DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/ is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. US 2023/0360275 in view of Mammou et al. US 2023/0030913.
As to claim 1, Zhang teaches a method of mesh decoding, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream that includes coded attribute information of a first vertices of a reference mesh and a second vertices of a distorted mesh, the distorted mesh being associated with the reference mesh; [abstract; ¶ 0022; ¶ 0030-0036; ¶ 0049-0053] determining a first point cloud based on the first vertices of the reference mesh and a second point cloud based on the second vertices of the distorted mesh; [abstract; ¶ 0022; ¶ 0033; ¶ 0036-0037; ¶ 0049-0053; ¶ 0067-0071] determining at least one of a symmetric geometric error or a symmetric attribute error based on a plurality of distances between points of the first point cloud and points of the second point cloud, each of the plurality of distances being determined between a respective point of the first point cloud and a point of the second point cloud that corresponds to the respective point of the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] and determining a peak signal to noise ratio (PSNR) based on one of the symmetric geometric error and the symmetric attribute error, wherein the symmetric geometric error indicates differences between the points of the first point cloud and the points of the second point cloud with respect to the points of one of the first point cloud and the second point cloud. [¶ 0036-0046; ¶ 0046-0052]
Zhang does not explicitly teach a plurality of vertices.
Mammou teaches a plurality of vertices. [¶ 0518-0519; ¶ 0535-0537; ¶ 0568]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Mammou with the teachings of Zhang allowing for improved mesh to point cloud efficiency.
As to claim 2, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the first point cloud further comprises one of: determining the first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud; [abstract; ¶ 0033; ¶0048-0052; ¶ 0067-0071] and determining a sample of the first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud. [abstract; ¶ 0036; ¶ 0049-0052; ¶ 0066-0071]
Zhang does not explicitly teach determining a sampled subset of the plurality of first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud.
Mammou teaches determining a sampled subset of the plurality of first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud. [¶ 0518-0519; ¶ 0535-0537; ¶ 0568]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Mammou with the teachings of Zhang allowing for improved mesh to point cloud efficiency.
As to claim 3, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the at least one of the symmetric geometric error or the symmetric attribute error further comprises: determining each of the plurality of distances based on a position value of the respective point of the first point cloud and a position value of the point of the second point cloud that corresponds to the respective point of the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a plurality of squared distances based on the plurality of distances; [¶ 0036-0046] determining a first geometric error based on a sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0046] determining a second geometric error based on the sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the second point cloud; [¶ 0036-0046] and determining the symmetric geometric error as a maximum one of the first geometric error and the second geometric error. [¶ 0036-0046]
As to claim 4, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the at least one of the symmetric geometric error or the symmetric attribute error further comprises: determining each of the plurality of distances based on a position value of the respective point of the first point cloud and a position value of the point of the second point cloud that corresponds to the respective point of the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a plurality of projected distances based on the plurality of distances, each of the plurality of projected distances being a component of a respective one of the plurality of distances projected onto a normal of the respective point of the first point cloud; [¶ 0037-0046] determining a plurality of squared projected distances based on the plurality of projected distances; [¶ 0037-0046] determining a first geometric error based on a sum of the plurality of squared projected distances divided by a total number of the points in the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0046] determining a second geometric error based on the sum of the plurality of squared projected distances divided by a total number of the points in the second point cloud; [¶ 0036-0046] and determining the symmetric geometric error as a maximum one of the first geometric error and the second geometric error. [¶ 0036-0046]
As to claim 5, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the at least one of the symmetric geometric error or the symmetric attribute error further comprises: determining each of the plurality of distances based on an attribute value of the respective point of the first point cloud and an attribute value the point of the second point cloud that corresponds to the respective point of the first point cloud; [¶ 0037-0046] determining a plurality of squared distances based on the plurality of distances; [¶ 0037-0046] determining a first attribute error based on a sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the first point cloud; [¶ 0037-0046] determining a second attribute error based on the sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the second point cloud; [¶ 0037-0046] and determining the symmetric attribute error as a maximum one of the first attribute error and the second attribute error. [¶ 0037-0046]
As to claim 6, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the at least one of the symmetric geometric error or the symmetric attribute error further comprises: projecting each of the points of the second point cloud into a plane including the respective point of the first point cloud to obtain a projection point on the plane, a normal of the respective point of the first point cloud being perpendicular to the plane; [¶ 0037-0046] determining each of the plurality of distances based on an attribute value of the respective point of the second point cloud and an attribute of the projection point that corresponds to the respective point of the second point cloud; [¶ 0037-0046] determining a plurality of squared distances based on the plurality of distances; [¶ 0037-0046] determining a first attribute error based on a sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the first point cloud; [¶ 0037-0046] determining a second attribute error based on the sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the second point cloud; [¶ 0037-0046] and determining the symmetric attribute error as a maximum one of the first attribute error and the second attribute error. [¶ 0037-0046]
As to claim 7, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the PSNR further comprises: determining the PSNR based on a logarithmic function of a squared peak value divided by one of the symmetric geometric error and the symmetric attribute error, the peak value being defined as a diagonal distance of a bounding box of one of the first point cloud and the second point cloud. [fig. 5; ¶ 0036-0052]
As to claim 8, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the symmetric geometric error is determined as a maximum one of (i) a first geometric error based on position values of the points of the first point cloud, position values of the points of the second point cloud, and a total number of the points of the first point cloud and (ii) a second geometric error based on the position values of the points of the first point cloud, the position values of the points of the second point cloud, and a total number of the points of the second point cloud. [¶ 0036-0052]
As to claim 9, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the symmetric attribute error is determined as a maximum one of (i) a first attribute error based on attribute values of the points of the first point cloud, attribute values of the points of the second point cloud, and a total number of the points of the first point cloud and (ii) a second geometric error based on the attribute values of the points of the first point cloud, the attribute values of the points of the second point cloud, and a total number of the points of the second point cloud. [¶ 0036-0052]
As to claim 10, Zhang teaches a method of mesh encoding, the method comprising: determining a distorted mesh based on a reference mesh, the reference mesh including a first vertices, the distorted mesh including a second vertices; [abstract; ¶ 0022; ¶ 0030-0036; ¶ 0049-0053] determining a first point cloud based on the first vertices of the reference mesh and a second point cloud based on the second vertices of the distorted mesh; [abstract; ¶ 0022; ¶ 0033; ¶ 0036-0037; ¶ 0049-0053; ¶ 0067-0071] determining at least one of a symmetric geometric error or a symmetric attribute error based on a plurality of distances between points of the first point cloud and points of the second point cloud, each of the plurality of distances being determined between a respective point of the first point cloud and a point of the second point cloud that corresponds to the respective one of the points of the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] and determining a peak signal to noise ratio (PSNR) based on one of the symmetric geometric error and the symmetric attribute error, wherein the symmetric geometric error indicates differences between the points of the first point cloud and the points of the second point cloud with respect to the points of one of the first point cloud and the second point cloud. [¶ 0036-0052]
Zhang does not explicitly teach a plurality of vertices.
Mammou teaches a plurality of vertices. [¶ 0518-0519; ¶ 0535-0537; ¶ 0568]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Mammou with the teachings of Zhang allowing for improved mesh to point cloud efficiency.
As to claim 11, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 10. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the first point cloud further comprises one of: determining the first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud; [abstract; ¶ 0033; ¶0048-0052; ¶ 0067-0071] and determining a sample of the first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud. [abstract; ¶ 0036; ¶ 0049-0052; ¶ 0066-0071]
Zhang does not explicitly teach determining a sampled subset of the plurality of first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud.
Mammou teaches determining a sampled subset of the plurality of first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud. [¶ 0518-0519; ¶ 0535-0537; ¶ 0568]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Mammou with the teachings of Zhang allowing for improved mesh to point cloud efficiency.
As to claim 12, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 10. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the at least one of the symmetric geometric error or the symmetric attribute error further comprises: determining each of the plurality of distances based on a position value of the respective point of the first point cloud and a position value of the point of the second point cloud that corresponds to the respective point of the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a plurality of squared distances based on the plurality of distances; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a first geometric error based on a sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a second geometric error based on the sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the second point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] and determining the symmetric geometric error as a maximum one of the first geometric error and the second geometric error. [¶ 0036-0052]
As to claim 13, Zhang teaches (modified by Mammou) the limitations of claim 10. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the at least one of the symmetric geometric error or the symmetric attribute error further comprises: determining each of the plurality of distances based on a position value of the respective point of the first point cloud and a position value of the point of the second point cloud that corresponds to the respective point of the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a plurality of projected distances based on the plurality of distances, each of the plurality of projected distances being a component of respective one of the plurality of distances projected onto a normal of the respective point of the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a plurality of squared projected distances based on the plurality of projected distances; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a first geometric error based on a sum of the plurality of squared projected distances divided by a total number of the points in the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a second geometric error based on the sum of the plurality of squared projected distances divided by a total number of the points in the second point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] and determining the symmetric geometric error as a maximum one of the first geometric error and the second geometric error. [¶ 0036-0052]
As to claim 14, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 10. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the at least one of the symmetric geometric error or the symmetric attribute error further comprises: determining each of the plurality of distances based on an attribute value of the respective point of the first point cloud and an attribute value the point of the second point cloud that corresponds to the respective point of the first point cloud; determining a plurality of squared distances based on the plurality of distances; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a first attribute error based on a sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a second attribute error based on the sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the second point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] and determining the symmetric attribute error as a maximum one of the first attribute error and the second attribute error. [¶ 0036-0052]
As to claim 15, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 10. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the at least one of the symmetric geometric error or the symmetric attribute error further comprises: projecting each of the points of the second point cloud into a plane including the respective point of the first point cloud to obtain a projection point on the plane, a normal of the respective point of the first point cloud being perpendicular to the plane; [¶ 0036-0052] determining each of the plurality of distances based on an attribute value of the respective point of the second point cloud and an attribute of the projection point that corresponds to the respective point of the second point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a plurality of squared distances based on the plurality of distances; determining a first attribute error based on a sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the first point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] determining a second attribute error based on the sum of the plurality of squared distances divided by a total number of the points in the second point cloud; [¶ 0036-0052] and determining the symmetric attribute error as a maximum one of the first attribute error and the second attribute error. [¶ 0036-0052]
As to claim 16, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 10. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the PSNR further comprises: determining the PSNR based on a logarithmic function of a squared peak value divided by one of the symmetric geometric error and the symmetric attribute error, the peak value being defined as a diagonal distance of a bounding box of one of the first point cloud and the second point cloud. [fig. 5; ¶ 0036-0052]
As to claim 17, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 10. Zhang teaches wherein the symmetric geometric error is determined as a maximum one of (i) a first geometric error based on position values of the points of the first point cloud, position values of the points of the second point cloud, and a total number of the points of the first point cloud and (ii) a second geometric error based on the position values of the points of the first point cloud, the position values of the points of the second point cloud, and a total number of the points of the second point cloud. [¶ 0036-0052]
As to claim 18, Zhang (modified by Mammou ) teaches the limitations of claim 10. Zhang teaches wherein the symmetric attribute error is determined as a maximum one of (i) a first attribute error based on attribute values of the points of the first point cloud, attribute values of the points of the second point cloud, and a total number of the points of the first point cloud and (ii) a second geometric error based on the attribute values of the points of the first point cloud, the attribute values of the points of the second point cloud, and a total number of the points of the second point cloud. [¶ 0036-0052]
As to claim 19, Zhang teaches the limitations of processing mesh data, the method comprising: processing a bitstream of the mesh data according to a format rule, wherein: the bitstream includes coded information of a first vertices of a reference mesh and a second vertices of a distorted mesh, the distorted mesh being associated with the reference mesh; [abstract; ¶ 0022; ¶ 0030-0036; ¶ 0049-0053] the format rule specifies that: a first point cloud is determined based on the first vertices of the reference mesh and a second point cloud is determined based on the second vertices of the distorted mesh, [abstract; ¶ 0022; ¶ 0033; ¶ 0036-0037; ¶ 0049-0053; ¶ 0067-0071] at least one of a symmetric geometric error or a symmetric attribute error is determined based on a plurality of distances between points of the first point cloud and points of the second point cloud, each of the plurality of distances being determined between a respective point of the first point cloud and a point of the second point cloud that corresponds to the respective point of the first point cloud, [¶ 0036-0052] and a peak signal to noise ratio (PSNR) is determined based on one of the symmetric geometric error and the symmetric attribute error; [¶ 0036-0052] and the symmetric geometric error indicates differences between the points of the first point cloud and the points of the second point cloud with respect to the points of one of the first point cloud and the second point cloud. [¶ 0036-0052]
Zhang does not explicitly teach a plurality of vertices.
Mammou teaches a plurality of vertices. [¶ 0518-0519; ¶ 0535-0537; ¶ 0568]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Mammou with the teachings of Zhang allowing for improved mesh to point cloud efficiency.
As to claim 20, Zhang (modified by Mammou) teaches the limitations of claim 19. Zhang teaches wherein the determining the first point cloud further comprises one of: determining the first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud; [abstract; ¶ 0033; ¶0048-0052; ¶ 0067-0071] and determining a sample of the first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud. [abstract; ¶ 0036; ¶ 0049-0052; ¶ 0066-0071]
Zhang does not explicitly teach determining a sampled subset of the plurality of first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud.
Mammou teaches determining a sampled subset of the plurality of first vertices of the reference mesh as the points of the first point cloud. [¶ 0518-0519; ¶ 0535-0537; ¶ 0568]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Mammou with the teachings of Zhang allowing for improved mesh to point cloud efficiency.
Conclusion
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483