DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 as amended and new claims 9-17 as set forth in applicant’s response filed 28 April 2026 are presently under consideration.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome some of the indefiniteness rejections of record which are withdrawn, but others are maintained below.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have introduced issues of new matter explained below.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the prior art grounds of rejections of claims 4-8 which are thus withdrawn from further consideration.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s new and newly amended claims, new prior art was discovered and new grounds of rejection for claim 1 is set forth below.
Additionally the previously presented prior art grounds of rejection for each of claims 2 and 3 are maintained and updated to show where the new limitations are taught disclosed or made obvious.
Applicant’s arguments and remarks where applicable are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “the electrically-conductive material and the back electrode layer are integrally sintered into an integrated structure to form a continuous conductive path between the two adjacent sub-cell packs, and the intermediate connection strap is a continuous extension of the back electrode layer, integrally formed with the back electrode layer with no interface therebetween” which is not supported by applicant’s originally filed specification, drawings or original claims. Applicant’s originally filed specification at most recites “In some embodiments, the electrically conductive material filled in the groove formed by the P2 line includes a conductive paste, conductive ink, metal coating, or the like” which does not provide support for the electrically-conductive material and the back electrode layer being integrally sintered into an integrated structure. Although it is known to form conductive connections through sintering of metal pastes and inks, they do not necessarily require this step and can instead be dried or cured to form the conductive layer or connection. Further, given that this is a perovskite solar cell module and the electrically conductive material is being deposited over the perovskite layer, any subsequent sintering process would need to be performed at a low enough temperature to avoid damaging the temperature sensitive perovskite absorber material while integrally sintering the electrically-conductive material and the back electrode layer to form a continuous conductive path between the two adjacent sub-cell packs, and the intermediate connection strap is a continuous extension of the back electrode layer, integrally formed with the back electrode layer with no interface therebetween which is not disclosed or supported in applicant’s originally filed disclosure.
As such Claim 1 and by dependency claims 4-5 and 9-11 are rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the intermediate insulation strap and the intermediate connection strap are arranged in parallel between the two adjacent sub-cell packs” where it’s unclear what structural limitation parallel is meant to place on the intermediate insulation strap and the intermediate connection strap as applicant’s Fig. 1 which illustrates the embodiment claimed in claim 1 illustrates the intermediate insulation strap 2 extending perpendicular to the intermediate connection strap 8 between the two adjacent sub-cell packs. As such, the scope of claim 1 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 4-5 and 9-11 depend from indefinite claim 1 and are also found indefinite for the same reason.
Claim 2 recites “the series connection strap is a continuous extension of the back electrode layer, integrally formed with the back electrode layer with no interface therebetween, and formed by retaining a portion of the back electrode layer after scribing a P4 line through the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at a position of the insulation groove, the insulation grooves are recesses penetrating the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer to expose the substrate, and the insulation grooves block all conductive paths between the series connection strap and the two adjacent sub-cell packs to prevent short-circuiting and unnecessary current leakage between the two adjacent sub-cell packs” where it’s unclear which back electrode layer is being referenced in the above recitation of claim 2. It’s not clear which of the multiple previously defined back electrode layers the series connection strap is a continuous extension of, and further it’s unclear which insulation groove is being referenced by the recitation “after scribing a P4 line through the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at a position of the insulation groove” given multiple insulation grooves are previously defined. As such, the scope of claim 2 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 6-7, and 12-14 depend from indefinite claim 2 and are also found indefinite for the same reason.
Claim 3 recites “an internal structure of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units” in lines 16-17, but claim 3 recites a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units for each of the two adjacent sub-cell packs, and it’s unclear which of the positive electrode tabs, the negative electrode tabs, and the plurality of cell units are being referenced in lines 16-17. As such the scope of claim 3 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 3 recites the plurality of cell units includes “a substrate” in line 17 where it’s unclear if this means each sub-cell pack which comprises a plurality of cell units includes a separate substrate or share the same substrate. For this reason, the scope of claim 3 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 3 recites “and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab, are respectively separated into sub-cell packs with an internal conductive connection” in lines 18-20 but it’s unclear if the recited “sub-cell packs” in this recitation are new sub-cell packs or mean to reference the sub-cell packs recited in lines 6-7 of claim 3. It’s unclear if these two adjacent cell units are part of the same sub-cell pack or separate but adjacent sub-cell packs. For these reasons, the scope of claim 3 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 3 further recites “leftmost” and “rightmost” sub-cell packs in lines 32-34 but “leftmost” and “rightmost” are relative terms and claim 3 does not define along what axis or direction the “leftmost” and “rightmost” are being compared against (horizontal or longitudinal directions).
Claim 3 recites “an internal structure of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units” in lines 51-52, but claim 3 recites a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units for each of the plurality of sub-cell packs, and it’s unclear which of the positive electrode tabs, the negative electrode tabs, and the plurality of cell units are being referenced in lines 51-52. As such the scope of claim 3 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 3 recites the plurality of cell units includes “a substrate” in line 52 where it’s unclear if this means each sub-cell pack which comprises a plurality of cell units includes a separate substrate or share the same substrate. For this reason, the scope of claim 3 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 3 recites “and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab, are respectively separated into sub-cell packs with an internal conductive connection” in lines 53-55 but it’s unclear if the recited “sub-cell packs” in this recitation are new sub-cell packs or mean to reference the sub-cell packs recited in lines 53-55 of claim 3. It’s unclear if these two adjacent cell units are part of the same sub-cell pack or separate but adjacent sub-cell packs. For these reasons, the scope of claim 3 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 3 further recites “leftmost” and “rightmost” sub-cell packs in lines 67-69 but “leftmost” and “rightmost” are relative terms and claim 3 does not define along what axis or direction the “leftmost” and “rightmost” are being compared against (horizontal or longitudinal directions). For these reasons, the scope of claim 3 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 3 recites “the perovskite module” in line 36 and line 71 (last line) but claim 3 defines an internally series-connected perovskite solar cell module, an internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module and an internally opposite-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module in lines 1-3 making it unclear which perovskite modules are being referenced in the above lines of claim 3. As such, the scope of claim 3 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 8, and 15-17 depend from indefinite claim 3 and are also found indefinite for the same reason.
Claim 8 further recites “the substrate” in line 3 but claim 3 from which claim 8 depends has two recitations of “a substrate” in lines 17 and 52 for each of the internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module and the internally opposite-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module making it unclear which substrate is being referenced in claim 8. Further claim 8 appears to be forming the internally same-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module and the internally opposite-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module on the same substrate where claim 3 is worded that they appear to be on different substrates making it unclear what structure is actually being claimed. As such, the scope of claim 8 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 15-17 depend from indefinite claim 8 and are also found indefinite for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niira (US 2011/0304002) in further view of Shibasaki et al (US 2018/0083151) and further in view of Yang (US 2012/0064660) and further in view of Zhang et al (US 2018/0185922).
Regarding claim 1 Niira discloses an internally same-side series-connected solar cell module, comprising a plurality of sub-cell packs arranged longitudinally ([0023]-[0025], [0081], [0095] Figs. 12-13 see: a first unit 60, a second unit 70, a third unit 80 and a fourth unit 90 arranged longitudinally along the Y-axis), wherein,
positions of positive polarities and negative polarities of two adjacent sub-cell packs are reversed ([0081], [0095] Figs. 12-13 see: solar cells 2 connected in series in each unit 60, 70, 80, 90 positive to negative or negative to positive and adjacent units have polarities facing opposite directions (Figs. 13A-13B)), and each sub-cell pack includes a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units that are arranged horizontally ([0084], [0095] Figs. 13A-13B see: solar cells 2 connected in series in each unit 60, 70, 80, 90 between end cells along the x-axis forming respective positive and negative electrode tabs), the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are located at a front side and a rear side of each sub-cell pack, respectively (Figs. 13A-13B see: first conductive layer 11 and back electrode layer 14 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs at front and back surfaces respectively or end cells along the x-axis forming respective positive and negative electrode tabs), the plurality of cell units are located between the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab (see cells 2 between the beginning first conductive layer 11 and last back electrode layer 14 and end cells along the x-axis forming respective positive and negative electrode tabs), and negative electrode tab and positive electrode tab between the two adjacent sub-cell packs are electrically connected only through an intermediate connection strap ([0084], [0095] Figs. 12-13 see: adjacent sub-cell packs/units 60, 70, 80, 90 connected only through inter unit connecting region 6 which is continuous with back electrode 14 of an adjacent end cell (terminal) of a subcell pack to form the intermediate connection strap), respectively, remaining portions between the two adjacent sub-cell packs are isolated from each other through an intermediate insulation strap, and the intermediate insulation strap and the intermediate connection strap are arranged in parallel between the two adjacent sub-cell packs ([0084], [0095] Figs. 12-13 see: adjacent sub-cell packs/units 60, 70, 80, 90 are otherwise isolated from each other by inter-unit separation region 50 which is adjacent to an inter unit connecting region 6 each having a parallel width along the y-axis (Fig. 12)); and
for each sub-cell pack of the two adjacent subcell packs, an internal structure of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units includes a substrate shared among the two adjacent sub-cell packs (board/substrate 1), a front electrode layer (first conductive layer 11), a light-absorbing layer (photoelectric conversion layer 12), and a back electrode layer (back electrode layer 14) from bottom to top (Fig. 13), and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab of each sub-cell pack of the two adjacent sub-cell packs, are respectively separated with an internal conductive connection by a scribing line group composed of a line P1, a line P2, and a line P3 (Figs. 12 and 13A-13B), wherein the P1 line scribes off the front electrode layer (Figs. 13A-13B see: first electrode separation groove 21), the substrate at a bottom of a groove formed by the P1 line is exposed (Figs. 13A-13B), the P2 line is close to the P1 line in a same group and scribes off the light-absorbing layer ([0039], Figs. 13A-13B see: through hole 22), the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P2 line is exposed (Figs. 13A-13B), and the groove formed by the P2 line is filled with an electrically-conductive material without gaps (Figs. 13A-13B see: back electrode layer 14 filling through hole 22), the P3 line is close to the P2 line in a same group and scribes off the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at the same time ([0041], Fig. 4 see: second electrode separation groove 23), and the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P3 line is exposed (Figs. 13A-13B), the electrically-conductive material and the back electrode layer into an integrated structure that forms a continuous conductive path between the two adjacent sub-cell packs ([0095] Figs. 12-13 see: adjacent sub-cell packs/units 60, 70, 80, 90 connected only through inter unit connecting region 6 which is continuous with back electrode 14 of an adjacent end cell (terminal) of a subcell pack), and the intermediate connection strap is a continuous extension of the back electrode layer, integrally formed with the back electrode layer with no interface therebetween (para [0095] Fig. 12), and formed by retaining a portion of the back electrode layer after scribing a P4 line through the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at a position of the intermediate insulation strap ([0084], [0095], Figs. 12-13 see: inter unit connecting region 6 which is continuous with back electrode 14 of an adjacent end cell and not broken by inter-unit separation 50 which extends to the substrate); and
a positive electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of a leftmost sub-cell pack along a longitudinal direction, and a negative electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of a rightmost sub-cell pack along the longitudinal direction, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar are both located on a same side of the solar cell module ([0081], [0095] Figs. 12 and 13A-13B see: pair of positive and negative output terminals 7 provided on the back electrode surfaces of the rightmost and leftmost solar cells 2 (terminals) in the Y-axis direction (longitudinal) and provide the same side in the x-axis direction).
Niira does not explicitly disclose the solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module, but Shibasaki teaches the photoactive absorber layers of such thin-film solar cell modules can be formed of perovskite material (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A).
Shibasaki and Niira are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell module of Niira in view of Shibasaki such that the solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module as in Shibasaki (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known photoactive absorber material for its intended use in the known environment of a thin-film solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing light absorption over the absorption spectrum of the perovskite material.
Modified Niira does not explicitly disclose where the electrically-conductive material and the back electrode layer are integrally sintered into an integrated structure.
However, Yang discloses a thin-film solar cell module where the electrically-conductive material and the back electrode layer are integrally sintered into an integrated structure by forming the layers as a conductive silver paste (Yang, [0060], [0063], [0105], Figs. 2F, 3 see: second electrode 170 also forming contact line 160 formed from sintered silver metal paste) and Zhang further discloses such sintered conductive silver pastes can be formed with silver nanoparticles that are sintered at a low temperature (Zhang, Abstract, [0006], [0027]).
Yang, Zhang, and modified Niira are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of photovoltaic device connections.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell module of Niira in view of Yang and Zhang such that the electrically-conductive material and the back electrode layer of Niira are integrally sintered into an integrated structure as in Yang([0060], [0063], [0105], Figs. 2F, 3 see: second electrode 170 also forming contact line 160 formed from sintered silver metal paste) by employing silver nanoparticles that are sintered at a low temperature as in Zhang (Abstract, [0006], [0027]) for the purpose of forming said electrically-conductive material and the back electrode layer from simpler printing methods using silver nanoparticles that are sintered at a low temperature compatible with perovskite solar cell device manufacture.
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2010/0186796) and in further view of Shibasaki et al (US 2018/0083151).
Regarding claim 2 Lee discloses an internally opposite-side series-connected solar cell module, comprising a plurality of sub-cell packs arranged horizontally (Figs. 1 and 13 see: equivalent first and second sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2), wherein
positions of positive polarities and negative polarities of two adjacent sub-cell packs are the same ([0031]-[0032], [0071] Figs. 1-2 or 13-14 see: the unit cells of the two adjacent sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 are disposed in the same direction and thus the position of the polarities of these adjacent sub-modules are the same), and each sub-cell pack includes a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units that are arranged horizontally ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 or 13-14 see: each sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 has a series of unit cells C1 to C50 or C51-C100 between a first electrode 110 and a second electrode 150 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs), the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are located at a front side and a rear side of each sub-cell pack, respectively ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 or 13-14 see: first electrode 110 at a front of the modules and second electrode 150 at a rear side), the plurality of cell units are located between the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 or 13-14 see: each sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 has a series of unit cells C1 to C50 or C51-C100 between a first electrode 110 and a second electrode 150 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs), and negative electrode tabs and positive electrode tabs between the two adjacent sub-cell packs are electrically connected only through a series connection strap, respectively ([0072]-[0075], Figs. 1-2 or 13-14 see: second electrode 150 of one end cell C50 of SUB1 connected to first electrode 110 of first cell C51 of SUB2 through transverse pattern HP), insulation grooves and sub-cell packs adjacent to the insulation grooves are arranged on two sides of the series connection strap, respectively, the insulations grooves and the sub-cell packs adjacent to the insulation grooves are insulated from each other ([0072]-[0075], Figs. 1-2 or 13-14 see: transverse pattern HP has a first insulating pattern I1 and a second insulating pattern I2 each comprising a fourth groove 4 or groove G4 insulating the transverse pattern HP from adjacent sub-modules SUB1, SUB2);
for each sub-cell pack of the two adjacent sub-cell packs, an internal structure (para [0068], Figs. 2 or 14) of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units includes a substrate shared among the two adjacent sub-cell packs (substrate 100 or 300), a front electrode layer (first electrode 110 or 310), a light-absorbing layer (semiconductor layer 140 or 340), and a back electrode layer (second electrode layer 150 or 350) from bottom to top (Figs. 2 or 14), and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab of each sub-cell pack of the two adjacent sub-cell packs, are respectively separated with an internal conductive connection by a scribing line group composed of a line P1, a line P2, and a line P3 ([0070]-[0071], Figs. 1-2 or 13-14 see: first longitudinal pattern VP1 and second longitudinal pattern VP2 of pattern regions P1, P2, P3, also referenced as grooves G1, G2, G3 respectively in Fig. 2 or 14),
wherein the P1 line scribes off the front electrode layer, the substrate at a bottom of a groove formed by the P1 line is exposed (first groove G1 exposing substrate 100 through first electrode 110), the P2 line is close to the P1 line in a same group and scribes off the light-absorbing layer, the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P2 line is exposed, and the groove formed by the P2 line is filled with an electrically-conductive material (front electrode 110 exposed at a bottom of second groove G2 through semiconductor layer 140 filled with second electrode 150 material), the P3 line is close to the P2 line in the same group and scribes off the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at the same time, the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P3 line is exposed (front electrode 110 exposed in third groove G3 through second electrode 150 and semiconductor layer 140);
the series connection strap is a continuous extension of the back electrode layer, integrally formed with the back electrode layer with no interface therebetween ([0072]-[0075], [0097]-[0104], Figs. 1-2 and 13-14 see: back electrode 150 or 350 of the intermediate connection strap area HP between SUB1 and SUB2 is a continuous integral extension of back electrode 150 or 350 of unit cell C50), and formed by retaining a portion of the back electrode layer after scribing a P4 line through the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at a position of the insulation groove (Figs. 1-2 and 13-14 see: transverse pattern HP formed by front electrode, back electrode and absorber layers not cut by fourth groove G4 of insulating pattern I1 and fourth groove G4 of insulating pattern I2), the insulation grooves are recesses penetrating the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer to expose the substrate (See Figs. 1-2 and 13-14 see: fourth grooves G4 of I1 and I2 expose substrate 100 or 300), and the insulation grooves block all conductive paths between the series connection strap and the two adjacent sub-cell packs to prevent short-circuiting and unnecessary current leakage between the two adjacent sub-cell packs (Abstract, See Figs. 1-2 and 13-14 see: fourth grooves G4 of I1 and I2 expose substrate 100 or 300 and thus fulfill the function of insulating SUB1 and SUB2 as claimed); and
a positive electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of a leftmost sub-cell pack along a horizontal direction, and a negative electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of a rightmost sub-cell pack along the horizontal direction, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar are both located on a front side and a rear side of the solar cell module, respectively ([0082]-[0083], Fig. 7 see: positive terminal connected to front electrode 110 of C1 of SUB1 and thus at a front side of the module and negative terminal connected to second electrode 150 of C100 of SUB2 and thus at a rear side of the module).
Lee does not explicitly disclose the solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module, but Shibasaki teaches the photoactive absorber layers of such thin-film solar cell modules can be formed of perovskite material (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A).
Shibasaki and Lee are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell module of Lee in view of Shibasaki such that the solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module as in Shibasaki (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known photoactive absorber material for its intended use in the known environment of a thin-film solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing light absorption over the absorption spectrum of the perovskite material.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niira (US 2011/0304002), and further in view of Shibasaki et al (US 2018/0083151) and in further view of Lee et al (US 2010/0186796).
Regarding claim 3 Niira discloses an internally series-connected solar cell module, comprising an internally same-side series-connected solar cell module,
the internally same-side series-connected solar cell module, comprising a plurality of sub-cell packs arranged longitudinally, wherein,
positions of positive polarities and negative polarities of two adjacent sub-cell packs are reversed ([0081], Figs. 10-11 see: solar cells 2 connected in series in each unit 60, 70, 80, 90 positive to negative or negative to positive and adjacent units have polarities facing opposite directions (Figs. 11A-11B)), and each sub-cell pack includes a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units that are arranged horizontally ([0084], Figs. 11A-11B see: solar cells 2 connected in series in each unit 60, 70, 80, 90 between connection wirings 15 or first conductive layer 11 and back electrode layer 14 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs), the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are located at a front side and a rear side of each sub-cell pack, respectively (Figs. 11A-11B see: first conductive layer 11 and back electrode layer 14 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs at front and back surfaces respectively), the plurality of cell units are located between the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab (see cells 2 between the beginning first conductive layer 11 and last back electrode layer 14), and negative electrode tab and positive electrode tab between the two adjacent sub-cell packs are electrically connected only through an intermediate connection strap ([0084], Figs. 10-12 see: adjacent sub-cell packs/units 60, 70, 80, 90 connected only through inter unit connecting region 6/connection wiring 15 forming the intermediate connection strap), respectively, and remaining portions between the two adjacent sub-cell packs are isolated from each other through an intermediate insulation strap ([0084], Figs. 10-12 see: adjacent sub-cell packs/units 60, 70, 80, 90 are otherwise isolated from each other by inter-unit separation region 50); and
an internal structure of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units includes a substrate (board/substrate 1), a front electrode layer (first conductive layer 11), a light-absorbing layer (photoelectric conversion layer 12), and a back electrode layer (back electrode layer 14) from bottom to top (Fig. 11), and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab, are respectively separated into sub-cell packs with an internal conductive connection by a scribing line group composed of a line P1, a line P2, and a line P3 (Figs. 10 and 11A-11B), wherein the P1 line scribes off the front electrode layer (Figs. 11A-11B see: first electrode separation groove 21), the substrate at a bottom of a groove formed by the P1 line is exposed (Figs. 11A-11B), the P2 line is close to the P1 line in a same group and scribes off the light-absorbing layer ([0039], Figs. 11A-11B see: through hole 22), the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P2 line is exposed (Figs. 11A-11B), and the groove formed by the P2 line is filled with an electrically-conductive material (Figs. 11A-11B see: back electrode layer 14 filling through hole 22), the P3 line is close to the P2 line in a same group and scribes off the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at the same time ([0041], Fig. 4 see: second electrode separation groove 23), and the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P3 line is exposed (Figs. 11A-11B), and
a positive electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of a leftmost sub-cell pack, and a negative electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of a rightmost sub-cell pack, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar are both located on a same side of the solar cell module ([0081], Figs. 10 and 11A-11B see: pair of positive and negative output terminals 7 provided on the back electrode surfaces of the rightmost and leftmost solar cells 2 in the Y-axis direction and provide the same side in the x-axis direction).
Niira does not explicitly disclose the internally same-side series-connected solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module, but Shibasaki teaches the photoactive absorber layers of such thin-film solar cell modules can be formed of perovskite material (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A).
Shibasaki and Niira are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell module of Niira in view of Shibasaki such that the solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module as in Shibasaki (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known photoactive absorber material for its intended use in the known environment of a thin-film solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing light absorption over the absorption spectrum of the perovskite material.
Modified Niira does not explicitly disclose where the solar cell module comprises an internally opposite-side series-connected perovskite solar cell module as recited claim 3.
Lee discloses an internally opposite-side series-connected solar cell module, comprising a plurality of sub-cell packs arranged horizontally (Fig. 1 see: equivalent first and second sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2), wherein
positions of positive polarities and negative polarities of two adjacent sub-cell packs are the same ([0031]-[0032], [0071] Figs. 1 and 2 see: the unit cells of the two adjacent sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 are disposed in the same direction and thus the position of the polarities of these adjacent sub-modules are the same), and each sub-cell pack includes a positive electrode tab, a negative electrode tab, and a plurality of cell units that are arranged horizontally ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 see: each sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 has a series of unit cells C1 to C50 or C51-C100 between a first electrode 110 and a second electrode 150 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs), the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab are located at a front side and a rear side of each sub-cell pack, respectively ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 see: first electrode 110 at a front of the modules and second electrode 150 at a rear side), the plurality of cell units are located between the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab ([0068], [0071]-[0017] Figs. 1-2 see: each sub-modules SUB1 and SUB2 has a series of unit cells C1 to C50 or C51-C100 between a first electrode 110 and a second electrode 150 forming the positive and negative electrode tabs), and negative electrode tabs and positive electrode tabs between two adjacent sub-cell packs are electrically connected only through a series connection strap, respectively ([0072]-[0075], Figs. 1-2 see: second electrode 150 of one end cell C50 of SUB1 connected to first electrode 110 of first cell C51 of SUB2 through transverse pattern HP), insulation grooves and sub-cell packs adjacent to the insulation grooves are arranged on two sides of the series connection strap, respectively, the insulations grooves and the sub-cell packs adjacent to the insulation grooves are insulated from each other ([0072]-[0075], Figs. 1-2 see: transverse pattern HP has a first insulating pattern I1 and a second insulating pattern I2 each comprising a fourth groove 4 insulating the transverse pattern HP from adjacent sub-modules SUB1, SUB2);
an internal structure (para [0068], Fig. 2) of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units includes a substrate (substrate 100), a front electrode layer (first electrode 110), a light-absorbing layer (semiconductor layer 140), and a back electrode layer (second electrode layer 150) from bottom to top (Fig. 2), and two adjacent cell units, the cell unit and the positive electrode tab, and the cell unit and the negative electrode tab, are respectively separated into sub-cell packs with an internal conductive connection by a scribing line group composed of a line P1, a line P2, and a line P3 ([0070]-[0071], Figs. 1-2 see: first longitudinal pattern VP1 and second longitudinal pattern VP2 of pattern regions P1, P2, P3, also referenced as grooves G1, G2, G3 respectively in Fig. 2), wherein the P1 line scribes off the front electrode layer, the substrate at a bottom of a groove formed by the P1 line is exposed (first groove G1 exposing substrate 100 through first electrode 110), the P2 line is close to the P1 line in a same group and scribes off the light-absorbing layer, the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P2 line is exposed, and the groove formed by the P2 line is filled with an electrically-conductive material (front electrode 110 exposed at a bottom of second groove G2 through semiconductor layer 140 filled with second electrode 150 material), the P3 line is close to the P2 line in the same group and scribes off the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at the same time, and the front electrode layer at a bottom of a groove formed by the P3 line is exposed (front electrode 110 exposed in third groove G3 through second electrode 150 and semiconductor layer 140); and
a positive electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a positive electrode tab of a leftmost sub-cell pack, and a negative electrode busbar is conductively laid on a surface of a back electrode layer of a negative electrode tab of a rightmost sub-cell pack, and the positive electrode busbar and the negative electrode busbar are both located on a front side and a rear side of the solar cell module, respectively ([0082]-[0083], Fig. 7 see: positive terminal connected to front electrode 110 of C1 of SUB1 and thus at a front side of the module and negative terminal connected to second electrode 150 of C100 of SUB2 and thus at a rear side of the module).
Modified Niira and Lee are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of thin-film solar cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell module of Niira in view of Lee such that the solar cell module further comprises an internally opposite-side series-connected solar cell module as recited by Lee above for the express purpose or further including an additional solar cell module to provide additional power generation.
Lee does not explicitly disclose the internally opposite-side series-connected solar cell module is a perovskite solar cell module, but Shibasaki teaches the photoactive absorber layers of such thin-film solar cell modules can be formed of perovskite material (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell module of Niira in view of Shibasaki such that the internally opposite-side series-connected solar cell module in Niira as modified by Lee is a perovskite solar cell module as in Shibasaki (paras [0027], [0054] Fig. 7A) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known photoactive absorber material for its intended use in the known environment of a thin-film solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing light absorption over the absorption spectrum of the perovskite material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, and 12-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 further recites “an edge isolation effect monitoring and feedback step, wherein the edge isolation effect monitoring and feedback step comprises: acquiring substrate image data of a semi-finished perovskite solar cell module before and after an edge isolation operation via an image acquisition device above and perpendicular to the substrate; evaluating an edge isolation effect based on the substrate image data; and in response to determining that the edge isolation effect is incomplete, controlling an automated edge-isolating device to perform a supplementary edge isolation operation on the semi-finished perovskite solar cell module” not taught disclosed or made obvious over the prior art of record.
The newly cited prior art of Manz (US 2009/0000108) discloses in paras [0006]-[0023] and the Figure a method for structuring solar cell modules including a camera for capturing images of a track formed in a layer of a solar module where the image is processed and determinations are made if the structuring tools should be repositioned based on the quality of the track. Manz otherwise does not teach the missing limitations of claim 6.
Svidenko et al (US 2010/0059693) also teaches a scribe process monitoring methodology in para [0011] and Figs. 1-3 of removing a first region of a first layer using a scribing device, forming an image using a camera that is positioned to view at least a portion of the first region, analyzing the image using a controller to define one attribute of the at least a portion of the first region, and adjusting at least one scribing device parameter using information received from analyzing the image but does not explicitly teach the missing limitations of claim 6.
Kwong et al (US 2012/0181259) discloses using a resistance tester 190 for ensuring strips laser scribed in a thin-film solar panel are electrically isolated one from another but does not teach performing this check with an image acquisition device or analyzing imaging data and thus does not explicitly teach the missing limitations of claim 6.
Thus claim 6 and its dependent claims 7 and 12-14 if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims would be allowable.
Claim 8 recites the same allowable subject matter as claim 6 and thus claim 6 and its dependents claims 15-17 would be allowable for the same reasons set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 23-29 of the response filed 28 April 2026 to the rejection of claim 3 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments to the embodiment of Niira reciting a connection wiring 15 are moot as this embodiment is no longer relied upon, rather the embodiment of Figs. 12-13 having a back electrode layer 14 extended to an adjacent unit in the inter-unit connecting region 6 (para [0095]).
Applicant’s arguments to the limitations of “the intermediate insulation strap and the intermediate connection strap are arranged in parallel between the two adjacent sub-cell packs” are moot as this limitation is taught in the newly depended upon embodiment of Figs. 12-13. Further, this limitation renders claim 1 indefinite as it’s unclear what structural limitation parallel is meant to place on the intermediate insulation strap and the intermediate connection strap as applicant’s Fig. 1 which illustrates the embodiment claimed in claim 1 illustrates the intermediate insulation strap 2 extending perpendicular to the intermediate connection strap 8 between the two adjacent sub-cell packs. Intermediate connection strap 8 appears to have a length extending parallel to the width of the intermediate insulation strap 2 along direction A in Fig. 1, which how parallel is interpreted for the rejection of claim 1, but otherwise Fig. 1 appears to show applicant’s intermediate insulation strap 2 extending perpendicular to the intermediate connection strap 8.
Applicant’s arguments to the limitations of the structure of the negative electrode tab and positive electrode tab have been fully considered but are not found persuasive as they are not commensurate in scope with the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 1 defines the structure of the negative electrode tab and positive electrode tab when reciting “an internal structure of the positive electrode tab, the negative electrode tab, and the plurality of cell units includes a substrate shared among the two adjacent sub-cell packs, a front electrode layer, a light-absorbing layer, and a back electrode layer from bottom to top” which is taught by the prior art of Niira as recited above. As recited above, Niira discloses in Figs. 13A-13B the structure of solar cells 2 connected in series in each unit 60, 70, 80, 90 between end cells along the x-axis forming respective positive and negative electrode tabs. The end cells forming respective positive and negative electrode tabs meets a “tab” definition as they extend beyond the bounds of the interior cells along the x-axis.
Applicant’s further arguments to claim 1 are moot as they either depend from the arguments above or are directed to an embodiment of Niira no long relied upon.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 34-36 of the response filed 28 April 2026 to the rejection of claim 2 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Applicant’s arguments to the transverse pattern HP of Lee not meeting the limitations of the claimed series connection strap are not found persuasive as they are not commensurate in scope with the limitations of claim 2. Applicant appears to argue the transverse pattern HP of Lee as illustrated in Figs. 1-2 and 13-14 includes additional scribes P4, P5, P6 but, the scope of claim 2 does not exclude or distinguish from a connection strap having such a pattern. The claimed structural limitations of the connection strap are to be a continuous extension of the back electrode layer, integrally formed with the back electrode layer with no interface therebetween taught by Lee ([0072]-[0075], [0097]-[0104], Figs. 1-2 and 13-14 see: back electrode 150 or 350 of the intermediate connection strap area HP between SUB1 and SUB2 is a continuous integral extension of back electrode 150 or 350 of unit cell C50), and formed by retaining a portion of the back electrode layer after scribing a P4 line through the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer at a position of the insulation groove (Lee, Figs. 1-2 and 13-14 see: transverse pattern HP formed by front electrode, back electrode and absorber layers not cut by fourth groove G4 of insulating pattern I1 and fourth groove G4 of insulating pattern I2), the insulation grooves are recesses penetrating the back electrode layer and the light-absorbing layer to expose the substrate (See Figs. 1-2 and 13-14 see: fourth grooves G4 of I1 and I2 expose substrate 100 or 300), and the insulation grooves block all conductive paths between the series connection strap and the two adjacent sub-cell packs to prevent short-circuiting and unnecessary current leakage between the two adjacent sub-cell packs (Abstract, See Figs. 1-2 and 13-14 see: fourth grooves G4 of I1 and I2 expose substrate 100 or 300 and thus fulfill the function of insulating SUB1 and SUB2 as claimed).
Applicant’s further arguments to the rejection of claim 2 over Lee in view of Shibasaki are directed to process limitations not recited or inherent in the apparatus of claim 2.
Applicant’s further arguments to the rejection of claim 2 over Lee in view of Shibasaki are moot as they depend from the arguments rebutted above.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 41-43 of the response filed 28 April 2026 to the rejection of claim 3 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the core inventive concept of claim 3 is to simultaneously fabricate, on the same substrate, both same-side and opposite-side series connected perovskite solar cell modules that adopt the core structure of “replacing busbars with the back electrode layer” through a partitioned scribing process”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim 3 does not recite both same-side and opposite-side series connected perovskite solar cell modules fabricated on the same substrate, rather as pointed out in the above indefiniteness rejections of claim 3, claim 3 appears to form these modules on separate substrates and further is an apparatus claim with no process limitation recitations to replacing busbars with the back electrode layer through a partitioned scribing process as argued. As such, applicants arguments to claim 3 are moot as they argue limitations not present in claim 3 and are not commensurate in scope with the limitations of claim 3.
Applicant’s further arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726