Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
was made.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10-11, 13-19, 23-24, 27-28, and 42-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pazmino (Made of reference in ids: US 20230206572 A1) in view of Yerli (US 20230316663 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pazmino teaches A method comprising: at a first computer system in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (Pazmino, Fig. 7D: 101): while a three-dimensional environment is visible via the display generation component from a viewpoint of a first user of the first computer system (Pazmino, Fig. 7D: 702), displaying, via the display generation component, a first visual representation of the second user at a first location in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user (Pazmino, Fig. 7D: 711); while displaying the first visual representation of the second user at the first location relative to the viewpoint of the first user, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the first visual representation (Pazmino, Fig. 7D: 721); in response to detecting the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, a communication session user interface (Pazmino, Fig. 7E: 733) and a movement element associated with the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Fig. 7E: 738); while displaying the first visual representation of the second user, the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first movement input (Pazmino, Fig. 7E: 705C); andin response to detecting the first movement input: in accordance with a determination that the first movement input is directed to the movement element, updating a spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user in accordance with the first movement input (PAR. 138: grabber or handlebar that is selectable to initiate movement of the virtual object; FIG. 7E: 738); andin accordance with a determination that the first movement input is directed to the first visual representation of the second user, forgoing updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user (par. 134; fig. 7e: 711).
PAZMINO fails to explicitly disclose while the first user of the first computer system is in a real-time communication session with a second user, different from the first user, of a second computer system, different from the first computer system.
Yerli teaches while the first user of the first computer system is in a real-time communication session with a second user, different from the first user, of a second computer system, different from the first computer system ( Para 6, 16, 35-36:Teaches a system in which a first user operating a first client device and a second user operating a second client device participate in a shared virtual environment. The reference discloses real time communication between client devices real time rendering of a live session, real time multi user collaboration and communication, and that the two users interact with each other through their respective client devices. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Pazmino With Yerli’s real-time multi user communication techniques to enable users of different client devices to communicate and collaborate within the same three dimensional environment using different devices).
Regarding claim 2, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first visual representation of the second user, the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment in the updated spatial arrangement (Pazmino, Para 116-129: user interface elements 704a/706a and virtual objects 734a/736a are displayed in 3d environment), detecting, via the one or more input devices, termination of the first movement input directed to the movement element in the three- dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 79-80: teaches that a pinch and drag gesture ends when the pinch is released or when movement ends. Para.125: teaches hand 705a/705b performing pinch gestures to move UI elements 704a/706a); and in response to detecting the termination of the first movement input (Pazmino, Para.151: in response to detecting the respective movement… the computer system displays the user interface element at the second location), ceasing display of the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three- dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 153: discloses the second object is displayed without causing the user interface element notification to cease display. Para. 155: discloses in response to receiving the second indication, the computer system ceases display of the second object in the three dimensional environment. Also explicitly mention the user interface corresponding to the content ceases being displayed).
Regarding claim 3, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, wherein updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface (119-122: where the computer system updates the positions of user interface elements in the three-dimensional environment relative to the user’s viewpoint.), and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user includes: moving the first visual representation (Pazmino, Para 137-139: where movement input from the user’s hand moves the representation of the first content item (711/711a) to a different location in the three dimensional environment), the communication session user interface (Pazmino, Para 143: where communication related user interface elements (704a/706a) are displayed within the three dimensional environment), and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user in accordance with the first movement input (Pazmino, Para.152: the grabber 738 is displayed and is used to move the user interface element. Para. 133 and 137-139: where a pinch and drag hand gesture serves as the movement input that causes movement of the representations in the three dimensional. ).
Regarding claim 4, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: while updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation (Pazmino, Para 119-122, 137-139), the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user in accordance with the first movement input in accordance with the determination that the first movement input is directed to the movement element (Pazmino, Para.125, 133, 152: these paragraphs disclose the user selecting the grabber/handle 738 and providing a pinch/drag input directed to that element):in accordance with a determination that the first movement input corresponds to movement of the movement element in a first direction away from the viewpoint of the first user within the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user (Pazmino, Para:151, 177, fig 7C-7F: The reference teaches moving the notification/object to different locations in the 3D environment in response to user movement input. The movement occurs relative to the user’s viewpoint), scaling up the size of the communication session user interface relative to the three-dimensional environment in proportion to the first movement input (Pazmino, Para 122,138-139, 178,167: describe size changing such as the object or content being displayed);in accordance with a determination that the first movement input corresponds to a movement of the movement element in a second direction towards the viewpoint of the first user within the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user ( fig 7e-7f: describes movement toward and away), scaling down the size the communication session user interface relative to the three-dimensional environment and in proportion to the first movement input (Pazmino, Para 122,138-139, 178,167: describe size changing such as the object or content being displayed).
Regarding claim 7, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the communication session user interface is displayed at a respective location in the three-dimensional environment that has a respective spatial arrangement relative to the first location of the first visual representation in the three- dimensional environment ( Pazmino , fig. 7a-7f: teaches displaying user interface elements at locations within a 3d environment. Para 115, 118, 121-122, 153-155: discloses communication UI positioned adjacent to or associated with another virtual object/content representation).
Regarding claim 10, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 7, wherein the respective location of the communication session user interface is a fixed distance from the first visual representation in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user ( Pazmino, Figs. 7a-7f: the reference teaches displaying both the first visual representation and the communication session UI in the same three dimensional environment, selecting a fixed spacing between them is merely a UI layout choice that would have been obvious to improve visibility, readability and user consistency).
Regarding claim 11, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 7, further comprising: after updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user in accordance with the first movement input in accordance with the determination that the first movement input is directed to the movement element in response to detecting the first movement input ( Pazmino, Para 146-153 and 168-178: teaching moving content objects together in the 3 environment. Para 146-147 and 168: describes detecting a movement input. Para 152: discuss selecting or interacting with the grabber associated with the notification/UI.),:in accordance with a determination that attention of the first user is detected as being directed to the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 144-145 and 185- 188: uses gaze/attention directed toward the UI element), maintaining the display of the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 151, 185-188 and 223: describe continuing to display UI element while attention remains directed); andin accordance with a determination that the attention of the first user is not detected as being directed to the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment ( Pazmino, Para 151- 221), ceasing the display of the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 155).
Regarding claim 13, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the communication session user interface is displayed at a respective location in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para.111-113, 117-122 and figs 7a-7f: discloses displaying communication UI/notification interface elements within 3d environment) that has a respective spatial arrangement relative to the viewpoint of the first user in the three-dimensional environment when the communication session user interface is displayed in response to the first input (Pazmino, Para 118, 121-122: teaches Ui elements are positioned relative to the user viewpoint. ).
Regarding claim 14, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 13, further comprising: while updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user (Pazmino, Para 118, 121-122 and 1810185: teaches updating virtual objects and UI as the user’s viewpoint changes and as movement inputs are detected) in accordance with the first movement input in accordance with the determination that the first movement input is directed to the movement element ( Fig 7a-7f: discloses detecting user movement input (gaze, hand movement, pinch, drag) directed to UI objects or virtual objects before updating the displayed environment) in response to detecting the first movement input, maintaining the display of the communication session user interface with the respective spatial arrangement relative to the viewpoint of the first user in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 116, 151-155, and 185-188: discloses notifications/ ui remain display while other actions occur.).
Regarding claim 15, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 13, further comprising: while updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user in accordance with the first movement input in accordance with the determination that the first movement input is directed to the movement element in response to detecting the first movement input: para 136-139 and figs 7e-7f: the reference updates the spatial arrangement of the virtual objects in the three dimensional environment while the user moves the selected object in response to the movement input directed to the movement element), ceasing the display of the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para.138 and fig 7f: explains that after detecting movement the first content item away from the virtual object 734a, the representation of the first content item is no longer displayed in virtual object 734a, and expressly states that the computer system “ceases display of the representation of the first content item in virtual object 734a”); and in accordance with detecting termination of the first movement input, displaying, via the display generation component, the communication session user interface with the respective spatial arrangement relative to the viewpoint of the first user (Pazmino, Para. 206: teaches that after the computer system detects movement has ceased, it redisplays the virtual control elements associated with the object).
Regarding claim 16, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 13, further comprising: while updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user (Pazmino, Para 144-151, 168-178 and figs 7a-7f: teaches simultaneously updates user interface elements and their locations within 3d environment )in accordance with the first movement input in accordance with the determination that the first movement input is directed to the movement element in response to detecting the first movement input(Pazmino, Para 144-150: the system detects hand movement, gaze, pinch gestures, and determines the gesture is directed to a particular element):updating the spatial arrangement of the communication session user interface and the movement element in a first manner relative to the viewpoint of the first user (Pazmino, Para 145, 151-152 and 185-188: notifications elements remain viewpoint aware and UI elements move in response to detected gesture); and updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation in a second manner, different from the first manner, relative to the viewpoint of the first user (Pazmino, Para 147-150, 168-178: the content representation is independently moved, resized, expanded replaced in response to the same interaction while the notification/UI follows different positioning rules or remains locked relative to the viewpoint).
Regarding claim 17, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the communication session user interface includes a plurality of interactive communication session controls (Pazmino, Para, 143-145, 160, 163-164, 172-175, and 188: discloses a communication/ session interface that presents multiple selectable controls).
Regarding claim 18, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: while displaying the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment before detecting the first movement input (Pazmino, Para 11-117 an 143: discloses communication session Ui elements within 3d environment before user interaction), the communication session user interface is displayed with a first orientation relative to the environment facing the viewpoint of the first user (Pazmino, Para 143 and 185: the notification/ui is displayed facing the user and positioned based on the user’s field of view of viewpoint. The UI is oriented toward the user so it remains readable); and after updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user in accordance with the first movement input (Pazmino, Para 144-152, 168-178: discloses detecting movement input and updating UI elements and virtual objects in response), the communication session user interface is displayed with a second orientation relative to the environment facing the viewpoint of the first user, wherein the first orientation is different from the second orientation (Pazmino, Para.199 and 225: teaches different orientation).
Regarding claim 19, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the real-time communication session further includes a third user, different than the first user and the second user, of a third computer system , different than the first computer system and the second computer system (Pazmino, Para 114, 132, 179-182: discusses multiple electronic systems/users participating in content sharing, including a first computer system, a second computer system, and additional electronic devices/users), and the three-dimensional environment further includes a second visual representation of the third user at a second location, different than the first location (Pazmino, Para: 132, 179-182: teaches multiple representation positioned at different locations in the 3d environment. Yerli, Para 6, 16, 35-36:Teaches a system in which a first user operating a first client device and a second user operating a second client device participate in a shared virtual environment. The reference discloses real time communication between client devices real time rendering of a live session, real time multi user collaboration and communication, and that the two users interact with each other through their respective client devices. It would have been an obvious to combine Yerli and Pazmino to include a third user avatar and a third device separate from the first and second ), in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user, the method further comprising: while displaying the first visual representation of the second user, the second visual representation of the third user, the communication session user interface at a first location based on the first visual representation in the three-dimensional environment, and the movement element (Pazmino, Para. 143-145 and 179-182: Ui elements and content are displayed relative to representations in the 3D environment), detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input (Pazmino, Para 144-150 and 168-170: hand, gaze, pinch, and gesture inputs are repeatedly detected); and in response to detecting the second input: in accordance with a determination that the second input is directed to the second visual representation (Pazmino, Para 168-170: determines the user input directed to virtual objects/Ui )ceasing displaying the communication session user interface at the first location based on the first visual representation in the three-dimensional environment(Pazmino, Para. 153-155: the notification/ UI is removed from one location when interaction changes or a new state is entered); and initiating display of the communication session user interface at a second location, different than the first location, based on the second visual representation in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 143-155: teaches relocation notification and UI elements).
Regarding claim 23, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the communication session user interface and the movement element are not displayed in the three-dimensional environment prior to detecting the first input corresponding to selection of the first visual representation (Pazmino, Para:123-125 128-129, 135-138: teaches that before a content item is selected only a representation is displayed. Upon detecting user selection, the system then displays additional controls, a gabber/handle, or other user interface associated with selected content).
Regarding claim 24, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first visual representation of the second user at the first location relative to the viewpoint of the first user (Pazmino, Para. 11-114, 182, 185: displays other users/ content representations at locations within the 3D environment relative to the user’s viewpoint), detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to display one or more system objects in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para. 123, 143, 173, 186-188: the system detects user inputs requesting display of menus, controls, notifications, or other UI/system objects); andin response to detecting the second input, displaying, via the display generation component, the one or more system objects and the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 173-175 and 186-188: in response to the detected input, the system displays interface elements, controls, notifications, menus), without displaying the movement element associated with the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Fig.7a).
Regarding claim 27, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first visual representation of the second user, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment in response to the first input (Pazmino, Para.152, 168 and 185: discloses displaying a content object together with associated Ui elements after a user selects content):in accordance with a determination that attention of the first user is directed at the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 144,162, and 187: teaches determining the user’s attention using gaze direction/head pose relative to UI elements), maintaining, via the display generation component, the display of the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para. 151-152 and 185-188: teaches while the user gaze remains directed toward the interface, the interface remains displayed for interaction. The reference also describes continuing presentation of interface elements while the user is attending to them.); andin accordance with a determination that the attention of the first user is not directed at the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment(Pazmino, Para 155, and 187: the system determines when user gaze/attention is no longer directed to the interface element), ceasing, via the display generation component, the display of the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 155, 187: teaches that when the user attention is no longer directed to the interface element, the interface is displayed with a reduce level of prominence and ceasing display of UI elements in response to a second indication).
Regarding claim 28, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first visual representation of the second user, the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para.152, 168 and 185: discloses displaying a content object together with associated Ui elements after a user selects content), detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input(Pazmino, Para 168, 170, 177, 183: teaches the system detects additional user inputs through one or more input devices); andin response to detecting the second input: in accordance with a determination that the second input corresponds to selection of the first visual representation (Pazmino, Para 170-172: the second input is directed to/ selects the displayed content object), ceasing displaying the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 155, 187: teaches that when the user attention is no longer directed to the interface element, the interface is displayed with a reduce level of prominence and ceasing display of UI elements in response to a second indication).
Regarding claim 42, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first user of the first computer system is further in the real-time communication session with a third user different from the first user and the second user, of a third computer system, different from the first computer system and the second computer system, the method further comprising ( Pazmino, Para 42-47, and 139-143: teaches communication sessions involving multiple participants each represented within the shared 3d environment. Yerli, Para 6, 16, 35-36:Teaches a system in which a first user operating a first client device and a second user operating a second client device participate in a shared virtual environment. The reference discloses real time communication between client devices real time rendering of a live session, real time multi user collaboration and communication, and that the two users interact with each other through their respective client devices.): while displaying the first visual representation and a second visual representation of the third user in the three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to selection of the first visual representation; in response to detecting the second input: displaying, via the display generation component, the communication session user interface, the movement element, and a second movement element associated with the second visual representation in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 139-143, fig 7a) ; and while displaying the first visual representation, the second visual representation, the communication session user interface, the movement element, and the second movement element in the three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second movement input directed to the second movement element (Pazmino, Para 170-172); and in response to detecting the second movement input (Pazmino, Para 170-175):updating a spatial arrangement of the communication session user interface, the movement element, the first visual representation, the second visual representation, and the second movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user in accordance with the second movement input (Pazmino, Para 173-177 and 180-185).
Regarding claim 43, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first user of the first computer system is further in the real-time communication session with a third user, different from the first user and the second user, of a third computer system, different from the first computer system and the second computer system, the method further comprising ( Pazmino, Para 42-47, and 139-143: teaches communication sessions involving multiple participants each represented within the shared 3d environment. Yerli, Para 6, 16, 35-36:Teaches a system in which a first user operating a first client device and a second user operating a second client device participate in a shared virtual environment. The reference discloses real time communication between client devices real time rendering of a live session, real time multi user collaboration and communication, and that the two users interact with each other through their respective client devices.):displaying, via the display generation component, the first visual representation as a non- spatial representation of the second user in the three-dimensional environment and a second visual representation as a non-spatial representation of the third user in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 139-143 and fig 7a-7b);while displaying the first visual representation and the second visual representation as non-spatial representations in the three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to selection of the first visual representation (Pazmino, Para 170-172); and in response to detecting the second input: displaying, via the display generation component, the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment, wherein the communication session user interface is displayed at a location in the three-dimensional environment that has a spatial arrangement relative to the collective spatial arrangement of the first visual representation and the second visual representation in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para 152-156 and para 180-188).
Regarding claim 44, Pazmino in view of Yerli teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the communication session user interface further includes an interactive communication component, the method further comprising (Pazmino, Para 188-191 and fig 7b):while displaying the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to selection of the interactive communication component in the communication session user interface (Pazmino, Para 188-191); andin response to detecting the second input: replacing display of the communication session user interface in the three- dimensional environment with a call details interface associated with the real-time communication session in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Para.138: the specific choice of presenting a call details interface instead of another communication related interface is a matter of obvious user-interface design choice, as it merely changes the information presented to the user without changing the underlying operation of detecting a selection and displaying corresponding interface).
Regarding claim 45, Pazmino teaches A first computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the computer system comprising: one or more processors; memory; anode or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: while a three-dimensional environment is visible via the display generation component from a viewpoint of a first user of the first computer system (Pazmino, Fig. 7D: 702), displaying, via the display generation component, a first visual representation of the second user at a first location in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user (Pazmino, Fig. 7D: 711); while displaying the first visual representation of the second user at the first location relative to the viewpoint of the first user, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the first visual representation (Pazmino, Fig. 7D: 721); in response to detecting the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, a communication session user interface (Pazmino, Fig. 7E: 733) and a movement element associated with the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Fig. 7E: 738); while displaying the first visual representation of the second user, the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first movement input (Pazmino, Fig. 7E: 705C); andin response to detecting the first movement input: in accordance with a determination that the first movement input is directed to the movement element, updating a spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user in accordance with the first movement input (PAR. 138: grabber or handlebar that is selectable to initiate movement of the virtual object; FIG. 7E: 738); andin accordance with a determination that the first movement input is directed to the first visual representation of the second user, forgoing updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user (par. 134; fig. 7e: 711).
PAZMINO fails to explicitly disclose while the first user of the first computer system is in a real-time communication session with a second user, different from the first user, of a second computer system, different from the first computer system.
Yerli teaches while the first user of the first computer system is in a real-time communication session with a second user, different from the first user, of a second computer system, different from the first computer system ( Para 6, 16, 35-36:Teaches a system in which a first user operating a first client device and a second user operating a second client device participate in a shared virtual environment. The reference discloses real time communication between client devices real time rendering of a live session, real time multi user collaboration and communication, and that the two users interact with each other through their respective client devices. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Pazmino With Yerli’s real-time multi user communication techniques to enable users of different client devices to communicate and collaborate within the same three dimensional environment using different devices).
Regarding claim 46, Pazmino A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a first computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, cause the first computer system to perform a method comprising: while a three-dimensional environment is visible via the display generation component from a viewpoint of a first user of the first computer system (Pazmino, Fig. 7D: 702), displaying, via the display generation component, a first visual representation of the second user at a first location in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user (Pazmino, Fig. 7D: 711); while displaying the first visual representation of the second user at the first location relative to the viewpoint of the first user, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to selection of the first visual representation (Pazmino, Fig. 7D: 721); in response to detecting the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, a communication session user interface (Pazmino, Fig. 7E: 733) and a movement element associated with the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment (Pazmino, Fig. 7E: 738); while displaying the first visual representation of the second user, the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first movement input (Pazmino, Fig. 7E: 705C); andin response to detecting the first movement input: in accordance with a determination that the first movement input is directed to the movement element, updating a spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user in accordance with the first movement input (PAR. 138: grabber or handlebar that is selectable to initiate movement of the virtual object; FIG. 7E: 738); andin accordance with a determination that the first movement input is directed to the first visual representation of the second user, forgoing updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user (par. 134; fig. 7e: 711).
PAZMINO fails to explicitly disclose while the first user of the first computer system is in a real-time communication session with a second user, different from the first user, of a second computer system, different from the first computer system.
Yerli teaches while the first user of the first computer system is in a real-time communication session with a second user, different from the first user, of a second computer system, different from the first computer system ( Para 6, 16, 35-36:Teaches a system in which a first user operating a first client device and a second user operating a second client device participate in a shared virtual environment. The reference discloses real time communication between client devices real time rendering of a live session, real time multi user collaboration and communication, and that the two users interact with each other through their respective client devices. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Pazmino With Yerli’s real-time multi user communication techniques to enable users of different client devices to communicate and collaborate within the same three dimensional environment using different devices).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 and its dependents 6 is objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “in response to detecting the first input includes displaying the communication session user interface at a first height relative to the viewpoint of the first user in the three- dimensional environment, wherein the first height is based on a height of the first visual representation in the three-dimensional environment.”.
Claim 8 and its dependents 9 is objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “wherein the respective location is a predefined ratio of a first distance away from the first visual representation, wherein the first distance is between the viewpoint of the first user in the three-dimensional environment and the first visual representation when the communication session user interface is displayed in response to the first input.”
Claim 12 is objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “determining that a threshold amount of time has elapsed since displaying the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment; andin response to determining that the threshold amount of time has elapsed in accordance with a determination that an input is not detected within the threshold amount of time”.
Claim 20 and its dependents 21-22 is objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “forgoing moving the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element within the three-dimensional environment in accordance with the second movement input.”
Claim 25 is objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “determining that a threshold amount of time has elapsed since displaying the one or more system objects and the communication session user interface in the three-dimensional environment; andin response to determining that the threshold amount of time has elapsed: in accordance with a determination that an input is not detected within the threshold amount of time.”
Claim 26 is objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “determining that a threshold amount of time has elapsed without a detection of a second input directed at the communication session user interface since displaying the communication session user interface and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment; andin response to determining that the threshold amount of time has elapsed”.
Claim 29 and its dependents 30-35 is objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied, moving the first object in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user, without updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment, relative to the viewpoint of the first user, in accordance with the second movement input.”.
Claim 36 is objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “in accordance with a determination that the updating the spatial arrangement causes the communication session user interface to be located within a threshold distance of a boundary of the three-dimensional environment, generating, via the display generation component, a visual indication that the communication session user interface is located within the threshold distance of the boundary.”.
Claim 37 and its dependents 41 is objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “in accordance with the determination that the first movement input is directed to the first visual representation and that the first visual representation is located within a threshold distance of the viewpoint of the first user in the three-dimensional environment, updating the spatial arrangement of the first visual representation, the communication session user interface, and the movement element in the three-dimensional environment relative to the viewpoint of the first user in accordance with the first movement input.”.
Claim 38 and its dependents 39-40 is objected to as allowable subject matter. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches such limitations “a third input corresponding to selection of the first visual representation; and in response to detecting the third input: in accordance with a determination that that the first visual representation is located within a threshold distance of the viewpoint of the first user in the three-dimensional environment, displaying, via the display generation component, at least one of the communication session user interface or the movement element in the three-dimensional environment.”.
The closest prior art found was Pazmino (US 20230206572 A1) because it is directed to the same field of technology, namely managing communication session user interfaces and virtual objects within a three dimensional environment. The reference teaches displaying and repositioning communication session interface elements relative to a user’s viewpoint, updating interface elements in response to user inputs, gaze, and movement and managing the visibly and interaction of virtual interface elements within the three dimensional environment. However, despite its extensive disclose of XR user interface management, the Reference does not teach or suggest the specific limitations identified above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Czupi (US-20180164995-A1): discloses teaches directed user input and selective movement of user interface elements while other interface features remain static.
/LATRELL ANTHONY CREARY/Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613