DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “throttling element” used throughout the claims.
For the record:
“Throttling element” has been interpreted according to the corresponding structure described in the disclosure as being an expansion valve (see page 4, lines 13-14; page 6, lines 6-7; etc.), or equivalents thereof.
Also for the record, and in terms of general claim interpretation, “EVI compressor” has been interpreted in light of the specification as being an. “enhanced vapor injection” compressor. This is considered a generally understood term of art in the field.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 improperly recites the method step of “the second heat-exchange passage and the third heat-exchange passage exchanging heat with the first heat-exchange passage”. This should more properly read: “the second heat-exchange passage and the third heat-exchange passage configured to exchange
Claim 6 improperly recites a method step within an apparatus claim, rendering the metes and bounds unclear. For purposes of examination, the prior art must simply be structurally capable of performing the function in order to read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minoru et al. (JP 2003130477A1) in view of Ko et al. (US 8789382 B2).
As per claim 1, Minoru et al. disclose a chiller (Fig. 5) (and an air conditioner refrigeration device comprising the chiller and method of using the chiller), comprising compressors (1-1, 1-2), a condenser 3, a first throttling element 12 and an evaporator 6, the compressors comprising a first EVI compressor (1-1) and a second EVI compressor (1-2) which are connected in parallel, the first EVI compressor being provided with a first supplement port 13, and the second EVI compressor being provided with a second supplement port 13, wherein the chiller further comprises: a second throttling element (10 in economizer pipe of compressor 1-1); a third throttling element (10 in economizer pipe of compressor 1-2); an economizer 5, comprising a first heat-exchange passage, a second heat-exchange passage (Fig. 5), the second heat-exchange passage exchanging heat with the first heat-exchange passage, and the first heat-exchange passage being connected between the condenser and the first throttling valve; a first manifold (Fig. 5), connected between the first throttling element 12 and the condenser 3 and sequentially connected to the second throttling element 10, the second heat-exchange passage and the first supplement port; and a second manifold (see Fig. 5), connected between the first throttling element and the condenser and sequentially connected to the second supplement port.
Minoru et al. disclose a third heat exchange passage configured to exchange heat with the another heat exchange passage between condenser 3 and evaporator 6 (line passing through the second economizer 5 in Fig. 5), but do not teach this third heat exchange passage being configured to exchange heat with the first heat exchange passage. The difference between the claimed invention and Minoru et al., therefore, is that the present invention utilizes only one economizer instead of two, providing the same basic function while providing a more compact arrangement. Ko et al. teach a similar chiller arrangement (Fig. 8) utilizing a three-pass economizer which allows for heat exchange between a first passage (through heat exchanger 137) and each of a second passage (through heat exchanger 222) and a third passage (through heat exchanger 232). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly replace the dual economizers 5 of Minoru et al. with a single three-pass economizer such as that of Ko et al. for the purpose of providing the same economizer function utilizing a more compact design.
As per claim 2, Minoru et al. disclose wherein the first manifold and the second manifold are connected between the first throttling element and the first heat-exchange passage (Fig. 5).
As per claim 3, Minoru et al. disclose wherein the first manifold and the second manifold are connected between the condenser and the first heat-exchange passage (Fig. 5).
As per claim 4, Minoru et al. do not teach wherein no electromagnetic valve is arranged between the first supplement port and the second heat-exchange passage, and no electromagnetic valve is arranged between the second supplement port and the third heat-exchange passage. Ko et al. teach wherein no electromagnetic valve is arranged between the first supplement port and the second heat-exchange passage, and no electromagnetic valve is arranged between the second supplement port and the third heat-exchange passage (Fig. 8).
As per claim 5, Minoru et al. do not teach wherein the economizer is a plate heat exchanger. Ko et al. teach wherein the economizer is a plate heat exchanger (col. 11, lines 24-26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly utilize a plate heat exchanger within the economizer of Minoru et al. for the purpose of taking advantage of the generally understood heat transfer efficiencies such heat exchangers provide.
As per claim 6, see rejection above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Since Minoru et al. provides the same compressor structure, it is considered capable of performing the operation wherein one of the first EVI compressor and the second EVI compressor are started, or the first EVI compressor and the second EVI compressor are started synchronously, and thus reads on the claim.
As per claim 7, Minoru et al. disclose an air conditioning system, comprising the chiller according to Claim 1 (Fig. 5).
As per claim 8, Minoru et al. disclose a method of using the chiller according to Claim 1 (implicit in operating the system).
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763