DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/20/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakmakci et al. (US 2016/0357016) in view of Wheelwright et al. (US 11,181815).
Regarding Claim 1, Cakmakci discloses a wearable augmented reality (“AR”) display device, comprising:
a corrective lens comprising an image combiner (Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, and Fig. 6C, waveguide 615, Paragraphs 0031-0035, ambient light 185 passes through prescription eyepieces, 401, Paragraph 0027), the corrective lens to modify first light rays traveling through the corrective lens toward an eye of a wearer (Paragraph 0027, eyepieces (lenses) for the eyeglasses in Fig. 4 and have prescription lenses, so that the light rays from ambient light can be modified as it approaches the eye of the wearer); and …
the corrective lens to guide the second light rays toward the image combiner, the image combiner to combine the second light rays with the first light rays (Paragraph 0031, real world image via ambient light 185 is augmented with display images, the display image being formed by the display source 150, Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, and Fig. 6C).
Cakmakci does not specifically disclose at least one lens to direct second light rays associated with at least one AR image into the corrective lens.
However, Wheelwright, in the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one lens to direct second light rays associated with at least one AR image into the corrective lens (Fig. 4A, lens 430, Col. 12, lines 50-60), for the purpose of collimating image light from a display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the wearable augmented reality (“AR”) display device of Cakmakci with the at least one lens to direct second light rays associated with at least one AR image into the corrective lens, of Wheelwright, for the purpose of collimating image light from a display.
Regarding Claim 15, Cakmakci discloses a device, comprising:
a corrective lens comprising an image combiner (Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, and Fig. 6C, waveguide 615, Paragraphs 0031-0035, ambient light 185 passes through prescription eyepieces, 401, Paragraph 0027), the corrective lens to modify first light rays traveling through the corrective lens toward an eye of a wearer (Paragraph 0027, eyepieces (lenses) for the eyeglasses in Fig. 4 and have prescription lenses, so that the light rays from ambient light can be modified as it approaches the eye of the wearer); and …
the corrective lens to guide the second light rays toward the image combiner, the image combiner to combine the second light rays with the first light rays (Paragraph 0031, real world image via ambient light 185 is augmented with display images, the display image being formed by the display source 150, Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, and Fig. 6C).
Cakmakci does not specifically disclose at least one lens to direct second light rays transmitting at least one electronically generated image into the corrective lens.
However, Wheelwright, in the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one lens to direct second light rays transmitting at least one electronically generated image into the corrective lens (Fig. 4A, lens 430, Col. 12, lines 50-60), for the purpose of collimating image light from a display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the wearable augmented reality (“AR”) display device of Cakmakci with the at least one lens to direct second light rays transmitting at least one electronically generated image into the corrective lens, of Wheelwright, for the purpose of collimating image light from a display.
Regarding Claim 16, Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright discloses as is set forth above and Cakmakci further discloses further comprising: a frame (Fig. 3A, nose bridge 305, left arm 310, and right arm 315, Paragraph 0025) to be worn on a head of the wearer; and a power (Fig. 3A, housing 320 containing a battery, Paragraph 0025) and control unit (Fig. 3A, microprocessor, Paragraph 0025) to drive at least one electronic display mounted on the frame, the at least one electronic display to generate the second light rays (Paragraph 0031, augmented reality image).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakmakci et al. (US 2016/0357016) in view of Wheelwright et al. (US 11,181815), further in view of Lapidot et al. (US 2021/0223575).
Regarding Claim 2, Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose further comprising: a removable AR image source to display the at least one AR image and provide the second light rays associated with the at least one AR image to the at least one lens.
However, Lapidot, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: a removable AR image source to display the at least one AR image and provide the second light rays associated with the at least one AR image to the at least one lens (Fig. 1, detachable display device 10, exit window, 13, Paragraph 0020, abstract, light from the exit window enters the lens of the host spectacles so as to be visible to the wearer, Paragraph 0006), for the purpose of providing flexible eyeglasses that can be used for AR or as regular eyeglasses.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the wearable augmented reality (“AR”) display device of Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright with the further comprising: a removable AR image source to display the at least one AR image and provide the second light rays associated with the at least one AR image to the at least one lens, of Lapidot, for the purpose of providing flexible eyeglasses that can be used for AR or as regular eyeglasses.
Regarding Claim 3, Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright, further in view of Lapidot, discloses as is set forth above and Lapidot further discloses, further comprising: a connector to movably position the removable AR image source to provide the second light rays to the at least one lens (Fig. 1, detachable display device 10 comprising image source 39, Fig. 3c, is connected to the spectacles frame 11, Fig. 1, by a clip-on unit 50, Fig. 4b, which is positioned accurately in front of the users eye, Paragraph 0006, lines 6-8, Paragraph 0020, abstract, light from the exit window enters the prescription lenses, of the host spectacles so as to be visible to the wearer, Paragraph 0006), for the purpose of providing flexible eyeglasses that can be used for AR or as regular eyeglasses.
Regarding Claim 4, Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright, further in view of Lapidot, discloses as is set forth above and Lapidot further discloses, further comprising: an eyeglass frame, the corrective lens to be mounted to the eyeglass frame to form an assembly, the assembly to be wearable by the wearer as a pair of eyeglasses when the removable AR image source is removed from the assembly (Fig. 1, detachable display device 10 comprising image source 39, Fig. 3c, is connected to the spectacles frame 11, Fig. 1, by a clip-on unit 50, Fig. 4b, which is positioned accurately in front of the users eye, Paragraph 0006, lines 6-8, Paragraph 0020, abstract, light from the exit window enters the prescription lenses, of the host spectacles so as to be visible to the wearer, Paragraph 0006), for the purpose of providing flexible eyeglasses that can be used for AR or as regular eyeglasses.
Regarding Claim 5, Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright, further in view of Lapidot, discloses as is set forth above and Lapidot further discloses, further comprising: a control unit (Fig. 6a, microcontroller 72 is part of the detachable device 10, Paragraphs 0040-0041) to be removably mountable on the eyeglass frame, the control unit to cause the removable AR image source to display the at least one AR image, the control unit to be removable from the eyeglass frame when the assembly is worn by the wearer as the pair of eyeglasses (Fig. 1, detachable display device 10 comprising image source 39, Fig. 3c, is connected to the spectacles frame 11, Fig. 1, by a clip-on unit 50, Fig. 4b, which is positioned accurately in front of the users eye, Paragraph 0006, lines 6-8, Paragraph 0020, abstract, light from the exit window enters the prescription lenses, of the host spectacles so as to be visible to the wearer, Paragraph 0006), for the purpose of providing flexible eyeglasses that can be used for AR or as regular eyeglasses.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakmakci et al. (US 2016/0357016) in view of Wheelwright et al. (US 11,181815), in view of Lapidot et al. (US 2021/0223575), further in view of Border (US 2017/0249862).
Regarding Claim 6, Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright, further in view of Lapidot, discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein further comprising: a magnetic attachment that allows an electronic display to be repeatedly attached and detached from the eyeglass frame.
However, Border, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein further comprising: a magnetic attachment that allows an electronic display to be repeatedly attached and detached from the eyeglass frame (Fig. 14d, the see-through digital content display 204 is attached to the eye cover 1402 via magnets 1404, Paragraph 0083, for the purpose of easily reversing attachment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the wearable augmented reality (“AR”) display device of Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright, further in view of Lapidot, with the wherein further comprising: a magnetic attachment that allows an electronic display to be repeatedly attached and detached from the eyeglass frame, of Border, for the purpose of easily reversing attachment.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakmakci et al. (US 2016/0357016) in view of Wheelwright et al. (US 11,181815), in view of Lapidot et al. (US 2021/0223575), in view of Border (US 2017/0249862), further in view of Border (US 2016/0116979, hereinafter Border-2).
Regarding Claim 7, Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright, in view of Lapidot, further in view of Border discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the magnetic attachment comprises an indexing feature that aligns the electronic display with the at least one lens.
However, Border-2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the magnetic attachment comprises an indexing feature that aligns the electronic display with the at least one lens (Paragraph 0558, lines 1-22, the magnetic attachment system uses guidance features to position the optical element 11902), for the purpose of correctly positioning and aligning an optical system while using a magnetic attachment system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the wearable augmented reality (“AR”) display device of Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright, in view of Lapidot, further in view of Border with the wherein the magnetic attachment comprises an indexing feature that aligns the electronic display with the at least one lens, of Border-2, for the purpose of correctly positioning and aligning an optical system while using a magnetic attachment system.
Claims 8 and 17-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakmakci et al. (US 2016/0357016) in view of Wheelwright et al. (US 11,181815), further in view of Silver (US 2019/0086667).
Regarding Claim 8, Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the at least one lens comprises: a coupling prism to direct the second light rays toward the corrective lens; and a beam-shaping lens to direct the second light rays to the coupling prism, wherein at least one of the coupling prism or the beam-shaping lens is to modify the second light rays to magnify the at least one AR image.
However, Silver, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one lens comprises: a coupling prism to direct the second light rays toward the corrective lens; and a beam-shaping lens to direct the second light rays to the coupling prism, wherein at least one of the coupling prism or the beam-shaping lens is to modify the second light rays to magnify the at least one AR image (Fig. 4, lenses 26, prism 45, Paragraph 0056, prism 45 and lenses 26, direct light onto the entry diffraction element 7 and therefore into the lens 4, the redirection of light resulting from a magnification of the AR image), for the purpose of maximizing image size of the displayed image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the wearable augmented reality (“AR”) display device of Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright with the wherein the at least one lens comprises: a coupling prism to direct the second light rays toward the corrective lens; and a beam-shaping lens to direct the second light rays to the coupling prism, wherein at least one of the coupling prism or the beam-shaping lens is to modify the second light rays to magnify the at least one AR image, of Silver, for the purpose of maximizing image size of the displayed image.
Regarding Claim 17, Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein further comprising: an AR display coupled to a linear manual or electro-mechanical mechanism, the AR display to generate the second light rays, the linear manual or electro-mechanical mechanism to be operable to move the AR display to change a focal distance of the wearer.
However, Silver, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein further comprising: an AR display (Fig. 3, microdisplays 33 and 34 coupled to a pair of eyeglasses 30, Paragraph 0055) coupled to a linear manual or electro-mechanical mechanism (Fig. 3, fluid displacement device 37 coupled to a pair of eyeglasses 30, Paragraph 0055), the AR display to generate the second light rays, the linear manual or electro-mechanical mechanism to be operable to move the AR display to change a focal distance of the wearer (Paragraph 0024, fluid-filled variable focus lens, coupled to a pair of eyeglasses 30, Fig. 3, Paragraph 0055), for the purpose of providing a near, intermediate, and far vision.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright with the wherein further comprising: an AR display coupled to a linear manual or electro-mechanical mechanism, the AR display to generate the second light rays, the linear manual or electro-mechanical mechanism to be operable to move the AR display to change a focal distance of the wearer, of Silver, for the purpose of providing a near, intermediate, and far vision.
Regarding Claim 18, Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright, further in view of Silver (Fig. 3), discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the second light rays are directed by a beam shaping lens from the AR display into a coupling prism mounted on the at least one lens.
However, Silver (Fig. 4), in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the second light rays are directed by a beam shaping lens from the AR display into a coupling prism mounted on the at least one lens (Fig. 4, lenses 26, prism 45, Paragraph 0056, prism 45 and lenses 26, direct light onto the entry diffraction element 7), for the purpose of providing a user an augmented reality image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Cakmakci in view of Wheelwright, further in view of Silver (Fig. 3), with the wherein the second light rays are directed by a beam shaping lens from the AR display into a coupling prism mounted on the at least one lens of Silver (Fig. 4), for the purpose of providing a user an augmented reality image.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cakmakci et al. (US 2016/0357016) in view Silver (US 2019/0086667).
Regarding Claim 11, Cakmakci discloses as is set forth above but doesn’t specifically disclose further comprising: using at least one beam-shaping lens to direct the first light rays to at least one coupling prism non-removably attached to the at least one corrective lens.
However, Silver, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising: using at least one beam-shaping lens to direct the first light rays to at least one coupling prism non-removably attached to the at least one corrective lens (Fig. 4, lenses 26, prism 45, Paragraph 0056, prism 45 and lenses 26, direct light onto the entry diffraction element 7 and therefore into the lens 4, the redirection of light resulting from a magnification of the AR image), for the purpose of maximizing image size of the displayed image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Cakmakci with the further comprising: using at least one beam-shaping lens to direct the first light rays to at least one coupling prism non-removably attached to the at least one corrective lens, of Silver, for the purpose of maximizing image size of the displayed image.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 10, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cakmakci et al. (US 2016/0357016).
Regarding Claim 9, Cakmakci discloses a method, comprising:
directing first light rays transmitting at least one image into a side edge of at least one corrective lens (Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, and Fig. 6C, image from display source enters the waveguide 615, Paragraphs 0031-0035); and
combining the first light rays with second light rays entering a front portion of the at least one corrective lens using at least one image combiner incorporated into the at least one corrective lens (Fig. 6A, Fig. 6B, and Fig. 6C, waveguide 615, Paragraphs 0031-0035, ambient light 185 passes through prescription eyepieces, 401, Paragraph 0027), the at least one corrective lens to modify the second light rays as the second light rays travel through the at least one corrective lens toward at least one eye of a wearer (Paragraph 0027, eyepieces (lenses) for the eyeglasses in Fig. 4 and have prescription lenses, so that the light rays from ambient light can be modified as it approaches the eye of the wearer).
Regarding Claim 10, Cakmakci discloses as is set forth above and further discloses further comprising: providing at least one of a virtual reality (VR) image source or an augmented reality (AR) image source to generate the first light rays (Paragraph 0031, the virtual image can be superimposed over the ambient light as an augmented reality image).
Regarding Claim 12, Cakmakci discloses as is set forth above and further discloses further comprising: constructing the at least one corrective lens in accordance with a prescription of the wearer (Fig. 4, ambient light 185 passes through prescription eyepieces, 401, Paragraph 0027).
Regarding Claim 13, Cakmakci discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the at least one image combiner comprises a half mirrored surface embedded within the at least one corrective lens (Fig. 6B, waveguide 615 includes partially reflective surfaces 625, Paragraph 0034).
Regarding Claim 14, Cakmakci discloses as is set forth above and further discloses wherein the at least one image combiner has a surface profile that presents an in-focus image to the wearer in accordance with a vision correction (Fig. 4, ambient light 185 passes through prescription eyepieces, 401, Paragraph 0027).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20-21, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 19, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein further comprising: a removable image source to generate the second light rays, the at least one lens to comprise a coupling prism non-removably attached to the corrective lens and a beam-shaping lens attached to the removable image source, the removable image source to provide the second light rays to the beam-shaping lens, which is to provide the second light rays to the coupling prism.
Specifically, with respect to claim 20, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the image combiner is positioned in between corrective portions of the corrective lens through which a portion of the first light rays pass and avoid the image combiner.
Specifically, with respect to claim 22, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach a device including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein the image combiner is formed within the corrective lens and has a surface profile that similarly presents an in-focus image in accordance with a vision correction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cakmakci et al. (US 2015/0177519), Cakmakci et al. (US 10,162,180), Blum et al. (US 2018/0348529), Blum et al. (US 10,884,246), Kress et al. (US 9,915,823), Park (US 2002/0015116), and Hu et al. (US 2019/0129182) are cited to show similar methods and devices but do not disclose the allowable subject matter as indicated above.
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872