggested by Fedrick.
Again on the issue of claim 1, the combination of Ding and Fedrick does not show an indicator light configured to indicate a charging state of the hearing aid when the hearing aid is coupled to the charger. All the same, Higgins discloses an indicator light configured to indicate a charging state of the hearing aid when the hearing aid is coupled to the charger (from paragraph 0049, see The portable charging unit 600 shown in FIG. 6A also includes a user interface 626. In some embodiments, and with reference to FIG. 6B, the user interface 626 can include a display 628, such as an LED or OLED display. In addition, or alternatively, the user interface 626 can include one or more LEDs 630 (e.g., four LEDs). The LEDs 630 can be controlled to communicate various types of information to the user. For example, solid red on an LED near the first hearing assistance device 640 can indicate a charging error for the first hearing assistance device 640. Solid red on an LED near the second hearing assistance device 650 can indicate a charging error for the second hearing assistance device 650. A pulsing green on an LED near the first hearing assistance device 640 can indicate charging of the first hearing assistance device 640. A pulsing green on an LED near the second hearing assistance device 650 can indicate charging of the second hearing assistance device 650. Accelerated charging of each of the first and second hearing assistance devices 640, 650 can be indicated by a flashing green LED, a green LED bouncing back and forth (knight rider, similar to a line marquee), or a fast pulsing green LED. A solid green LED near each of the first and second hearing assistance devices 640, 650 can indicate that charging is complete. Normal rate charging of the portable charging unit 600 may be indicated, for example, by using all four LEDs 630 to indicate 25, 50, 75, and 100% SOC. One LED is lit per quarter SOC attained during charging. The remaining LEDs 630 may pulse at a given rate. To indicate accelerated charging of the portable charging unit 600, the LEDs 630 may pulse at a faster rate). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of Ding and Fedrick with an indicator light configured to indicate a charging state of the hearing aid when the hearing aid is coupled to the charger as taught by Higgins. This modification would have improved convenience by providing a user interface as suggested by Higgins.
Regarding claim 2, Ding discloses the charging arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the charging arrangement comprises a holding device which is designed to couple the first charging interface to the second charging interface in a releasable manner in the plurality of coupling positions (from paragraph 0046, see Within the housing 24, the contact pin 16 is surrounded by a permanent-magnetic magnet element 34 in the form of a ring magnet or a magnetic sleeve. The contact tabs 32 are guided in this case parallel, for example, along an outer surface of the magnetic element 34).
Regarding claim 3, although Ding discloses the charging arrangement according to claim 2, wherein the holding device comprises a permanent magnet on the second charging interface which is designed to interact magnetically with a complementary permanent magnet or an element made of magnetizable material of the first charging interface (from paragraph 0047, see the contact piece 14 (optionally also the contact piece 12) is preferably formed of a ferrimagnetic or ferromagnetic material, so that the magnetic element 34 can exert thereon a magnetic attracting force. The magnetic attraction realizes a magnetic holding force in the contacted state of the charging plug 10 with the charging connection 8. In the contact state, the contact pin 16 engages its free-end side in the dome-like or socket-like contact piece 12, wherein the contact surface 20 is in direct contact with a contact surface 36 of the contact piece 14), the combination of references does not clearly teach the holding device is on the first charging interface and is designed to interact material on the second charging interface. However, the reversal or rearrangement of parts is considered a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious per MPEP 2144.04 VI. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references wherein the holding device is on the first charging interface and is designed to interact material on the second charging interface. This modification would have improved flexibility by allowing for the holding device to be located in different locations.
Regarding claim 8, Ding discloses the charging arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the first charging interface is formed on a hearing aid and the second charging interface is formed on a charging device (from paragraph 0040, see The hearing aid 2 has a (hearing aid) housing 4 and attached to it a support hook 6. The hearing aid 2 includes a rechargeable battery for the operation of its electrical components (microphones, a loudspeaker, a signal processor and, if appropriate, a communication module, which are not illustrated further). In order not to have to remove them from the housing 4 for charging, the hearing aid 2 has a charging connection 8, which forms a counter-contact connection to a charging contact connection 10 described in more detail below. Furthermore, the hearing aid 2 also has assigned to the rechargeable battery a charging electronic system, which is configured to monitor the charging process and the charge status of the battery).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of references as modified by Higgins discloses the indicator light is integrated into a docking station of the charger (from paragraph 0049, see The portable charging unit 600 shown in FIG. 6A also includes a user interface 626. In some embodiments, and with reference to FIG. 6B, the user interface 626 can include a display 628, such as an LED or OLED display. In addition, or alternatively, the user interface 626 can include one or more LEDs 630 (e.g., four LEDs). The LEDs 630 can be controlled to communicate various types of information to the user. For example, solid red on an LED near the first hearing assistance device 640 can indicate a charging error for the first hearing assistance device 640. Solid red on an LED near the second hearing assistance device 650 can indicate a charging error for the second hearing assistance device 650. A pulsing green on an LED near the first hearing assistance device 640 can indicate charging of the first hearing assistance device 640. A pulsing green on an LED near the second hearing assistance device 650 can indicate charging of the second hearing assistance device 650. Accelerated charging of each of the first and second hearing assistance devices 640, 650 can be indicated by a flashing green LED, a green LED bouncing back and forth (knight rider, similar to a line marquee), or a fast pulsing green LED. A solid green LED near each of the first and second hearing assistance devices 640, 650 can indicate that charging is complete. Normal rate charging of the portable charging unit 600 may be indicated, for example, by using all four LEDs 630 to indicate 25, 50, 75, and 100% SOC. One LED is lit per quarter SOC attained during charging. The remaining LEDs 630 may pulse at a given rate. To indicate accelerated charging of the portable charging unit 600, the LEDs 630 may pulse at a faster rate).
Regarding claim 14, Ding discloses a hearing aid for a charging arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the hearing aid comprises a charging interface which is designed for releasable mutual coupling to a charging interface of a charger, the charging interface of the hearing aid either
a plurality of charging contacts, which comprise an at least once interrupted contact ring that forms one or more outer charging contacts, and which have a central charging contact that is arranged in a central area of the contact ring (from paragraph 0041, see The charging connection 8 has two concentrically disposed contact elements, specifically a central, first contact piece 12 and a second contact piece 14 surrounding the former in the manner of a ring (FIG. 2). The contact piece 12 is constructed at least in sections to be dome-like. The first and the second contact piece 12, 14 each form in this case a counter-contact for corresponding contact elements 16, 18 of the charging contact connection 10), or
contact pins which comprise a central contact pin and at least two outer contact pins arranged at the same distance from the central contact pin.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of references as modified by Higgins discloses a charger for a charging arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the charger comprises a charging interface for charging a hearing aid, which is designed for releasable mutual coupling with a charging interface of a hearing aid, the charging interface of the charger either:
a plurality of charging contacts which comprise an at least once interrupted contact ring that forms one or more outer charging contacts and which have a central charging contact that is arranged in a central area of the contact ring, or
contact pins which comprise a central contact pin and at least two outer contact pins arranged at the same distance from the central contact pin (from column 1 of Fredrick, see three equi-spaced male prongs);
wherein the charger further comprises an indicator light configured to indicate a charging state of the hearing aid when the charging interface of the hearing aid is coupled to the charging interface of the charger (from paragraph 0049 of Higgins, see The portable charging unit 600 shown in FIG. 6A also includes a user interface 626. In some embodiments, and with reference to FIG. 6B, the user interface 626 can include a display 628, such as an LED or OLED display. In addition, or alternatively, the user interface 626 can include one or more LEDs 630 (e.g., four LEDs). The LEDs 630 can be controlled to communicate various types of information to the user. For example, solid red on an LED near the first hearing assistance device 640 can indicate a charging error for the first hearing assistance device 640. Solid red on an LED near the second hearing assistance device 650 can indicate a charging error for the second hearing assistance device 650. A pulsing green on an LED near the first hearing assistance device 640 can indicate charging of the first hearing assistance device 640. A pulsing green on an LED near the second hearing assistance device 650 can indicate charging of the second hearing assistance device 650. Accelerated charging of each of the first and second hearing assistance devices 640, 650 can be indicated by a flashing green LED, a green LED bouncing back and forth (knight rider, similar to a line marquee), or a fast pulsing green LED. A solid green LED near each of the first and second hearing assistance devices 640, 650 can indicate that charging is complete. Normal rate charging of the portable charging unit 600 may be indicated, for example, by using all four LEDs 630 to indicate 25, 50, 75, and 100% SOC. One LED is lit per quarter SOC attained during charging. The remaining LEDs 630 may pulse at a given rate. To indicate accelerated charging of the portable charging unit 600, the LEDs 630 may pulse at a faster rate).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of references as modified by Higgins discloses the charger according to claim 15, wherein the charger comprises a cable arrangement via which at least one coupling part of the charger, on which the charging interface is arranged, can be connected to a voltage source (from paragraph 0087 of Higgins, see The tether cable arrangement 1304 includes a charging unit connector 1306 configured to electrically coupled to the interface of the portable charging unit 1302 (see, e.g., interface 620 in FIG. 6A). The charging unit connector 1306 is electrically connected to a first cable 1304 and a second cable 1314. A first HAD connector 1310 is connected at the end of the first cable 1304, and a second HAD connector 1316 is connected at the end of the second cable 1314. The first and second HAD connectors 1310, 1316 are configured in a manner similar to the charge ports of the portable charge unit 1302).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of references as modified by Higgins discloses the charger according to claim 15, wherein the charging assembly comprises an electronic unit which comprises display means and/or operating elements and/or a charging electronic (from paragraph 0049 of Higgins, see The portable charging unit 600 shown in FIG. 6A also includes a user interface 626. In some embodiments, and with reference to FIG. 6B, the user interface 626 can include a display 628, such as an LED or OLED display. In addition, or alternatively, the user interface 626 can include one or more LEDs 630 (e.g., four LEDs). The LEDs 630 can be controlled to communicate various types of information to the user. For example, solid red on an LED near the first hearing assistance device 640 can indicate a charging error for the first hearing assistance device 640. Solid red on an LED near the second hearing assistance device 650 can indicate a charging error for the second hearing assistance device 650. A pulsing green on an LED near the first hearing assistance device 640 can indicate charging of the first hearing assistance device 640. A pulsing green on an LED near the second hearing assistance device 650 can indicate charging of the second hearing assistance device 650. Accelerated charging of each of the first and second hearing assistance devices 640, 650 can be indicated by a flashing green LED, a green LED bouncing back and forth (knight rider, similar to a line marquee), or a fast pulsing green LED. A solid green LED near each of the first and second hearing assistance devices 640, 650 can indicate that charging is complete. Normal rate charging of the portable charging unit 600 may be indicated, for example, by using all four LEDs 630 to indicate 25, 50, 75, and 100% SOC. One LED is lit per quarter SOC attained during charging. The remaining LEDs 630 may pulse at a given rate. To indicate accelerated charging of the portable charging unit 600, the LEDs 630 may pulse at a faster rate).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of references as modified by Higgins disclose the charger according to claim 15, wherein the charger has two separate coupling parts, on which a charging interface for charging a hearing aid is arranged in each case, and the cable arrangement comprises a Y-cable, via which the two coupling parts can be connected to a single voltage source (from paragraph 0087, see The tether cable arrangement 1304 includes a charging unit connector 1306 configured to electrically coupled to the interface of the portable charging unit 1302 (see, e.g., interface 620 in FIG. 6A). The charging unit connector 1306 is electrically connected to a first cable 1304 and a second cable 1314. A first HAD connector 1310 is connected at the end of the first cable 1304, and a second HAD connector 1316 is connected at the end of the second cable 1314. The first and second HAD connectors 1310, 1316 are configured in a manner similar to the charge ports of the portable charge unit 1302).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of references as modified by Higgins discloses the charger according to claim 15, wherein the charger comprises at least one coupling part designed as a base plate on which two charging interfaces for charging one hearing aid in each case are arranged (from paragraph 0037 of Higgins, see The housing 102 of the portable charging unit 100 is dimensioned for portability, such that it can be carried in a pocket of apparel or in a small handbag. The housing 102 can be formed from a plastic material and have a length ranging from about 1.75 inches to 3 inches, a width ranging from about 1.25 inches to 2.75 inches, and a depth ranging from about ⅛ inches to 1 inch. For example, the housing 102 can have a length of 2.25 inches, a width of 2 inches, and a depth of ⅜ of an inch. The charge ports 104, 106 define recessed regions of the working surface 103. Each of the charge ports 104, 106 includes electrical contacts for establishing electrical connection with a hearing assistance device, and further includes a retention arrangement configured to retain the hearing assistance devices within the charge ports 104, 106. The retention arrangement can be a mechanical arrangement (e.g., a spring mechanism or interference fit arrangement) or a magnetic arrangement, for example).
4. Claims 10, 11, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding combined with Fedrick and Higgins in further view of Tuchrelo et al, U.S. Patent No. 9,028,122 (hereinafter Tuchrelo).
Regarding claim 10, although the combination of Ding and Fedrick as modified by Higgins discloses the charging device includes a coupling part configured to couple to the hearing device (from paragraph 0087 of Higgins, see The tether cable arrangement 1304 includes a charging unit connector 1306 configured to electrically coupled to the interface of the portable charging unit 1302 (see, e.g., interface 620 in FIG. 6A). The charging unit connector 1306 is electrically connected to a first cable 1304 and a second cable 1314. A first HAD connector 1310 is connected at the end of the first cable 1304, and a second HAD connector 1316 is connected at the end of the second cable 1314. The first and second HAD connectors 1310, 1316 are configured in a manner similar to the charge ports of the portable charge unit 1302), the combination of references does not teach the indicator light is integrated into the coupling part. All the same, Tuchrelo discloses the indicator light is integrated into the coupling part (from abstract, see An electrical connector assembly, comprising an electrical conductor a housing enclosing a portion of the conductor, the housing having a terminal end; a connector connected to the conductor and the housing, the connector extending along a longitudinal axis from the terminal end of the housing, the connector having a terminal surface spaced from the housing, a light emitter within the housing, and a light guide within the housing to direct light from the light emitter to exit the housing from the terminal end to substantially illuminate the connector along the longitudinal axis). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references wherein the indicator light is integrated into the coupling part as taught by Tuchrelo. This modification would have improved user friendliness by providing substantially illumination as suggested by Tuchrelo.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of references as modified by Tuchrelo discloses the indicator light is integrated into a base body of the coupling part (from abstract of Tuchrelo, see An electrical connector assembly, comprising an electrical conductor a housing enclosing a portion of the conductor, the housing having a terminal end; a connector connected to the conductor and the housing, the connector extending along a longitudinal axis from the terminal end of the housing, the connector having a terminal surface spaced from the housing, a light emitter within the housing, and a light guide within the housing to direct light from the light emitter to exit the housing from the terminal end to substantially illuminate the connector along the longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of references does not teach the indicator light is designed as a ring light. All the same, Tuchrelo discloses the indicator light is designed as a ring light (from abstract, see An electrical connector assembly, comprising an electrical conductor a housing enclosing a portion of the conductor, the housing having a terminal end; a connector connected to the conductor and the housing, the connector extending along a longitudinal axis from the terminal end of the housing, the connector having a terminal surface spaced from the housing, a light emitter within the housing, and a light guide within the housing to direct light from the light emitter to exit the housing from the terminal end to substantially illuminate the connector along the longitudinal axis). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references wherein the indicator light is designed as a ring light as taught by Tuchrelo. This modification would have improved user friendliness by providing more illumination as suggested by Tuchrelo.
Regarding claim 16, although the combination of Ding and Fedrick as modified by Higgins discloses the charger comprises a coupling part on which the charging interface of the charger is integrated (from paragraph 0087 of Higgins, see The tether cable arrangement 1304 includes a charging unit connector 1306 configured to electrically coupled to the interface of the portable charging unit 1302 (see, e.g., interface 620 in FIG. 6A). The charging unit connector 1306 is electrically connected to a first cable 1304 and a second cable 1314. A first HAD connector 1310 is connected at the end of the first cable 1304, and a second HAD connector 1316 is connected at the end of the second cable 1314. The first and second HAD connectors 1310, 1316 are configured in a manner similar to the charge ports of the portable charge unit 1302), the combination of references does not teach the indicator light is integrated into the coupling part. All the same, Tuchrelo discloses the indicator light is integrated into the coupling part (from abstract, see An electrical connector assembly, comprising an electrical conductor a housing enclosing a portion of the conductor, the housing having a terminal end; a connector connected to the conductor and the housing, the connector extending along a longitudinal axis from the terminal end of the housing, the connector having a terminal surface spaced from the housing, a light emitter within the housing, and a light guide within the housing to direct light from the light emitter to exit the housing from the terminal end to substantially illuminate the connector along the longitudinal axis). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of references wherein the indicator light is integrated into the coupling part as taught by Tuchrelo. This modification would have improved user friendliness by providing substantial illumination as suggested by Tuchrelo.
5. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding combined with Fedrick and Higgins in further view of Chang et al, U.S. Patent No. 12,507,002 (hereinafter Chang).
Regarding claim 9, although Ding discloses the first charging interface is arranged on and/or in an outer side of a cover plate or on and/or in a housing wall of a housing shell of the hearing aid (from paragraph 0041, see The charging connection 8 has two concentrically disposed contact elements, specifically a central, first contact piece 12 and a second contact piece 14 surrounding the former in the manner of a ring (FIG. 2). The contact piece 12 is constructed at least in sections to be dome-like. The first and the second contact piece 12, 14 each form in this case a counter-contact for corresponding contact elements 16, 18 of the charging contact connection 10), the combination of references does not clearly teach one or more sealing elements made of an elastomer are arranged against the cover plate or against the housing wall in order to seal the charging contacts. All the same, Chang discloses one or more sealing elements made of an elastomer are arranged against the cover plate or against the housing wall in order to seal the charging contacts (from column 6, see According to an embodiment, the electronic device 200 may include a sealing member, for example, an O-ring 241b formed of an elastic material such as silicone or rubber. The O-ring 241b may be coupled to wrap the circumference of the electrode 241a to substantially seal a gap between the inner wall of the electrode hole 217 and the electrode 241a). This modification would have improved reliability by eliminating gaps as suggested by Chang.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2600.
Olisa Anwah
Patent Examiner
October 2, 2026
/OLISA ANWAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692