DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in combination with amendments, see remarks and claims, filed 09/08/2026, , with respect to rejections of claims under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejections of claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in combination with amendments, see remarks and claims, filed 09/08/2026, , with respect to rejections of claims under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of US 20130066411 to Thacker et al. See detailed rejection below.
The applicant has not responded to the double patenting rejections in their response. The double patenting rejections has been repeated below. See detailed rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitre et al., (US 20100274326; hereinafter Chitre) in view of Thacker et al. (US 20130066411 to Thacker).
Regarding claim 31. (New) Chitre discloses a method of treating a patient having sensation loss (para 0090), via spinal cord stimulation (para 0090, fig. 1), the method comprising:, programming a signal generator to deliver a non-photonic, non-paresthesia producing electrical signal (para 0027 “use the external programmer 105 to vary the modulation parameters provided to the signal delivery element 110”, providing high frequency stimulation via the lead is understood to be non-photonic, non-paresthesia) having a frequency in a frequency range of 1.2 kHz to 100 kHz (para 0035, 0046, 0048, 0078 “the frequency of the signal (or at least a portion of the signal) can be from about 1.5 kHz to about 100 kHz”) to the patient's spinal cord via at least one implanted signal delivery element (abstract, para 0005, 0022, etc.), but fails to disclose wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially restores the sensation that was lost, and wherein the sensation was lost in association with diabetic neuropathy.
Chitre does not explicitly disclose at least partially in response to the patient having the sensation loss [performing the steps above at the high frequency] and wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially restores the sensation that was lost, and wherein the sensation was lost in association with diabetic neuropathy.
It is noted that the claim does not provide any details regarding how the patient is identified to have sensation loss. Therefore, any patient being treated is understood to have sensation loss.
Thacker, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches an implantable spinal cord modulation system positioned at the spine to deliver therapeutic signals (para 0005) for inhibiting pain via waveforms with high frequency (para 0023, 0025, 0036) and the patient diabetic truncal neuropathy to be treated using the T1-T12 modulation target (table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chitre with the teachings of Thacker such that the method is for treating a patient having diabetic truncal neuropathy.
Regarding claim 32. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 31 wherein the signal generator is implantable (Chitre para 0022), the at least one implanted signal delivery element is positioned in the patient's thoracic vertebral region between T8 and T12 (Chitre, para 0090 “vertebral levels T9, T10, T11, and/or T12”), and the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal has (a) a pulse width in a pulse width range of 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds (Chitre para 0076 “The pulse width (e.g., for just the cathodic phase of the pulses) can vary from about 10 microseconds to about 333 microseconds”), and (b) an amplitude in an amplitude range of 0.5 milliamps to 10 milliamps (Chitre para 0022, 0046, 0048, 0076).
Regarding claim 33. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 31 wherein the frequency range is from 3 kHz to 20 kHz (Chitre para 0022, 0046, 0048, 0076; Thacker, para 0038; “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 34. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 31 wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal has a pulse width in a pulse width range of 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds (Chitre para 0076 “The pulse width (e.g., for just the cathodic phase of the pulses) can vary from about 10 microseconds to about 333 microseconds”; Thacker, para 0078; "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 35. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 31 wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal has a pulse width in a pulse width range of 25 microseconds to 35 microseconds (para 0035 “The width of the applied pulses was about 30-35 microseconds”, Thacker, para 0078;; "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 36. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 31 wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal has an amplitude in an amplitude range of 0.5 milliamps to 10 milliamps (Chitre para 0022, 0046, 0048, 0076).
Regarding claim 37. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 31 wherein the at least one implanted signal delivery element is positioned in the patient's thoracic vertebral region Chitre, para 0090).
Regarding claim 38. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 37 wherein the at least one implanted signal delivery element is positioned in the patient's thoracic vertebral region between T8 and T12, inclusive (Chitre, para 0090 “vertebral levels T9, T10, T11, and/or T12”; Thacker, table 1).
Regarding claim 39. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 31 wherein the at least one implanted signal delivery element is positioned in the patient's epidural space (Chitre, para 0092; Thacker, para 0097).
Regarding claim 40. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 31 wherein the sensation loss is in the patient's f or leg, and wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially restores the sensation that was lost in the patient's foot or leg (see rejection of claim 31).
Regarding claim 41. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 31 wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially alleviates extremity pain associated with the diabetic neuropathy in addition to restoring the sensation (see rejection of claim 31; Thacker, table 1, para 0023, 0097, claim 1, etc.).
Regarding claim 42. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 31 wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially eliminates sensations of tingling, pins-and-needles, and/or electric shock associated with the diabetic neuropathy, in addition to at least partially restoring the sensation (see rejection of claim 31; Thacker, table 1).
Regarding claim 43. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 31 wherein the sensation lost in association with the diabetic neuropathy includes sensation loss caused by diabetes (see rejection of claim 31; Thacker, table 1).
Regarding claim 44. (New) Chitre discloses method of treating a patient having a loss of sensation (para 0090), via spinal cord stimulation (para 0090, fig. 1), the method comprising: programming a signal generator to deliver (para 0027 “use the external programmer 105 to vary the modulation parameters provided to the signal delivery element 110”), via at least one implanted signal delivery element (abstract, para 0005, 0022, etc.), a non-paresthesia producing electrical signal having a frequency in a frequency range of 1.2 kHz to 100 kHz to the patient's spinal cord (para 0035, 0046, 0048, 0078 “the frequency of the signal (or at least a portion of the signal) can be from about 1.5 kHz to about 100 kHz”) but fails to disclose wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially restores the sensation that was lost, and wherein the sensation was lost in association with diabetic neuropathy.
Chitre does not explicitly disclose at least partially in response to the patient having the sensation loss [performing the steps above at the high frequency] and wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially restores the sensation that was lost, and wherein the sensation was lost in association with diabetic neuropathy.
It is noted that the claim does not provide any details regarding how the patient is identified to have sensation loss. Therefore, any patient being treated is understood to have sensation loss.
Thacker, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches an implantable spinal cord modulation system positioned at the spine to deliver therapeutic signals (para 0005) for inhibiting pain via waveforms with high frequency (para 0023, 0025, 0036) and the patient diabetic truncal neuropathy to be treated using the T1-T12 modulation target (table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chitre with the teachings of Thacker such that the method is for treating a patient having diabetic truncal neuropathy.
Regarding claim 45. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 44 wherein the signal generator is implantable, the at least one implanted signal delivery element is positioned in the patient's thoracic vertebral region between T8 and T12 (Chitre, para 0090 “vertebral levels T9, T10, T11, and/or T12”), and the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal has (a) a pulse width in a pulse width range of 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds (Chitre para 0076 “The pulse width (e.g., for just the cathodic phase of the pulses) can vary from about 10 microseconds to about 333 microseconds”), and (b) an amplitude in an amplitude range of 0.5 milliamps to 10 milliamps (Chitre para 0022, 0046, 0048, 0076; Thacker, para 0078).
Regarding claim 46. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 44 wherein the frequency range is from 2 kHz to 50 kHz (Chitre para 0022, 0046, 0048, 0076; Thacker 94, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 47. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 44 wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal has (a) a pulse width in a pulse width range of 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds (Chitre para 0076 “The pulse width (e.g., for just the cathodic phase of the pulses) can vary from about 10 microseconds to about 333 microseconds”), and (b) an amplitude in an amplitude range of 0.5 milliamps to 10 milliamps (Chitre para 0022, 0046, 0048, 0076; Thacker, para 0078).
Regarding claim 48. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 44 wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal has (a) a pulse width in a pulse width range of 25 microseconds to 35 microseconds (para 0035 “The width of the applied pulses was about 30-35 microseconds”, 0076; "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)), and (b) an amplitude in an amplitude range of 0.5 milliamps to 10 milliamps (Chitre para 0022, 0046, 0048, 0076; Thacker para 0094).
Regarding claim 49. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 44 wherein the at least one implanted signal delivery element is positioned in the patient's thoracic vertebral region between T8 and T12 (Chitre, para 0090 “vertebral levels T9, T10, T11, and/or T12”; Thacker table 1), inclusive.
Regarding claim 50. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 44 wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially eliminates sensations of tingling, pins-and-needles, and/or electric shock associated with the diabetic neuropathy, in addition to at least partially restoring the sensation (see rejection of claim 44; Thacker, table 1).
Regarding claim 51. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 44 wherein the sensation loss is in the patient's foot or leg, and wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially restores the sensation that was lost in the patient's foot or leg (Thacker table 1; result of treatment).
Regarding claim 52. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 44 wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially alleviates extremity pain associated with the diabetic neuropathy in addition to restoring the sensation (see rejection of claim 44).
Regarding claim 53. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 44 wherein the sensation lost in association with the diabetic neuropathy includes sensation loss caused by diabetes (Thacker table 1; result of treatment).
Regarding claim 54. (New) Chitre discloses a method of treating a patient having sensation loss (para 0090), via spinal cord stimulation (para 0090, fig. 1), the method comprising: directing an electrical signal (para 0027 “use the external programmer 105 to vary the modulation parameters provided to the signal delivery element 110”) having a frequency in a frequency range of 1.2 kHz to 100 kHz (para 0035, 0046, 0048, 0078 “the frequency of the signal (or at least a portion of the signal) can be from about 1.5 kHz to about 100 kHz”) to the patient's spinal cord region via an implanted signal delivery element (abstract, para 0005, 0022, etc.), but fails to disclose wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially restores the sensation that was lost, and wherein the sensation was lost in association with diabetic neuropathy.
Chitre does not explicitly disclose at least partially in response to the patient having the sensation loss [performing the steps above at the high frequency] and wherein the non-paresthesia producing electrical signal at least partially restores the sensation that was lost, and wherein the sensation was lost in association with diabetic neuropathy.
It is noted that the claim does not provide any details regarding how the patient is identified to have sensation loss. Therefore, any patient being treated is understood to have sensation loss.
Thacker, from a similar field of endeavor, teaches an implantable spinal cord modulation system positioned at the spine to deliver therapeutic signals (para 0005) for inhibiting pain via waveforms with high frequency (para 0023, 0025, 0036) and the patient diabetic truncal neuropathy to be treated using the T1-T12 modulation target (table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chitre with the teachings of Thacker such that the method is for treating a patient having diabetic truncal neuropathy.
Regarding claim 55. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 54 wherein the electrical signal has (a) a pulse width in a pulse width range of 10 microseconds to 333 microseconds (Chitre para 0076 “The pulse width (e.g., for just the cathodic phase of the pulses) can vary from about 10 microseconds to about 333 microseconds”), and (b) an amplitude in an amplitude range of 0.5 milliamps to 10 milliamps (Chitre para 0022, 0046, 0048, 0076).
Regarding claim 56. (New) Chitre as modified by Thacker renders obvious the method of claim 54 wherein the electrical signal at least partially alleviates sensations of tingling, pins-and-needles, and/or electric shock associated with the diabetic neuropathy, in addition to restoring the sensation (see rejection of claim 54; Thacker, table 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 31, 44, 54 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 11, 13, 17, 19, 23, 25, 28-29, 30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,986,657 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 31, 44, 54 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 11, 13, 17, 19, 21, 23, 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,343,537 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 31, 44, 54 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-10, 22-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,133,981 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 31-57 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-9, 13-18, 23-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,226,634 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 31- 57 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-28 of copending Application No. 17/672,447 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 31- 57 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-28 of copending Application No. 18/131,791 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 31, 44, 54 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 15 and 29 of copending Application No. 18/916,512 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 31, 44, 54 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 15-17of copending Application No. 19/239,029 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 31, 44, 54 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-10, 13, 17, 19 of copending Application No. 19/238,870 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 31, 44, 54 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17, 24, 27-29, 32, 35-36 of copending Application No. 19/238,870 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 31, 44, 54 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 29, 34, 37, 4146, 51 of copending Application No. 17011908 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 31, 44, 54 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 29, 31-33, 38, 40, 44, 45-46, 50 of copending Application No. 18338285 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
It is noted that due to the large number of applications/patents, double patenting issues will be reassessed when the claims are in condition of allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANA SAHAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3796