DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6-12-2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0357319, filed June 28, 2024.
As per claims 1 and 11, Ding discloses a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising: receiving sensing configuration information associated with a sensing target (Ding, ¶207);
performing, based on the sensing configuration information, first sensing measurements of the sensing target during a first measurement time window (Ding, ¶208);
determining, based on the first sensing measurements, dwelling time information associated with the sensing target; determining a length mismatch based on the dwelling time information; determining a second measurement time window based on the length mismatch; and performing second sensing measurements of the sensing target during the second measurement time window (Ding, ¶160 where the new sensing period is based on prior sensing).
Ding fails to expressly disclose dwell time, instead ensuring a target requirement is met. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use dwell time, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184. In this case, the requirement of Ding ensures sufficient data.
As per claims 2, 5, 12 and 15, Ding further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: determining the length mismatch comprises comparing the dwelling time information to a threshold; the comparing indicates that the length mismatch is short or long; and performing the second sensing measurements comprises bundling sensing measurements from a plurality of measurement time windows (Ding, ¶160 satisfying a requirement acts as a threshold).
The examiner submits it is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine how to process received data based on how it looks as compared to criteria.
As per claims 8 and 18, Ding further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: reporting, to a wireless network entity, an indication of the length mismatch, an indication of the second measurement time window, and the second sensing measurements (Ding, ¶206).
As per claims 9 and 19, Ding further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first measurement time window is defined by at least one of: a duration expressed in a quantity of seconds, symbols, slots, frames, or subframes; a start time expressed in absolute time, system time, relative time, serving node function (SNF) index, slot index, symbol index, frame index, or subframe index; or an end time expressed in absolute time, system time, relative time, SNF index, slot index, symbol index, frame index, or subframe index (Ding, ¶78 and 138 using specific time periods).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 16, 17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646