DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
This application claims priority to Japan Patent Application No. 2024-002893 filed 01/11/2024 and Japan Patent Application No. 2024-146046 filed 08/27/2024, and on 03/03/2025, the USPTO electronically retrieved copies of these document. Thus, on the office action summary sheet examiner has checked off the box “all” certified copies have been received at this time.
Specification Objections
The specification is objected to because the title is not descriptive. See MPEP 606.01 – “Where the title is not descriptive of the invention claimed, the examiner should require the substitution of a new title that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed”. Correction is needed. Examiner suggests by way of example the following title: “SENSOR CONTROLLER INCLUDING AN ELECTRO-MAGNETIC RESONANCE SENSOR, METHOD, AND POSITION DETECTION DEVICE”.
The abstract needs to be amended to remove “Provided is” so that the abstract is clear and concise (see MPEP Section 608, especially – “It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as ‘The disclosure concerns’”).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The originally filed specification on page 3 at line 7 includes “causes e sensor” includes a typo that may be corrected, for example by changing it to “causes a sensor”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0075457 A1 to Hayashi in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0092010 A1 to Agarwal et al. (“Agarwal”).
As to claim 1, Hayashi discloses a sensor controller(18)(FIG. 2A; ¶¶0040, 0046-0047, 0086) connected to an electro-magnetic resonance sensor(13)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0080) disposed to overlap with a display(11, 14)(FIGs. 1, 2B; ¶¶0041, 0044), the sensor controller(18)(FIG. 2A; ¶¶0040, 0046-0047, 0086) comprising:
a processor(18)(FIG. 2A; ¶¶0046, 0086); and
a memory (¶0046) storing a program (¶0046) that, when executed by the processor(18)(FIG. 2A; ¶¶0046, 0086), causes the sensor controller(18)(FIG. 2A; ¶¶0040, 0046-0047, 0086) to: execute a first operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor(13)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4: C2; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0047, 0080, 0086), an electromagnetic induction pen(4)(FIG. 1: C2; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047) and a touch detection operation for detecting a touch made by a passive pointer(6)(FIGs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3: 12, C1; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047, 0052) in a panel surface(11)(FIGs. 1, 2B: 2; ¶0041) of the display(11, 14)(FIG. 2B; ¶¶0041-0042, 0044), and execute a second operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor(13)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4: C2; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0047, 0080, 0086), the electromagnetic induction pen(4)(FIG. 1: C2; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047) and pixel driving of the display(11, 14)(FIGs. 1, 2B; ¶¶0041, 0044, 0047) when the electromagnetic induction pen(4)(FIG. 1: C2; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047, 0097) is detected (FIG. 1: 4, C2; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047, 0097).
Hayashi does not expressly disclose a first operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor, an electromagnetic induction pen synchronously with a touch detection operation for detecting a touch made by a passive pointer in a panel surface of the display, and execute a second operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor, the electromagnetic induction pen synchronously with pixel driving of the display when the electromagnetic induction pen is detected.
Agarwal discloses a first operation for detecting a stylus(208)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 712; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022) synchronously with a touch detection operation(TOUCH HALF ONE)(FIG. 7; ¶¶0020, 0039, 0050 – the ending of the touch detection period {FIG. 7: TOUCH HALF ONE} is synchronized with the beginning of the stylus detection period {FIG. 7: 712}) for detecting a touch made by a passive pointer(206)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0050) in a panel surface(308)(FIG. 3: 304; ¶¶0033, 0050) of the display(304, 308)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0033, 0050), and execute a second operation for detecting the stylus(208)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 716; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022) synchronously with pixel driving(726)(FIG. 7; ¶0049) of the display(304, 308)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0020, 0033, 0039, 0050) when(716)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 208; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022) the stylus(208)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 716; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022) is detected (FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 208, 716; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022, 0049 – the ending of the stylus detection period {FIG. 7: 716} is synchronized with the beginning of the display period {FIG. 7: DISPLAY PERIOD 3})).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi with Agarwal to provide a sensor controller connected to an electro-magnetic resonance sensor disposed to overlap with a display that displays of images at different refresh rates (e.g., to render high fidelity images or to save power) with less distortion (¶¶0020-0021, 0033, 0036).
As to claim 2, Hayashi with Agarwal teach the sensor controller according to claim 1, as applied above.
Hayashi with Agarwal further teach wherein the touch detection operation is executed by use of a touch sensor disposed to overlap with the display (Hayashi: FIGs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3: 6, 11, 12, 14; ¶¶0039, 0041, especially – “sensor 12, the display device 14, and the sensor 13 are arranged in a stacked manner…The display 14 and the sensor may also be arranged in reverse order”, 0042-0044, 0047, 0052; Agarwal: FIG. 7: TOUCH HALF ONE; ¶¶0020, 0039, 0050), and the touch detection operation(Hayashi: FIGs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3: 6, 11, 12, 14; ¶¶0039, 0041, especially – “sensor 12, the display device 14, and the sensor 13 are arranged in a stacked manner…The display 14 and the sensor may also be arranged in reverse order”, 0042-0044, 0047, 0052; Agarwal: FIG. 7: TOUCH HALF ONE; ¶¶0020, 0039, 0050) is stopped when the electromagnetic induction pen is detected (Hayashi: FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4: C2, 13; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0047, 0080, 0086; Agarwal: FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 208, 716; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022, 0049 – stylus and touch detection periods {FIG. 7: 712 & 716, TOUCH HALF ONE} are at different times).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Agarwal is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 7, Hayashi with Agarwal teach the sensor controller according to claim 1, as applied above.
Hayashi with Agarwal further teach wherein the second operation that is executed synchronously with the pixel driving of the display and is for detecting the electromagnetic induction pen is a detection operation for the electromagnetic induction pen for updating a position of the electromagnetic induction pen that has already been detected (Hayashi: FIGs. 1, 2A, 2B, 4: 4, C2, 11, 13-14, ¶¶0039, 0041, 0043, especially – “a position indicated by the electronic pen 4 in the detecting region D2”, 0044, 0045, especially – “position indicated by…electronic pen 4”, 0047, 0080, 0086, 0095, 0097; Agarwal: FIGs. 2, 3, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 208, 304, 308, 716, 726; ¶¶0020, 0022, 0033, 0039, 0049-0050, 0067, especially – “The reported scan results can be processed to determine touch event(s) and location(s)” – FIG. 7 depicts a frame including periods: 716 is a period to detect the location of a stylus that occurs after at least one period to detect the location of the stylus 712 and/or 714).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Agarwal is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Top of Form
Bottom of Form
As to claim 9, Hayashi with Agarwal teach the sensor controller according to claim 7, as applied above.
Hayashi with Agarwal further teach wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the sensor controller to execute the first operation that is executed synchronously with the touch detection operation and is for detecting the electromagnetic induction pen (Hayashi: FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4: C2, 13, 18; ¶¶0039-0040, 0041, 0043, 0046-0047, 0080, 0086; Agarwal: FIGs. 2, 7: 206, 208, 304, 308, TOUCH HALF ONE, “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 712; ¶¶0020, 0022, 0033, 0039, 0050), when the electromagnetic induction pen is not detected as a result of execution of the second operation that is executed synchronously with the pixel driving of the display and is for detecting the electromagnetic induction pen (Hayashi: FIGs. 1, 2A, 2B, 4: 4, C2, 11, 13-14, ¶¶0039, 0041, 0043, especially – “a position indicated by the electronic pen 4 in the detecting region D2”, 0044, 0045, especially – “position indicated by…electronic pen 4”, 0047, 0080, 0086, 0095, 0097; Agarwal: FIGs. 2, 3, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 208, 304, 308, 716, 726; ¶¶0020, 0022, 0033, 0039, 0049-0050, 0067 – FIG. 7 depicts frames each of which including periods {FIG. 7: 712, 714 and 716} to detect the location of a stylus and therefore periods 714 and 716 occur in a second frame even when no stylus is detected in period 712 in a first or second frame1).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Agarwal is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 10, Hayashi discloses a method (FIGs. 1-4; ¶¶0039-0043, 0045) executed by a sensor controller(18)(FIG. 2A; ¶¶0040, 0046-0047, 0086) connected to an electro-magnetic resonance sensor(13)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0080) disposed to overlap with a display(11, 14)(FIGs. 1, 2B; ¶¶0041, 0044), the method (FIGs. 1-4; ¶¶0039-0043, 0045) comprising:
executing a first operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor(13)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4: C2; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0047, 0080, 0086), an electromagnetic induction pen(4)(FIG. 1: C2; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047) and a touch detection operation for detecting a touch made by a passive pointer(6)(FIGs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3: 12, C1; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047, 0052) in a panel surface(11)(FIGs. 1, 2B: 2; ¶0041) of the display(11, 14)(FIG. 2B; ¶¶0041-0042, 0044); and
executing a second operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor(13)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4: C2; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0047, 0080, 0086), the electromagnetic induction pen(11, 14)(FIGs. 1, 2B; ¶¶0041, 0044, 0047) when the electromagnetic induction pen(4)(FIG. 1: C2; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047, 0097) is detected (FIG. 1: 4, C2; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047, 0097).
Hayashi does not expressly disclose executing a first operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor, an electromagnetic induction pen synchronously with a touch detection operation for detecting a touch made by a passive pointer in a panel surface of the display; and
executing a second operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor, the electromagnetic induction pen synchronously with pixel driving of the display when the electromagnetic induction pen is detected.
Agarwal discloses executing a first operation for detecting, a stylus(208)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 712; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022) synchronously with a touch detection operation(TOUCH HALF ONE)(FIG. 7; ¶¶0020, 0039, 0050 – the ending of the touch detection period {FIG. 7: TOUCH HALF ONE} is synchronized with the beginning of the stylus detection period {FIG. 7: 712}) for detecting a touch made by a passive pointer(206)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0050) in a panel surface(308)(FIG. 3: 304; ¶¶0033, 0050) of the display(304, 308)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0033, 0050); and
executing a second operation for detecting the stylus(208)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 716; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022) synchronously with pixel driving(726)(FIG. 7; ¶0049) of the display(304, 308)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0020, 0033, 0039, 0050) when the stylus(208)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 716; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022) is detected (FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 208, 716; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022, 0049 – the ending of the stylus detection period {FIG. 7: 716} is synchronized with the beginning of the display period {FIG. 7: DISPLAY PERIOD 3})).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi with Agarwal to provide
a method executed by a sensor controller connected to an electro-magnetic resonance sensor disposed to overlap with a display that displays of images at different refresh rates (e.g., to render high fidelity images or to save power) with less distortion (¶¶0020-0021, 0033, 0036).
As to claim 11, Hayashi discloses a position detection device (FIG. 1; ¶¶0039-0040) comprising: a display(11, 14)(FIGs. 1, 2B; ¶¶0041, 0044); an electro-magnetic resonance sensor(13)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0080) and a touch sensor(12)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 3; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0052) disposed to overlap with the display(11, 14)(FIGs. 1, 2B; ¶¶0041, 0044); and a sensor controller(18)(FIG. 2A; ¶¶0040, 0046-0047, 0086) connected to each of the electro-magnetic resonance sensor(13)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0080) and the touch sensor(12)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 3; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0052), wherein the sensor controller(18)(FIG. 2A; ¶¶0040, 0046-0047, 0086), in operation, executes a first operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor(13)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4: C2; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0047, 0080, 0086), an electromagnetic induction pen(4)(FIG. 1: C2; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047) and a touch detection operation executed by use of the touch sensor(12)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 3; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0052) for detecting a touch made by a passive pointer(6)(FIGs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3: 12, C1; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047, 0052) in a panel surface(11)(FIGs. 1, 2B: 2; ¶0041) of the display(11, 14)(FIG. 2B; ¶¶0041-0042, 0044), and executes a second operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor(13)(FIGs. 2A, 2B, 4: C2; ¶¶0041, 0043, 0047, 0080, 0086), the electromagnetic induction pen(4)(FIG. 1: C2; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047) and pixel driving of the display(11, 14)(FIGs. 1, 2B; ¶¶0041, 0044, 0047) when the electromagnetic induction pen(4)(FIG. 1: C2; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047, 0097) is detected (FIG. 1: 4, C2; ¶¶0039, 0043, 0047, 0097).
Hayashi does not expressly disclose a first operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor, an electromagnetic induction pen synchronously with a touch detection operation executed by use of the touch sensor for detecting a touch made by a passive pointer in a panel surface of the display, and executes a second operation for detecting, by using the electro-magnetic resonance sensor, the electromagnetic induction pen synchronously with pixel driving of the display when the electromagnetic induction pen is detected.
Agarwal discloses a first operation for detecting a stylus(208)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 712; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022) synchronously with a touch detection operation(TOUCH HALF ONE)(FIG. 7; ¶¶0020, 0039, 0050 – the ending of the touch detection period {FIG. 7: TOUCH HALF ONE} is synchronized with the beginning of the stylus detection period {FIG. 7: 712}) executed by use of the touch sensor(202)(FIG. 2; ¶0022) for detecting a touch made by a passive pointer(206)(FIG. 1; ¶¶0050) in a panel surface(308)(FIG. 3: 304; ¶¶0033, 0050) of the display(304, 308)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0033, 0050), and executes a second operation for detecting the stylus(208)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 716; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022) synchronously with pixel driving(726)(FIG. 7; ¶0049) of the display(304, 308)(FIG. 3; ¶¶0020, 0033, 0039, 0050) when(716)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 208; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022) the stylus(208)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 716; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022) is detected(716)(FIGs. 2, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 208; ¶¶0020, especially – “or stylus sensing can occur during vertical blanking periods between frames”, 0022, 0049 – the ending of the stylus detection period {FIG. 7: 716} is synchronized with the beginning of the display period {FIG. 7: DISPLAY PERIOD 3})).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi with Agarwal to provide a position detection device that displays of images at different refresh rates (e.g., to render high fidelity images or to save power) with less distortion (¶¶0020-0021, 0033, 0036).
8. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0075457 A1 to Hayashi in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0092010 A1 to Agarwal et al. (“Agarwal”) as applied to claim 7 above, in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0393901 A1 to Cho et al. (“Cho”).
As to claim 8, Hayashi with Agarwal teach the sensor controller according to claim 7, as applied above.
Hayashi and Agarwal further teach wherein the second operation that is executed synchronously with the pixel driving of the display and is for detecting the electromagnetic induction pen is executed synchronously with a signal of the display (Hayashi: FIGs. 1, 2A, 2B, 4: 4, C2, 11, 13-14, ¶¶0039, 0041, 0043-0045, 0047, 0080, 0086, 0095, 0097; Agarwal: FIGs. 2, 3, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 208, 304, 308, 716, 726; ¶¶0020, 0022, 0033, 0039, 0049-0050, 0067, especially – “The reported scan results can be processed to determine touch event(s) and location(s)”.
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Agarwal is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Hayashi and Agarwal do not expressly disclose wherein the second operation that is executed synchronously with the pixel driving of the display and is for detecting the electromagnetic induction pen is executed synchronously with a horizontal synchronization signal of the display.
Cho discloses wherein the second operation(Stylus detection)(FIG. 35: Stylus frame2; ¶¶0288-0294) that is executed synchronously with the pixel driving of the display (FIG. 35: Display subframe2; ¶¶0085, 0087-0088, 0288-0289) and is for detecting the electromagnetic induction pen is executed synchronously with a horizontal synchronization signal of the display (FIGs. 32, 35: Stylus frame2; ¶¶0017, 0269, 0288, especially – “horizontal synchronization signals (H-sync)”, 289-0294).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hayashi and Agarwal with Cho to provide a sensor controller connected to an electro-magnetic resonance sensor disposed to overlap with a display that better prevents noise/interference between the display and the sensors by more accurately synchronizing operation of the display and the sensors.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
10. The following is examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the claimed invention is directed to:
Dependent claim 3 identifies the distinct features: “wherein the first operation(FIG. 3: INT_VS_EMR_G) that is executed synchronously with the touch detection operation(FIG. 3: from far left first signal of TP_SYNC) and is for detecting the electromagnetic induction pen(FIG. 1: 2) is executed with lower power than the second operation(FIG. 3: from far left fourth signal of TP_SYNC) that is executed synchronously with the pixel driving(FIG. 3: DISP_VSYNC) of the display(FIG. 1: 42) and is for detecting the electromagnetic induction pen(FIG. 1: 2)”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0075457 A1 to Hayashi and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0092010 A1 to Agarwal et al. (“Agarwal”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 3, Hayashi with Agarwal teach the sensor controller according to claim 1, as applied above.
Hayashi with Agarwal further teach wherein the first operation that is executed synchronously with the touch detection operation and is for detecting the electromagnetic induction pen is executed (Hayashi: FIGs. 1, 2A, 2B, 3: 2, C1, C2, 4, 6, 11, 12, 13, 14; ¶¶0039, 0041-0044, 0047, 0052, 0080, 0086; Agarwal: FIGs. 1, 2, 3, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, TOUCH HALF ONE, 206, 208, 304, 308, 712; ¶¶0020, especially – “reduce power when displaying static or slow changing data”, 0022, 0033, 0039, 0050 – lower power by using a lower refresh rate to display a first frame results in stylus detection at a lower rate); the second operation that is executed synchronously with the pixel driving of the display and is for detecting the electromagnetic induction pen (Hayashi: FIGs. 1, 2A, 2B, 4: 4, C2, 11, 13-14, ¶¶0039, 0041, 0043, especially – “a position indicated by the electronic pen 4 in the detecting region D2”, 0044, 0045, especially – “position indicated by…electronic pen 4”, 0047, 0080, 0086, 0095, 0097; Agarwal: FIGs. 2, 3, 7: “TOUCH/STYLUS SCANS”, 208, 304, 308, 716, 726; ¶¶0020, 0022, 0033, 0039, 0049-0050, 0067, especially – “The reported scan results can be processed to determine touch event(s) and location(s)” – FIG. 7 depicts a frame including periods: 716 is a period to detect the location of a stylus that occurs after at least one period to detect the location of the stylus 712 and/or 714).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Agarwal is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 1.
Hayashi and Agarwal do not teach the above underlined limitations.
Other Relevant Prior Art
11. Other relevant prior art includes:
Japan Patent Pub. No. 2009265759 A to Takiguchi et al. discloses a position detection apparatus(1)(FIG. 1; p 4, ¶6) including a cover(12)(FIGs. 2, 5; p 5, ¶4), a capacitive touch detection unit(13)(FIGs. 2, 5; p 4, ¶7), an electromagnetic induction detection unit(14)(FIGs. 2, 5; p 4, ¶7) for detecting the positions of a finger and a position indicator(2)(FIG. 1; p 5, ¶5).
Conclusion
/KIRK W HERMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
1 To get around the current grounds of rejection, examiner suggests the following claim amendment: [[when]]conditioned upon the electromagnetic induction pen is not detected as a result of execution of the second operation that is executed synchronously with the pixel driving of the display and is for detecting the electromagnetic induction pen.