Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 10 have been amended, no claims have been canceled , and no claims have been added. Claims 1-18 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Regarding the newly amended claim 1, Applicant argues that “As amended, claims 1 and 10 are not taught or suggested by the cited combination of Ruden, Fallon, and Van Dusen. Neither singly nor in combination do these references disclose or render obvious the claimed integration of routing decisions with compression resource availability and network-aware compression selection. Ruden does not teach routing based on available compression resources at nodes. Ruden discloses managing transmission of data packets based on estimated latency values and bandwidth values of network data links. See Ruden [0006]. Ruden's routing decisions consider the transmission characteristics of the links themselves, their latency and bandwidth capacity. Ruden does not disclose or suggest routing bandwidth-critical segments through paths selected based on available compression resources at the nodes along those paths. Ruden contains no teaching of compression whatsoever, let alone any teaching that would motivate routing decisions based on where compression capabilities exist in the network. The claimed limitation requires routing bandwidth-critical segments to nodes that have compression resources available, a concept entirely absent from Ruden. Fallon does not teach compression selection based on real-time network conditions across potential transmission routes. Fallon discloses selecting compression routines based on data type and system throughput in a storage controller context. See Fallon col. 7, 11. 47-52; col. 8, 11. 1-17. Fallon's compression decisions are made locally at a storage controller and consider the controller's own throughput to and from a storage device. Fallon does not disclose determining compression selection based on real-time network conditions including current bandwidth utilization and latency measurements across potential transmission routes. Fallon is confined to a single-device storage system and contains no teaching of network topology, multiple transmission route options, or network-wide bandwidth utilization. The claimed limitation requires evaluating network conditions across the topology when selecting compression methods-a network-aware optimization entirely absent from Fallon's local storage controller context. Van Dusen does not teach network data compression, flow classification, or routing optimization. Van Dusen discloses a knowledge management system involving concept mapping and taxonomy organization. See Van Dusen [0416], [6750]. Van Dusen's "cnxpts" (concepts) and "codewords" relate to semantic knowledge representation, not data compression for network transmission efficiency. Van Dusen does not disclose classifying data segments as latency- critical or bandwidth-critical, does not teach selecting compression methods based on network conditions, and does not teach routing segments based on available compression resources. Van Dusen operates in a fundamentally different technical domain-knowledge management rather than network data transmission optimization. The claimed combination of features is not taught or suggested by any combination of the references. The amended claims require a coordinated optimization where: (1) compression method selection considers real-time network-wide conditions including bandwidth utilization and latency across potential routes; (2) routing decisions for bandwidth-critical segments consider which nodes along potential paths have compression resources available; and (3) the actual compression operation factors in both data characteristics and current network state. This integration, selecting both compression methods and transmission routes based on network topology and resource availability, is not disclosed or suggested by any of the cited references. Ruden teaches routing but not compression. Fallon teaches compression selection but only in a local, single-device context without network topology awareness. “
In response, Examiner relies on a new combination of references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RUDEN (WO2015119895A1) in view of Fallon (US8054879B2) in view of VAN DUSEN (US 2014/0075004 Al) in view of Vange (US20110296051A1)
Regarding claim 1, RUDEN discloses: A system for network-optimized multi-type data compression and transmission, comprising: a plurality of network nodes, each node comprising at least a memory and a processor; (RUDEN, [0006] digital network communication system…a plurality of computing nodes) a plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory and operable on the processor of each node, wherein the programming instructions, when operating on the processor, cause each network node to: analyze incoming data flows to: classify data segments as either latency-critical or bandwidth-critical; (RUDEN, Fig. 3; [0102], Figure 3 is a diagram that schematically illustrates an example of segmenting, reordering, and reassembling a dataset; [0006] receive, from a computing node, one or more data packets to be transmitted via one or more network data links; estimate a latency value for at least one of the network data links; estimate a bandwidth value for at least one of the network data links; determine an order of transmitting the data packets, wherein the order is determined based at least partly on the estimated latency value or the estimated bandwidth value of at least one of the network data link; and send the data packets over the network data links based at least partly on the determined order. In some implementations, the system can identify at least one of the one or more network data links for transmitting the data packets based at least partly on the estimated latency value of the estimated bandwidth value.)
process the data flows by: selecting transmission routes for the data flows, (RUDEN, [0077] the Communication Layer handles the details of choosing which links to send data over, and how much, as well as quality-of-service (QoS) for each dataset
wherein latency-critical segments are routed through paths having a lowest end-to-end latency, (RUDEN, [0087] Datasets can be segmented up and sent over all links according to the link bandwidth and latency; [0119] In addition to determining which blocks have been received, acks may also be used calculate the latency for each link; Examples of Choosing a Link, [0121]-[0122]; [0122] best links may be chosen either randomly or preferably by minimizing cost from among the active links For each such link, a cost may be calculated as: cost - (L + S/B) * C where L is the latency estimate for the link, S is the amount of data remaining to be sent, B is the available bandwidth…The link with the lowest cost can be chosen; [0130] prioritization may be for latency (higher-priority packets are sent first), bandwidth guarantees, or for particular link characteristics such as low jitter; [0132] allow high-priority packets to be sent preferentially over a low-latency link; [0136] The expected arrival time for a packet is calculated for each link as ETA = (link latency) ÷ (wait time). When sending a packet, the system can choose the link with the lowest expected arrival time.)
transmitting latency-critical segments without compression; (RUDEN, [0006], to manage transmission of data packets among a plurality of computing nodes, …receive, from a computing node, one or more data packets to be transmitted via one or more network data links; estimate a latency value for at least one of the network data links; estimate a bandwidth value for at least one of the network data links; determine an order of transmitting the data packets, wherein the order is determined based at least partly on the estimated latency value or the estimated bandwidth value of at least one of the network data link; and send the data packets over the network data links based at least partly on the determined order. In some implementations, the system can identify at least one of the one or more network data links for transmitting the data packets based at least partly on the estimated latency value of the estimated bandwidth value.)
However RUDEN does not clearly disclose:
maintain a synchronized codebook repository; and determine optimal coding selection for bandwidth-critical segments; and bandwidth-critical segments are routed through paths based on available compression resources at nodes along the path; compressing bandwidth-critical segments using at least one selected coding method from the synchronized codebook repository wherein the coding method is selected based on data characteristics of the segments and real-time network conditions including current bandwidth utilization and latency measurements; and maintain network synchronization by: monitoring codebook utilization across nodes; updating shared codebooks based on data flow patterns; and propagating codebook updates to connected nodes , wherein the propagating comprises coordinating updates among a plurality of nodes.
However Fallon discloses:
maintain a codebook repository; (Fallon, column 2, line 3- synchronous dynamic random access memory ;column 8, lines 1-10, a system for providing bandwidth sensitive data compression comprises a plurality of access profiles (corresponding to “codebook repository”), operatively accessible by the controller that enables the controller to determine a compression routine that is associated with a data type of the data to be compressed. The access profiles comprise information that enables the controller to select a suitable compression algorithm that provides a desired balance between execution speed (rate of compression) and efficiency ( compression ratio).)
and determine optimal coding selection for bandwidth-critical segments; (Fallon, column 7, lines 47-52,compressing and decompressing based on the actual or expected throughput (bandwidth) of a system employing data compression and a technique of optimizing based upon planned, expected, predicted, or actual usage; column 8, lines 45-48, comprises processing a user command to compress user-provided data and automatically selecting a compression routine associated with a data type of the user-provided data)
compressing bandwidth-critical segments using at least one coding method from the codebook repository; (Fallon, column 7, lines 47-52, compressing and decompressing based on the actual or expected throughput (bandwidth) of a system employing data compression and a technique of optimizing based upon planned, expected, predicted, or actual usage; column 8, lines 1-17, a system for providing bandwidth sensitive data compression comprises a plurality of access profiles, operatively accessible by the controller that enables the controller to determine a compression routine that is associated with a data type of the data to be compressed. The access profiles comprise information that enables the controller to select a suitable compression algorithm that provides a desired balance between execution speed (rate of compression) and efficiency ( compression ratio). a system comprises a data storage controller for controlling the compression and storage of compressed data to a storage device and the retrieval and decompression of compressed data from the storage device; column 7, lines 60-67, a controller for tracking the throughput of the system and generating a control signal to select a compression routine based on the system throughput.)
wherein the coding method is selected based on data characteristics of the segments (Fallon, column 11, line 27- select a suitable compression algorithm based on the data type; column 8, lines 1-5- a system for providing bandwidth sensitive data compression comprises a plurality of access profiles, operatively accessible by the controller that enables the controller to determine a compression routine that is associated with a data type of the data to be compressed)
and real-time network conditions including current bandwidth utilization (Fallon, column 8, e.g. line 22- The system throughput tracked by the controller comprises a number of pending transmission requests over the communication channel; column 14, line 52- employed in a data transmission controller in a network environment to provide accelerated data transmission over a communication channel (i.e., effectively increase the transmission bandwidth by compressing the data at the source and decompressing data at the receiver, in real-time ;column 9, line 11, compressing and decompressing based on the actual or expected throughput (bandwidth) of a system …line 18- utilizes a real-time data compression system to provide "accelerated" data storage and retrieval bandwidths;).
and maintain network synchronization by: monitoring codebook utilization across nodes; (Fallon, fig. 1; column 9, line 18- utilizes a real-time data compression; column 8, lines 1-17, e.g. The access profiles comprise information that enables the controller to select a suitable compression algorithm that provides a desired balance between execution speed (rate of compression) and efficiency ( compression ratio). … a system comprises a data storage controller for controlling the compression and storage of compressed data to a storage device and the retrieval and decompression of compressed data from the storage device; column 9, line 54- a controller tracks and monitors the throughput ( data storage and retrieval) of a data compression system and generates control signals to enable/disable different compression algorithms ; column 5, line 25- in developing a comprehensive set of metrics for measuring data compression algorithmic performance; column 18, line 42- Frequency of use or access codes may also be included.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN with the teaching of Fallon to reduce the amount of data required to process, transmit, or store a given quantity of information, (Fallon, column 2, line 42) and also to optimize overall bandwidth, storage space, or any operating point in between, (Fallon, column 10, lines 26-28).
However, RUDEN in view of Fallon does not clearly disclose: a synchronized codebook repository; and bandwidth-critical segments are routed through paths based on available compression resources at nodes along the path; wherein the coding method is selected based on data characteristics of the segments and real-time network conditions including current bandwidth utilization and latency measurements; updating shared codebooks based on data flow patterns; and propagating codebook updates to connected nodes, wherein the propagating comprises coordinating updates among a plurality of nodes.
However VAN DUSEN discloses:
a synchronized codebook repository;
(VAN DUSEN, [0416] A consensus can hold only for a certain period of time. Most often, cnxpts (corresponding to “codebook”) will be consistent (corresponding to “a synchronized codebook) in meaning for a long period of time if they are on a general level, but the consensus will vary on the detailed, recent cnxpts; [6750]- [6765], e.g. [6750] For this algorithm, the cnxpts are equivalent to codewords or code vectors which are located at the centroid of the encoding regions, and the set of all root cnxpts is analogous to a codebook; [ 6765] The fxxt specific TTX map dataset of cnxpt centroid points is first initialized by the initiation step above on the base data…Then, that dataset is repeatedly updated with changes that have the 'best' … error reduction effect; [5647] invoke server processes to obtain a new world coordinate position for the goal. The new position will be calculated as often as is practical during updates by a user and communication of those changes to the central (or distributed) CMM. The changes…will cause an update at the central (or distributed) CMM. Additionally, changes to goal properties, association with trxrts or purlieus, changes of fxxt associations or scopx, or stating of similarities will each cause an update at the central (or distributed) CMM; [1723] Hierarchies in the CMM are often partial orderings of the CMM cnxpts in that a hierarchy built from one relationship scopx and infxtypx and txo type may not encompass a vast majority of the ttxs in the CMM. )
updating shared codebooks based on data flow patterns; (VAN DUSEN [5647] invoke server processes to obtain a new world coordinate position for the goal. The new position will be calculated as often as is practical during updates by a user and communication of those changes to the central (or distributed) CMM. The changes…will cause an update at the central (or distributed) CMM. Additionally, changes to goal properties, association with trxrts or purlieus, changes of fxxt associations or scopx, or stating of similarities will each cause an update at the central (or distributed) CMM; [6750] the cnxpts are equivalent to codewords or code vectors which are located at the centroid of the encoding regions, and the set of all root cnxpts is analogous to a codebook. The set of all encoding regions is called a partitioning of the elastic surface. The objective of the algorithm is to adjust the positioning of the regions to effectively minimize the distortion caused by the initial partitioning based upon the tensors, sizes, and initial positionings; [ 6765] The fxxt specific TTX map dataset of cnxpt centroid points is first initialized by the initiation step above on the base data…Then, that dataset is repeatedly updated with changes that have the 'best'(usually the largest impact on the error metric, but also where out of bounds circumstances must be corrected first) error reduction effect, using steepest descent, considering the gradient of the Error Metric with respect to the cycle of the algorithm, until satisfactory convergence is achieved (where the error metric is reduced to a sufficient level or the descent is limited in its improvement per cycle, or a maximum number of iterations has occurred); [6959] Here, heuristic pattern factors can include but are not limited to: basis for choice of cnxpt is one term of the error metric which is larger than some level;)
and propagating codebook updates to connected nodes, (VAN DUSEN, [0416] A consensus can hold only for a certain period of time. Most often, cnxpts (corresponding to “codebook”) will be consistent in meaning for a long perid of time if they are on a general level, but the consensus will vary on the detailed, recent cnxpts; ;[6750]- [6765], e.g. [6750] For this algorithm, the cnxpts are equivalent to codewords or code vectors which are located at the centroid of the encoding regions, and the set of all root cnxpts is analogous to a codebook; [ 6765] The fxxt specific TTX map dataset of cnxpt centroid points is first initialized by the initiation step above on the base data…Then, that dataset is repeatedly updated with changes that have the 'best' … error reduction effect; [5647] invoke server processes to obtain a new world coordinate position for the goal. The new position will be calculated as often as is practical during updates by a user and communication of those changes to the central (or distributed) CMM. The changes…will cause an update at the central (or distributed) CMM. Additionally, changes to goal properties, association with trxrts or purlieus, changes of fxxt associations or scopx, or stating of similarities will each cause an update at the central (or distributed) CMM; [1723] Hierarchies in the CMM are often partial orderings of the CMM cnxpts in that a hierarchy built from one relationship scopx and infxtypx and txo type may not encompass a vast majority of the ttxs in the CMM. )
wherein the propagating comprises coordinating updates among a plurality of nodes. (VAN DUSEN [7685] Using this pull-down approach, software updates propagate down the hierarchy from the root as each child engine asks for updates; [6604] the leaf and root mentioned are consistently as seen from their positions in Descendant Trees. Each cnxpt or surrogate cnxpt has its own single identity, and markings Cprocessed', 'represented by', etc. are not duplicated for any cnxpt or surrogate cnxpt. Copying a cnxpt only means that a reference to it is to appear in a new use as a member of a path, tree, etc. Still, the routes from any cnxpt to its parents are applicable from any surrogate cnxpt serving as an alias-hyperlink for that cnxpt. ;[6750]- [6765], e.g. [6750] For this algorithm, the cnxpts are equivalent to codewords or code vectors which are located at the centroid of the encoding regions, and the set of all root cnxpts is analogous to a codebook; [ 6765] The fxxt specific TTX map dataset of cnxpt centroid points is first initialized by the initiation step above on the base data…Then, that dataset is repeatedly updated with changes that have the 'best' … error reduction effect; [5647] invoke server processes to obtain a new world coordinate position for the goal. The new position will be calculated as often as is practical during updates by a user and communication of those changes to the central (or distributed) CMM. The changes…will cause an update at the central (or distributed) CMM. Additionally, changes to goal properties, association with trxrts or purlieus, changes of fxxt associations or scopx, or stating of similarities will each cause an update at the central (or distributed) CMM;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN in view of Fallon with the teaching of VAN DUSEN to achieve consistency, harmonization, and traceability, (VAN DUSEN, [0100]) and to ensure consistency of re-imported data, (VAN DUSEN, [7383]) and also to maintain control and consistency of data that is moved between standalone systems, to ensure interactivity, (VAN DUSEN, [4038]).
However, RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN does not clearly disclose:
and bandwidth-critical segments are routed through paths based on available compression resources at nodes along the path; wherein the coding method is selected based on data characteristics of the segments and real-time network conditions including current bandwidth utilization and latency measurements;
However Vange discloses:
selecting transmission routes for the data flows, (Vange, [0270] to select a path or paths through which data will be sent. Because the RAQ, RAG, and RQ modules described above allow past, present, and future end-to-end path information to be obtained, one or more paths may be selected based on past, present, or predicted routing behavior of a network)
wherein latency-critical segments are routed through paths having a lowest end-to-end latency, (Vange, [0068] the shared bandwidth channel transports packets that are composed by selecting data from the plurality of links in an order and rate determined to provide differential levels of service between packets. The differential service levels may mean that some of the data are transported with lower latency and/or higher quality of service than other data; [0028], e.g. A least cost path segment for the area from the source to the exit point can be constructed, and each least cost path segment may be concatenated to form an end-to-end path. [0211] It is noted that the optimal communication path may differ based on the type of communication that will travel through the path. For example, communications that require low latency may have an optimal communication path of reduced bandwidth as long as the latency is low; [0214] the operating characteristics to be compared may be selected based on the type of data traffic ( e.g. high bandwidth, low latency, etc. ... ) being communicated. [0090], e.g. Although it is preferable to have low latency connections between front-ends 201 and back-ends 203, a particular strength of the present invention is its ability to deal with latency by enabling efficient transport and traffic prioritization; [0082]; [0270])
and bandwidth-critical segments are routed through paths based on available compression resources at nodes along the path; (Vange, [0085]-[0086], e.g. dynamic selection of a compression mechanism, performing the compression/decompression processes; [0018] monitoring the resources it relies on; [0094] Services such as encryption, compression, error correction and time synchronization that may not be available or efficiently implemented in particular clients 205 can be practically implemented in TMP link where the resources required to provide these services are shared across multiple clients 205; [0085] Traffic across the TMP link 202 is reduced, for example, by compressing data. Compression can be implemented using any available compression mechanism and may operate on a packet-by-packet level or by assembling data from multiple packets to compress across a larger data set [0115] an active cache that stores network resources that are anticipated to be access; [0091] Higher priority clients, or clients requesting higher priority data, can be given preferential access to network resource;)
wherein the coding method is selected based on data characteristics of the segments and real-time network conditions including current bandwidth utilization and latency measurements; (Vange, [0085]-[0086], e.g. dynamic selection of a compression mechanism based on the type of data being processed, performing the compression/decompression processes; [0208], e.g. monitors to track operating characteristics or other characteristics of one or more communication links or segments… track a link's bandwidth, latency, reliability, error rate, congestion, or a combination thereof. Operating characteristics of a plurality of links may then be compared. In one or more embodiments, where a TMP link 202 provides ( or would provide) an optimal communication path, the automator 2204 may automatically cause traffic to be sent through the TMP link 202; [0244]determining the set of (shortest) paths… the current state of the network; [0284] if current routing information indicates one or more damaged, congested, or otherwise undesirable links are in use, traffic may be redirected/sent through the TMP link 202. The benefit of current routing information is that communications may be directed through TMP links 202 in real time; [0064] compression of traffic between front-end and back-end mechanisms using public or proprietary data compression that can be readily selected and optimized for the particular content data currently being transported)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN with the teaching of Vange to implement route aware dynamic network link acceleration that provides a managed communication channel for accelerated and reliable network communication between a client and other network devices as needed. Network traffic may be routed through one or more of the segments based on various criteria to improve communication of the traffic ,(Vange, abstract, [0002]) and also based on the prioritization value, may selectively implement
such features as caching, encryption, security, compression, error correction and the like to improve performance and/or functionality. The prioritization value is dynamically
altered, statically set, or updated from time to time to meet the needs of a particular application, (Vange, [0117].
Claim 10 corresponds to claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 2, RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN in view of Vange discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 2 further recites: analyzing data characteristics, the data characteristics comprising one or more of ordering requirements (RUDEN [0006], wherein the order is determined based at least partly on the estimated latency value or the estimated bandwidth value of at least one of the network data link;)
evaluating network conditions, the network conditions comprising one or more of available processing capacity, current bandwidth utilization, and end-to-end latency requirements. (RUDEN, [0143] The system can evaluate bandwidth as (amount of data)/(time)… At any time the system can calculate the bandwidth as: amount/ ((current time)- (start time)).; [0178] where other links/paths are available it may not be ideal to increase the bandwidth on all links to nodes in between so those that have available capacity may be subject to an increase in bandwidth; [0006], receive, from a computing node, one or more data packets to be transmitted via one or more network data links; estimate a latency value for at least one of the network data links; estimate a bandwidth value for at least one of the network data links; determine an order of transmitting the data packets, wherein the order is determined based at least partly on the estimated latency value or the estimated bandwidth value of at least one of the network data link; and send the data packets over the network data links based at least partly on the determined order. In some implementations, the system can identify at least one of the one or more network data links for transmitting the data packets based at least partly on the estimated latency value of the estimated bandwidth value.)
However RUDEN does not clearly disclose:
wherein determining optimal coding selection comprises: analyzing data characteristics, the data characteristics comprising one or more of symbol distribution patterns, sequence repetitions, and compression ratio targets
However Fallon discloses:
wherein determining optimal coding selection comprises: analyzing data characteristics, the data characteristics comprising one or more of compression ratio targets; (Fallon, column 14, line 36- the system can detect the type of data being installed or stored to disk (via file extension, etc.) and automatically select an appropriate algorithm using the Access Profile information as described above; column 18, line 29- The term “type” refers to the sector map type. For example, a value of “00” corresponds to this sector map definition. Other values are preferably reserved for future redefinitions of the sector map. A “C Type” denotes a compression type. A value of “000” will correspond to no compression. Other values are defined as required depending on the application; column 5, lines 44-51, The final compressed data stream is generated by selectively combining blocks of the compressed streams output from the plurality of encoders based on one or more factors such as the optimal compression ratios obtained by the plurality of decoders.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN with the teaching of Fallon to reduce the amount of data required to process, transmit, or store a given quantity of information, (Fallon, column 2, line 42) and also to optimize overall bandwidth, storage space, or any operating point in between, (Fallon, column 10, lines 26-28).
However RUDEN in view of Fallon does not clearly disclose:
symbol distribution patterns, sequence repetitions,
However VAN DUSEN discloses:
symbol distribution patterns,
(VAN DUSEN , [3486] Observe patterns: Grouping…Pattern of information flow; [6025] For example, and as a general pattern for all hierarchical commonalities, if txo X is specified for cnxpt A, txo Y has a commonality with txo X, and txo Y is specified for cnxpt B, then an Imputed Hierarchical association from the Hierarchical Commonality Relationship is created between cnxpt A and cnxpt B, in the proper direction, where the commonality is a hierarchical commonality;[6750] the cnxpts are equivalent to codewords or code vectors which are located at the centroid of the encoding regions, and the set of all root cnxpts is analogous to a codebook. The set of all encoding regions is called a partitioning of the elastic surface. The objective of the algorithm is to adjust the positioning of the regions to effectively minimize the distortion caused by the initial partitioning based upon the tensors, sizes, and initial positionings;
sequence repetitions
(VAN DUSEN, [1810] Collation—Specifies the collating sequence (or sorting sequence) to be used when performing comparison and ordering operations on values of each property. [6751], Markov chain Monte Carlo (corresponding to “sequence repetitions”): [4988] classified ‘ads’ streams; [3486] Pattern of information flow: continuous/exponential/wavy in bulks)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN in view of Fallon with the teaching of VAN DUSEN to achieve consistency, harmonization, and traceability, (VAN DUSEN, [0100]) and to ensure consistency of re-imported data, (VAN DUSEN, [7383]) and also to maintain control and consistency of data that is moved between standalone systems, to ensure interactivity, (VAN DUSEN, [4038])
Claim 11 corresponds to claim 2, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 3, RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN in view of Vange discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 3 further recites: wherein processing the data flows further comprises: maintaining separate optimization strategies for: (RUDEN [0058] Reliability Options - the Communication Layer 112 offers four basic different reliability options for datasets: (1) unacked (no acknowledgement at all), (2) unreliable ( datasets may be dropped, but segments are acked so that transmission is successful over lossy links), (3) reliable (datasets are sent reliably, but are handled by the receiver as they are received), and (4) ordered (datasets are sent reliably, and are handled by the receiver in the order that they were sent).
different data types; (RUDEN, [0058] the Communication Layer 112 offers four basic different reliability options for datasets: (1) unacked (no acknowledgement at all), (2) unreliable ( datasets may be dropped, but segments are acked so that transmission is successful over lossy links), (3) reliable (datasets are sent reliably, but are handled by the receiver as they are received), and (4) ordered (datasets are sent reliably, and are handled by the receiver in the order that they were sent) ;[0076] Note that since this transmission strategy may not be dataset-centric in some implementations, a given partial dataset may be split up or combined more in order to traverse different Links depending on the underlying Link Module.)
different flow characteristics; (RUDEN, [0058] the Communication Layer 112 offers four basic different reliability options for datasets: (1) unacked (no acknowledgement at all), (2) unreliable ( datasets may be dropped, but segments are acked so that transmission is successful over lossy links), (3) reliable (datasets are sent reliably, but are handled by the receiver as they are received), and (4) ordered (datasets are sent reliably, and are handled by the receiver in the order that they were sent; [0076] One example might include specifying the maximum segment size for each link that it creates; the Communication Layer can ensure that the segments sent over each link are no larger than that link's maximum segment size. Note that since this transmission strategy may not be dataset-centric in some implementations, a given partial dataset may be split up or combined more in order to traverse different Links depending on the underlying Link Module)
and different network conditions; (RUDEN, [0058] These strategies can be extended to match other network approaches; [0076] Each Link Module 1 10 can be responsible for creating links over its particular communication protocol, and sending and receiving segments over those links. In some implementations, the Link Module may be a network-dependent component that leverages the native strategies for the given underlying network technology and not a generic mechanism. One example might include specifying the maximum segment size for each link that it creates; the Communication Layer can ensure that the segments sent over each link are no larger than that link's maximum segment size. Note that since this transmission strategy may not be dataset-centric in some implementations, a given partial dataset may be split up or combined more in order to traverse different Links depending on the underlying Link Module. This can have implications for security considerations, including access control and/or encryption, as well as general availability of information that is being filtered or in another way not included in the foregoing, restricted.)
However RUDEN does not clearly disclose: and implementing dynamic switching between coding methods based on: observed performance metrics; changing data patterns; and network state changes.
However Fallon discloses:
and implementing dynamic switching between coding methods based on: observed performance metrics; (Fallon, column 8, lines 1-10, a system for providing bandwidth sensitive data compression comprises a plurality of access profiles, operatively accessible by the controller that enables the controller to determine a compression routine that is associated with a data type of the data to be compressed. The access profiles comprise information that enables the controller to select a suitable compression algorithm that provides a desired balance between execution speed (rate of compression) and efficiency ( compression ratio) (corresponding to “observed performance metrics”) .
changing data patterns; (Fallon, column 2, line 31- In addition, the inclusion of redundancy in digital data representation enables error detection and/or correction. Error detection and/or correction capabilities are dependent upon the amount and type of data redundancy, available error detection and correction processing, and extent of data corruption.)
and network state changes. (Fallon, column 8, e.g. lines 26-37, providing bandwidth sensitive data compression in a data processing system, comprises the steps of: compressing data using an first compression routine providing a first compression rate; tracking the throughput of the data processing system to determine if the first compression rate provides a throughput that meets a predetermined throughput threshold; and compressing data using a second compression routine providing a second compression rate that is greater than the first compression rate, if the tracked throughput does not meet the predetermined throughput threshold.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN with the teaching of Fallon to reduce the amount of data required to process, transmit, or store a given quantity of information, (Fallon, column 2, line 42) and also to optimize overall bandwidth, storage space, or any operating point in between, (Fallon, column 10, lines 26-28).
Claim 12 corresponds to claim 3, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 4, RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN in view of Vange discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. RUDEN in view of Fallon does not clearly disclose: wherein maintaining network synchronization further comprises: implementing version control for codebooks through: tracking codebook versions across nodes; managing atomic updates; and maintaining rollback capabilities; and coordinating updates between nodes using: distributed consensus protocols; conflict resolution mechanisms; and consistency verification checks.
However VAN DUSEN discloses:
wherein maintaining network synchronization further comprises: implementing version control for codebooks through: tracking codebook versions across nodes; managing atomic updates; (VAN DUSEN [0123] In another example, known methods provide inadequate business models for traceability and version control over changes made in central data stores (vendor's or private) and local systems that might be managed by users and might contain data not privy to the categorization service vendor. Again, it falls to the user of such services to ensure that the data is valid and up-to-date; [6750] For this algorithm, the cnxpts are equivalent to codewords or code vectors which are located at the centroid of the encoding regions, and the set of all root cnxpts is analogous to a codebook; [6765] The fxxt specific TTX map dataset of cnxpt centroid points is first initialized by the initiation step above on the base data ( any random initialization is sufficient, but using the prior positioning improves user familiarity with the resulting map cnxpt positions, even if obtained from a different fxxt). Then, that dataset is repeatedly updated with changes that have the 'best' (usually the largest impact on the error metric, but also where out of bounds circumstances must be correctedfirst) error reduction effect)
and maintaining rollback capabilities; (VAN DUSEN [7460] Script Operations May be Undone, Causing Rollback [7461] Script steps, whether result set operations, queries, analytics, etc. may be undone. The result of the undo will be a rollback or a reversion of the result set data to its state prior to the script step execution.)
and coordinating updates between nodes using: (VAN DUSEN [5647] In each of the following, invoke server processes to obtain a new world coordinate position for the goal. The new position will be calculated as often as is practical during updates by a user and communication of those changes to the central (or distributed) CMM. The changes to mark relevance of a document, or to view a document in the result set will cause an update at the central (or distributed) CMM. Additionally, changes to goal properties, association with trxrts or purlieus, changes of fxxt associations or scopx, or stating of similarities will each cause an update at the central (or distributed) CMM. At best, these changes will cause an immediate repositioning of the goal avatar on the local system.)
distributed consensus protocols;
(VAN DUSEN [0528] As used herein, the term "distributed" refers to a computational task or function that is broken into sub-functions or processes to execute on more than one distinct computing device so that all of the devices act harmoniously to deliver the desired result or overall function; [5656] The mechanism for gaining consensus about the data within an ontology evaluates the various opinions submitted in specific ways; page 295, x) utilizing said collective consensus; y) such that a computer with server functions performs management of said commonplace, calculates one or more collective consensus of the opinions entered into said commonplace, and calculates one or more categorizations of said commonplace information and such that a computers hosting workbench functions connect to a computer with server functions to obtain commonplace information)
conflict resolution mechanisms; (VAN DUSEN [6754] The algorithm assigns cnxpt positions based upon prior position information if it is available and does not conflict with the confines of a parent, or randomly within the bounds of their parents, with the most important child (whose sub tree is most important) at the center of the parent, and other children just inside the skin of the parent.)
and consistency verification checks. (VAN DUSEN [0100] The command and control system would have to connect the point solution results to a user's view of the CMM when appropriate to achieve consistency, harmonization, and traceability; [0453] DataSets include, but are not limited to: "TTX-DataSets" consisting of ttx definitions, descriptions, and characteristics and related data, with specified limitations;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN in view of Fallon with the teaching of VAN DUSEN to achieve consistency, harmonization, and traceability, (VAN DUSEN, [0100]) and to ensure consistency of re-imported data, (VAN DUSEN, [7383]) and also to maintain control and consistency of data that is moved between standalone systems, to ensure interactivity, (VAN DUSEN, [4038])
Claim 13 corresponds to claim 4, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 5, RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN in view of Vange discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 5 further recites: wherein each network node is further caused to: monitor compression performance through: tracking compression ratios; (RUDEN, [0056] Load-Balancing - The Communication Layer 112 can monitor the available bandwidth and latency of each link that makes up a connection.)
measuring processing overhead; (RUDEN, [0251] to calculate bandwidth with low overhead.)
calculating end-to-end latency; (RUDEN, [0006] estimate a latency value for at least one of the network data links;)
and evaluating resource utilization; (RUDEN, [0102] nonsecure datasets sent over an encrypted connection may not be encrn1ted. This allows the user to dynamically choose which data may be encrypted, reducing resource usage if there may be data that may not need Security Groups)
However RUDEN does not clearly disclose: and adapt compression strategies based on: historical performance data; current network conditions; and application requirements.
However Fallon discloses:
and adapt compression strategies based on: historical performance data; current network conditions; and application requirements. (Fallon, column 7, line 59- a controller for tracking the throughput of the system and generating a control signal to select a compression routine based on the system throughput. In a preferred embodiment, when the controller determines that the system throughput falls below a predetermined throughput threshold, the controller commands the data compression engine to use a compression routine providing a faster rate of compression so as to increase the throughput; column 8, lines 1-10, a system for providing bandwidth sensitive data compression comprises a plurality of access profiles, operatively accessible by the controller that enables the controller to determine a compression routine that is associated with a data type of the data to be compressed. The access profiles comprise information that enables the controller to select a suitable compression algorithm that provides a desired balance between execution speed (rate of compression) and efficiency ( compression ratio).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN with the teaching of Fallon to reduce the amount of data required to process, transmit, or store a given quantity of information, (Fallon, column 2, line 42) and also to optimize overall bandwidth, storage space, or any operating point in between, (Fallon, column 10, lines 26-28).
Claim 14 corresponds to claim 5, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 6, RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN in view of Vange discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. RUDEN does not clearly disclose: wherein processing the data flows further comprises: implementing hybrid coding approaches by: applying different coding methods to different parts of the same data flow; maintaining coding method boundaries; and managing coding method transitions; and optimizing coding parameters based on: observed data characteristics; available resources; and performance requirements.
However Fallon discloses:
wherein processing the data flows further comprises: implementing hybrid coding approaches by: applying different coding methods to different parts of the same data flow; maintaining coding method boundaries; and managing coding method transitions; (Fallon, column 5, line 44- The final compressed data stream is generated by selectively combining blocks of the compressed streams output from the plurality of encoders based on one or more factors such as the optimal compression ratios obtained by the plurality of decoders;column 9, line 54- a controller tracks and monitors the throughput ( data storage and retrieval) of a data compression system and generates control signals to enable/disable different compression algorithms when, e.g., a bottleneck occurs so as to increase the throughput and eliminate the bottleneck; column 8, lines 11-17, a system comprises a data storage controller for controlling the compression and storage of compressed data to a storage device and the retrieval and decompression of compressed data from the storage device)
and optimizing coding parameters based on: observed data characteristics; available resources; and performance requirements. (Fallon, column 7, line 59- a controller for tracking the throughput of the system and generating a control signal to select a compression routine based on the system throughput. In a preferred embodiment, when the controller determines that the system throughput falls below a predetermined throughput threshold, the controller commands the data compression engine to use a compression routine providing a faster rate of compression so as to increase the throughput; column 8, lines 1-10, a system for providing bandwidth sensitive data compression comprises a plurality of access profiles, operatively accessible by the controller that enables the controller to determine a compression routine that is associated with a data type of the data to be compressed. The access profiles comprise information that enables the controller to select a suitable compression algorithm that provides a desired balance between execution speed (rate of compression) and efficiency ( compression ratio).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN with the teaching of Fallon to reduce the amount of data required to process, transmit, or store a given quantity of information, (Fallon, column 2, line 42) and also to optimize overall bandwidth, storage space, or any operating point in between, (Fallon, column 10, lines 26-28).
Claim 15 corresponds to claim 6, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 7, RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN in view of Vange discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 7 further recites: wherein each network node is further caused to: implement route optimization by: maintaining topology awareness; monitoring path performance metrics; and selecting optimal routes based on flow classification; (RUDEN, [0005] The disclosure provides examples of systems and methods for adaptive load balancing, prioritization, bandwidth reservation, and/or routing in a network communication system. In various embodiments, the disclosed methods can provide reliable multi-path load-balancing, overflow, and/or failover services for routing over a variety of network types. In some embodiments, disconnected routes can be rebuilt by selecting feasible connections; [0224] each Link Module 1 10 may have within it a set of Cost Metrics published that may allow Distrix to choose the best communication path. )
and manage network resources through: dynamic resource allocation; load balancing; and congestion avoidance. (RUDEN [0005] provide reliable multi-path load-balancing, overflow, and/or failover services for routing over a variety of network types; [0043] automating horizontal and vertical handoff between different network services… Providing for a configurable network service prioritization scheme that may work within bandwidth allocation limits… Dynamically changing some or all of these and/or other network-related metrics; [0226] In this manner, the routing may be recalculated and a new route may be set up for data transport in some implementations. Similarly, in some implementations, Distrix can transmit the metadata to specific interested nodes throughout the network when there is reason, a request for resource can be sent back and the two Distrix Servers can connect directly over a long--distance, pre-agreed-upon network; [0006], to manage transmission of data packets among a plurality of computing nodes, … estimate a latency value for at least one of the network data links; estimate a bandwidth value for at least one of the network data links; determine an order of transmitting the data packets, wherein the order is determined based at least partly on the estimated latency value or the estimated bandwidth value of at least one of the network data link; and send the data packets over the network data links based at least partly on the determined order.)
Claim 16 corresponds to claim 7, and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 8, RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN in view of Vange discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Claim 8 further recites: wherein classifying data segments comprises: analyzing incoming flows using: temporal characteristics; (RUDEN [0093] bandwidth for each priority level can be continuously calculated, even if datasets are not being queued. For each priority, a total and time are kept. Bandwidth for a priority may be calculated as total / (now - time). The total may be initialized to 0, and the time may be initialized to the link creation time.)
and application-specific requirements; (RUDEN, fig. 7, item “DISTRIX LINK SEGMENTS ARE SENT/ RECEIVED IN A PROTOCOL- SPECIFIC MANNER”; [0059], Some applications may require encryption for datasets. Encryption may be applied before a dataset is sent over a connection (for instance per-dataset) as part of the Communication Layer or may be applied (for instance per-segment) at the Link Layer. In some implementations, when encryption is applied at the Link Layer, this could allow segments to be sent unencrypted over trusted links, restricting the overhead of encryption to untrusted links; [0047] a dataset may also be any structured data from an application held in various memory structures, either by address reference, registers, or actual data.)
and maintaining adaptive classification thresholds based on: historical performance data; current network conditions; (RUDEN, [0114]-[0116]; [0114] When a new link is created, the bandwidth estimate for that link may be a configurable value or some default value; [0115] One way to estimate the bandwidth for a link is to use the acks for segments sent over that link in a given time period to estimate the percentage of lost data over that time period. If the loss percentage is higher than some configurable threshold, the bandwidth estimate for that link may be reduced by some factor. The factor may be changed based on the link history. For example, if there was previously no data loss at the current bandwidth estimate, the reduction may be small (e.g., multiply the bandwidth estimate by 51 1/512). However if several reductions have been performed in a row, the reduction could be much larger (e.g., multiply by 3/4); [0116] If the loss percentage is lower than the threshold, and there is a demand for additional bandwidth (for example, data is being queued), then the bandwidth estimate for a fink may be increased by some factor. The factor may be changed based on the link history, similar to the reduction factor. The bandwidth estimate should not be increased if the current estimated bandwidth is not being filled by sent data.)
However RUDEN in view of Fallon does not clearly disclose: pattern recognition algorithms; and observed flow patterns.
However VAN DUSEN discloses:
pattern recognition algorithms; (VAN DUSEN, [2051] Process Pattern Recognition) and observed flow patterns. (VAN DUSEN [3486] Observe patterns: Grouping… Pattern of information flow: continuous/exponential/wavy in bulks)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN in view of Fallon with the teaching of VAN DUSEN to achieve consistency, harmonization, and traceability, (VAN DUSEN, [0100]) and to ensure consistency of re-imported data, (VAN DUSEN, [7383]) and also to maintain control and consistency of data that is moved between standalone systems, to ensure interactivity, (VAN DUSEN, [4038])
Claim 17 corresponds to claim 8, and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RUDEN (WO2015119895A1) in view of Fallon (US8054879B2) in view of VAN DUSEN (US 2014/0075004 Al) in view of Vange (US20110296051A1) in further view of Reznik (US 2010/0141489 Al )
Regarding claim 9, RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN in view of Vange discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. RUDEN does not disclose: wherein the synchronized codebook repository comprises at least: a first codebook implementing Huffman coding; a second codebook implementing alphabetic coding; and a third codebook implementing Tunstall coding.
However Fallon discloses:
wherein the synchronized codebook repository comprises at least: a first codebook implementing Huffman coding; (Fallon, column 4, line 64- Of popular compression techniques, arithmetic coding possesses the highest degree of algorithmic effectiveness, and as expected, is the slowest to execute. This is followed in turn by dictionary compression, Huffman coding, and run-length coding with respectively decreasing execute times.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN with the teaching of Fallon to reduce the amount of data required to process, transmit, or store a given quantity of information, (Fallon, column 2, line 42) and also to optimize overall bandwidth, storage space, or any operating point in between, (Fallon, column 10, lines 26-28).
However RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN in view of Vange does not clearly disclose: a second codebook implementing alphabetic coding; and a third codebook implementing Tunstall coding.
However Reznik discloses:
a second codebook implementing alphabetic coding; and a third codebook implementing Tunstall coding. (Reznik, [0005] A video encoder applies transform, quantization and lossless source coding processes (i.e. entropy coding) to further reduce the bit rate of the residual block produced by the video coding process…Lossless source coding generally involves the application of arithmetic codes or variable length codes (VLCs) to further compress residual coefficients produced by the transform and quantization operations. Examples of lossless coding techniques include context-adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC) and context-adaptive variable length coding (CAVLC), which may be used as alternative lossless coding modes in some encoders. Other possible lossless coding techniques include variable-to-fixed length codes, sometimes referred to as VF codes. Examples of well-known VF codes include Tunstall codes and Khodak codes; [0084] Arrangement of the codes within a group according to the lexicographic order of the words they represent may support direction computation of codes in the group based on the value of the lexicographically first code.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of RUDEN in view of Fallon in view of VAN DUSEN in view of Vange with the teaching of Reznik to reduce memory requirements that may enable the use of larger VF coding trees, which in turn, may lead to enhanced efficiency (i.e., lower redundancy) of the encoding, (Reznik, [0030]).
Claim 18 corresponds to claim 9, and is rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/F.F. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166