DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are pending. Claims 1-20 are cancelled.
Priority: 9/23/2015
Assignee: Oracle
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,732,865. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each limitation has obvious variants of each other.
Present(19/017,209)
Patent No. 10,732,865
An apparatus, comprising: an atomic transaction engine coupled to a processor and memory and configured to:
receive information describing an atomic transaction to be performed at an address of the memory, and responsive to the receiving:
write the information describing the atomic transaction into one or more storage locations accessible to the processor;
and issue an interrupt to the processor indicating that the atomic transaction should be executed by the processor.
6) a plurality of atomic transaction engine instances, each coupled via a respective memory interface to a respective one of the plurality of processor cores
11) and wherein to initiate the performance of the identified access operation by the second processor core, the second atomic transaction engine instance is configured to: write information about the identified access operation into one or more storage locations that are accessible to the second processor core;
11) and issue an interrupt to the second processor core indicating that the identified access operation should be executed by the second processor core.
wherein the information describing the atomic transaction is received from another processor responsive to determining that an operation to be executed by the other processor targets the memory.
6) wherein a first processor core of the plurality of processor cores comprises circuitry configured to: identify an access operation of an executing instruction that targets a location of data that is in the distributed shared random access memory
the processor configured to perform the atomic transaction responsive to receiving the interrupt.
12) wherein, in response to the interrupt, the second processor core is configured to perform the identified access operation
wherein the processor is further configured to write, into one or more other storage locations, response data for the performed atomic transaction,
and wherein the atomic transaction engine is further configured to send a response to the atomic transaction according to the response data.
11) the second atomic transaction engine instance is configured to: write information about the identified access operation into one or more storage locations that are accessible to the second processor core;
4) receiving, by the first atomic transaction engine instance from the second atomic transaction engine instance, a response frame comprising response data for the access operation; and in response to said receiving: returning, by the first atomic transaction engine instance, the response data to the first processor core;
wherein the memory controlled by the atomic transaction engine is a portion of a distributed shared memory controlled by a plurality of atomic transaction engines including the atomic transaction engine.
6) wherein each of the plurality of atomic transaction engine instances controls a respective portion of the distributed shared random access memory
wherein the atomic transaction targets a plurality of addresses of the distributed shared memory including the address of the memory controlled by the atomic transaction engine and one or more different addresses of respective memories controlled by other atomic transaction engines of the plurality of atomic transaction engines.
5) wherein the access operation targets multiple portions of the distributed shared random access memory, each associated with a different one of multiple ones of the plurality of processor cores
further comprising another processor configured to execute an instruction, wherein to execute the instruction the other processor is configured to:
identify that the instruction comprises an access targeting the address of the memory; and send the information to the atomic transaction engine instance responsive to the identifying.
6) identify an access operation of an executing instruction that targets a location of data that is in the distributed shared random access memory; and send, responsive to the identifying, parameters for the access operation via the respective memory interface to a first atomic transaction engine instance of the plurality of atomic transaction engine instances coupled to the first processor core;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “the processor” is unclear in which processor is being referred to since a plurality of processors are being declared. For examination purposes, the respective processor of the ATE is being presumed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24, 27-31, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duluk Jr. et al.(2014/0281299, “Duluk”).
As per claim 21, Duluk discloses:
A method, comprising:
receiving, at an atomic transaction engine, information describing an atomic transaction to be performed at an address of a memory controlled by the atomic transaction engine(Duluk, [0108 -- For example, the UVM driver 101 could use heuristic information to first change the state of a memory page from CPU-owned to CPU-shared the first time the memory page is accessed by the PPU 202, allowing for PPU 202 execution to resume quickly.], [0122 -- As shown, a method 500 begins at step 502, where the UVM driver 101 detects that the PPU 202 is accessing a CPU-owned memory page in system memory 104 resulting in a page fault.]), and responsive to the receiving:
writing the information describing the atomic transaction into one or more storage locations accessible to a processor coupled to the atomic transaction engine(Duluk, [0122 -- At step 504, the UVM driver 101 updates the PSD entry for the accessed memory page to indicate that the memory page is a CPU-shared memory page]);
and issuing an interrupt to the processor indicating that the atomic transaction should be executed by the processor(Duluk, [0050 -- The page fault sequence generally maps the memory page associated with the requested virtual memory address or changes the types of accesses permitted (e.g., read access, write access, atomic access).], [0122 -- At step 506, the UVM driver 101 causes a CPU interrupt.], [0122 -- At step 508, the CPU page table is updated to give the CPU read-only access to the memory page]).
Claims 22-27 are method/step claims that implement the apparatus of claims 29-34, respectively, and therefore the corresponding limitations are incorporated, as shown below.
As per claim 28, Duluk discloses:
An apparatus(Duluk, [0026 -- FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a computer system 100 configured to implement one or more aspects of the present invention. Computer system 100 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 102 and a system memory 104 communicating via an interconnection path that may include a memory bridge 105]), comprising: a
an atomic transaction engine coupled to a processor and memory(Duluk, [0034 -- In some embodiments, system memory 104 includes a unified virtual memory (UVM) driver 101. The UVM driver 101 includes instructions for performing various tasks related to management of a unified virtual memory (UVM) system common to both the CPU 102 and the PPUs 202.]) and configured to:
receive information describing an atomic transaction to be performed at an address of the memory(Duluk, [0122 -- As shown, a method 500 begins at step 502, where the UVM driver 101 detects that the PPU 202 is accessing a CPU-owned memory page in system memory 104 resulting in a page fault.]), and responsive to the receiving: write the information describing the atomic transaction into one or more storage locations accessible to the processor(Duluk, [0122 -- At step 504, the UVM driver 101 updates the PSD entry for the accessed memory page to indicate that the memory page is a CPU-shared memory page]);
and issue an interrupt to the processor indicating that the atomic transaction should be executed by the processor(Duluk, [0050 -- The page fault sequence generally maps the memory page associated with the requested virtual memory address or changes the types of accesses permitted (e.g., read access, write access, atomic access).], [0122 -- At step 506, the UVM driver 101 causes a CPU interrupt.], [0122 -- At step 508, the CPU page table is updated to give the CPU read-only access to the memory page]).
As per claim 29, the rejection of claim 28 is incorporated, in addition, Duluk discloses:
wherein the information describing the atomic transaction is received from another processor responsive to determining that an operation to be executed by the other processor targets the memory(Duluk, [0122 -- As shown, a method 500 begins at step 502, where the UVM driver 101 detects that the PPU 202 is accessing a CPU-owned memory page in system memory ]).
As per claim 30, the rejection of claim 28 is incorporated, in addition, Duluk discloses:
the processor configured to perform the atomic transaction responsive to receiving the interrupt(Duluk, [0122 -- At step 508, the CPU page table is updated to give the CPU read-only access to the memory page.], [0050 -- he page fault sequence generally maps the memory page associated with the requested virtual memory address or changes the types of accesses permitted (e.g., read access, write access, atomic access).]).
As per claim 31, the rejection of claim 30 is incorporated, in addition, Duluk discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to write, into one or more other storage locations, response data for the performed atomic transaction, and wherein the atomic transaction engine is further configured to send a response to the atomic transaction according to the response data(Duluk, [0123 -- The PPU page table is also updated to map the memory page within the PPU memory 204. This step corresponds to the read duplicate state at time T=5, as shown in FIG. 4A. At step 522, the UVM driver 101 causes a CPU interrupt. At step 524, the memory page is unmapped in the CPU page table, and the memory page in the system memory 104 is identified as a free memory page]).
As per claim 34, the rejection of claim 28 is incorporated, in addition, Duluk discloses:
another processor configured to execute an instruction, wherein to execute the instruction the other processor is configured to: identify that the instruction comprises an access targeting the address of the memory and send the information to the atomic transaction engine instance responsive to the identifying(Duluk, [0122 -- As shown, a method 500 begins at step 502, where the UVM driver 101 detects that the PPU 202 is accessing a CPU-owned memory page in system memory 104 resulting in a page fault.]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-26, 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duluk Jr. et al.(2014/0281299, “Duluk”), and further in view of Wu(2004/0117562, “Wu”).
Claims 25 -26 are method/step claims that implement the apparatus of claims 32-33, respectively, and therefore the corresponding limitations are incorporated, as shown below.
As per claim 32, the rejection of claim 28 is incorporated, in addition, Duluk does not explicitly disclose the following, however Wu discloses:
wherein the memory controlled by the atomic transaction engine is a portion of a distributed shared memory controlled by a plurality of atomic transaction engines including the atomic transaction engine(Wu, [0085 -- One array controller 10A may dynamically modify the base address and bound address for a shared memory region (e.g., for that array controller's reflected region) by modifying data stored in the metadata region. That array controller's memory controller 14A automatically broadcasts the modification via the memory-to-memory interconnect 18. In response to the modification being propagated to the remote array controllers, the remote array controllers may perform the metadata update, correspondingly increasing the size of their shared memory regions (e.g., by increasing the size of their partner-reflected regions if the local array controller increased the size of its reflected region).], [0052 -- This way, each access to the semaphore region completes atomically (i.e., the semaphore write does not complete locally unless it has completed remotely).]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Wu into the system Duluk for the benefit of confirming the performance of the remote memory access, as the memory controller delays the local memory access until the remote memory access is performed. Thereby, enables efficient memory sharing(Wu, 0010).
As per claim 33, the rejection of claim 32 is incorporated, in addition, Duluk does not explicitly disclose the following, however Wu discloses:
wherein the atomic transaction targets a plurality of addresses of the distributed shared memory including the address of the memory controlled by the atomic transaction engine and one or more different addresses of respective memories controlled by other atomic transaction engines of the plurality of atomic transaction engines(Wu, [0085 -- One array controller 10A may dynamically modify the base address and bound address for a shared memory region (e.g., for that array controller's reflected region) by modifying data stored in the metadata region. That array controller's memory controller 14A automatically broadcasts the modification via the memory-to-memory interconnect 18. In response to the modification being propagated to the remote array controllers, the remote array controllers may perform the metadata update, correspondingly increasing the size of their shared memory regions (e.g., by increasing the size of their partner-reflected regions if the local array controller increased the size of its reflected region).], [0052 -- This way, each access to the semaphore region completes atomically (i.e., the semaphore write does not complete locally unless it has completed remotely).]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Wu into the system Duluk for the benefit of confirming the performance of the remote memory access, as the memory controller delays the local memory access until the remote memory access is performed. Thereby, enables efficient memory sharing(Wu, 0010).
Claim(s) 35-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu(2004/0117562), and further in view of Duluk Jr. et al.(2014/0281299, “Duluk”).
As per claim 35, Wu discloses:
A system(Wu, [0034 -- FIG. 1 shows one embodiment of a distributed shared memory (DSM) system. Two nodes, node 10A and node 10B, are illustrated. In some embodiments, nodes 10A and 10B may each be configured as a storage controller (e.g., an array controller or a disk drive controller). Node 10A includes a processing device 12A, a memory controller 14A, and a memory 16A.]), comprising:
a plurality of atomic transaction engines respectively coupled to respective processors and respective memories(Wu, [0034 -- Two nodes, node 10A and node 10B, are illustrated. In some embodiments, nodes 10A and 10B may each be configured as a storage controller (e.g., an array controller or a disk drive controller). Node 10A includes a processing device 12A, a memory controller 14A, and a memory 16A.]), wherein the respective memories collectively implement a distributed shared memory, and wherein a local atomic transaction engine of the plurality of atomic transaction engines(Wu, [0040 -- In one embodiment, each shared region may occupy a set of contiguous physical memory addresses. Memory controller 14A may include mapping logic 34 in order to control each local memory access request targeting memory 16 dependent on which mapped region, if any, that local memory access request targets]);
Wu does not explicitly disclose the following, however Duluk discloses:
the local atomic transaction engine is configured to(Duluk, [0108 -- For example, the UVM driver 101 could use heuristic information to first change the state of a memory page from CPU-owned to CPU-shared the first time the memory page is accessed by the PPU 202, allowing for PPU 202 execution to resume quickly.], [0122 -- As shown, a method 500 begins at step 502, where the UVM driver 101 detects that the PPU 202 is accessing a CPU-owned memory page in system memory 104 resulting in a page fault.]) to:
receive information describing an atomic transaction to be performed at an address of the memory(Duluk, [0122 -- As shown, a method 500 begins at step 502, where the UVM driver 101 detects that the PPU 202 is accessing a CPU-owned memory page in system memory 104 resulting in a page fault.]), and responsive to the receiving:
write the information describing the atomic transaction into one or more storage locations accessible to the processor(Duluk, [0122 -- At step 504, the UVM driver 101 updates the PSD entry for the accessed memory page to indicate that the memory page is a CPU-shared memory page]);
and issue an interrupt to the processor indicating that the atomic transaction should be executed by the processor(Duluk, [0050 -- The page fault sequence generally maps the memory page associated with the requested virtual memory address or changes the types of accesses permitted (e.g., read access, write access, atomic access).], [0122 -- At step 506, the UVM driver 101 causes a CPU interrupt.], [0122 -- At step 508, the CPU page table is updated to give the CPU read-only access to the memory page]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Duluk into the system of Wu for the benefit of efficient transition of memory pages between parallel processing unit and central processing unit is enabled in a multi-processor architecture. Parallel processing unit is enabled to access memory pages with high efficiency(Duluk, 0127).
As per claim 36, the rejection of claim 35 is incorporated, in addition, in addition, Wu does not explicitly disclose the following, however Duluk discloses:
wherein the information describing the atomic transaction is received from another processor responsive to determining that an operation to be executed by the other processor targets the memory(Duluk, [0122 -- As shown, a method 500 begins at step 502, where the UVM driver 101 detects that the PPU 202 is accessing a CPU-owned memory page in system memory ]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Duluk into the system of Wu for the benefit of efficient transition of memory pages between parallel processing unit and central processing unit is enabled in a multi-processor architecture. Parallel processing unit is enabled to access memory pages with high efficiency(Duluk, 0127).
As per claim 37, the rejection of claim 35 is incorporated, in addition, in addition, Wu does not explicitly disclose the following, however Duluk discloses:
the processor configured to perform the atomic transaction responsive to receiving the interrupt(Duluk, [0122 -- At step 508, the CPU page table is updated to give the CPU read-only access to the memory page.], [0050 -- he page fault sequence generally maps the memory page associated with the requested virtual memory address or changes the types of accesses permitted (e.g., read access, write access, atomic access).]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Duluk into the system of Wu for the benefit of efficient transition of memory pages between parallel processing unit and central processing unit is enabled in a multi-processor architecture. Parallel processing unit is enabled to access memory pages with high efficiency(Duluk, 0127).
As per claim 38, the rejection of claim 37 is incorporated, in addition, in addition, Wu does not explicitly disclose the following, however Duluk discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to write, into one or more other storage locations, response data for the performed atomic transaction, and wherein the atomic transaction engine is further configured to send a response to the atomic transaction according to the response data(Duluk, [0123 -- The PPU page table is also updated to map the memory page within the PPU memory 204. This step corresponds to the read duplicate state at time T=5, as shown in FIG. 4A. At step 522, the UVM driver 101 causes a CPU interrupt. At step 524, the memory page is unmapped in the CPU page table, and the memory page in the system memory 104 is identified as a free memory page]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Duluk into the system of Wu for the benefit of efficient transition of memory pages between parallel processing unit and central processing unit is enabled in a multi-processor architecture. Parallel processing unit is enabled to access memory pages with high efficiency(Duluk, 0127).
As per claim 39, the rejection of claim 35 is incorporated, in addition, Wu discloses:
wherein the atomic transaction targets a plurality of addresses of the distributed shared memory including the address of the memory controlled by the atomic transaction engine and one or more different addresses of respective memories controlled by other atomic transaction engines of the plurality of atomic transaction engines(Wu, [0085 -- One array controller 10A may dynamically modify the base address and bound address for a shared memory region (e.g., for that array controller's reflected region) by modifying data stored in the metadata region. That array controller's memory controller 14A automatically broadcasts the modification via the memory-to-memory interconnect 18. In response to the modification being propagated to the remote array controllers, the remote array controllers may perform the metadata update, correspondingly increasing the size of their shared memory regions (e.g., by increasing the size of their partner-reflected regions if the local array controller increased the size of its reflected region).], [0052 -- This way, each access to the semaphore region completes atomically (i.e., the semaphore write does not complete locally unless it has completed remotely).]);
and wherein another processor is configured to send the information describing an atomic transaction to the atomic transaction engine and the other atomic transaction engines(Wu, [0037 -- An access is initiated in response to an access request received by the memory controller 14, either directly from the processing device 12 or from another device via a local bus within the node (not shown). Access requests received in this way are described as being "local" (because the memory controller receives these access requests over an internal bus or interconnect within the node), while access requests received via the memory-to-memory interconnect 18 are described as being "remote."]).
As per claim 40, the rejection of claim 35 is incorporated, in addition, Wu does not explicitly disclose the following, however Duluk discloses:
another processor configured to execute an instruction, wherein to execute the instruction the other processor is configured to: identify that the instruction comprises an access targeting the address of the memory and send the information to the atomic transaction engine instance responsive to the identifying(Duluk, [0122 -- As shown, a method 500 begins at step 502, where the UVM driver 101 detects that the PPU 202 is accessing a CPU-owned memory page in system memory 104 resulting in a page fault.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Duluk into the system of Wu for the benefit of efficient transition of memory pages between parallel processing unit and central processing unit is enabled in a multi-processor architecture. Parallel processing unit is enabled to access memory pages with high efficiency(Duluk, 0127).
Examiner’s Notes
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fromm(2014/0068201) where processors in a compute node offload transactional memory accesses addressing shared memory to a transactional memory agent. The transactional memory agent typically resides near the processors in a particular compute node. The transactional memory agent acts as a proxy for those processors. A first benefit of the invention includes decoupling the processor from the direct effects of remote system failures. Other benefits of the invention includes freeing the processor from having to be aware of transactional memory semantics, and allowing the processor to address a memory space larger than the processor's native hardware addressing capabilities(Fromm, abstract).
Conclusion
Arvind Talukdar
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2132
/ARVIND TALUKDAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132