DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that “slider”/”slidably” is interpreted to mean sliding in a linear fashion (i.e. not rotational).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marten (US Pub No. 2025/0367797 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Marten discloses
a crankshaft base (62) having opposing first (82a) and second (82b) end portions, wherein the first end portion is adapted to operably couple to the drive mechanism (182); and
a crank pin slider (comprising 68 and 116) having a crank pin (116) that is adapted to operably couple to the output mechanism (54), wherein the crank pin slider is slidably coupled (i.e. at least via 134a, 134b and 74) to the second end portion of the crankshaft base.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Marten discloses
a bias member (74) disposed in the crankshaft base and adapted to bias the crank pin slider to a first offset position (i.e. towards the right in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Marten discloses
the first end portion (82a) of the crankshaft base includes gear teeth (86).
Regarding Claim 11, Marten discloses
a crankshaft including:
a crankshaft base (62) having opposing first (82a) and second (82b) end portions, wherein the first end portion is operably coupled to the drive mechanism (182); and
a crank pin slider (comprising 68 and 116) with a crank pin (116), wherein the crank pin slider is slidably coupled (i.e. at least via 134a, 134b and 74) to the second end portion of the crankshaft base; and
an output mechanism (54) operably coupled to the crank pin.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record shows a crankshaft base to have a projection and a crank pin slider to have a corresponding channel to slidably receive the projection (Claims 3-8 and 13-18) or movement of the crank pin slider as claimed (Claims 9 and 19), in combination with the remaining elements.
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: None of the prior art of record shows the combination of elements as recited (Claim 20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brun (US Patent No. 6,330,842) discloses crankshaft 41 and slider 46.
Chiang (US Pub No. 2024/0042582) discloses crankshaft 32 and a ball detent as a slider in Fig. 3.
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 August 21, 2026