DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the cited prior art does not teach a container having a mechanical coding configured for cooperating with switching element of the cleaning assembly. Although the mechanical coding taught by the prior art is not disclosed as intended to be used with switching elements, the coding is nonetheless descriptively indistinguishable from the coding recited in the claims. The mechanical coding would be configured for cooperating with switching elements simply by providing corresponding switching elements. Mechanical coding as contemplated by the preset application and the prior art would be capable of cooperating with switching elements as well as capable of functioning as the prior art intended. The intended use of the coding does not patentably distinguish the claims over prior art when the prior art teaches a container with the same structure that is capable of functioning as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE102016108822A1 by Klose et al.
As to claim 1, Klose discloses a container for storing a chemical used in a cleaning assembly for a cleaning a cooking appliance, the container having an open end to be mechanically connected to a port of a cleaning assembly, the container having a mechanical coding, the coding capable of cooperating with switching elements of a cleaning assembly (para. 47, note that while Klose does not disclose a cleaning assembly having switching elements, the assembly is not positively recited as part of the claimed invention; the container disclosed by Klose has mechanical coding that can cooperate with switching elements of a cleaning assembly configured as such).
As to claim 9, Klose discloses a group of containers with different mechanical coding (para. 47).
As to claim 10, Klose discloses that the container is in the form of an exchangeable cartridge (para. 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2015056063A1 by Zanchetta et al. in view of DE1020152086347A1 by Klose et al. (hereinafter “Klose ‘634”).
As to claim 1, Zanchetta teaches a container 210 for storing a chemical used in a cleaning assembly for a cleaning a cooking appliance, the container having an open end to be mechanically connected to a port of a cleaning assembly (fig. 1). Zanchetta does not explicitly teach that its container has a mechanical coding, the coding capable of cooperating with switching elements of a cleaning assembly. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to modify the container taught by Zanchetta to have mechanical coding. Klose ‘634 teaches a container for storing a chemical used for cleaning a cooking appliance, the container having a mechanical coding, the coding capable of cooperating with switching elements of a cleaning assembly (para. 32, a geometric design that can be identified by a reading device, note that while the reading device is not further described, the cleaning assembly is not positively claimed and switching elements are not required by the claim, a geometric design is capable of cooperating with a reading device embodied as switching elements). Klose ‘634 teaches that the coding allows for identification of the chemical in the container to avoid incorrect operation (para. 24). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the container taught by Zanchetta in order to realize this benefit taught by Klose ‘634. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 2, Zanchetta teaches that the mechanical connection is non-destructive (para. 18).
As to claim 3, Zanchetta teaches that the mechanical connection comprises one side of a thread connected for cooperating with a complementary structure of a cleaning assembly (para. 18).
As to claim 4, Zanchetta teaches that the mechanical connection comprises one side of a bayonet connected for cooperating with a complementary structure of a cleaning assembly (para. 18).
As to claim 5, Zanchetta teaches that the mechanical connection comprises a plug portion for cooperating with a sealing ring at a cleaning assembly (fig. 1, para. 18).
As to claim 10, Zanchetta teaches that the container 210 is in the form of an exchangeable cartridge (fig. 3).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102016108822A1 by Klose et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20140220184 by Boggs et al.
As to claims 6 and 7, Klose does not teach that its container has an RFID tag or one of a data matrix and a bar code. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have an RFID tag and a data matrix or bar code. Boggs teaches a container for storing a cleaning chemical, the container embodied as a cartridge, the container for storing a cleaning chemical, the container having an RFID tag or bar code for the purpose of allowing its system to identify the chemical in the cartridge (paras. 94-95). One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that RFID tags and bar codes were commonplace, and it would have readily been within the routine skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to use RFID technology and bar codes for their established and intended purposes as demonstrated by Boggs. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 8, Boggs teaches that its container has an opposite end with at least two recesses that are capable of allowing a user to grab the container (fig. 1).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2015056063A1 by Zanchetta et al. in view of DE1020152086347A1 by Klose et al. (hereinafter “Klose ‘634”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20140220184 by Boggs et al.
As to claims 6 and 7, Zanchetta does not teach that its container has an RFID tag or one of a data matrix and a bar code. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have an RFID tag and a data matrix or bar code. Boggs teaches a container for storing a cleaning chemical, the container embodied as a cartridge, the container for storing a cleaning chemical, the container having an RFID tag or bar code for the purpose of allowing its system to identify the chemical in the cartridge (paras. 94-95). One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that RFID tags and bar codes were commonplace, and it would have readily been within the routine skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to use RFID technology and bar codes for their established and intended purposes as demonstrated by Boggs. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 8, Boggs teaches that its container has an opposite end with at least two recesses that are capable of allowing a user to grab the container (fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SPENCER E. BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711