DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamakin (RU 2158021 C1) in view of Shiraski et al. (U.S. Publication 2009/0170664).
Referring to claims 1, 8 & 15, Kamakin discloses comprising receiving a first user input at a user device to begin a breathing sequence (determine number of breaths); providing first heart rate information on a display of the user device during a first phase of the breathing sequence, wherein the first heart rate information is generated based on
first collected heart rate data (heart rate sensor); causing fluctuation of a fluctuating user interface element on the display of the user device during a second phase of the breathing sequence (display of fluctuations); and providing second heart rate information on the display of the user device during a third phase of the breathing sequence, wherein the second heart rate information is generated based on second collected heart rate data (readings). Kamakin does not disclose responsive to receiving a first user input at an input component of a user device, beginning a breathing sequence configured to direct a user breathing exercise; responsive to collecting first user heart rate data using a sensor of the user device, generating and displaying, first heart rate information on a display of the user device during a first phase of the breathing sequence; causing fluctuation of a fluctuating user interface element on the display of the user device during a second phase of the breathing sequence, wherein the fluctuation is associated with user breathing cues for performing the user breathing exercise; and responsive to collecting second heart rate data using the sensor of the user device, generating and displaying, providing second heart rate information on the display of the user device during a third phase of the breathing sequence. However, Shirasaki et al. teaches responsive to receiving a first user input at an input component of a user device, beginning a breathing sequence configured to direct a user breathing exercise (Figs. 7-10); responsive to collecting first user heart rate data using a sensor of the user device, generating and displaying, first heart rate information on a display of the user device during a first phase of the breathing sequence (Figs. 7-10); causing fluctuation of a fluctuating user interface element on the display of the user device during a second phase of the breathing sequence, wherein the fluctuation is associated with user breathing cues for performing the user breathing exercise (Figs. 7-10); and responsive to collecting second heart rate data using the sensor of the user device, generating and displaying, providing second heart rate information on the display of the user device during a third phase of the breathing sequence (Figs. 7-10) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include responsive to receiving a first user input at an input component of a user device, beginning a breathing sequence configured to direct a user breathing exercise; responsive to collecting first user heart rate data using a sensor of the user device, generating and displaying, first heart rate information on a display of the user device during a first phase of the breathing sequence; causing fluctuation of a fluctuating user interface element on the display of the user device during a second phase of the breathing sequence, wherein the fluctuation is associated with user breathing cues for performing the user breathing exercise; and responsive to collecting second heart rate data using the sensor of the user device, generating and displaying, providing second heart rate information on the display of the user device during a third phase of the breathing sequence, as disclosed by Shirasaki et al., incorporated into Kamakin, in order guide an exercise pattern of breathing to a user.
Referring to claims 2 & 9 & 16, Kamakin discloses wherein the first heart rate information comprises a first heart rate user interface element and a first heart metric, and the second heart rate information comprises a second heart rate user interface element and a second heart metric (heart rate sensor).
Referring to claims 3, 10 & 17, Kamakin discloses wherein the first heart rate user interface element pulsates in a manner that corresponds to a first measured heart rate based on the first collected heart rate data (reading/display of fluctuations).
Referring to claims 4, 11 & 18, Kamakin discloses wherein the second heart rate user interface element pulsates in a manner that corresponds to a second measured heart rate based on the second collected heart rate data (heart rate sensor).
Referring to claims 5, 12 & 19, Kamakin discloses further comprising: during the first phase of the breathing sequence, collecting the first heart rate data using one or more sensors of the user device (heart rate sensor & square pulse generator); and during the third phase of the breathing sequence, collecting the second heart rate data using the one or more sensors of the user device (heart rate sensor & square pulse generator).
Referring to claims 6 & 13, Kamakin discloses wherein the first phase comprises a preliminary phase, the second phase comprises a breathing phase, and the third phase comprises a concluding phase, and wherein the breathing phase occurs before the concluding phase and after the preliminary phase (square pulse generator).
Referring to claims 7 & 14 & 20, Kamakin discloses wherein the fluctuation comprises repeated growing and repeated shrinking of the fluctuating user interface element at a
cyclic rate during the second phase, the cyclic rate corresponding to breath ratio (breaths and exhalations of fluctuations).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KESHA FRISBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715